X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Castanea Old Town Hostel Reviews

Kindstugatan 1, Old Town, Stockholm, Sweden

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
2327 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

If you are on a business trip, this will be a huge disappointment. First you will be tossed into a drafty basement by an arrogant soccer-bro, only because you travel on your own. No doubt, it is clean and the atmosphere is great, but -15C in the early fall is a bit too cold to sleep in. The reason for this, is that the hostel is basically autonomous: the staff ditches clients for all time except 15-19. The walls are paper-thin, and if you are "lucky" with neighbors, they will keep you up.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location. In the heart of Old Town, it makes the rest of the city accessible by walk. The hostel was very clean, modern, and had plenty of space. Reception staff is only there for 6 hours a day, which can make it difficult if you need something, but they are very friendly people. Not much atmosphere- was a very quiet hostel. Also, renting sheets, duvet cover, and towel costs about $10. Overall, I would recommend and definitely stay there again.


74%

Very quiet, but so is most of Stockholm, essentially in the Old Town

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

If you just need a place to sleep for a layover in Stockholm, this place is pretty perfect : located perfectly (you can walk to everywhere from here), cheap and clean !


100%

One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Very cheap compared to Swedish standards, extremely clean, great common kitchen with everything that you can possibly need, extremely friendly stuff.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was excellent. Great cute hostel,Castanea old town hostel, very helpful and super nice front desk personal.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location! Everything very clean! They have a kitchen.. not to many people at the hostel wich was nice. Rooms too small, dificulty to carrie the luggage with weals from de old town streets.... the reception closes early so its kind of complicated if you need anything.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location and cool to stay in the old town of stockholm.


86%

Perfect location, literally in the centre of the city, clean, quiet and everything went well!not really a hostel for parties, as the city itself i guess!only negative thing, the wifi is not really working in the rooms on the basements!


94%

Excellent hostel with a nice kitchen and lounge area to meet people in. The only downfall was that the internet was not great.


63%

Good hostel but expensive. They should open the reception more hours.


94%

Great location. Helpful staff. Quiet and peaceful space. A mix of ages for guests who stay here. Not a party hostel and really nice to stay in while meeting other travellers. They need more showers and toilet rooms. One of the showers smelled like someone defecated in it, so maybe showers need to be clean more frequently.


94%

The location is great. It takes only a few minutes to walk to the castle, the Nobel museum, the cathedral, the mint museum. A well stocked super market is close by. The hostel staff is very helpful and knowledgable and also sells bus tickets. The bunk beds in my room were made of metal . I slept in the top bed and I could feel and hear the movement of my room mate in the lower bed. I used ear plugs and it helped. For sensitive and mature travelers I would recommend a single room.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Enjoyed the Hostel and the staff was great ...will come back!

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

This is a fantastic hostel in the heart of Stockholm old town. I was running late for checkin and the staff went out of their way to ensure everything worked out OK with my stay.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

I had a great stay at this hostel! The only thing is that the 4-bed rooms are a little tight (very, very small) but there is really nothing else I can complain about. Staff was great, facilities were clean, everything was well organized, and the location was amazing (the BEST in Stockholm, I think). I would come back to this hostel again :) Thank you Castanea Hostel!

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is in a great location in the heart of Stockholm meaning that my group and I didn't need to fork out loads of money for public transport as we were able to just walk everywhere. The room was great even though there were six of us in it. The kitchen and common areas were good, with a friendly atmosphere. The kitchen did however get pretty crowded in the morning and evenings with everyone preparing food but we got by. Overall it was well worth staying at Castlenea.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A staff was very kind and I liked a very clean shower room.

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Hello I would like to say that my stay with Castanea was really good, really friendly and helpful staff . Toilets and showers are clean and they have heated floors in the showers. nice kitchen area, I would gladly recommend this hostel and I would definitely book a place there again.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Good affordable traveller's heaven when visiting Stockholm where you can enjoy perfect location right in the center of old town. The hostel is in the 100 years old or so house on a outside but on the inside you can see well made furnishing and necessary facilities like free wifi, equipped kitchen, appropriate number of bathrooms). Great place to be but you should book in advance especially in summer time for obvious reasons.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(95 results)


View all Stockholm Hostels

Please give us your feedback