X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cashel Hostel Reviews

5 John St, Cashel, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
195 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Bunk was broken/uncomfortable, otherwise good


60%

A bit tired, sink in room had only one tap with scalding water. Could not regulate shower.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Larry, I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and i am sure you appreciated the Free vouchers which allowed you free acess to the Rock of cashel, Our power showers are centrally pumped and mixed and as a result you have instant showers which can be used 24 hours/day, also we have wifi in all rooms which is always on and fast,,

83%

Overall a good hostel. Pretty quiet and the cooking tools aren't all that great. However the rooms are nice, everything works well and the staff are absolutely awesome.


91%

Lovely stay at this hostel. Staff was very friendly, there was a great relaxed atmosphere. Good price for what you get.


77%

Loved our stay in this hostel. Quite quiet, but great location and had everything that we needed. No lockers in the room but we didn't have any issues with this. Close to supermarkets and tourist stops, plenty of information about the area in the reception. Good wifi!


83%

Lovely kitchen with central circular table under small glass atrium. Very friendly and helpful staff. Fast wifi. Parking on street, free Sundays, before 930 am and evenings. Central Cashel location.recommended.


89%

Nice accommodation, good location, friendly host / staff.


77%

Traveled a bit off season, so atmosphere was sort of dead. Great location in Cashel though. Lots of info on things to do in the region too. No frills; but has everything you need.


100%

I spent one night in this great hostel. It's very well located : 2 minutes walk from everything : centre, bus stop, banks, restaurants, supermarket, post office, shops etc. and 5 minutes away from the Rock of Cashel. There's a cosy sitting room, where you can watch plenty of movies ; a great kitchen, large and well equipped ; comfortable beds and clean rooms, toilets and showers ; colourful walls ; a very nice staff, always ready to help you. You definitely should try it !

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Cashel Holiday Hostel is a really great place to stay for one night as much as for a week :-) Stuff is so friendly and helpfull, room was nice and clean, showers and toilets also. Hostel has great location in the center of cashel Town so you need only few minutes walk to all interesting places. In the living room is a computer with the internet connection, but if you have your own electronic devices there is really good WiFi. Kitchen and dinning room - great place to meet new people.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

A great kitchen, a great Tv room, cold hostel though. I wish it was a bit warmer in our stay. Otherwise, they have lockers to lock your valuable stuff adjacent to the room.


40%

Turn the heating on!!!! Anibody in reception? Windows broken


54%

Clean & functional but generally a bit scruffy at the edges & needing a bit of care. Broken hooks, windows that don't open/close properly, taps that need fixing to sinks, dead plants and just a feeling of old junk lying around esp. in the back yard. Also, the kitchen utensils were a bit mucky and, whilst this is more a reflection on the guests staying there at the time, I find there is an aspect of "broken windows theory" in hostels.


71%

Good Hostel, but we got no key for our room and most of the time no staff was at the reception, so everbody could get in.....


74%

The hostel is very well located, right in the centre of the town. There is also a nice kitchen disponible. What we didn´t like was the fact that the doors of the rooms cannot be locked and also that the bathrooms are really small.... We also had to wait for a long time to do the check out because there was no staff available even though we rang the bell several times.


94%

The staff was very friendly. Our room and bathroom were tidy. The self-catering kitchen was okay, too. The hostel is located close to a food store, and in walking distance to Cashel Castle (about 10 minutes).

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

No credit card facilities. YHA membership did give us 10% discount off booked rate. Fridge capacity in kitchen area insufficient of number of guests. Parking limited.


83%

Very friendly and helpful staff greeted us. Great conversations in the meal room. Easy to walk to sights in the town.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

We liked this hostel once we found it, but it was a little tricky to locate. The man working the fest (we assume the manager) gave us an upgrade in rooms for no charge which was great! It was pretty close to everything since the town is so small. It's not the cleanest place but it worked just fine for us.


94%

I loved this place. The kitchen and BBQ area are great. The staff was very helpful and friendly.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(102 results)


View all Cashel Hostels

Please give us your feedback