Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castaways Backpackers Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 284 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 284 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
Castaways Backpackers Cairns Located at Po Box 5648, 207 Sheridan Street, Cairns.
Castaways Backpackers Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland qld 4870 Po Box 5648, 207 Sheridan Street
86% 284
-16.9158424 145.7662582
Castaways Backpackers Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jul 2016
6.6

Really nice hostel however felt like it was impossible to book the airport transfer that they offer. We asked for it on the first day but because they have a BBQ on Sunday's they said they might not be able to even though they have a few people who can drive. Other than that it was nice, can walk to places and they offer a free shuttle. Wifi not great but free.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
27th Jul 2016
8.0

I really like it but a few things could be improved.The showers are not great as you can barely get in because of the doors opening towards you, one night needs fixed in my room and also need proper curtains as the ones in room 8 are way too thin. Also put another tap in the kitchen because only having one when many people are cooking at the same time does not help people do their washing up!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Jul 2016
9.7

Walked in and was greeted by fantastic and friendly staff, everyone said hi and the atmosphere was awesome! Free pool, slushness, WiFi and shuttle bus! Really enjoyed my stay and wish I could have stayed longer

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • eddiegutierrez271629
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
26th Jul 2016
8.9

Atmosphere and staff were great! The hostel has a cool set up that really fosters relationships and interaction b/w travelers. They have cool events for people to do together. Movie room. Shuttle service. On the down, I feel this hostel is a work in progress. It's still just a tad unorganized and incomplete. Having to pay for te AC is a little weird, but it is what it is. Wifi is not very strong. Still though, overall the atmosphere and everything else makes it worthwhile. Had a good time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • evelinaborjesson7602
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jul 2016
8.9

Castaways is a really pleasant hostel with friendly staff and comfortable rooms. There are no bunk beds which is wonderful. It is a bit of a walk to the centre but unless you're in a hurry it's no biggie and the hostel offers rides to the city several times a day. Highly recommend this hostel :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
4.9

Booked private room, but was in the middle of the kitchen, like, it used to be the kitchen's storage place but with a door now. We felt we were harry potter and Cinderella living in the broom cupboard minus the privacy one would expect harry and Cinderella to have. Air-conditioning is coin operated, pretty lame in a tropical climate.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.9

The kitchen is a bit small, the staffs are really friendly!l

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
5.7

If you are a group of backpackers who doesn't care about location, cleanliness and facilities it's great. But if you want a better location and a bit more luxury maybe go for one of the resorts

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2016
9.7

While slightly out of the town centre, staff will take you into town for free or it is only a 15min walk. Had a brilliant stay here, extended it for a full week. Attracts a great crowd of really friendly people, showers were generally spotless, kitchen was quite small but functional. Would highly recommend, friendly & sociable atmosphere and felt so homely! TV room with Netflix is also amazing :) thank you!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st May 2016
9.4

Absolutely loved it here, probably my joint favourite hostel I've been in so far in the past 2 months. Not a massive hostel so didn't feel like you were just another customer, had a really good community feel when hanging round the pool table with some drinks etc and everyone's so friendly. WiFi was incredible, same standard you get in your own home and worked perfectly in the room too. Would definitely recommend, and there's free shuttles whenever you want to and from the town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.