X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cashel Hostel Reviews

5 John St, Cashel, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
171 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Clean & functional but generally a bit scruffy at the edges & needing a bit of care. Broken hooks, windows that don't open/close properly, taps that need fixing to sinks, dead plants and just a feeling of old junk lying around esp. in the back yard. Also, the kitchen utensils were a bit mucky and, whilst this is more a reflection on the guests staying there at the time, I find there is an aspect of "broken windows theory" in hostels.


71%

Good Hostel, but we got no key for our room and most of the time no staff was at the reception, so everbody could get in.....


74%

The hostel is very well located, right in the centre of the town. There is also a nice kitchen disponible. What we didn´t like was the fact that the doors of the rooms cannot be locked and also that the bathrooms are really small.... We also had to wait for a long time to do the check out because there was no staff available even though we rang the bell several times.


94%

The staff was very friendly. Our room and bathroom were tidy. The self-catering kitchen was okay, too. The hostel is located close to a food store, and in walking distance to Cashel Castle (about 10 minutes).

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

No credit card facilities. YHA membership did give us 10% discount off booked rate. Fridge capacity in kitchen area insufficient of number of guests. Parking limited.


83%

Very friendly and helpful staff greeted us. Great conversations in the meal room. Easy to walk to sights in the town.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

We liked this hostel once we found it, but it was a little tricky to locate. The man working the fest (we assume the manager) gave us an upgrade in rooms for no charge which was great! It was pretty close to everything since the town is so small. It's not the cleanest place but it worked just fine for us.


94%

I loved this place. The kitchen and BBQ area are great. The staff was very helpful and friendly.


83%

good atmosphere, friendly people and staff


51%

The staff were friendly enough but the security was horrible. Anyone could walk in the front door and go into my room( 10 bed) since there was only one key and we culdnt lock it because then other guests and our selvs couldnt get back in. There was no oven in the kitchen and no breakfast in the morning, and there was a faint cat urine smell on the runway carpet in the stairs. But overall in was a clean bed for those in need of rest.

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very kindly Staff. Strongly recommended. Michal&Daniela


74%

I stayed at the Cashel Hostel for one night. It was a nice place- large dorms, nice common area and full kitchen (no breakfast, however.) It's in a good spot in town, only a short walk away from the Rock of Cashel and just off the main street in town, and just a two minute walk from the Bus Eireann stop. While the staff was friendly, they seemed a bit absent. There never seemed to be anyone around when I went to the front desk, and had to keep ringing the doorbell to get their attention.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
66%

Clean room in quiet hostel.Large comfortable lounge & big kitchen. The front desk is signed that it is attended from 8:30 am but at 900 am Patrick Joseph was not in attendance to reimburse us our Five Euros key deposit. We ran the bell to no avail & finally tracked down an employee who rang Patrick. He returned to the hostel in his car & refunded our money but no apology given despite being delayed by 30 minutes. No note was left at the desk explaining Patrick Josephs absence to hostellers.


60%

We were very disappointed by this hostel. Our room was tiny, there wasn't even a shelf or even room for four suitcases and the bathroom had seen better times long ago... Unfortunately we didn't see much of the staff and we had to ring the bell for about 7 minutes before we were able to check out. I'm sorry, but we won't stay here again.


54%

Good location makes it worth it for a night, otherwise the facilities were not the cleanest, water in the sink was constantly running because the faucet was broken, and there were not nearly enough bathrooms/ showers for the amount of people staying there.

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Although my first impression of Ike the manager was not positive, he turned out to be quite friendly and helpful. The 5 bed female dorm is a good size, not too crowded. The kitchen is clean, bright and modern, but no breakfast is provided. Unfortunately the showers have a knob that must be pushed in constantly to make the water flow. That means you either freeze while soaping up or you wash with one hand. There is no parking, so you must feed the meters on the street. Easy walk to town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, i would like to state that our Manager Icke is indeed an exceptional individual in which our guests do not realise manages all three sectors of our businesses, Hostel, B&B and Apartments, whilst in the process accumulating 60+hours work per week. Regarding our parking we have it free Monday - Saturday 5pm - 10am and Sunday - Free all Day, We look forward to having you once again as a valued guest within our establishment. Kind regards PJ Quinlan

63%

Smallest bunk beds I have ever stayed in, I'm quite small but managed to hit my head more than once. The worst shower I have had, the water was far too hot, with no temperature control, and the water pressure was to the point if being painful - I thought I might lose a nipple!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we at Cashel Holiday Hostel can assure you that your "Nipple" was by no means in danger or about to fall off for that matter. We look forward to having you once again at our Hostel establishment. Kind regards PJ Quinlan

77%

Not the best and not the worst hostel i've been to. Really good beds and close to city and rock of cashel. Felt like the manager made sure to tell me everyting, so i could not complain about it later. I thought that was funny. Good hostel for a night or two.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to having you once again at our Hostel establishment. Kind regards PJ Quinlan

57%

The staff was quite unfriendly, the showers didn't work properly, there were no keys or codes for the room. We liked the stay though due to the good location.

  • 14th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Not all our staff speak fluent English so thus why they may not communicate freely to guests, you were given the option of the 1st floor shower whilst we had a 24hour fault with the 3rd floor, Security is paramount within our establishment and why we have a Front door key entry system, 24hr CCTV, Staff on front reception & Free security lockers on offer, we do not offer keys to the Dorms as it is shared accommodation, Keys are given to private rooms only. Kind regards PJ Quinlan

100%

Fantastic stay. Owner PJ and all the staff were very welcoming. Thanks a lot guys

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to having you once again at our Hostel establishment. Kind regards PJ Quinlan

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(89 results)


View all Cashel Hostels

Please give us your feedback