Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 3,078 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 3,078 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
Castanea Old Town Hostel Located at Kindstugatan 1, Old Town, Stockholm.
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Sweden
Stockholm 11131 Kindstugatan 1, Old Town
90% 3078
59.3247283 18.0727350
Castanea Old Town Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Aug 2016
10.0

Fantastic place, fantastic people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
10.0

Overall great place. Loved the location. Beware there is no staff after 6pm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.3

This hostel is right in the heart of the old town stockholm (gamla stan). It's off the main thoroughfare and is nice and quiet. The hostel is simple and well maintained. From my search it was very good calue for money for a twin room in central Stockholm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
6.3

Ok hostel. Bit wierd. No real atmostphere but nice people stay there. Just average to be honest with you. Not great for fun but does the job of being a hostel in old town that has good basic fasilities. Buff receptionists

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.6

Really nice hostel - clean, fantastic location, great kitchen! There could have been a couple more showers and toilets but it was passable. The common area was cosy, and the place generally secure. Perhaps the luggage storage area could have been a bit more secure (rather than just giving out the code to everyone). Overall would stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2016
9.4

The building and the interior were super pretty and the whole hostel was superclean. The staff was super helpful and friendly and the location was perfect. Would highly recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
8.3

Castanea was a nice stay. It's in a fantastic location in the old town. Such a cool, picturesque part of the city. It has a couple computers, enough room for lounging and a decent kitchen. I didn't like the fact that check in is only open a few hours a day and socializing isn't encouraged there, but those things are explicitly stated in the description, so no surprises. Worth staying there. Good value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
6.0

The best part about this hostel is the location, right in the middle of beautiful old town... However, the rest of the hostel wasn't as great. Not nearly enough facilities/space for the amount of people, very cramped dorms, showers had little hot water and many were broken. The staff wasn't very helpful for recommendations, and paying for your own sheets (which are mandatory) put a dent in our budget. Next time I go to Stockholm, I will be staying somewhere else.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
9.1

Location was honestly the best, truly in the heart of the old town. The area feels very safe and there's a metro station nearby (5-10 min walk). The common spaces were cozy and the showers and toilets were always clean. The staff was helpful and friendly and ready to answer any questions. I slept in a 16-bed dorm and was surprised to see that there was enough space to walk around, unlike in other hostels I've been to. I just found the whole place was too warm, especially the showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2016
8.6

Had trouble falling asleep because matresses were a bit too soft but awesome location, adequate space and cool setup on all floors!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.