X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Castanea Old Town Hostel Reviews

Kindstugatan 1, Old Town, Stockholm, Sweden

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
2214 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

It was an absolutely fantastic hostel, I couldn't recommend it enough! It's in the perfect situation in Gamla Stan, very central in the island so very quick and easy to get everywhere - then to walk to the other islands as well, it was perfectly situated. We didn't have to use the tunnelbana at all, everything was walking distance. Fantastic! It was also extremely clean, I was a bit dubious about sharing a bathroom, but it was incredibly clean! Brilliant staff and great value for money!

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel was nice. I slept in the 16 bed dorm. It was good, however there was not too much space in the room. For a dance festival attendee who comes home late it was a bit difficult to be quiet when everybody else was sleeping but I managed. Most of the people went to bed at around 23 or 24. The door was noisy. The beds were Ikea metal bunk beds. If the beds were more steady, the other person sleeping on the other level would sleep better.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

A very pleasant and convenient place to stay.


86%

We were very pleased with everything!

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything about this place is exceptional ... Especially the staff ...


89%

We enjoyed the ambience and the design of the interiors. We liked its closeness to the café with the big tree. Staff were very helpful and other travellers seemed to be very considerate. Bathrooms were very clean, ditto kitchen. We really appreciated the kitchen having a toaster!

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Castanea Old Town Hostel was the perfect base for our stay in stockholm. The location puts us in the middle of all the sights we wanted to visit. The neighborhood is charming and full of character. The facility is safe, clean and modern and well equipped with everything we needed. There are plenty of good dining options nearby when we didn't feel like cooking. The guests are respectful of quiet hours so we had restful nights. Wonderful staff.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is perfect!! It's in the old town, so perfect location. It's clean and cozy. Quiet at night. There's a nice kitchen and common area. Free internet access. The staff is really kind and helpful! Would definitely stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind words! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here. Welcome back :) /Joel

97%

Fantastic hostel, run by lovely people - we will definitely visit again. The location couldn't be better and the staff were so helpful.


94%

Favorite hostel so far. Great rooms, a little hot in summer (lack of cooling system as well as lack of lockers), locked by key. Shared bathrooms/showers with warmed floors, shared kitchen with cooking equipment+fridge, common-room with good wifi and great atmosphere. Friendly staff that accommodated us for an extra night's stay. In old town, walking distance from central square and shopping area, 5min walk from palace and main street. Have a leave-things-behind policy, lots of free food/soap etc

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you like!

100%

Very pleasant and well appointed small hostel, ideal for the quiet traveller. Staff exceptionally helpful. The hostel is very clean and quiet and the old town and other attractions are immediately on your doorstep.


94%

Great hostel, nice common room and kitchen. In a great place in the city.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

A washing machine and dryer would be great, Staff very nice. Liked the food recycling in the kitchen. I would only have two issues and these would be noise related - as our room was off the common room people did tend to chat outside past the curfew. Also there were a lot of extremely noisy deliveries on the street below week days mornings from 7 which I know is not the fault of the hostel and can't be helped probably due to the location, narrow streets needing to be accessed very early etc.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I agree that a washing machine would be great :-) We are discussing where to place it, we're short of space. Sorry you were disturbed by other guests and by the deliveries. Mostly other guests respect the policy not to use the common room after 23. About the deliveries - I think that happens from time to time in all city centres. Thank you for your nice review! Always welcome back! Kind regards, Cecilia

97%

Castanea is so clean and the showers were really great. It was very pleasant to stay there.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Excellent, beautiful location; very clean; comfortable bed; quiet at night.


100%

Great location. Great... everything. Kitchen is good, especially for highly expensive Stockholm.


97%

One of the best hostels I ever stayed in. Fully equipped kitchen and nice common area are a very good opportunity to meet new people.


74%

The hostel is really nice, well ubicated on the middle of old town, sorrounded by streets filled with history, but if you are looking to party, you came to the wrong place, is kind of quiet and peaceful. Also Sweden's pubs and restaurants are expensive and mostly on alcohol, so buy in duty free or else backrupcy is a choice LOL but overall Castanea Hostel is a cousy place to stay I'll say is a good place to land with great ubication! Facilities also helps a whole bunch!


97%

Excellent hostel, in particular staff and cleanness. Staff was not only kind and helpful, but interesting people. Nice to stay at Castanea, it was an excellent choice. Congrats for your place.


100%

the hostel is very well locatedin Stockholm. it was clean, nice and cozy domitory. i recommend this place ti other people!

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Stockholm Hostels

Please give us your feedback