Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 3,123 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 3,123 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
Castanea Old Town Hostel Located at Kindstugatan 1, Old Town, Stockholm.
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Sweden
Stockholm 11131 Kindstugatan 1, Old Town
91% 3123
59.3247283 18.0727350
Castanea Old Town Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
8.9

SOLO TRAVELERS LOOK ON! This place is a great hostel! it's clean, centrally located and the staff are lovely, however the is no social atmosphere. If you are travelling in a group or if you don't mind that there isn't a social environment then you will love you stay here. I was very surprised as a solo traveller that there was never anyone in the communal area, no music playing, no conversation. I'd recommend people travelling alone try elsewhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
8.9

I stayed for 3 nights and it was my first hostel experience. I'm glad that I had a great beginning. Great staff especially Paula ( blond with a curly hair) they were so helpful and friendly. Showers were clean and hot always.great location just centre of the old town-gamla Stan. If you wanna stay in peace during for your holiday yeah castenea is the right adress, not a great place for socialising tho Overall I highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
8.6

Perfect location. Few minutes walk to major attractions. Room is clean. Clients are awful, very noisy. If u choose dorm, be ready to sleepless through out the night as your roommates will keep making noises!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your positive review. Sorry you had this expreience, but I must say noisy roommates is nothing we hear about so often.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
9.4

Great location with very friendly staff. Security good with secure lockers for each bed big enough for a good sized travel bag. Note they do charge for sheets (65 Krona), however staff very helpful and had some great tips on where to go etc. All round very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your positive review and happy to hear we could help you out!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Sep 2016
7.7

This is a nice old fashioned hostel in the old town of Stockholm- don't come here and expect a bar open til 5am and a pub crawl . Lots of people using the kitchen and sitting in the common areas - which means you can chat with people quite easy as its a relaxed atmosphere . The rooms are cosy and it's very quiet at night - except the slamming fire doors . The reception isn't open all night- so if you check in after six u have to call a number to get let in. A nice simple place to stAy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice and informative review! Just want to inform future guests that you are welcome to contact us a few days before (by email or phone) to get the information on how to get in before or after check-in hours. But if you don´t do this you have the option to call a night watch.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Sep 2016
8.3

The location is perfect and everything feels very safe. The people are very nice and you can easily access everything you need to. The only negative is that there are not very many showers for the amount of people staying in the hostel. So you have to plan when to shower because it gets crazy busy at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice review! Yes the showers can be a bit busy in the mornings, but as you say, if you are able to plan your day differently it usually is no trouble at all.

  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
10.0

The best place to stay in the old town. Cheap, beautiful location, caring staff. I will stay again when ever I visit the city again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the nice review and welcome back anytime!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
4th Sep 2016
9.1

The friendliest staff I've encountered; i arrived super sick and needed to find a doctor, when i asked for directions the lady found me a doctor, made me a booking and upgraded me for free to a private room so i could recover in peace and not infect the others in the dorm, she really helped me heaps to not go through this sickness alone

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Oh I am so happy I could help you! I know how it is to be alone and sick on a journey. Hope you are feeling good now and can enjoy the rest of your trip!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
8.6

Everything went smoothly and was sufficient. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only problem was that the dorm room was a bit smelly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice review! Sorry to hear you experienced some unpleasant smells. With 16 people in the same room this is bound to happen from time to time. We do have a ventliation system and try to keep the windows open daily.

2nd Sep 2016
8.6

The location of this hostel was awesome! The hostel itself was very nice, but it definitely has a quiet and low-key atmosphere. There is a common room and a kitchen area to use, but they are a little small and aren't supposed to be used after 11pm. I was in the large dorm room, and it was decent. There were good lockers to store bags in, and the bunks had individual lights and sockets to use, which was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.