Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Castaways Backpackers Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 273 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 273 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Castaways Backpackers Cairns Located at Po Box 5648, 207 Sheridan Street, Cairns.
Castaways Backpackers Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland qld 4870 Po Box 5648, 207 Sheridan Street
85% 273
-16.9158424 145.7662582
Castaways Backpackers Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
4.9

Booked private room, but was in the middle of the kitchen, like, it used to be the kitchen's storage place but with a door now. We felt we were harry potter and Cinderella living in the broom cupboard minus the privacy one would expect harry and Cinderella to have. Air-conditioning is coin operated, pretty lame in a tropical climate.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.9

The kitchen is a bit small, the staffs are really friendly!l

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
5.7

If you are a group of backpackers who doesn't care about location, cleanliness and facilities it's great. But if you want a better location and a bit more luxury maybe go for one of the resorts

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2016
9.7

While slightly out of the town centre, staff will take you into town for free or it is only a 15min walk. Had a brilliant stay here, extended it for a full week. Attracts a great crowd of really friendly people, showers were generally spotless, kitchen was quite small but functional. Would highly recommend, friendly & sociable atmosphere and felt so homely! TV room with Netflix is also amazing :) thank you!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st May 2016
9.4

Absolutely loved it here, probably my joint favourite hostel I've been in so far in the past 2 months. Not a massive hostel so didn't feel like you were just another customer, had a really good community feel when hanging round the pool table with some drinks etc and everyone's so friendly. WiFi was incredible, same standard you get in your own home and worked perfectly in the room too. Would definitely recommend, and there's free shuttles whenever you want to and from the town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Chrispoole842590
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Apr 2016
8.9

A little out the way and a little dated, but the free wifi is the best of any hostel I've stayed in. No bunk beds just single storey. A fridge in every room. Really friendly staff who run a shuttle pretty much on request. Owners make everyone feel like family so everyone is really social and friendly. Clean, I even saw them cleaning the air-con filters!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
9.1

Good Hostel. Really nice staff that helped me with my tour bookings and all that Stuff. The only thing I had an issue on was that I really get annoyed with the smell of burning grass, and there was one guest that kept smoking. Overall I reccomend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
8.3

Nice hostel in Cairns. The pool table is a nice touch! I didn't like the lumpy beds and the fact they didn't have lockers in the room. They did have mini fridges in the room which is something I don't see often in hostels. The atmosphere is pretty chill here with the courtyard area being a sweet hang out spot. The theater room is pretty sweet with a projector and surround sound. It is a 20 min walk to the city center but if the desk is open, you can get an on demand shuttle over.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
7.7

The staff is super friendly and helpful. Especially the owner and Kenny

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
4.9

The hostel was so dirty!!!! There was literally poop on top of one of the toilets! It reeked of weed. The reception is only open a few hours a day and it's really difficult to get ahold of them. They charge you money to use the AC.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.