Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cashel Hostel Reviews

5 John St, Cashel, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained


222 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


One mattress was wet through. The room service needs to take more care to prevent this unexceptable situation. We had booked two nights. We were only willing to stay one. The kitchen was dirty. It was a gloomy place. Reception was not available until you went outside and rang the bell. The hostel needs to be removed from Hostelworld.com's list until it is improved.


I stayed here for 3 nights, the room I stayed in was clean and so were the bathrooms and the well equipped kitchen. Location is perfect only a few minutes away from the bus stop/town centre and the Rock of Cashel is less than a 10 minute walk. The hostel has a homely feeling to it, especially the common room, it's a nice place to have a cup of tea, watch a movie (plenty of choice!) or just read a book and relax a bit. I would recommend this hostel.


comfortable and welcoming hostel with every requirement for the traveller


Security was a little lacking as I didn't have a way to secure my luggage, but overall a fine place to stay the night.


We'll sure come back :-)


A very nice hostel in the middle of Cashel. The perfect place to sleep and see the wonderful Rock of Cashel! People are really nice and the hostel is cumfortable.


It was a good hostel. A bit weird not to have a key for your room door but as long as you trust everyone else in the hostel it's fine. They have a nice sitting room with some games and lots of movies if you want to relax. Also, when you pay for your room you get a free pass to the Rock of Cashel which saves 8€ or something. They'll also give you a map of town with all the places to see.


A very good kitchen and the whole outside area is really nice. Our room stinked nice. I like the so much cause no one wanted to hang out. The receptionist was just the best. He's really young and was soooo nice to us! The location is also top.


Good hostel for a good price. The staff at the reception were almost always absent. One bathroom and toilet per floor so it could get cramped if it's very busy. Wifi is excellent. Kitchen is fully equipped


Pretty good hostel. Clean and quiet. A lot of stairs to walk up and down mind so if you are not the most nimble, its not the easiest to navigate.


This has been by far the coziest hostel I've stayed in. It's ideally located to both tourist attractions and the downtown area, but is off the main street enough that it was actually a quiet sleep, which is worth it's weight in gold. The living room is warm and homey, the staff are super helpful. I would come back as much to see them as to stay here!


Pretty good overall, but the shower was weirdly unpleasant (though clean enough). It operated on one of those push-button timer faucets (to keep people from leaving the faucets running). The shower only lasts a few seconds before stopping, however that's probably a good thing, as the output was so violent, it was like a hurricane in the shower. I don't even know if there was more water or air blowing around, but it's powerful enough to blow the shower door open and get water everywhere. .


Very nice place! Great workers and comfortable beds. Very close to the Rock of Cashel, so good for visiting that. Would go back!


it just felt very homely and there was always someone there to help out

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


Bunk was broken/uncomfortable, otherwise good


A bit tired, sink in room had only one tap with scalding water. Could not regulate shower.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Larry, I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and i am sure you appreciated the Free vouchers which allowed you free acess to the Rock of cashel, Our power showers are centrally pumped and mixed and as a result you have instant showers which can be used 24 hours/day, also we have wifi in all rooms which is always on and fast,,


Overall a good hostel. Pretty quiet and the cooking tools aren't all that great. However the rooms are nice, everything works well and the staff are absolutely awesome.


Lovely stay at this hostel. Staff was very friendly, there was a great relaxed atmosphere. Good price for what you get.


Loved our stay in this hostel. Quite quiet, but great location and had everything that we needed. No lockers in the room but we didn't have any issues with this. Close to supermarkets and tourist stops, plenty of information about the area in the reception. Good wifi!


Lovely kitchen with central circular table under small glass atrium. Very friendly and helpful staff. Fast wifi. Parking on street, free Sundays, before 930 am and evenings. Central Cashel location.recommended.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(116 results)

View all Cashel Hostels

Please give us your feedback