Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 3386 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 3386 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Apr 2017
9.4

Amazing location! The staff were very helpful. Nice and tidy, has everything you need.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.4

Great clean place. Great location and facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.7

Cleanest hostel i ever stated in and well located

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
8.3

Hostel is tucked away in a quiet area. I loved this, it's a bit of a trek on foot to get there. Bed in my single was one of the best hostel beds I've had. Sucked the kitchen closes at 11, but the door still opened all night ... Toilets everywhere, showers harder to come by but not often a problem. Only one small common area - great if you want to meet people, less great if you wanted quiet time outside the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • TayRaeSpencer
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Apr 2017
10.0

Met the best people ever at Castanea!! Perfect for solo travelers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
10.0

The Staff were the nicest Swedes I have met and I live in Southern Sweden. I loved the location and the building itself was cute and clean. They provide a lot of little helpful things such as walking tour info and a breakfast deal with a cafe nearby. I would definitely recommend this hotel for any ages!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2017
10.0

I spend really nice time there. I met interesting people, it's clean, quiet and relaxing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Apr 2017
9.4

The hostel was great, no complains about anything. Right in the heart of Gamla Stan, nice staff, especially Ludvik (hope i wrote it right :) ), very clean, nice and cozy showers ( floors are heated - as i was told this is quite common), comfortable beds, kitchen is kinda small but very well equipped. The rating wasn't a pure 10 because of the atmosphere - not really the hostel's fault, but people weren't too chatty. Anyway, we would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
8.6

It was a really good stay in Stockholm. The Hostel is cozy and has a nice kitchen to cook dinner if you're on a budget. Staff was very nice and helpful. The only thing I have to criticise is that it is really noisy and clairaudient. When sitting in the main room you can almost follow peoples conversations in the room and of cause also the other way around. The common room is 'closed' after 11 pm. which worked good! Overall I had a pleasant stay at the Hostel and would do it again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
9.7

Value for money. Located in the old town, easy access to Gamla Stan and other islands. Beautiful streets around the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for the nice review. We hope you will visit us again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.