Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castaways Backpackers Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 343 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 343 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Feb 2017
9.7

Castaways is a great place to stay. I had my own room en suite, clean, comfortable, owner and staff friendly and couldn't do enough to look after their guests. Amenities good, well stocked kitchen, free tea/coffee, laundry room, movie room, billiard table, and it was never too much trouble to ferry guests too and from the hostel to excursions/airport etc. Would I stay there again, definitely and I will recommend it to everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Owners Wayne and Helen were excellent as were staff Janet and Kim. They went out of their way to make our stay as a family of four really wonderful. Kitchen had everything we needed. The pool was clean and fun; the upstairs deck has a giant tv with Wii set up, a dart board and a gentle breeze; the movie lounge was comfortable and had great Air Con; the room and bathrooms were wonderfully clean. Their regular shuttle into the downtown made the location work out. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
9.4

super friendly staff, very friendy owner good atmosphere. clean facilites, aircon available.really enjoyed my stay there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
8.9

I really enjoyed my stay here. Wayne, the owner, is a super nice guy and was very accommodating. The customer service here is what made this hostel really stand out from others. If you're looking for a relaxing and chill place to while in Cairns this is a good spot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Feb 2017
10.0

Our stay at Castaways couldn't have been better. We were warmly welcomed by staff (Kenny & Wayne) and the other residents. The staff went the extra mile to accommodate any of our needs and arranged day trips out for residents if they wanted to go and also arranged a transfer back home from the ferry and then to the airport the day we left. I highly recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
8.0

The staff is very helpful and always around. Helped me book all my day trips and excursions and they even offered a return to airport for $10 which is way cheaper than taxi! -solo traveler so the Sunday night BBQ for $10 is a nice way to meet some people but Cairns overall is a city you don't mind being alone in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
9.7

The staff are super friendly at Castaways, they are always willing to help you with any questions you have (hiking trails and good spots to visit). They have a number of activities, including a Sunday BBQ, which was amazing. There are numerous bathrooms, so you rarely have to wait and it's always kept very clean. You will have to pay for air-con in you room, but $1 for 3 hours is very good value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
9.4

Castaway's was the perfect place to stay on my short trip to Cairns. The staff is friendly and super helpful, it was easy to meet people, and a short walk from the city. The room I stayed in was spacious and the bathrooms/showers were always clean. I highly recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
4.3

We were disappointed with our private room at this hostel which wasn't cheap. It had little to no natural light and the brick construction gave it a prison cell aesthetic. The fan barely worked and we had to pay extra for air con ($1 for 3 hrs). Staff weren't terribly helpful and were upset when we called on them at 7.30pm for change for the air con. The location was rubbish (20 min walk to city) but they sometimes offer free shuttles. Room quite clean and had a good shower. Wouldn't stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
7.1

Located a good 15-20 minute walk from the centre of town and the lagoon but is reasonably close to the airport. The TV room is one of the best I've used. The free wifi is fast, even good streaming, There is a free shuttle bus/car. The staff weren't really that friendly besides the new owner. The staff literally just play pool all day every day with the longtermers. There's currently no communal fridge or food storage in the kitchen so you tend to wake up with ants. Cheap so would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.