Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Casa Loma Minca

  • Entrance to the left of the church, up the stairs, Minca, Colombia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 192 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 192 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
9.7

Only 300 steps up from Minca, this hostel had great views, amazing food and friendly staff. Our only negative was the bed (double) wasn't level so you rolled into the middle at night. Wish we could have stayed for longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
9.7

We loved our stay at Casa Loma! The no-Wifi policy really does help meeting people. The wifi is available in the village 10mins away anyways! Good vibes. Loved the view (although the way there is tough!!) and the hammocks. Being outdoors for the most part, this hostel is not people scared of bugs ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
10.0

A beautiful paradise:) I loved the vibes and the views!! Would definitely come again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Jun 2017
8.0

I was a bit put off when I first arrived to this hostel as it's not what I was expecting. They don't have wifi and it's kind of in the middle of the bush. Plus you have to walk up a million stairs to get there. But after you accept all that it is actually a really fantastic, super relaxing place to stay. I would definitely recommend staying here if you want to get away and just chill out for a few days. We visited casa elemento on a day trip too and I am very glad that we chose here instead.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
18th Jun 2017
8.0

Worth all those steps to climb! Most amazing views and sunsets. It has a nice atmosphere. Bed 7 in Dorm not much fun..third level bunk, under rooth. Sheets didn't look that clean. Showers were also a bit dirty, but i guess that is difficult considering they are outside and with heavy rain every day..all in all would definitely recommend it!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • milwaukeebrudens
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jun 2017
9.7

Excellent place! Very steep walk up the side of a big hill, difficult with packs on! But the wonderful workers rescue you with cold water. View is really outstanding, the private bungalow was very nice (great work Shane), comfy bed, effective mozzie nets, a nice homemade security box. The dinner was very good and a solid social experience as well, the workers were very helpful with directions and helping us organize a coffee tour (highly recommend). And right in town -some others are far away

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
8.9

It was a fantastic stay and worthy of the climb. It certainly is a getaway among the tree tops. Food was fantastic and the staff are great. If Casa Luna is available it definitely has the best view, and makes waking up every morning a real pleasure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st May 2017
8.9

Highly recommend! The three owners have a great set up. 10 mins walk from centre of minca (although up a shed load of stairs) well worth the walk. Amazing views of the Sierra Nevada. Don't miss the sunset. Breakfast not included. No communal kitchen however there is access to a fridge and dinner is reasonable for 18 Colombianos. Less than a fiver in pounds and good quality with a dessert included.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2017
9.1

Casa Loma is a really lovely and cosy hostel! The perfect place to relax and do some hiking! I never had such good food in a hostel :), the meals were delicious

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
17th May 2017
8.3

Casa Loma is in a great location. When you get a collectivo from Santa Marta you will have a 10 mins walk to this hostel, as opposed to a 25,000 pesos motor taxi which is required to get to other hostels. The 10 min walk is up the steep steps but is doable and you are welcomed by staff with a fresh glass of water. The atmosphere here was so chilled and relaxed and meal time is the same for everyone which really helps to meet other travellers. The cocktails there are first class.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.