Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Casa Central Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2017
6.0

Locker in my four person dorm room didn't lock so I was upset about leaving my valuables unsecured. There were no powerpoints by the beds - just a powerboard on the floor which is less than ideal if you are in the top bunk like I was. Beds are old and rickety. Shower took a long time to become warm and water pressure was minimal. Passive-aggressive notes all over the kitchen about cleaning up. Fine for a one night in-transit stay but I would not recommend staying longer.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, and we're really sorry to hear that you weren't fully pleased with your stay. Just for clarification, we give everyone who checks into the shared rooms a key that works on a locker in the room, so we will be sure to explain that more thoroughly during future check ins. Also, each bed has its own extension lead and/or power point, including the top bunks. We really do appreciate your feedback, and thank you for giving us some ideas on how to improve things. If you ever find yourself back in Sydney we hope you'll give us another chance and trust that you will approach reception staff if you encounter any problems or confusion. Thank you!

15th Jul 2017
9.1

It was really relaxed here. A good mix of long term and short term. Kitchen is big enough for the amount of people. Location is excellent for public transport but is still close enough to circular quay to walk. Cool upstairs bbq area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again if you ever find yourself back in Sydney.

12th Jul 2017
9.1

this is a pretty good place to stay. I would stay agaim :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We would happily have you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Morocco, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jul 2017
6.9

The drawbacks are: Not really cosy, lots of working people, not really willing to meet others I knew about the lack of AC, but the windows are old and don't close well. Rooms are (really) cold during the winter. The cleaning happens once a day by someone who lives in the hostel. She can't be expected to clean this several times a day, but the hostel is making tremendous economies on the cleaning Fire &smoke detectors broken, threat to make you pay a fine if rings reckon the hostel must update.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your review, and we will use the points you have raised to make improvements going forward. Regarding the cleaning staff, like most accommodation of similar caliber, we do have live-in staff that cleans the facilities daily. We hope to see you again if you ever find yourself in Sydney in the future!

  • Annedromeda
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
1st Jul 2017
9.1

Very affordable and in a really great spot in the city-- nice and close to the central train station, and for this price I'd expect to be sharing with a lot more people. The room slept four, but had a dividing wall meaning it was more like twin-share. My only issue was access to the building-- the office attendants are occasionally away from the office for extended periods of time, so this might lead to you getting left outside until someone can buzz you in. Otherwise, absolutely worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2017
9.7

It was a really wonderful experience to stay here! They provided everything a traveler needed and were incredibly considerate. I would definitely stay here again over the large hostels in town. Also provided a free towel, free breakfast, and rooftop with lovely seating and workout area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2017
8.9

Quieter hostel that I grew to really enjoy after a few days. It's a really comfortable place with a decent kitchen and very friendly staff. Not a crazy party hostel in any way whatsoever, but still one where you can make friends in and have a great sleep. Fantastic location, great alternative to the massive hostels just down the road. I booked in for three nights and ended up staying five!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Jun 2017
8.6

Lovely cosy hostel, probably a bit hard to meet people as there's nothing arranged and only 4 bed dorm at the most. The staff were great, so friendly, free towels and no key deposit. Room was a little cold for winter and the windows were noisy facing onto the road. Nice comfy beds and duvets. Only 3 toilets and showers for the whole building was a downside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • shannon-white9903
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
21st May 2017
8.3

Free wifi and hot showers!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
10.0

It's what was advertised. Clean, close to everything, helpful welcoming staff, free breakfast. Overall, had a good stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.