X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Castanea Old Town Hostel Reviews

Kindstugatan 1, Old Town, Stockholm, Sweden

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
2635 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Perfect Location! In the heart of Stockholm! Great restaurants nearby and the Royal Palace is just 2 blocks away. Sightseeing Bus and Boat stops are also really near and with the Metro Station Gamla Stan you can travel really fast. Staff war really nice and there were no issue with other guest whatsoever. Definitely a great hostel!

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Doors bang anytime someone comes in and out of dorms.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice and comfy hostel, great location! Helpful staff. Nice that you had the board with "things to do in Stockholm".

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great common area and fantastic location right in the center of Gamla Stan! Reception hours were a bit strange.


91%

1. Kitchen too small for number of people and therefore not suitable for cooking, but well equipped and clean. 2. Showers were hot clean and powerful. 3. Rooms were sufficient size, well equipped and linen spotless. 4. Overall warm and well equipped with computers; and wifi access and power points all rooms. 5. Not suitable for children and young people who are noisy and up later than 11pm. 6. Lift available to all floors. I loved staying here. Did not cook, ate out. Great location. 4+star

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review and feedback! Glad you have so much positive things to write about your stay here. Just a comment about the kitchen as you didn't acutally use it - we consistently receive positive feedback about the kitchen (young or old) :) Welcome back anytime!

97%

Percfect hostel!!

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good place : very good situation in the old town, close to everything, the staff is very helpfull, facilities are very convenient. I'm very happy of my staying !

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we are happy you stayed with us!

89%

Good beds, cozy rooms and a good shower.

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Don't understand how or why sheets are not included in the prices in Scandinavia. It's insane to have to pay for a bed and then on top of that for sheets too. I mean seriously who travels with sheets? Anyway... aside from that it's just your normal European hostel... nothing special, but it's clean and good wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jaime, the thing is that you CAN bring your own sheets and this is a way to keep prices down, and yes, it is very common in Sweden and Scandinavia. We write about this at our web site and booking site. Also when we send a separate confirmation letter, so it's not really a suprise... but a way to lower your cost.

83%

i Always took showers by night, so forme it was not a big problem. However, for the amount of people staying in the hostel I think there were not enough showers. In the morning many people were waiting for the toilet and/or shower.

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Really good hostel if you like a rather calm atmosphere. The facilities were good and I really like the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we are happy you had a good stay!

97%

Fantastic hostel!

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for staying with us!

83%

The hostel is great. Secure and really clean. Kitchen has everything you need. Wifi is not so bad and the location right in the middle of Old Town and really close to the subway are the highlights. The only problem with the hostel: there is no bar or anything similar to make people know each other.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for staying with us!

86%

Beds should have been softer...Great atmosphere.The big dormitory was way to crowded with people and their stuff all over the floor

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for staying with us! Our beds often get very positive feedback, but of course comfort is individual. If you visit us again, let us know and perhaps we can find an extra mattress for you :)

100%

Everything is good, just remember to notice the reception hour.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review!

94%

Lovely hostel, one of the nicest I've ever stayed in. I would thoroughly recommend this hostel to all travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your kind words warms! And your recommendations means a lot to us. :-)

80%

Gamla Stan is a little boring but it's close to the central station. Room was pretty small but bed was extremely comfy. Staff was super helpful. Solid value. Bathroom and showers were great. Not that much atmosphere but would prob stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us!

60%

This hostel is really clean and well kept. The only problem is the harsh noise restrictions on the common area. If you're looking for a quite hostel this place is really nice. However, of you're looking for a bit more of a party atmosphere I would suggest staying somewhere in Sodermalm..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for staying with us. Yes - we have restrictions in the common areas from 23.00, this way all guests can have a good nights sleep - if they want. There are many nice bars and clubs in Stockholm perfect for partying :)

77%

Staff was helpful but available only from 9:00 to 11:00 and 15:00 to 18:00! Also, only mixed dorms (none for only females or only males). Nowhere to do laundry.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry some things where a let down for you, but all things mentioning we have informed on our web site and other booking sites.

97%

Very friendly staff that make your life easy. Always willing to help. Whenever I head back to Stockholm I will be staying there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy you enjoyed your stay :-) Welcome back next time in Stockholm!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(84 results)


View all Stockholm Hostels

Please give us your feedback