Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castaways Backpackers Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 316 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 316 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
Castaways Backpackers Cairns Located at Po Box 5648, 207 Sheridan Street, Cairns.
Castaways Backpackers Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland qld 4870 Po Box 5648, 207 Sheridan Street
84% 316
-16.9158424 145.7662582
Castaways Backpackers Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Nov 2016
8.0

Great room and facilities, and the owner was very friendly and welcoming. But staff were not very informative or warm upon arrival, whereas other arrivals were warmly welcomed and invited to join in activities. There is supposed to be a free shuttle service to the city, but it is not officially scheduled and v chaotic so we ended up walking. We also paid for a shuttle to the airport at the end of our trip which set off over 15 mins late and left us with little time to check in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Nov 2016
7.4

The staff were very helpful and when we called to change our room so our friend could stay they were happy to ablige. A bit of a walk into town, however the staff offer a shuttle service. Room was fine, the air con unit had previously been moved and not repainted so it didn't give the room a good look. Air con was at a charge, which sucked. Our room had a tv which was nice. Our ensuite bathroom was nice but had no lock, and our room no lockers so it was a good thing we all knew each other.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Nov 2016
8.3

The staff here are very friendly and helpful, they provided us with free lifts into town and towels. Myself and 2 friends shared a 3 bed room. No bunk beds which was a relief. You do have to pay $1 for 3 hours air con. It did look a bit unkempt but it didn't really effect our stay. I would stay here again, I was very happy with the service they provided.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Nov 2016
8.9

Really great hostel in a good location. Good atmosphere. Great staff. Only negative is that there are no lockers to store valuables.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Oct 2016
9.1

Staff was amazing, they know how to make the place feel very comfortable. Super laid back, amazing common areas that make it easy to get to know the other guests. Great pool too. & The best BBQ I've ever had in a hostel. Which I could have stayed longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
7th Oct 2016
8.0

The hostel has many spaces to chill and it's full with activities to do when you're not planning an outing. I wasn't really looking for that backpacker lifestyle, but everyone seemed to be having a great time and the place breeds good vibes. The staff are friendly, helpful and enjoy being apart of the fun. Location is a few minutes walk to the bottle-o and shops. 15-20 min walk to city centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Sep 2016
10.0

Great place, extremely nice staff, everything was so clean and neat and the location was perfect

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nestorson
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
10.0

Best place ever. Second home

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.6

This hostel was great in a lot of ways: real beds instead of bunks, fridges in the rooms and the wii are all great touches. Plus, the owner is fantastic and makes an effort to chat to everybody staying. He recommended two tours, both of which were outstanding. The only let down was how cliquey the hostel was when we stayed which made it really difficult to get to know people. We weren't the only guests who thought this and it's a shame as otherwise, it would have been a complete joy to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jul 2016
6.6

Really nice hostel however felt like it was impossible to book the airport transfer that they offer. We asked for it on the first day but because they have a BBQ on Sunday's they said they might not be able to even though they have a few people who can drive. Other than that it was nice, can walk to places and they offer a free shuttle. Wifi not great but free.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.