X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Castanea Old Town Hostel Reviews

Kindstugatan 1, Old Town, Stockholm, Sweden

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
2469 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Really the cleanest hostel I've ever used!

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very recommended for your stay in Stockholm! Right down in the center of the old town, seconds away from all the happening. AND CHEAP!!! Clean, tidy, has all that you could possibly need, and more - books to borrow, tips from the staff, equipped kitchen to make your own food if you want to spare a few kronor, and more.

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Staff was very friendly and helpful! The location is excellent. Metro is really close and you still get to stay in the picturesque old town. Great value for money, especially in an expensive city as Stockholm.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This is a great place and location to stay. You are very central and it is fairly well prized for the location.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a very positive stay with Castanea. It's very clean, exquisitely well located, and pretty affordable. The staff are friendly and helpful. It's small and quiet. It's what you need.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was good.


100%

It was great.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

it was great. staffs nice. i arrived at night , and all i haven to find is german church tyskakirke then i cloud find this hostel. i slept at right next to the window, it was amazing to see outside thru the window. shower room was nice and kitchen was nice too. but some of warning letters with joke in kitchen(fire alarm thibg), could be very un-friendly joke.


83%

Loved our time at Castanea. I was in the 16-bed mixed dorm, the set up is very good, it doesn't feel like that many people. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The Old Town of Stockholm is absolutely beautiful, and I'm so happy we stayed here. My only real complaint is that the showers smelt damp, however they were very modern.


91%

This place was really great. A bit difficult to find in the Old Town and a bit too quiet for me; these are my only complaints. Overall, an excellent hostel with friendly staff, clean & comfortable facilities, and nice people. Perfect for that weeknight getaway.


97%

Great welcoming staff. Very clean shower room and toilet. Too bad that they charge extra rent for bed sheet. The old style lift is really cool. Best Location in Stockholm.


100%

A very nice staff and a really comfortable Hostel!

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice room and community area, friendly staff, and the hostel is located right in the old town of Stockholm.


100%

Great accommodation for a fair price, great ideas about off setting carbon and reuse of left over food.

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel was right in the middle of everything so that was nice. The entrance as well as the dorm room had passcodes which means that anyone who had been to the hostel before could come back. So it didn't feel the safest. Also, the staff were not there very often. I didn't feel like there was much room to go and hang out and meet people with there only being one small living room. However, the hostel worked out and definitely didn't ruin my trip and the kitchen had lots of free stuff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback! Although we love when previous guests returns to Castanea, they have to be updated with the door codes we change frequently... Glad you enjoyed the kitchen :) Kindly Lotta

94%

Amazing location! clean, neat and super friendly. I was traveling alone and must be honest it wasn't the most socially run hostel but there was always someone in the Common room to chat to and have a drink with. Definitely recommend it!

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, I'm glad you had a nice stay and thank you for your recommendations! Kindly, Lotta

89%

It's an extremely clean and well-run hostel; the only issue I had is that the doors of many of the rooms are clustered around the dining table and there's no noise insulation -- a group of 5 people was being really loud there (they did move when I asked but it was uncomfortable). The hostel could insulate the doors better for noise.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Best and cleanest hostel where i've stayed! Location was awesome and big thaanks to the staff, you were very helpfull. It was nice that in Castanea hostel people's age doesn't matter.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, that's really nice to hear! Lotta

97%

We realy enjoyed the stay in the Castanea Hostel! The room was cosy and clean and the hostel has a very nice atmosphere. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We like to come back again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely reviews. You are always welcome back! Kindly Lotta

100%

We arrived late at night, however the place was amazing, the facilities were beautiful and very clean. I totally recommend this place. Very good atmosphere and was close to all of the sightseeing views.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your awesome review, and for staying with us! Lotta

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Stockholm Hostels

Please give us your feedback