X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Casa Ortega Reviews

46, rue des Petites Maries, Marseille, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
284 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

If you are passing thru Marseilles via train Casa Ortega is a gem.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Our host Caroline was extremely helpful and thoughtful. She provided us with many ideas of items/places to see when we were in Marseille. Hotel is a hidden gem. Some people may be leery of neighborhood but everyone was very respectful and kind even when we were coming home at night. The area is very well lit so little issues around security. The breakfast that was prepared was very good. The location is 50 meters from train St. Charles train station which is ideal.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I really liked this boutique 'hostel'hotel' just by Gare St Charles. The owner was very helpful ,. The room had a balcony and lots of windows. Ideal for our short stay.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Owner more than accomodating re: check in and check out. Always helpful with advice of where to go. Breakfast great! Internet off and on but would definetely reccommend to family and friends.


69%

The checkin time isn't dependable. After waiting all day with our bags, since they don't have luggage storage and the train station costs 9,50 per person to leave it there, we arrived at the hotel at 6 expecting service but no one was there and we had to wait even longer and to call them internationally to see what was up. Wifi never worked. Location was sketchy. Staff was helpful, when she was actually there. Wouldn't recommend, waste of money.


89%

Caroline was amazing. So friendly and polite. She gave us lots of information on what there is to do and see in Marseille. The rooms are clean, decorated very nicely and have basic essentials. Beds are comfy. I would recommend staying at Casa Ortega.


100%

My stay at Casa Ortega was fantastic - the manager was very helpful and kind, and the rooms were clean, air-conditioned and comfortable. The breakfast is delicious and the location is perfect as it's close to the train station (which is also where the shuttles to the airport depart from) and only a short walk to the harbour and many of Marseille's attractions. Excellent value for money and I would definitely stay here again.


77%

Location close to railway station, but not close to the city centre. Very friendly and extremely helpful staff. Good atmosphere.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

This was the second best hostel of all nine hostels on our trip. Rooms were very beautiful and super clean. It was definitely pure luxory for our interrail to stay here. Location felt a bit dangerous and the fact that there isn't anyone in the reception during the night.


97%

What a great place and wonderful staff! David, the proprietor, welcomed us warmly and provided a great dinner recommendation. The decor and energy of Casa Ortega is outstanding.Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would (will) recommend highly. Thanks so much, a very satisfied visitor.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Thank you very much, David end Nancy. It has been a real pleasure to stay at your place. It made us forget our travelling troubles completely. Chantal & Yvo

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent spot: charming and well located

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The area of the city was not very attractive to us. In fact this area seemed very littered and unkept. Would look for a place closer to the port if ever there again. Very close to train station was a plus but ease of taxis could have gotten us somewhere else very quickly. Breakfast was provided and adequate (bread, jelly, yogurt, tea/coffee, OJ, cereal). Great bed mattress.


91%

Great place. The design is very well thought out. Very clean, friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

David and Nancy were so friendly and welcoming. Perfect location and so close to train station. They made excellent restaurant recommendations.

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Marseille Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback