Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Casa Zen Guesthouse & Yoga Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 98 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 98 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1
Casa Zen Guesthouse & Yoga Center Located at Playa Santa Teresa, , Santa Teresa.
Casa Zen Guesthouse & Yoga Center
Costa Rica
Santa Teresa Cobano, Puntarenas Playa Santa Teresa
83% 98
9.6352078 -85.1600611
Casa Zen Guesthouse & Yoga Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Aug 2016
9.1

It was such a treat to stay here! Our room was immaculate and comfortable (hot water!). Staff were a little cold at first but turned out to be quite helpful and nice. Grocery store very close by and the beach is just steps away. Many places to sit and relax, great hammocks and seating area. Don't depend on the free breakfast to fill you up though- toast, fruit and coffee didn't turn out to be enough for us! Overall, great place, highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
9.1

Casa Zen was great. There are plenty of areas to hang out, lots of showers and bathrooms, it's close to a grocery store and the beach (though you have to walk about 10 mins to get to the good surfing areas), the breakfast is great. It is a 20-minute walk to an ATM, so keep that in mind if you need cash! The showers were always cold for me, which was a bummer, but they have a cleaning crew who cleans every morning. Oh yeah, and the yoga is wonderful! Especially when Tatiana is teaching!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
5.1

I am normally very very easily pleased by hostels, but the staff here was incredibly rude our entire stay; specifically the curly haired guy who works the front desk. He deemed the communal kitchen closed at 7:55pm when all signs posted say 8am - 8pm, and refused to let us access our dinner that we had stored in the refrigerator. It was really strange how much he enjoyed making our evening difficult.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
9.7

Causa Zen is a great Surf/yoga hostel situated almost directly on the beach. The staff is great and there are two kitchens so cooking time doesn't tend to involve too much waiting. The yoga classes there are held on the roof of the hostel and are simply beautiful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
9.1

The place was in very good location and the vibe here was so chill. Everybody is friendly including staffs! The price is fair and we definitely enjoyed our stay here however it was hot over there during night time. Not much fan!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
6.6

The are both good and bad things about Casa Zen: Good: quick walk to the beach. Bad: beach is rocky and not for surfing (surfing beaches are 10-20 minute walks). Good: Zen atmosphere is often pleasant. Bad: "zen" limits socializing and more upbeat activities. Good: dorms have only 4-beds and are secure. Bad: extremely hot with no AC. Bad: the bathrooms are outside, are often sandy, to dark, and smell. Good and Bad: Staff.....they seemed moody; sometimes friendly and other times rude.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bthillo2035
  • Costa Rica, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.7

Awesome place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
7.7

The hostel itself is nice, right on the beach, and it has a yoga center. The dorms are ok, it's pretty hot and no air conditioning though. There are not that many bathrooms and for reaching them you need to go to the first floor (when some rooms, like mine, are on the second floor). There's no really a common area where you can chill and meet people; there's a sofa zone but you are no longer at night. It's impossible to eat breakfast for the quantity of flies on your food, which is disgustin

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
10.0

Casa Zen is just amazing! The Staff, The location, the complimentary fruit breakfast and last but not least... The yoga! Everything is just great. If you are going on a trip to find your centre and get back in touch with Nature, your body and your mind then Casa Zen is the place to go! 10/10 Would go back next chance I get! Thank you Casa Zen for everything

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Apr 2016
6.0

Curly hair front desk guy was super nice and helpful. Hard to sleep because no A/C.. Was hot AF. Bathrooms were disgusting. Power went off and stayed off all night. Good place to do yoga but not if you want to socialize.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.