Hostelworld.com

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2,992 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2,992 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
Castanea Old Town Hostel Located at Kindstugatan 1, Old Town, Stockholm.
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Sweden
Stockholm 11131 Kindstugatan 1, Old Town
90% 2992
59.3247283 18.0727350
Castanea Old Town Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jun 2016
10.0

I was in a 4 person dorm. Perfectly perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jun 2016
10.0

Hands down the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Staff were so welcoming and gave each visitor a tour of the place, the sheets and towels were super clean and smelt so freshly washed. I thought it was pretty cool that they had a kitchen filled with food left behind from past visitors that you were able to use for free. 100% would recommend and come back and stay here. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
10.0

Great location! Great staff! I would highly recommend everyone to stay in this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
10.0

Staff were lovely, hostel was gorgeous and such a nice location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
10.0

It was an absolute delight to stay at Castanea! Their rooms were clean and the staff was wonderful. The reception is only open from about 9-6 every day, but they're very welcoming and knowledgeable -- sometimes you just have to plan ahead a little if you need to ask them for something. The location is also amazing. It was great to be right in the heart of Gamla Stan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
6.6

Hostel is in a fantastic location. Unfortunately staff are not always accessible to ask questions. Wifi is poor at best and the toilet and shower facilities especially on the ground floor are sub optional with one toilet for 12 guests. The kitchen was functional yet too small for the number for guests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
9.1

The hostel was in a great location, and close to city central, as well as to most of the interesting areas in town and transportation. The staff was welcoming and the facilities were clean. To sum it up it was great value for money in an otherwise quite an expensive town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2016
8.0

Castanea was a really nice hostel in probably the best location in Stockholm. The staff were very friendly and the hostel was generally quite clean. The hostel was affordable for such an expensive city. The building and rooms had pass codes in order to gain access to them which meant that the building was rather secure. The only drawback I could find was the WiFi which was very weak, at least during my stay. Other than that I had a generally pleasant stay there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
9.7

Castanea was a great choice in Stockholm it is so centrally located to everything. It is in the middle of the old town that is so nice to be in every day. we walked everywhere and it was close to Sodermalm and the central area of Stockholm. The hostel is so well equipped and clean. The staff are very helpful and friendly the only fault is that the reception hours are limited only a few hours in the morning and fewer in the evening so they aren't always there if need be.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
9.4

Best hostel I've ever stayed in by far! Such a pleasant stay :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.