X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Casa España Hostel Reviews

Plaza Emilio Jimenez Millas 2/E, Madrid, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
222 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Madrid was just a transit destination for me, I stayed only 1 night at this hostel. The good things were its location and very good price for a private room. The staff was helpful with good ideas where to go in 1 day. The rooms have locks, there was an aircon too but it was not necessary as the place has a good tempriture which is very good in a hot city like this. I had a pleasant stay here.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Big pluses are the price and the location. There are not so many people in the private room place.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

This hostel was all right. I stayed only 1 night so the location was convenient right in the center. My room was perfect for 1 person and it was clean. Recommended.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

Do not book a room at this hostel, as they are swindlers. They use a special strategy to rip off money out of their customers: they send the customer an e-mail 72 hs before the time of arrival, telling him/herthat the key to the room can only be collected via a phone call made upon arrival. If the customer objects that this is not a proper way of behaving and wishes to cancel the reservation, then they charge him/her for the first night. Watch out!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Customer, Please note, you cancelled the reservation within 72 hours which means we reserve the right to charge your credit card for late cancellation. You received the email much more than 72 hours before the arrival but you decided not to stay with us. The reason we pick you up is that we don't have a reception 24 hours open so we make your arrival smoother by setting up an appointment. We would appreciate if you didn't publish comments what not mach with the reality. Thank you

29%

This has ben the worst hostel I ever saw. Should like to get the money back!


77%

I stayed one night in a private room and was quite satisfied as a whole. The location is excellent, since you can walk to any famous sites without using public transportations. On the other hand, they do not have special programs for travelers nor provide a common area for gathering. I would recommend this hostel for those who want to stay by themselves at a reasonably low cost.


91%

The hostel was good, nothing fancy but great location and the price was good too.

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Friendly staff, clean hostel, very good location (very close to the bus/train station)

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Casa Espana Hostel is right in the city center and very cheap. The place is small but friendly.

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Clean basic hostel at a good location just next to theMadrid city centre. I stayed in a private room with shared bathroom/toilet. It was comfortable. One of the staff members was a friendly professional host

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

very nice staff and location!

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We had a pleasant stay at Casa Espana. We enjoyed the quiet but friendly atmosphere. The private room is clean so as the bathrooms even if they are shared.

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Affordable and good value for the money. Also, good location!

  • 12th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Colorful, nice place. Rooms are not so big but clean and homy.

  • 11th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Casa Espana was ideal for 1 night because of its location and price.

  • 10th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great people and good location plus it's cheap

  • 9th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Free WiFi and hot shower make the hostel a good deal.

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

When we booked the place we were quite worried because many reviews were saying the place doesn't exist. But it was very cheap and the location seemed to be great so we booked it anyway. They contacted us before arrival witch made us more relaxed. When we arrived they were already waiting for us at the square and walked together to the hostel. It was a nice suprise, it was clean, organized and Sophie the staff member did her very best to make us feel comfortable. I would recommend this hostel.

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Warm, cute rooms!

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

the small hostel was located in the city center. it was nothing special but it is a clean and safe place to stay at.

  • 30th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Madrid Hostels

Please give us your feedback