Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Casa Zen Guesthouse & Yoga Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Mar 2017
3.4

Would not recommend staying here. We booked but ended up staying at Pura Vida Mini Hostel instead and loved that. Casa Zen is very dirty, especially the bathrooms and the kitchen. Kitchen lacks basic amenities such as vegetable peeler, can opener, towel and enough space for everybody... If you've come here to meet new people go somewhere else. Great location in regards to the beach and supermarket but 'downtown' is a bit far away. Breakfast is not fulfilling at all but you can ask for extra

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
10.0

Breakfast is awesome , staff is friendly and helpful. Sweet spot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
10.0

I love casa zen!! This was my second stay with them and I will definitely be back. The staff are like a big family, so kind and welcoming. The place is beautiful and very well taken care of and so close to the beach you can walk there barefoot! Yoga classes offered are wonderful too. I absolutely recommend casa zen to anyone looking for a low key slice of paradise. Many thanks for another lovely stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Feb 2017
7.4

The online description makes it look and sound a lot better than it is. Way too expensive for what you get.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Feb 2017
7.7

It's was a good experience in general. I don't recommand the yoga area. It could be more clean (block, Matt...) otherwise, beautiful, quiet and peaceful place. Juste next to the beach, it is very friendly and have good facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • nathaliesasi2997
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
4.6

The staff was rude to several guests during the stay, myself icluded. The one exception was a guy who was warm and friendly. They didnt serve a big breakfast and you could not take more if you wanted. The rooms where ok but very warm and the beds uncomfortable. I tryed a yoga class and it was really good. Casa zen has a nice trace for yoga ir if you want to chill.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • aclatini28
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
9.7

The vibe at Casa Zen was relaxed yet upbeat. The staff were so helpful in answering my questions and helping with various arrangements. The breakfast is healthy and filling. The quality of the yoga teachers is Excellent (and I'm a yoga teacher myself). I met a wide array of other like-minded travelers and had an amazing stay. I definitely recommend Casa Zen to short and longer stay guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
9.7

Fruit and toast for breakfast was always good. Would definitely go back. Great communal area. Saucepans could do with an upgrade.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
1st Jan 2017
9.4

Great little hostel in ST, we only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer. Quiet as off the Main Street which is a big advantage and only a short stroll to the beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
10.0

I absolutely love this place. It's a perfect location as it's right on the beach but close to the main road so you can catch the bus out of Santa Teresa with no problems (you can just flag it down on the road) The yoga is fantastic! I recommend it. I booked a 6 class pass and used them all very quickly! The breakfast of toast and fruits is perfectly filling. You can rent surfboards and bikes too. I would definitely stay here again. 10/10 from me!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.