Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castaways Backpackers Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 333 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 333 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
Castaways Backpackers Cairns Located at Po Box 5648, 207 Sheridan Street, Cairns.
Castaways Backpackers Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland qld 4870 Po Box 5648, 207 Sheridan Street
84% 333
-16.9158424 145.7662582
Castaways Backpackers Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
8.0

The staff is very helpful and always around. Helped me book all my day trips and excursions and they even offered a return to airport for $10 which is way cheaper than taxi! -solo traveler so the Sunday night BBQ for $10 is a nice way to meet some people but Cairns overall is a city you don't mind being alone in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
9.7

The staff are super friendly at Castaways, they are always willing to help you with any questions you have (hiking trails and good spots to visit). They have a number of activities, including a Sunday BBQ, which was amazing. There are numerous bathrooms, so you rarely have to wait and it's always kept very clean. You will have to pay for air-con in you room, but $1 for 3 hours is very good value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
9.4

Castaway's was the perfect place to stay on my short trip to Cairns. The staff is friendly and super helpful, it was easy to meet people, and a short walk from the city. The room I stayed in was spacious and the bathrooms/showers were always clean. I highly recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
4.3

We were disappointed with our private room at this hostel which wasn't cheap. It had little to no natural light and the brick construction gave it a prison cell aesthetic. The fan barely worked and we had to pay extra for air con ($1 for 3 hrs). Staff weren't terribly helpful and were upset when we called on them at 7.30pm for change for the air con. The location was rubbish (20 min walk to city) but they sometimes offer free shuttles. Room quite clean and had a good shower. Wouldn't stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
7.1

Located a good 15-20 minute walk from the centre of town and the lagoon but is reasonably close to the airport. The TV room is one of the best I've used. The free wifi is fast, even good streaming, There is a free shuttle bus/car. The staff weren't really that friendly besides the new owner. The staff literally just play pool all day every day with the longtermers. There's currently no communal fridge or food storage in the kitchen so you tend to wake up with ants. Cheap so would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Nov 2016
10.0

I had an incredible time at this hostel, possibly the most fun I've had in Australia. The hostel had plenty of things to do: day trips/pool/Netflix/wii. The wifi was super fast and unlimited. Beds were comfy and all of the staff were lovely! Especially the owner who made me feel at home immediately. Nice and clean hostel. Only downside was a couple of guys hogging the tv room quite a bit, but could always find something else to do :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Nov 2016
7.7

Pay to use AC... unacceptable. Far from Cairns' action.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Nov 2016
8.0

Great room and facilities, and the owner was very friendly and welcoming. But staff were not very informative or warm upon arrival, whereas other arrivals were warmly welcomed and invited to join in activities. There is supposed to be a free shuttle service to the city, but it is not officially scheduled and v chaotic so we ended up walking. We also paid for a shuttle to the airport at the end of our trip which set off over 15 mins late and left us with little time to check in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Nov 2016
7.4

The staff were very helpful and when we called to change our room so our friend could stay they were happy to ablige. A bit of a walk into town, however the staff offer a shuttle service. Room was fine, the air con unit had previously been moved and not repainted so it didn't give the room a good look. Air con was at a charge, which sucked. Our room had a tv which was nice. Our ensuite bathroom was nice but had no lock, and our room no lockers so it was a good thing we all knew each other.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Nov 2016
8.3

The staff here are very friendly and helpful, they provided us with free lifts into town and towels. Myself and 2 friends shared a 3 bed room. No bunk beds which was a relief. You do have to pay $1 for 3 hours air con. It did look a bit unkempt but it didn't really effect our stay. I would stay here again, I was very happy with the service they provided.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.