Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 3423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 3423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
10.0

Great place, so clean, great location. My best recommendations!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your awesome review and for your stay here at Castanea! It really means a lot to us, to know you hade such a great time. Welcome back any time!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
10.0

My stay here was great and I was hoping for a longer time there! Thank you so much for your helping me get around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It was great to have you here, thank you for staying! Next time you are most welcome to stay longer!

11th May 2017
8.3

Very easy walk from the main train station. Staff was so friendly, I was an hour early and they let me come right in. I loved the location. You have to pay for sheets , just a heads up. And the bathrooms felt a little dirty. Normally hostels too have a lot of maps , suggestion cars and such for things to do.. maybe it's a Sweden thing but I just saw one board with outdated information. But it's cool, we have google ! Wifi was amazing

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your stay and for taking your time to write a review! Sorry we did not show you our binder with tips for Stockholm. We're really happy you got a friendly treatment and that you found the wifi good. Warmly welcome to visit us again!

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
9.4

Very good place to stay We will be back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
7.4

This hostel was ok. Clean, comfortable place to sleep but reception has very limited hours, sheets and towel need to be rented (who travels with sheets?!?!), common space is ok but it is right next to the rooms with thin walls so even an average volume conversation was disturbing to most of the floor. Didn't feel like the best value. Kitchen facilities are available.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry you were disturbed by other guests! There is a lot of our guests who prefer to bring their own sheets. It's a way to keep the cost down. I hope you were able to enjoy Stockholm despite this! Kind regards

3rd May 2017
8.6

Very good location, place is always clean, confortable beds, it just could have more showers, but is a good place to stay, I eould came back and adivise to stay there. Very friendly staff and very organized.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your stay and for your nice review! Sometimes it seems that all our guests wants to use the showers at the same time. Then there may be a little waiting time. We really hope you have the possibility to come back and visit us again! Warmly welcome!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st May 2017
7.4

Short on toilets and atmosphere, but a good location for quick access to the city. No place should offer 16 bed dorms,(8 max) so many people variables for a disrupted sleep and the clicking door, and 2 more Pin codes to remember. Pillow cases and bottom sheet should be mandatory for the hostel to provide and include in the price, then optionally provide or use your own sleeping sheet, this is common now in euro hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying at Castanea! We use several door codes for our guest security, but I understand it sometimes it can be diffucult to remember (in a world full of pin codes). About renting sheets - we have many guests that want to bring their own sheets to keep the price down. Which is an old tradition in the Nordic countries.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
8.6

Really enjoyed my stay here! Comfy beds, clean rooms, friendly staff and hot showers. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your lovely comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay!! Welcome back anytime!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Apr 2017
8.0

Stayed here for two nights. Staff were very helpful and the hostel was clean. Kitchen had everything that was needed and was also clean. I had a late check-in and the staff provided a door code and room key because they were not around so late. In Sweden, it is customary to bring your own sheets to a hostel, otherwise you'll pay some extra to rent them from the hostel. Location is in a very old and beautiful part of Stockholm. Hostel can be noisy - it is not so large. I recommend this one!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
9.7

Great location! Cobblestone EVERYWHERE though so if you're staying for multiple days and have a suitcase it can make you a bit weary. Staff was helpful, people were nice! The shower room floors are heated which is awesome and so luxe haha

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying at Castanea and for your nice words. And yes the location is great and the cobblestone is some hard work walking with a big suitcase but yet so charming..:). All the best!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.