Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Casa Zen Guesthouse & Yoga Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jul 2017
9.4

Best place we stayed while in Costa Rica. Maybe a 30 second walk to the beach which was amazing. That area on the beach was not crowded with people at all and it was very secluded. The hostel was so calm and chill. Perfect for a stay at the beach. Offered yoga classes, you have to pay but it was an amazing experience. This is definitely not a party hostel. Really good restaraunts right around the corner. Bali Cafe and Casa Del Mar had amazing food. Stay here!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jonnybartos7648
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
26th Jul 2017
10.0

Great hostel if you're wanting to chill. You can find the party life also in Santa Teresa but I spent a week here just chilling. Made some great friends and had plenty of time down the beach which is real close. Highly recommended place, staff are really helpful and has a great feel to the place. If you're into yoga then it is a must, 3 to 4 classes everyday. Will come back again for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
8.0

This hostel is quiet, adorable, and conveniently located near town and walking distance to the beach. If you're looking for a place to wind down and relax, catch up on some yoga, this is the place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
8.9

Casa Zen was so chilled out I loved it. Staff were super friendly, yoga was great and breakfast was too Right by the beach and supermarket I didn't mind but it's worth noting they are only cold showers If you've come to relax - stay here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th May 2017
7.4

They offer many yoga classes all day long. We did a candlelight course, it was so relaxing ! It's near the beach, but you need to rent a bicycle or an atv if you want to visit the town of Santa Theresa. We saw a family of monkeys in the court yard of the hostel. However, the bathroom weren't so clean. Overall we had a great stay, but Santa Theresa is a place to relax, there is not that much to do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th May 2017
8.6

2nd time at casa zen. Name says it all, very chill place to stay in santa Teresa. -seconds walking distance from the beach, gorgeous sunsets, nice rooms clean and safe. Included breakfast is nice with fresh fruits and toats but lack eggs. Convieniently located in front of groceries store in case you woyld rather cook your own meal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Yuval93
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
2.6

I got really disappointed, it was really expensive compared to the other hostels the rooms was really small and it was really difficult to sleep because they don't have any Ac over there( I really expected to sleep good at least but even that didn't happen). I didn't tried all the yoga because I was really tiered of not sleeping in the night. The kitchen was really messy and not clean and the bathroom and the showers weren't really clean

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
6.9

The staff was mixed- some helpful but not as friendly as other hostels I've visited. I expected locks to be provided with the lockers but they weren't. The bathrooms weren't the cleanest. The common fridge smelled terrible and I was reluctant to put my foood inside. It's close to the beach and relatively quiet at night. I didn't like how far the upstairs rooms were from the bathroom.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Mar 2017
3.4

Would not recommend staying here. We booked but ended up staying at Pura Vida Mini Hostel instead and loved that. Casa Zen is very dirty, especially the bathrooms and the kitchen. Kitchen lacks basic amenities such as vegetable peeler, can opener, towel and enough space for everybody... If you've come here to meet new people go somewhere else. Great location in regards to the beach and supermarket but 'downtown' is a bit far away. Breakfast is not fulfilling at all but you can ask for extra

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
10.0

Breakfast is awesome , staff is friendly and helpful. Sweet spot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.