X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Casa d'Alagoa Reviews

Praca Alexandre Herculano 27, Faro, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
1050 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 94%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very good place, clean, friendly staff, good mattress!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review. We have focused very much on having comfortable beds. See you next time.

100%

One of the better hostels I've stayed at. Great environment, organized group dinners and hang outs and a free breakfast!! That you don't find in other hostels :) I will repeat!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great words and thank you for participating on our dinners. Hope to see you soon at the house.

100%

Great time! Fantastic people! Casa d'Alagoa is an essence of the hostel! You say the word "hostel" you think: casa d'Alagoa. Thanks Diogo, Lauren, Fiona, Pedro and rest of the crew for atmosphere and hospitality, without you it wouldn't be the same! Definetely pop in there if you're in Faro!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great time we had with you. Lot's of fun! We hope to have you pop up here again even if just for a chat.

100%

This hostel was fantastic. The staff are so welcoming, they really make you feel at home. They cook a meal each night for €6 and it was the best food I've eaten in Europe so far (I've been travelling for 7 weeks), I ate there 3 nights in a row. I would definitely stay here again!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed our food. Next time you come here, let us know what would you like us to prepare :-)

94%

very helpful, friendly staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed our company as we did yours.

91%

Loved this place so much I went back after my stay. Had a great vibe and great facilities! Would recommend !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Very nice to hear that you loved the house. Hope to see you soon!

97%

Wonderful hostel, with the added benefits of having All-you-can-drink Sangria nights and offering delicious and affordable home cooked dinners. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Great experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment! Every saturday we have that crazy BBQ with all-you-can-drink Sangria and beer. We are happy that you had fun with us as much as we had fun with you.

100%

Fantastic! The staff was so friendly and helpful, the dinner was great, and even though it was quiet, I still had a wonderful time :) I highly recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Lovely to hear that you love our food. We do love to cook :-) You should come back in the summer to check out the house when is full of people.

97%

Good hostel with nice staff and relaxed atmosphere. Great place to meet other travelers!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for this review! Great to have around in the house. We have the dinners every night so that people can start relaxing a sharing their experience with other travellers.

100%

I had a really excellent stay here! The staff is incredibly friendly and welcoming, the rooms are beautiful with the best bed I have slept in at a hostel and the dinners are wonderful! They even have inexpensive beer on tap! There are tons of great places to hang out solo or with the group. Don't stay anywhere else in Faro!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your amazing comment. That beer on tap is starting to be a main attraction of the house :-D. Whenever you come back to Faro, we will show around all the places we go out to.

100%

This hostel was amazing! The staff were very friendly and accommodating, the rooms were clean, large kitchen and free breakfast. Offered dinner every night. One of the best hostel atmospheres.. It was homey and very easy to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Very nice to have in the house. We do love to use our kitchen and cook some great food for our guests. Thank you for the great time here

86%

Erg fijn verblijf. Gekookt in de keuken die alles heeft. Ok een vrij simpel ontbijt maar dat is gebruikelijk. En een hele lieve dame die ons veel tips gaf voor onze vervolg reis!

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Such a lovely, friendly hostel. The staff are helpful and welcoming and the location is ideal - just a 5 minute walk from the seafront! The hostel was cleaned every morning and there was a trunk under the bed to store your luggage - remember to bring a small padlock! The staff also prepare a family-style meal for 8 euros every night which is a great way to meet people. I definitely recommend this laid-back hostel.😊

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the comment. We are very centrally located and the atmosphere of the house is very relaxed. Thanks for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon

91%

Staff was really friendly and helpful! Free Wi-Fi access is useful. I can warmly recommend staying in Casa d'Alagoa.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. we hope to see you again in the house

100%

The BEST hostel in all Faro. If you don't go there, you will miss a lot. Thanks to all the staff!

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind words! It was great having you here. Great to know you.

100%

For sure the best hostel in the Algarve!!! Many thanks to all the staff there! Great breakfast with juice and fresh fruit ! I'll be back this Summer that's for sure!

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your comment! We hope to see you here in the summer and we know we are going to surprise you. We have some things prepared this year :-)

94%

Staff and owners were very friendly and extremely helpful. Building itself is stunning and located within a few minutes walk of Faro.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to help our guests enjoy their Portugal trip. The building is more than 200 years old and we are quite proud of what we have done to renovate it. Just one correction we would like to make in your comment. We are in the center of Faro, probably you meant "a few minutes walk of the marina of Faro" :-D :-D Thanks for your visit,

94%

We loved our time at Casa d'Alagoa!!! Our double bed room was amazing and the 8€ dinners so tasty. We loved the fact that the hostel sold wine and beer as well as snacks. The directions from the bus terminal were perfect and easy to follow. Muito obrigada!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you loved your stay here. Thanks for your visit.

91%

As a hostel should be,so friendly,facilities fine,airport pickup so welcome in late evening. Dinner offered,good and good value. We'll go again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment. We try to improve all the time. We also hear what our guests have to say and what would please them to have. Thanks for your visit

100%

Everything was perfect, the beds, the facilities, the help and advices of Claudia our host, the only little negative point was the small power of the shower. I totally recommend this hostel!

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review! Claudia has some really good advice. About the small power of the showers, they are environment friendly. The region of Algarve has a water problem.

(66 results)


View all Faro Hostels

Please give us your feedback