X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Casa Del Sol Mexico Reviews

No. 815 Polar Pte., Entre (between) Saturno Y Luna Nte, Tulum, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
140 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 63%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

31%

Very rude staff. They rend bikes for 80 pesos a day, but in Tulum town we found bikes for 50 pesos a day in a lot better conditions! each time we asked the staff for something (which cenote we should go to for example) we did not really get a response and they were very unfriendly. The bed was not clean at all and the bathroom disgusting. We changed hostel after a night, we went to the Weary Hostel which was a lot better and staff a lot nicer!


94%

The family that run the hostel are amazing - friendly, funny and lovely. Lucy especially. Fun place to stay, close to everything and good value. And the breakfast - cooked by Lucy, is amazing!


100%

This hostel is really excellent. A perfect hub for seeing everything in and around Tulum. Hire bikes and see many cenotes, beaches and archaeological ruins. The hanging beds in the matrimonial rooms are amazing for couples :). Lucy, the matriarch of the family that owns the property is very special. She will make you love or hate your time at the hostel. She made ours absolutely terrific. This is not a party hostel, but it has a very special and fun atmosphere because of her. Highly recommend.


60%

The people were not very welcoming. Therefore the atmosphere was a little distanced.


60%

OK hostel at best. Staff were not as helpful as we would have liked. Our bed was covered in plastic to try and "protect" it. It was awful to sleep on and we were forced to remove it the second night. There was work going on at the hostel which we were not informed about. The chainsaws made it hard to just relax around the hostel during the day.


71%

Excellent breakfast, made for us every morning


46%

The lady who runs this place try's to charge you extra when you have already paid a deposit - do not pay the extra and show them your booking details to prove it. One of the most expensive hostels we have stayed at on Mexico and the worst - especially for the price! There are other nearby hostels which looked much better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You must of misunderstood the deposit was for the key in which you got back at the end of your stay. We charge you the balance do that indicates in the website. We are one of the most economic hostel in tulum for budget travellers. Money wise you should of been wise enough to make the decision before booking this hostel there are more options on hostelworld you could of had chosen. Next time. Have a nice holiday.

66%

Location is great very close to the bus station. Atmosphere not do great. Facilities are ok. Breakfast was good but not buffet. Cheapest place to stay in Tulum though.




View all Tulum Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback