Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Casa Loma Minca

  • Entrance to the left of the church, up the stairs, Minca, Colombia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 140 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 140 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Feb 2017
7.7

unfortunately, the dorm is right above the community area, so it can get late and noisy at times. wifi would also be nice (i dont appreciate this attitude where people tell you how bad the internet is and that you are better off without it, as if that wasn't my own decision). apart from that, a really beautiful place with lots of trees, hammocks, like a big park. great views, too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
9.4

Casa Loma is in a great location in Minca with some of the best sunsets I've seen in my life. The hostel is definitely more rustic with open air dorms and bathrooms but it's great for a few days to escape the cities. The staff is very nice and helpful and the food is amazing! Plus, you are close enough to Minca that if you wanna grab a meal there it can easily be done. I highly recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
1st Feb 2017
10.0

This place is great. Sure the climb to get there is a bit steep, but once you're there and looking out over the mountains and ocean there is nowhere else you want to be. There's no wifi, the beds are covered by mosquito nets and open to the world, and it's awesome. As soon as you reach the hostel something seems to change - it fosters friendlieness and hospitality and our evenings were filled with great conversations and breathtaking sunsets. And the breakfasts are some of the best I've had!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
5.7

The views are beautiful! If you want to feel as if your camping this is it! A hike from town so be prepared to have all your goodies with you. Friendly staff, peaceful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
5.1

The hosteleorld description of a double with a shared bathroom includes no description of an open air hut. I appreciate that some people may want to pay for that experience but we did not. There was nowhere to put our belongings, the bed was hot and uncomfortable and teeming with ants. Also the description of the place being quiet with no neighbours just isn't true. Not worth paying 85000 a night for a hut. The other rooms with doors and comfortable furniture looked more worth the money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
9.4

Very nice hostel. Very friendly staff, well run. Clean facilities, lovely dogs and cats around. Lunch and dinner are just excellent and filling (which is appreciated after a long walk in the mountain). The once negative aspect is the 10% charge on the credit card

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2017
8.9

Great food, amazing view. We didn't have a key to our room but it didn't matter because we felt very safe. The staff are SO NICE! The private rooms are really good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
10.0

Perfect place .. stand up staff... such good food.. amazing views!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Dec 2016
8.9

Es un muy buen hostal, las instalaciones y la limpieza es buena, así mismo las vistas a las montañas hacen de este un lugar singular.El staff es amable. Solo tengo por sugerir que los precios de la comida son bastante costosos .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
9.4

Casa Loma was the perfect mountain retreat. 300 steps up from Minca, it was close enough to go into town for dinner, but high enough for stunning views in all directions. The staff were friendly and full of good advice for local hikes. Sunset there with a rum drink in hand was magical and the family style dinners were enormous, affordable, and not to be missed. We stayed in Casa Selva, one of the tree house style huts and it opened to sweeping views of a valley. Morning yoga was perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.