Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 3,229 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 3,229 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
Castanea Old Town Hostel Located at Kindstugatan 1, Old Town, Stockholm.
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Sweden
Stockholm 11131 Kindstugatan 1, Old Town
92% 3229
59.3247283 18.0727350
Castanea Old Town Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Dec 2016
9.7

Great location, with clean toilets and beds. Definitely recomended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
10.0

Stay here! Stay here is you want a charming Stockholm experience. (If you want to want to party, go elsewhere.) I recommend the large dorm--it's quiet and open with a lot of large windows and natural light. Snag a bunk by the far window and get a great view of the square below!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Well thank you for your lovely review! Glad to hear we could give you a charming experience :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
10.0

Simply perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much! Welcome back!

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Nov 2016
8.0

Lived in the 16 beds dorm and the environment isn't as crowded as i thought! Location is great as its in Gamla Stan, you can just walk out and walk around this cozy old town. Everything including the bathroom, dining room is nice. Interaction with staff is nice too but not as welcomed as I expected. But overall, its a safe place and Castanea is still recommended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice review! Sorry to hear you were not positively surprised by our hospitality. We will have to work more with that :)

21st Nov 2016
8.9

Bedlinen not included, thats always bad. Staff is nice, but limited window when u can meet them. Anyway, good location and nice people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Our opening hours are a bit limited yes, but we do try to be accessible through the whole day. Glad to hear the staff could higher your rating anyhow.

17th Nov 2016
10.0

Definitely go back again! Good place and perfect location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review! You are always very welcome back here!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Nov 2016
8.3

In the center of old town. Clean and good facilities. Nice staff. Fairly priced and met a few people in the common area. Kinda far away from the trendy part of town with bars etc and the private twin room was v. Small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! How good to hear that you discovered new people here! Not being in the city centre while still being close to it is one of the things that make this hostel very cozy, as well as the modest rooms. We are glad to hear that you liked it overall!

  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Nov 2016
9.4

good location and friendly staffs. the room is clean and warm. Love this place ;)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review! We love our guests ;)

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
10.0

Great Location and clean room 👍👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your very positive review! Always makes us happy to hear of satisfied guests.

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th Nov 2016
10.0

I love this hostel so cozy and nice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We think it's cozy and nice too! :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.