Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Casa Central Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 385 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 385 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Mar 2017
6.3

Not a fun hostel, lots if stairs, the common areas were not nice, and most the people are not travelers, but people working in the city. Very expensive for what it was, same price of a very cool hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Feb 2017
5.7

I stayed at Mad Monkeys prior to this hostel. The prices were the same and location similar, however this hostel was not clean at all (dirty bathroom/unclean room and sheets) and there was no aircon so it was very hot at night. They charged to keep bags for a couple of hours after check out, which I've not experienced elsewhere. The only plus was the proximity to central station and free wifi.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
10.0

Wow. Best place in Sydney. The free breakfast is a real treat, it kept me coming back for weeks. Plus they clean the place every day, it's the best location in Sydney, and the people are the sweetest. Stay here!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
6.3

Pros: Good location, friendly staff, the 4 people dorm was laid out in such a way that it felt very private. I understand that there was a rooftop area and free laundry facilities although I didn't use these. Cons: Only one toilet/shower per floor, very small and quite dirty kitchen, no decent communal indoor area. This place is extremely basic and I cannot understand how it cost me more to stay here than another highly rated, popular hostel I later stayed at. Not good value for the price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
9.4

Excellent place for the quiet traveller. Only stayed there a night and wasn't partying so can't comment on the social side. Bathrooms were clean, no air con in rooms but the fan was suffiecient on a 24°C night. Bed was comfortable enough. Friendly, no fuss staff. Wifi was pretty slow so I stuck to my 4G. Would recommend if you're looking for a good nights sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
6.6

Handy location, easy walk from Central station. Very reasonable price, these are the best parts. Also, having very reception open til 10pm 7 days per week is a plus and staff was pleasantly helpful. The units are small, and the facilities are a bit older, nothing special. The long term residents are cliquey and they typically are spread out throughout the room. Stuffy and somewhat noisy, from night crowd, light sleepers should stay elsewhere. Good for 1 or 2 night stop, long term not ideal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Nov 2016
6.6

Staff is very friendly and the Hostel is well located (ditect behind train station central) only 10 minutes by train to/from international airport (17.50$ p.p.) However the rooms are very small and run-down. The bathroom looks not to bad but if you check the shower walls you'll see that it's not properly clean. Over all I think Casa Central is not the best but I think you won't get any better for this price in Sydney.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2016
8.9

A nice, quiet hostel close to Central station. Hostel has a nice little rooftop as well as free laundry which was awesome! Not a party hostel, which was a great relief after a horrible night in Kings Cross. The dorm rooms only had 2 beds which was nice, and the staff were super friendly. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Nov 2016
6.6

Very basic accommodation, a bit disheveled and rough around the edges but it is very reasonably priced and in a good location. My main issue was with the bathroom situation. The bathrooms were very small, you weren't allowed to close the door to the hallway and there was a gap of about a foot between the floor and the shower cubicle door which made it feel very unsecured. However the staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Oct 2016
8.9

Great place to stay. Would recommend it to anyone coming to Sydney, nice abd laid back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.