Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Casa Loma Minca

  • Entrance to the left of the church, up the stairs, Minca, Colombia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 174 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 174 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2017
9.1

Casa Loma is a really lovely and cosy hostel! The perfect place to relax and do some hiking! I never had such good food in a hostel :), the meals were delicious

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th May 2017
8.3

Casa Loma is in a great location. When you get a collectivo from Santa Marta you will have a 10 mins walk to this hostel, as opposed to a 25,000 pesos motor taxi which is required to get to other hostels. The 10 min walk is up the steep steps but is doable and you are welcomed by staff with a fresh glass of water. The atmosphere here was so chilled and relaxed and meal time is the same for everyone which really helps to meet other travellers. The cocktails there are first class.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
8.0

My boyfriend and I stayed in Casa Selva, which is one of the private huts. The view was absolutely gorgeous! It is a bit of a hike up to Casa Lomo so be prepared. We had all of our stuff with us, but it was not too terrible. No wifi made planning the next leg of our journey difficult, but there are places in town to get it. Bring bug spray as the bugs are pretty bad up here. The food was good, but a little pricey. There is no kitchen available for guests either. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
8.0

The location of casablanca Loma can't really be beat...you just have to get up the hill first! It's not that bad, about a 10 minute walk uphill. We stayed in the private cabana which was nice although a bit of a walk to the bathrooms and two of our pillow cases were moldy. Actually the whole cabana smelled of mold buy I'm not sure it could be helped as it did rain everyday while we were there. The lunch was really tasty and the staff were helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2017
5.1

Booked a dorm room for 4 (2 couples) this was only available online. We found on arrival there are small double rooms that work out cheaper for two people so switched. Dorm was above kitchen with no windows and has a gas/petrol smell so a good switch. This place is up a HUGE hill with great views but if you have a big rucksack, forget it! It's a struggle. The showers & toilets were clean given the jungle conditions (1000s of bugs) it's the staff we had issues with and ended up being overcharged.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • kathleensheahan2769
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
5th Apr 2017
9.1

Pros: very friendly staff who greet you once you arrive. The food is incredible! And the private rooms are little huts with your own balcony! Cons : uncomfortable bed and the curtains don't completely cover the doors to the private rooms. All in all a wonderful hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
9.7

Casa Loma is located at the top of a hill, it's quite a steep climb to get there but the views are absolutely worth it! Our pivate cabana was really nice with views of sunrise/sunset. Delicious and cheap vegetarian dinners and breakfasts. Loads of advice on what to do around Minca. Don't forget your bug spray :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2017
4.0

Absolutely not worth the money. I don't demand luxury and camped at Tayrona but this was ridiculous. We booked a private room and while there are two nicer ones (given out by luck) the majority are small huts made of straw without a real door and the lack of security felt very unsafe. Our door to protect us from the weather was a curtain. It was camping. There wasn't even enough room within the hut to keep our bags out of the rain. The staff was nice but be warned this is barely shelter!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Mar 2017
9.4

Beautiful view, nice staff, its really worth to climb all the stairs and if you stay there you should try the food! Its vegetarian, very good and not expensive at all! We had a really nice time in Minca and hope to come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Mar 2017
10.0

Casa Loma is the place to chill, relax, detox and go offline! The location offers one of the best view in the region and it is definitely worth the hike up the stairs. I loved that it is a wi-fi free zone - this allows you to fully enjoy the calm and quiet, reconnect with yourself, just lay in a hammock, drink a beer or take a nap. The kitchen is vegetarian and it offers delicious set breakfast menu and a daily lunch and dinner menu. Fresh juices taste amazing! Don't miss sunset on the terrace!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.