X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Castillo Surfista Hostel Reviews

Calle Maria Luisa Santander 0329, Santiago, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
146 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Only there for one night. Girls in the reception were nice. But those floorboards are loud.


86%

Nice part of town and close to major metro station.


77%

I really enjoyed my stay here, comfortable beds, homely environment, great wifi and good location!

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

good place, excellent location and truly nice staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments!

97%

Great and very helpful staff, floors are a bit old and noisy but over all an amazing hostel! Loved it!


94%

Nice place, good location, friedly staff. The house ia a little older, but every thing works well!! The breakfeast is excellent! And the private romm is really big, and with a good bed! Thanks Jhon

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments and safe travels!!

86%

Located in a safe neighbourhood with locks to get into premises and then the building. Kitchen small but fine. Space outside to sit. Tv room and free computer which was good. Staff pretty helpful. A short walk into the centre and supermarket nearby. Need to fix the creaky floors! Our room (double) was large and nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments :)

89%

Clean kitchen and bathrooms, awesome outdoor area! Only complaint is the squeaky floors!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the compliments! Yeah the house just turned 100 years old this year so the floors ins some areas like to groan

100%

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in! The guy running it is amazing and helpful and the Duke, the hostel dog, likes to play and steal food. The breakfast ist pretty good and the beds are very comfortable. Bellavista, the party area, is also just a short walk away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the compliments and safe travels!

77%

nice hostel. the floor makes A LOT of noise when stepping on it.


83%

Pretty good hostel, both private room and dorms have alot of space. Floor are really creaky though. Breakfast is average, try get in early otherwise your waffle or toast will become really cold.staff are helpful about what there is to do in the city.


89%

This place has a boutique, chilled-out feel with attention to detail paid on its interior design. At the time, it didn't seem like a place to socialise but we felt this wasn't a bad thing at all as we were out most of the time in nearby barrios. The private room is very large and comfortable for two people, breakfast was never the same two days in a row and the kitchen was well-equipped and big enough for multiple people to cook.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments!!! :))

97%

Fantastic hostel with a great atmosphere reAlly created by some of the people living there. Housed in a nice big old house, the cooking facilities are good, the outdoor area is great for socializing and as I said, the English guy living there is fantastic- creating a good atmosphere and even organising casual bbqs, just asking for a donation from people. Only cons- breakfast isn't huge, and 2 bathrooms between all their rooms isn't ideal as it meant waiting often. Get the ensuing if possible!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments!!!

89%

Great location, quiet as previous reviews stated, yet easy to walk to all the main sites and services we needed. Staff there if required but nice and peaceful most of the time so idea if you want a rest. Big double room. Great hot showers and very clean facilities.

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments and safe travels!!!

100%

A really well located and super clean hostel run by really friendly staff. The showers are always hot, the beds and pillows are comfortable and there are lockers to store valuables. There is a well equipped kitchen for guests to use and there are two indoor common areas as well as a backyard for socialising. Metro is 5 minutes walk away and there is a laundry and supermarket within 3 minutes walk. The place has a really good vibe, I recommend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments and safe travels!!!

60%

I was disappointed with my stay here given all the high ratings. The owner felt pretty absent and was unresponsive to emails prior to my arrival. I had to send multiple follow-ups and finally got a response on the day of arrival. I had him arrange an airport taxi for my friend and the taxi guy never showed up at the airport. The staff didn't feel very friendly, and they don't really go out of there way to help you out.

  • 3rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the taxi, but they are a separate business and we are not responsible if the driver does not show up or is late. Is this why you say we do not respond to emails and are unhelpful? Our staff is always here to help and offer advice - our previous reviews are proof of this. Even so, sorry again you had an unsatisfactory stay and we are always working to improve. Safe travels

97%

Castillo Surfista is a great hostel in a nice quiet location. The hostel has great facilities and a great host. I highly recommend staying here whilst in Santiago. We would definitely return.




View all Santiago Hostels

Please give us your feedback