Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castaways Backpackers Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 375 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 375 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

This hostel has everything! Really good value for money, extremely clean, really good facilities and helpful staff. The best wifi I have ever had in a hostel and it was free!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2017
8.3

Castaways was a clean and quiet venue. Nice place to stay to relax between party venues... they also had free pool!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jun 2017
8.9

Fantastic hostel! I really didn't want to leave but the journey most go on. The staff, Wayne, Kieran and Kinga are always willing to help or have a friendly chat. The location is 20mins out of the centre however there is a free shuttle bus. The showers are hot and powerful. There's events every day of the week to assist in meeting people. There is two kitchens and the beds are comfy. Thank you for making Cairns an awesome stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
10.0

Loved staying here. Would love to come again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
9.7

Awesome place, very much clean and frienfly staff, I have nothing to complain, I really enjoyed my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alicewebbaw6240
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
21st May 2017
8.6

We chose this hostel as was a really good price for a private double. Only used as a base as had activities booked everyday but the pool looked like a nice place to cool off. Is a bit of a walk to the centre and supermarkets, probably about 20-30 minutes. Nice, small, family run place that is clean and quiet. The lady in reception was also lovely and helped us decide on activities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th May 2017
7.1

It was a good hostel but felt like a long-term place. Good atmosphere but a little far from everything.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
9.4

Absolutely top notch hostel! I only spent a few nights here but was incredibly impressed. The staff was wonderful and very helpful! Very clean rooms and very clean bathrooms (not a hair in sight in the showers!). In all honesty, I'm not a huge fan of hostels overall...but this one is definitely one of the best that I've ever stayed at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.7

Had a brilliant stay here, staff were lovely and friendly! :) the BBQ on Sunday was delicious. Just a brilliant atmosphere all round :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Apr 2017
9.1

Excellent 👌🏽

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.