Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 3,040 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 3,040 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
Castanea Old Town Hostel Located at Kindstugatan 1, Old Town, Stockholm.
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Sweden
Stockholm 11131 Kindstugatan 1, Old Town
91% 3040
59.3247283 18.0727350
Castanea Old Town Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jul 2016
9.1

It was my first time to visit Stockholm as a solo traveller,staying at Castanea was great due to its location in Gamla stan and it is close to central station as well,this hostel is very quiet,and it is suitable for all type of travellers.Only due to its location,it misses party and hanging out at night if you like that I enjoyed my trip in STO Thanks Castanea staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jul 2016
9.7

Was a really fantastic stay, very cosy hostel right in the middle of where you want to be. Staff were lovely and helpful. Only thing missing was laundry facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • AlvaroMM
  • Spain, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jul 2016
9.7

I stayed at Castanea in July 2016 with two friends. Although it took us a little while to find it (because of our own terrible sense of direction) once we found it, we realised how great the location is. Better than I could have ever imagined. Moreover the rooms were very clean, as the kitchen, the common rooms and the bathrooms. There was a very nice atmosphere, everyone very helpful. The staff was very polite and hard working. I will totally recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
10.0

Sweeden in not a cheap place to stay so relatively speaking this is good value! It's a great location. We had a family room and spent 4 nights there. Very comfortable and clean and a lovely atmosphere all help make it a great place to stay. The kitchen is also well equiped and a pleasure to use. We really appreciated the fact that people are encouraged to use left over food reducing waste and costs for all. If we ever go back to Stockholm we would gladly stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
10.0

We had a great stay. We met many people from different counties which added to our enjoyment. Our room was very private and there were private toilets and shower as well. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My only suggestion is to bring ear plugs. There is a church nearby that chimes the time. The location of the Hostel was perfect. We were very close to everything in Old Town and surrounding areas. The metro and busses and ferry was all easy access. We had an amazing time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
9.1

I was travelling alone and felt like this hostel was safe, clean, and welcoming! The location is also super convenient. I would highly recommend staying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
10.0

Great hostel right in the centre of Stockholm - everything you want to see is really close. Tons of restaurants and bars. Staff are really friendly and helpful. The hostel is always super clean, the beds are comfy and the atmosphere is friendly. The rooms are really quiet and it has more of a mixed age family vibe than other places, but I would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
9.4

Very convenient location to explore Stockholm. It is located in the centre of the old town area with very short walks to the main train station, north and south part of the city. Not a party hostel. One obvious disadvantage is the pricey restaurants around the hostel because of the location. But you can get more affordable meals by walking 10-15 min to the south part of the city. Very secure and clean facilities. I just wish Stockholm were not too expensive, lol. However, a city worth to visit!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.9

We stayed here for 2 nights. We enjoyed our stay here, especially because of the SUPERBE location. The hostel is literally at the most beautiful old street that you can imagine. Staff was friendly, however the reception is only open until 6, which is not always convenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.3

Very clean and well-maintained. Great location for exploring the city. Not much of a communal feel, but great for those happy to stay in their own group. Comfy beds!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.