Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 3551 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 3551 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Aug 2017
8.6

More like a hotel with many beds than a true hostel, but lovely nonetheless. The rooms, bathrooms and kitchens are all cleaned meticulously. This was the quietest room (16 beds) I've ever stayed in, aside from having a pretty squeaky bed frame. Staff are nice, although the reception hours are so limited that you can't exactly expect them to give you good city advice. Hostel is still expensive in my opinion, even with the great location, but it seems to be one of the most reasonable in town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
9.4

Great hostel in a great location, it was very clean and the staff was very friendly! The room (6 bed dorm) has many little extras like two night tables. Oberall we enjoyed our stay in the hostel very much and we will come back for sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your stay and for your very positive review! Happy you found our little extras :-) You are always welcome back!

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
5.4

not necessary to stay in Gamla Stan=Center of town, most sights are on other islands. Booked a double room, wich they do not have at all. had to put sheets on myself. the room 1m80cm wide and 2m60cm long. 2 beds no ore furniture !!!! 15 cm between 2 single beds, naked matrace next to my bed, rubbish not taken out 4 days. 1 toiletdoor opens into the kitchen! showers and washbasins not in one room. pay extra for everything, even for a teabag. very unpleasant stay, a ripoff

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
9.4

Very nice, quiet and relaxing hostel. Hostel was always sparkling clean and the staff were very friendly. Only about a 10 - 15 minute walk to central station also.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It's wonderful to know you were pleased with your stay at Castanea. That's what we strive to achieve, so your feedback means a lot. Welcome to come and stay again!

2nd Aug 2017
10.0

Middle of old town, friendly faces everywhere, clean and comfortable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your awesome review! Glad you had a great time at Castanea and in Stockholm. Hope you have the possibility to come back and visit us again!

1st Aug 2017
8.3

There is little headroom in the bottom bunk beds, you're always bent over, cannot sit up, feels claustrophobic almost like being in an MRI machine. Also, too many beds in one room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry you felt that you not had enough space in your bunk bed. We have ordinary bunk beds, and you choose your own bed. So next time be sure to pick an upper bed. Hope you found our nice common room to sit in instead of the bed! Thank you for your stay and welcome another time!

  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jul 2017
9.4

Everything was really good except that they charge additional for bedsheet, Like shouldn't this be included?I've never encountered this in any other hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2017
8.9

A lovely, clean and secure hostel in a nice part of the city. My favourite thing was that staff were v friendly, and willing to speak Swedish if you want to practice! The kitchen is small but well-stocked with equipment. The common room is also small but very cosy. The hostel seems very secure. The location is very good for seeing the old town, but be aware that old town prices are very high and to find more convenient shopping places you'll need to walk 15+ minutes. Overall a delightful stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Tack för din fina recension :) Happy we could help you practice your Swedish! Hope the course went well! And thank you for your helpful tips to other travelers. Welcome back to Castanea anytime!

19th Jul 2017
9.4

It is right in the middle of the old town, perfect location. Big lockers for your belongings. Very clean. The reception closes at 6 pm so if you arrive later they send you a code to get in. I was sent a wrong one but fortunately there was an emergency phone number at the door and I could call at 3 am and got the right one. The only negative thing from my point of view is that the sheets are not included in the price ?? I understand that you pay for towels if you don't have with you but, sheets?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2017
8.9

Compared to the other hostels in this area, Castanea actually has some nice areas to hang around and eat your dinner. You can easily see that this hostel is well-run and the guests do their part to keep it that way. The kitchen is clean and well-organised. The personnel is helpful and proactive.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review and kind words! Yes our nice guests are crucial in making this place what it is :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.