Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Casa Loma Minca

  • Entrance to the left of the church, up the stairs, Minca, Colombia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 153 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 153 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
9.4

Beautiful view, nice staff, its really worth to climb all the stairs and if you stay there you should try the food! Its vegetarian, very good and not expensive at all! We had a really nice time in Minca and hope to come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Mar 2017
10.0

Casa Loma is the place to chill, relax, detox and go offline! The location offers one of the best view in the region and it is definitely worth the hike up the stairs. I loved that it is a wi-fi free zone - this allows you to fully enjoy the calm and quiet, reconnect with yourself, just lay in a hammock, drink a beer or take a nap. The kitchen is vegetarian and it offers delicious set breakfast menu and a daily lunch and dinner menu. Fresh juices taste amazing! Don't miss sunset on the terrace!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
8.3

We wanted some privacy and so decided to stay in one of the cabana's which would have been great... if it had a door. There are just sheets at the entrance which fly up in the wind and completely expose you to the rest of the hostel guests. On both nights we had cats in the room and on the bed. On the second night, one of the cats scratched my leg and continued to terrorize us by jumping on us multiple times while we were sleeping and scaring us so much we didn't sleep the entire night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
28th Feb 2017
9.1

Review as per previous (made two separate bookings via Hostelworld)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
27th Feb 2017
9.1

Pros: beautiful setting with fantastic sunsets, staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, family dinners are of restaurant quality and great value, big lockers in the dorms and clean facilities. Cons: shortage of toilets/showers up the top of the property, pillows very lumpy and need replacing, no designated area for smokers which meant you are surrounded by cigarette smoke when trying to watch the sunset, and the 10% card fee seems excessive. Would highly recommend if you want a break!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Feb 2017
9.4

Stayed in a private room Cant say enough about how wonderful Casa Loma was. It literally was a treehouse in the jungle, which we thought was awesome! We woke up to a beautiful scenic view. Bathrooms/showers were clean and never seemed overly busy, we never had to wait for either. Ate the family style dinner both nights and were completely blown away! The food was unreal (and I usually hate vegetarian food) and the portions were massive. Definitely worth the hike up from town for relaxing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
7.7

unfortunately, the dorm is right above the community area, so it can get late and noisy at times. wifi would also be nice (i dont appreciate this attitude where people tell you how bad the internet is and that you are better off without it, as if that wasn't my own decision). apart from that, a really beautiful place with lots of trees, hammocks, like a big park. great views, too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
9.4

Casa Loma is in a great location in Minca with some of the best sunsets I've seen in my life. The hostel is definitely more rustic with open air dorms and bathrooms but it's great for a few days to escape the cities. The staff is very nice and helpful and the food is amazing! Plus, you are close enough to Minca that if you wanna grab a meal there it can easily be done. I highly recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
1st Feb 2017
10.0

This place is great. Sure the climb to get there is a bit steep, but once you're there and looking out over the mountains and ocean there is nowhere else you want to be. There's no wifi, the beds are covered by mosquito nets and open to the world, and it's awesome. As soon as you reach the hostel something seems to change - it fosters friendlieness and hospitality and our evenings were filled with great conversations and breathtaking sunsets. And the breakfasts are some of the best I've had!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
5.7

The views are beautiful! If you want to feel as if your camping this is it! A hike from town so be prepared to have all your goodies with you. Friendly staff, peaceful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.