Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 3,283 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 3,283 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
Castanea Old Town Hostel Located at Kindstugatan 1, Old Town, Stockholm.
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Sweden
Stockholm 11131 Kindstugatan 1, Old Town
92% 3283
59.3247283 18.0727350
Castanea Old Town Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jan 2017
9.7

This hostel was really wonderful. Absolutely perfect location and good value for my money. The beds were comfortable, especially if you can snag one of the beds in the dorm with a real box spring under the mattress. The staff were really friendly and considerate when we emailed them before the stay, and helpful during our stay. The only tiny criticism is that the kitchen could get quite dirty and could use a deep clean more often, but nothing significant. Overall loved it and would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review! Happy to hear almost everything was good according to you. Also good to hear your criticism! We will have to try and put more time on cleaning the kitchen, especially on the weekends when there usually are more people around. And thank you for recommending us as well!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
8.3

Clean hostel located in quiet area. Showers were hot and good water pressure, cubicals a bit on the small side. Common area is right off the rooms and a quiet time of 11 means not much chance to socialise. Our only issues were with our dorm mates who were rather inconsiderate and should of stayed in a private room or hotel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking your time to write a review! It is true that we want it to be quiet after 11 PM for the sake of those who want to sleep. If you are a night owl we kind of figure that it is easier for you to socialize outside the hostel, than it is for those wishing to sleep to do it outside ;) Sorry to hear you had a bad experience with your roomies.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
4th Jan 2017
6.0

Because it's Stockholm you can't expect too much but this hostel is still not good. Very small and very minimal facilities. Reception is open very restricted hours, and although if you email you can still gain access, it comes across very cheap. Minimal common areas to eat let alone talk to people. At the least this place needs a TV (maybe put it in the reception you barely use) so that there is something to do during long winter nights.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear you felt this way about your visit to Castanea. You visited us during the darkest and coldest period of the year so I understand you spent a lot of time indoors. We have knowingly chosen not to have a TV - we do not have the facilities and it would most likely lead to disturbing of other guests. Also today almost everyone travels with gadgets on which you can download your own entertainment. Since we are located in the heart of Stockholm we also feel you are never too far from a café, restaurant, museum or other activities to fill your days with! We are happy to give you tips on what to do here in the reception! We are guaranteed to be here 09-11 and 15-18 everyday, but most of the days you can also find us here between 11-15. And if this does not suit you, just send us an email and we will answer it as soon as possible!

  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
10.0

We had a great stay during our amazing New Years Eve trip in Stockholm. Everything was clean and organized at Castanea Old Town Hostel. The staff was friendly and helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Happy to hear you had a great New Years and were pleased with you stay here! Thank you for taking your time to write such a nice review!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
10.0

Fantastic hostel! Clean, laid back and very comfortable. Would stay here again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
10.0

Perfect! I loved a fashionable old elevator.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you! The elevator is an old classic, just like the house! :)

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
20th Dec 2016
8.3

the location is superb. the kitchen isn't big but there are plenty of kitchenware and appliances, very nice! everything was absolutely clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice review! Glad you could make use of our kitchen. Even though the kitchen is small and can be crowded at times, it gives the place a very homey feel I think!

16th Dec 2016
10.0

I was rather impressed with the Castanea Hostel. The facilities were meticulously maintained, the environment was friendly, and the location was superb. 10 minute walk from Södermalm and Norrmalm, easy walk to central train station. I loved my time here and plan on returning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review. Our best Christmas gifts are happy guests :) Hope to see you here soon again!

  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Dec 2016
9.7

I had a really good sleep after a busy day. Very pleased with the services.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your high ratings and nice review!

15th Dec 2016
10.0

Best place to stay in Stockholm. Right In old town. Loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! Yes, the location really is excellent, if we may say so ourselves. We loved having you here! You are welcome back any time!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.