Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castaways Backpackers Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 353 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 353 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
10.0

It's a really nice Hostel. The staff was super friendly and nice. I really liked the atmosphere and the pooltable was a nice place for socializing. I very recommend this Hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
10.0

Great place to stay! Very clean and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
8.3

Owner is lovely and nice pool

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Feb 2017
9.7

This hostel is about a 15 or 20 minute walk to town, but that is the only fault. They will drive you to town. The owners are great and the hostel was social. I went on an awesome waterfall trip and to the bar for cheap pizza and drinks with other hostel members. The owners really look out for us and want to make sure we have a great time! Thanks!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Feb 2017
9.7

Castaways is a great place to stay. I had my own room en suite, clean, comfortable, owner and staff friendly and couldn't do enough to look after their guests. Amenities good, well stocked kitchen, free tea/coffee, laundry room, movie room, billiard table, and it was never too much trouble to ferry guests too and from the hostel to excursions/airport etc. Would I stay there again, definitely and I will recommend it to everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Owners Wayne and Helen were excellent as were staff Janet and Kim. They went out of their way to make our stay as a family of four really wonderful. Kitchen had everything we needed. The pool was clean and fun; the upstairs deck has a giant tv with Wii set up, a dart board and a gentle breeze; the movie lounge was comfortable and had great Air Con; the room and bathrooms were wonderfully clean. Their regular shuttle into the downtown made the location work out. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
13th Feb 2017
7.1

Good for a night or two. Facilities were good and clean. Aircon in the rooms. Was half an hour by foot to the centre and supermarkets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
9.4

super friendly staff, very friendy owner good atmosphere. clean facilites, aircon available.really enjoyed my stay there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
8.9

I really enjoyed my stay here. Wayne, the owner, is a super nice guy and was very accommodating. The customer service here is what made this hostel really stand out from others. If you're looking for a relaxing and chill place to while in Cairns this is a good spot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Feb 2017
10.0

Our stay at Castaways couldn't have been better. We were warmly welcomed by staff (Kenny & Wayne) and the other residents. The staff went the extra mile to accommodate any of our needs and arranged day trips out for residents if they wanted to go and also arranged a transfer back home from the ferry and then to the airport the day we left. I highly recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.