Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Casa San Ildefonso

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 219 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 219 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.3
Casa San Ildefonso Located at San Ildefonso #38, , Mexico City.
Casa San Ildefonso
Mexico
Mexico City Mexico City 06020 San Ildefonso #38
89% 219
19.4363237 -99.1292202
Casa San Ildefonso
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
9.7

Lovely hostal with private rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
10.0

Fabulously located, 16th/17th century colonial building that boasts a lovely courtyard, small fitness room and large common areas. Rooms are clean, spacious and have some character. Located close enough to the Zocalo but buffered enough that you do not sense the pedestrian traffic. One block from the Secretaria de Educacion Publica which boast dozens of some of Diego Rivera's best works. There was a feral dog in the neighborhood that caused some barking disturbance; not nocturnal thankfully.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
9.1

Great hostel!! Nice quiet sanctuary in the heart of the city. Stayed in a double room which was very clean, spacious, with hot water and lockers. Great central location. Felt very safe, with gated security into the hostel. The staff we're friendly and spoke good English. Basic breakfasts - bread, cereal etc. Not much of an atmosphere but what we needed as our first stop in Mexico. Only fault would be the rooms were quite cold, could do with more blankets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
10.0

The space is very nice quiet and cool in the courtyard. Rooms are simple and very clean. The staff is friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
5.7

Starting of - this only considers the guy in the front desk receiving travelers, called Isaac, the nephew of the owner. He gives an incredibly bad service (non at all) and has no sense of working within hospitality. We asked for where to go safely and the reply was "if you don't wanna get robbed then don't go out"... secondly we asked for minor information and he did not help, but instead just said "google it".. Usually I do not leave negative comments - but in this case I'm disappointed..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

Casa San Ildefonso in Mexico City, Mexico was truly a great location and all the amenities served were truly outstanding and felt like home. From the 24 hour security to the tours available and the hospitality of the staff to accommodate specific requests, I would without hesitation and intent on staying at Casa San Ildefonso again and again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
9.1

Excellent location, very cute hostel, good security. Some of the staff not the friendliness and very limited English. Wifi not super reliable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
7.4

Big, Cold, Dim, Ghosty. But good security and location and staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
9.1

The hostel is located a few blocks away from the Zocalo, on a pedestrian only street, next to a police station. The neighborhood around the hostel felt rather working-class, be aware that though you will be in the central part of the DF, you will not be in a trendy neighborhood. This is also not the place to barhop, as I found few establishments open late within walking distance. The hostel was quiet, security was taken seriously, breakfast was great, and the staff were friendly. Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Oct 2016
10.0

Excellent staff, location and facility. Large rooms, plenty of bathrooms. This place was unexpected surprise. Very large and surrounded by shops, restaurants, etc. Right in the Historic Center. I always felt safe. Thank you for a wonderful stay! (twice :-) )

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.