Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 3464 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 3464 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jun 2017
9.1

I enjoyed my stay at Castenea, the hostel is in a great location in Gamla Stan and a 20 minute walk from the main train station, the staff was lovely and helpful. However, there isn't too much of a "hostel" atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2017
9.4

The location is great (close to the station and inside the old town). The kitchen was fully stocked and clean. There are only 4 available showers, so it may be difficult (however, I did not have issues). I would recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
9.4

Lovely stay in a two bed room. The location of the hostel is amazing, the staff extremely nice. Very good value for the price. The kitchens is well equipped. If I had to criticize small things it would be the doors soundproofness, that you can not really vent the bathrooms and the mattresses were a little to soft. But next time in Stockholm I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2017
8.9

Perfect location to go around Stockholm. There was no activities to get to know other people. No recommendations of places to visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
10.0

The staffs are super kind and assisting. They let me used the power adaptors left by previous renters. Facilities are super clean and affordable. The kitchen is always open for cooking. I will definitely book again my stay in Castanea hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
8.9

A friendly Hostel ideally suited for exploring the old city especially before the crowds early morning Twenty mins . Walk from station. No breakfast included but kitchen and food shared

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2017
10.0

Could not have been a better location for my friend and I who are 25 to explore Stockholm!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
9.1

Extremely friendly and helpful staff! Spotlessly clean! Very cozy atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review! Happy we could help you :)

  • cadycadiz9736
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
10.0

Lovely little hostel in an amazing location. The rooms were clean. My bunk bed was very creaky, but the other one in my room was not. Every time I moved in the slightest I felt bad for everyone else in the room! Strong free wifi in the room! 😄 Outlet near my bed. Decent curtains to block out that Nordic summer sun, but not black-out curtains. Excellent places to eat and stroll right outside the door. I would definitely recommend and definitely return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for informing us about the creaky beds. We will try to tighten the screws on the beds today! Usually this helps a lot :) Happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome back!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
8.6

We had a great stay at this hostel. Everything was nice and clean and the staff was very friendly. Even the location in old town was awesome. I would recommend this place to anyone!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.