Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Casa Del Sol Mexico

  • No. 815 Polar Pte., Entre (between) Saturno Y Luna Nte, Tulum, Mexico

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 441 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 441 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jun 2017
2.6

Horrific! Do not stay here! We felt unsafe and left after 1 night to move to another hostel down the road. Any form of organisation is non-existent, the guy who runs the hostel was quite happy to walk into our room without knocking whilst we were changing and sleeping. There were no locks on the doors, there were cockroaches in the bathrooms and everywhere felt very unclean. We were basically the only guests there and they seemed desperate for business. Avoid!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! Your intuitions and perception are strange feeling and prejudging our family business. This is family owned so we not desperate as your thoughts think we are. Take time to travel and experience more about the way you feel of your surrounding. Sending you good vibes for your trip... Good luck and safe travels..

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st May 2017
8.3

The owner is very nice, speaks both Spanish & English & lives onsite with his family. We stayed in a private hut which had a fan (some have aircon as well) but was a little hot. The hostel is quiet, perfect if you’re not after a party every night. It's a beautiful place but so much potential with the three floors and top one is totally unused! The free breakfast, great kitchen and free bikes are awesome. Would stay again but would love to see the top level have some kind of seating or use!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
7.7

Quiet atmosphere which was good after a few recent stays in party hostels. Private rooms are large and Bed was comfy. Hostel layout is unique, however this allows all areas to be cool and breezy at all times. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
7.7

Lovely family run hostel. Very friendly and welcoming. I felt an authentic Mexican experience staying there. Free bike rentals and breakfast were a plus and the kitchen was fantastic, everything i needed including a blender! Lovely family and i felt at home and safe for the whole week i was there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2017
8.0

Casa del Sol is a run by the cutest family. It's about three blocks from the A.D.O. bus station and central to Tulum pueblo. Lots of bikes to borrow, about a 30 minute bike ride to the beach. Served fresh crepes for breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
7.1

I had a short stay for one night only. the first room I was shown had a terrible mould smell so I didn't agree to stay there. they showed me another room and the owner said in Spanish to the other worker that "this is a complicated lady that we need to deal with". anyways the pictures show a nicer view which doesn't really exist. didn't get any feeling of a cool place to spend time in, it's suitable just for having a place to sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
7.7

Good location, nice rooms and atmosphere was good. No a/c which was hot at times though. Breakfast was good considering it was free although odd set up. Get up early for the bikes otherwise they are all gone! Staff in general were ok, weird attitude and not overly friendly compared to other places we had stayed but overall good value

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
8.0

my credit card and phone were stolen on the way to tulum. the staff was VERY helpful and understanding and even accompanied me to the bus stop to see if anything has been found/returned. the hostel itself is nice. the bikes are pretty cool and very useful to go to the beach. i didn't have breakfast but my friend did and she liked it (not suitable for vegans though). the one thing i'd like to see change are the bathrooms - toilets and showers are within one room and they were often occupied.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
8.6

We booked a private cabana for 5 days, and I quite enjoyed the place! The staff was friendly, the facilities were clean, and the atmosphere was nice. I felt very comfortable throughout our stay, like I was in my own home. I would definitely recommend this hostel and I would stay here again. There are however, a few considerations worth mentioning! This hostel does not have AC and there was no hot water throughout our stay. Luckily the weather was such that neither were an issue during our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
9.1

Loved the atmosphere and the vibe of this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.