Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cashel Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.1
Cashel Hostel Located at 5 John St, , Cashel.
Cashel Hostel
Ireland
Cashel 5 John St
77% 267
52.5157246 -7.8875398
Cashel Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jul 2016
8.9

a great place ! we have a nice stay at Cashel Hostel, Patrick was very friendly and helpfully, and we give a gentle thought for his horse Jessie :) we 'll come again in the future with a great pleasure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marc-andreguay14675
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
18th Jul 2016
7.4

The room we had was nice. The staff is also kind, if you stay there for the night they will give you free ticket for the rock of Cashel (worth 7 euros), which is really nice to visit. The kitchen is also well equipped. If you want a hot shower you will get it (maybe to much) and the shower had to much pressure. Our only concern is the security. The rooms don't have locks and you don't have lockers in your room. But for a hostel in a such small village it's not that bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
7.7

Nice hostel, great people. The voucher to get into the Rock of Cashel is pretty clutch.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jul 2016
10.0

I love the Hostel it's such a lovely place! The atmosphere is amazing and I met so many gorgeous people there! The stuff was the best and it just felt like a family. I got everything that I needed, the rooms are beautiful and clean, the kitchen is full of things needed for cooking and the living room is so comfortable. I came back three times, I had the best time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
9.7

Stayed for one night at Cashel hostel to vist the Rock of Cashel. The location was great, easy walk to stores, around town and to the Rock. PJ (the owner) hooked me and my friend up with free entrence ticket to the Rock of Cashel, saved about €7 each. There is a free tour, very good, included in the ticket price. The room was really nice. 10 person dorm, wooden bed frame (no squeaking), carpet floor, comfortable mattress. Neat outdoor grill/lounge. Kitchen with what you need to cook. Good place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
8.9

Upon walking in the owner will introduce you to everyone. Very comfortable atmosphere whether you are looking to get to know other guests or chill by yourself. Very close to everything in Cashel. Great place and would recommend to anyone spending time in Cashel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2016
5.7

Cashel is a small cute little town, so this is really your only hostel option. We found it a bit cramped, pretty grungey, the showers and toilet facilities are sub par, but I think this all comes with being in an old building. Needless to say once we had checked in we were pretty ready to check out again. The positives - lovely staff, gave us a free ticket to the Rock of Cashel (which is awesome, because that's 7 Euro saved). Other than that bonus, I would say it's pretty below average.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
8.0

I really enjoyed my stay at Cashel Holiday Hostel. PJ, the owner, is a very kind and helpful gent, and the hostel is perfectly located near the city centre. It is an old building, and the facilities are not exactly what you would call modern, but it is a perfectly decent place to stay and includes most of the amenities you would expect from a larger, newer, or more urban hostel. Thanks, PJ!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
22nd May 2016
5.4

Location of the Hostel is good, as is the WiFi in the common room. However, the bed I was sleeping in was seriously bad, as it was missing some of its support beams. There was only one toilet and one shower for the entire hall, although I did not run into trouwble here, if a large group wants to use the facilities at the same time, it would become an issue. In the end having a place to sleep is a large part of what we pay for. I don't know if all beds are this broken, but this was just bad.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th May 2016
9.1

An great hostel with peace, silence and friendly staff. The rooms and beds were better than my average hostel experiences, the people were great and I have probably never slept as well in a hostel. No breakfast, but I could live with that, as the price is really low and includes the Rock of Cashel entrance fee also. Not top tier, but a joyful place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.