Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Casa Loma Minca

  • Entrance to the left of the church, up the stairs, Minca, Colombia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 163 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 163 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kathleensheahan2769
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Apr 2017
9.1

Pros: very friendly staff who greet you once you arrive. The food is incredible! And the private rooms are little huts with your own balcony! Cons : uncomfortable bed and the curtains don't completely cover the doors to the private rooms. All in all a wonderful hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
9.7

Casa Loma is located at the top of a hill, it's quite a steep climb to get there but the views are absolutely worth it! Our pivate cabana was really nice with views of sunrise/sunset. Delicious and cheap vegetarian dinners and breakfasts. Loads of advice on what to do around Minca. Don't forget your bug spray :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2017
4.0

Absolutely not worth the money. I don't demand luxury and camped at Tayrona but this was ridiculous. We booked a private room and while there are two nicer ones (given out by luck) the majority are small huts made of straw without a real door and the lack of security felt very unsafe. Our door to protect us from the weather was a curtain. It was camping. There wasn't even enough room within the hut to keep our bags out of the rain. The staff was nice but be warned this is barely shelter!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Mar 2017
9.4

Beautiful view, nice staff, its really worth to climb all the stairs and if you stay there you should try the food! Its vegetarian, very good and not expensive at all! We had a really nice time in Minca and hope to come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Mar 2017
10.0

Casa Loma is the place to chill, relax, detox and go offline! The location offers one of the best view in the region and it is definitely worth the hike up the stairs. I loved that it is a wi-fi free zone - this allows you to fully enjoy the calm and quiet, reconnect with yourself, just lay in a hammock, drink a beer or take a nap. The kitchen is vegetarian and it offers delicious set breakfast menu and a daily lunch and dinner menu. Fresh juices taste amazing! Don't miss sunset on the terrace!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
8.3

We wanted some privacy and so decided to stay in one of the cabana's which would have been great... if it had a door. There are just sheets at the entrance which fly up in the wind and completely expose you to the rest of the hostel guests. On both nights we had cats in the room and on the bed. On the second night, one of the cats scratched my leg and continued to terrorize us by jumping on us multiple times while we were sleeping and scaring us so much we didn't sleep the entire night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
28th Feb 2017
9.1

Review as per previous (made two separate bookings via Hostelworld)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
27th Feb 2017
9.1

Pros: beautiful setting with fantastic sunsets, staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, family dinners are of restaurant quality and great value, big lockers in the dorms and clean facilities. Cons: shortage of toilets/showers up the top of the property, pillows very lumpy and need replacing, no designated area for smokers which meant you are surrounded by cigarette smoke when trying to watch the sunset, and the 10% card fee seems excessive. Would highly recommend if you want a break!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Feb 2017
9.4

Stayed in a private room Cant say enough about how wonderful Casa Loma was. It literally was a treehouse in the jungle, which we thought was awesome! We woke up to a beautiful scenic view. Bathrooms/showers were clean and never seemed overly busy, we never had to wait for either. Ate the family style dinner both nights and were completely blown away! The food was unreal (and I usually hate vegetarian food) and the portions were massive. Definitely worth the hike up from town for relaxing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
7.7

unfortunately, the dorm is right above the community area, so it can get late and noisy at times. wifi would also be nice (i dont appreciate this attitude where people tell you how bad the internet is and that you are better off without it, as if that wasn't my own decision). apart from that, a really beautiful place with lots of trees, hammocks, like a big park. great views, too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.