Hostelworld.com

Castaways Backpackers Cairns

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.8
Castaways Backpackers Cairns Located at Po Box 5648, 207 Sheridan Street, Cairns.
Castaways Backpackers Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland qld 4870 Po Box 5648, 207 Sheridan Street
86% 258
-16.9158424 145.7662582
Castaways Backpackers Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Chrispoole842590
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Apr 2016
8.9

A little out the way and a little dated, but the free wifi is the best of any hostel I've stayed in. No bunk beds just single storey. A fridge in every room. Really friendly staff who run a shuttle pretty much on request. Owners make everyone feel like family so everyone is really social and friendly. Clean, I even saw them cleaning the air-con filters!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
9.1

Good Hostel. Really nice staff that helped me with my tour bookings and all that Stuff. The only thing I had an issue on was that I really get annoyed with the smell of burning grass, and there was one guest that kept smoking. Overall I reccomend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
8.3

Nice hostel in Cairns. The pool table is a nice touch! I didn't like the lumpy beds and the fact they didn't have lockers in the room. They did have mini fridges in the room which is something I don't see often in hostels. The atmosphere is pretty chill here with the courtyard area being a sweet hang out spot. The theater room is pretty sweet with a projector and surround sound. It is a 20 min walk to the city center but if the desk is open, you can get an on demand shuttle over.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
7.7

The staff is super friendly and helpful. Especially the owner and Kenny

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
4.9

The hostel was so dirty!!!! There was literally poop on top of one of the toilets! It reeked of weed. The reception is only open a few hours a day and it's really difficult to get ahold of them. They charge you money to use the AC.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
9.7

Amazing hostel, great facilities. Stayed in a double private room, good size / comfortable bed. The tour office is fantastic and equipped to book any tour to anywhere within the area and the staff have personally taken many of the tours so they have great insight on what is best for your group. Great pool area, grocery / liquor store / restaurant across the road. Only downside is location, a 25 minute walk from town, but the hostel DOES provide a shuttle service to downtown, very convenient!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
7.4

Hmm.. What can i say about castaways, great staff, decent facilities, but i felt sort of uncomfortable when i walked into my room to witness a rather...large orgy taking place. Its not that i felt pressured to join, but was just the fact that within 15 minutes they were doing it on top of me screaming my name (How did they know my name?), i felt like i had to at least throw in a finger or 3. Kitchen was nice though. 7.5/10

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Has a great atmosphere with really friendly staff and owner. They went the extra mile to make you feel welcome and enjoy the stay. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2016
5.4

This hostel is ok depending on what sort of experience you are looking for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Feb 2016
9.1

Had a great time at Castaways! The staff are all super friendly and really helpful! The hostel has a really homey feeling to it, and feels like a family. Facilities are all nice and clean, and the WiFi works amazing. Location is a little out of the centre, but they provide shuttles and is only about a 15-20 min walk. Would def stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.