Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 3329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 3329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Feb 2017
10.0

Helpful staff, perfect location, and clean rooms! Couldn't have had a better experience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
10.0

A brilliant hostel situated in the heart of the Old Town. The hostel and room was secure, comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent kitchen facilities - clean and well equipped. Close to Central Station (one metro stop or 15 min walk) and close to Old Town sights and shops. Thanks for a pleasant stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely and informative review! We are happy you were pleased with your short stay here :) Welcome back an other time!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
10.0

We had a great stay at Castanea Old Town Hostel! The staff was super communicative and very pleasant. The facilities were nice and clean, and even though we only stayed one night, it seems like a hostel that would be good for a long stay also. The location is pretty central and it's easy to and from the hostel via walking or public transit. Would definitely stay again. Highly recommended -- one of the best hostels I've stayed in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, even though it was brief. I recommend coming back and experiencing Stockholm and Castanea in a sunnier and a warmer season, but welcome back anytime ;)

5th Feb 2017
9.7

very homey and comfortable! great location and very clean. personal lockers in the rooms which was very nice. A great kitchen that was clean and easy to use. A lot of common space to do work and relax. I would recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice review! Happy to hear you were pleased with your stay and even managed to do some work here :) And thank you for recommending us as well!

  • pandas578442
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
9.7

Very clean quiet hostel. Great for a quiet break. Definitely not a party hostel - but I didn't want that. Great location - in the Old Town - perfect for wondering around

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review! Great to her you found what you wanted here.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Feb 2017
9.1

Great location in the old town - Beautiful. Hostel is very clean and modern. Showers are great, clean and underfloor heating! Never ventured to the kitchen so can't comment although I imagine it was inkeeping with the rest of the hostel. I would definitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking your time to write a review! Welcome back anytime!

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

Fantastic location, clean and good facilities. So worth my money!! Staff is accomodating, flexible and helpful! I will definitely return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow, thank you for your fantastic review. And welcome back anytime!

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
9.4

I've been here several.times, it feels like coming home. What a,nice cozy place. Staff is great, kitchen well equipped. The athmosphere is warm and cosy. Not a hostel for paries or loudness, this feels like home

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are happy you have made this your home away form home for a couple of days each year. You are always welcome back! See you in 2018 ;)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
9.4

I really enjoyed my stay here. It's small, so there were a few times where we had limited restroom or kitchen space, but it wasn't a problem at all. Staff was very nice and gave us helpful suggestions for things to do in the area. Being in Gamla Stan was perfect for walking elsewhere in the city. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you! We try to make the best of the space we got and are happy to hear you were not bothered by anything! You are always welcome back to Castanea!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
9.7

The location of the hostel couldn't be any better. Though some of the main attractions and tourist spots look far away on the map, Castanea was still within walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review! Yes the inner city of Stockholm is not as big as it might look on the map. Also we have a lot of good communications!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.