Hostelworld.com

Cashel Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 249 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 249 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.2
Cashel Hostel Located at 5 John St, , Cashel.
Cashel Hostel
Ireland
Cashel 5 John St
76% 249
52.5157246 -7.8875398
Cashel Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jun 2016
8.9

Upon walking in the owner will introduce you to everyone. Very comfortable atmosphere whether you are looking to get to know other guests or chill by yourself. Very close to everything in Cashel. Great place and would recommend to anyone spending time in Cashel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2016
5.7

Cashel is a small cute little town, so this is really your only hostel option. We found it a bit cramped, pretty grungey, the showers and toilet facilities are sub par, but I think this all comes with being in an old building. Needless to say once we had checked in we were pretty ready to check out again. The positives - lovely staff, gave us a free ticket to the Rock of Cashel (which is awesome, because that's 7 Euro saved). Other than that bonus, I would say it's pretty below average.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
8.0

I really enjoyed my stay at Cashel Holiday Hostel. PJ, the owner, is a very kind and helpful gent, and the hostel is perfectly located near the city centre. It is an old building, and the facilities are not exactly what you would call modern, but it is a perfectly decent place to stay and includes most of the amenities you would expect from a larger, newer, or more urban hostel. Thanks, PJ!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
22nd May 2016
5.4

Location of the Hostel is good, as is the WiFi in the common room. However, the bed I was sleeping in was seriously bad, as it was missing some of its support beams. There was only one toilet and one shower for the entire hall, although I did not run into trouwble here, if a large group wants to use the facilities at the same time, it would become an issue. In the end having a place to sleep is a large part of what we pay for. I don't know if all beds are this broken, but this was just bad.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th May 2016
9.4

My weeks stay at the hostel in Cashel was really pleasant, the music down at the Bru hotel was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
10.0

Very nice. Our stay was too quick but a lovely hostel and staff were very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
8.6

had a really good time in this hostel, everybody there was really friendly! the location was great as well, center on the town you could walk to everywhere. the only things maybe could improve was that no room was locked, so anyone could enter anywhere if they wanted, and it also was a bit cold. but if ever in Cashel again I would def repeat ^^

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2016
7.7

The heating system didn't work in our room first, but thanks to Everson, the hostel staff, finally we got 2 other rooms where there was already warm. He also helped us with basic infos like going out to a nice traditional Irish pub or visiting the sights of the city. Thank you for everything ;)!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jan 2016
8.0

Good spot ! friendly, I really liked the living room and the showers are really good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.