Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Casa San Ildefonso

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.0
Casa San Ildefonso Located at San Ildefonso #38, , Mexico City.
Casa San Ildefonso
Mexico
Mexico City Mexico City 06020 San Ildefonso #38
89% 208
19.4363237 -99.1292202
Casa San Ildefonso
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
7.4

Big, Cold, Dim, Ghosty. But good security and location and staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
9.1

The hostel is located a few blocks away from the Zocalo, on a pedestrian only street, next to a police station. The neighborhood around the hostel felt rather working-class, be aware that though you will be in the central part of the DF, you will not be in a trendy neighborhood. This is also not the place to barhop, as I found few establishments open late within walking distance. The hostel was quiet, security was taken seriously, breakfast was great, and the staff were friendly. Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Oct 2016
10.0

Excellent staff, location and facility. Large rooms, plenty of bathrooms. This place was unexpected surprise. Very large and surrounded by shops, restaurants, etc. Right in the Historic Center. I always felt safe. Thank you for a wonderful stay! (twice :-) )

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
7.4

I stayed in a private double room with shared bathroom for one night in October. The hostel is in a beautiful historic building that is very clean and spacious. However, I cannot recommend this hostel for a few reasons. As mentioned by others, the mosquitos were a real problem. They kept buzzed around my head at night and biting my face, keeping me up for several hours. Secondly, there was zero hot or even warm water in the shared showers. Given the cost, this is completely unacceptable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Oct 2016
9.4

Good place to spend a night or more

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Sep 2016
9.7

The staff were very helpful and friendly with any information we needed. The rooms and common areas very clean and felt very homely, which is exactly what we were after. The breakfast was basic with bread, cereal, coffee and tea but that was fine for us. Highly recommend this hostel to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
6.0

Mediocre. Though it is near the Zocalo and Templo Mayor, the street where the hostel is located and the streets around it can be dodgy and dangerous at night. Breakfast was bad. The common patio is nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
9.4

This is a very nicely located hostel 2 blocks away from Mexico Zocalo Center, it was a former huge house and it has recently been renovated to accommodate resting areas. It is very well suited for a traveler that really needs to get a 2-3 days good rest with the desire to do nearby walks to beautiful downtown. Hostel staff very friendly. breakfast included. I has a very relaxed time on a business trip there in an individual room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
10.0

A very quiet location amongst the hustle of Mexico City

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2016
6.0

This hostel was great but the mosquitos were the worst! I read on other reviews that mosquitos were bad but I had no idea how bad it was. If yours a young traveler looking to mingle and meet people this hostel isn't for you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.