Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castaways Backpackers Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 384 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 384 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Aug 2017
10.0

Hands down, the best hostel we have stayed in. It is absolutely spotless and the staff work really hard to keep it that way. There is a large kitchen and outdoor grilling area for cooking, clean bathrooms, and many places to hang out / common rooms. Everyone was incredibly friendly and helped us organize tours and trips. A great community atmosphere where people were cooking and laughing and making friends. If you are staying in Cairns, I highly recommend Castaways, you won't be disappointed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
3.4

It is not good for that much money . They haven't give my room key deposit $10.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • blythmuir
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
25th Jul 2017
7.7

With all the good reviews we were really looking forward to staying here however our stay was not one of the best. We were put into a room which was in the main kitchen, this meant throughout our stay we experienced a lot of noise. On several nights the 10:30pm curfew was ignored and high levels of noise and even cooking went on after 12am. We were woken up at 5am one morning by people fighting outside. We wouldn't stay here again. Staff were friendly enough. Overall a very average hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2017
9.4

Stayed here twice in July - booked to go back a second time as we loved it! Staff are amazing and very friendly. Hostel is very clean and is only a 15 min walk from the Esplanade. Loved that we had our own fridge in our room as this was not offered in any other hostel we stayed in. Air con is available but we didn't need to buy it as the ceiling fan done the job and the WiFi is the best I have ever had from a hostel! Will definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

This hostel has everything! Really good value for money, extremely clean, really good facilities and helpful staff. The best wifi I have ever had in a hostel and it was free!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2017
8.3

Castaways was a clean and quiet venue. Nice place to stay to relax between party venues... they also had free pool!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jun 2017
8.9

Fantastic hostel! I really didn't want to leave but the journey most go on. The staff, Wayne, Kieran and Kinga are always willing to help or have a friendly chat. The location is 20mins out of the centre however there is a free shuttle bus. The showers are hot and powerful. There's events every day of the week to assist in meeting people. There is two kitchens and the beds are comfy. Thank you for making Cairns an awesome stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
10.0

Loved staying here. Would love to come again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
9.7

Awesome place, very much clean and frienfly staff, I have nothing to complain, I really enjoyed my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alicewebbaw6240
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
21st May 2017
8.6

We chose this hostel as was a really good price for a private double. Only used as a base as had activities booked everyday but the pool looked like a nice place to cool off. Is a bit of a walk to the centre and supermarkets, probably about 20-30 minutes. Nice, small, family run place that is clean and quiet. The lady in reception was also lovely and helped us decide on activities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×