Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castillo Surfista Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 436 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 436 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
Castillo Surfista Hostel Located at Calle Maria Luisa Santander 0329, , Santiago.
Castillo Surfista Hostel
Chile
Santiago Calle Maria Luisa Santander 0329
92% 436
-33.4390874 -70.6285607
Castillo Surfista Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
8.0

Great location, within easy walking distance of all Santiagos sites, restaurants and bars, and 5mins from metro stop. Hostel was really clean! However Atmosphere wasn't great when we were there, and often had to wait for bathrooms to be free. Seriously creaky floorboards in the rooms, which became very annoying after a while.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.4

Great hostel, very helpful staff, clean and comfortable. Tasty barbecue when we arrived on friday night and free wine!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Jan 2017
9.4

Lovely, great value hostel near to Bella Vista area and 10 mins walk to Banquedano metro station. Great place to base a few days in Santiago. Walking tour was fab. Waffles at breakfast we're much appreciated!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2016
8.9

Great place. Staff are friendly and spend time hanging out with guests. Facilities are clean and safe. Bathrooms were always spotless, although showers are a bit small. Common areas are well equipped and are good places to hang out and meet other backpackers. Building is in a quiet and safe residential street; it's at least a ten minute walk to anywhere interesting, but it's also not too far removed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Dec 2016
9.7

I spent Just one night at Castillo but it is for sure a place I would recommend. Bathrooms and rooms super clean, good beds, lockers (which is really important for me) and nice staff. Didnt have time to use the kitchen but it seemed pretty good considering the hostel is not so big.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Dec 2016
8.6

Loved the location, a short metro ride or walk to most things and it felt safe. Close to a supermarket and laundromat. Big bathrooms that were always clean and comfy beds. A big kitchen too and the out door area is great to hang out at. All the staff were friendly and helpful when we asked questions. The owner is cranky a lot. I liked having a dog around but then his barking and stealing food got annoying. We had just toast, yoghurt and a banana most mornings for breakfast, it needs more!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
9.7

I loved this hostel, very homey, comfortable, and the staff was really friendly and helpful. I had a private room, but the dorms looked fine too. Great place to end my trip to chile!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • katefitton
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Dec 2016
9.4

Staff were amazing, especially a guy called Bob, he gave us really good advice/directions. He always went above and beyond to help us and made us feel welcome. The atmosphere is great! Nice outdoor area to socialise, everything was always clean, breakfast was great (waffles and fruit/yoghurt). Great location. Security was good too. We loved it that much we extended our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2016
9.7

This hostel is great for people who want a good base for exploring central Santiago. It was very clean, and the staff are very helpful, as they allowed us to add on another night to our original reservation. It's tucked away in a nice, quiet, fancier area and a short walk to a metro station. Definitely not a party hostel, but they have BBQs and opportunities to be social. Seriously the only downside I can even think of is the creaky floors...but the house is wonderfully redone and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the compliments! Safe travels!

2nd Dec 2016
9.4

The Surfista hostel was my favorite in Chile. The staff really try to get everyone involved with events and the property is small enough to encourage interaction.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.