Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castillo Surfista Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 592 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 592 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Hemmingway
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
14th Sep 2017
10.0

If you go to Santiago, you will have to stay here! Everything was just perfect. Nice location, facilities, atmosphere and on top a really nice crew. A special thanks to Courtney, Toby and Fiona for making our stay amazing and lots of fun. It's a home away from home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 43 reviews
7th Sep 2017
9.7

Really comfortable, homely hostel situated in a good neighborhood, near a metro station and large supermarket. Staff are mostly volunteers and are super friendly and helpful. Great breakfast included, facilities are good but the wifi could be better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Sep 2017
9.4

Great location, super comfortable bed and the staff were really helpful. The only problem was how noisy it was but there's nothing that can be done about that. Hostel is gorgeous and a real gem in Santiago. Would recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2017
9.4

Beds and blankets were super comfortable!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • liambanerji
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Sep 2017
10.0

Maybe our favourite hostel through out our trip through Peru, Bolivia and Chile. In a lovely area with a supermarket and nice restaurants, cafes and a metro station nearby, this hostel has a very homey feeling to it as it is a converted large house. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the dog Duke is lovely (and skateboards). Breakfast was amazing with cinnamon waffles with manjar and fruit, and hot chocolate was available all day. Free wine Friday was also a nice touch. Love the place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the compliments. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2017
10.0

Great location, staff and atmosphere! Super comfortable beds and awesome breakfast. They also recently upgraded WIFI so internet was pretty quick. Overall would highly recommend. ALSO THEY HAVE A SKATEBOARDING DOG I REPEAT A SKATEBOARDING DOG.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the compliments! Safe travels!

5th Aug 2017
8.6

The vibe at Castillo Surfista is friends and comfortable, it feels like you are hanging out at a friends house. Be advised that the wifi is terrible. It does not reach the dorms upstairs and even downstairs is quite unreliable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the compliments! The wifi has been working fine throughout the hostel. Are you sure it is not your device? Safe travels!

  • MoHawkey
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
10.0

I loved this hostel! I was traveling solo and booked the private room. I'm 27 and this was my first hostel since college- I was seriously impressed. Great location and cozy room with a balcony. The staff and guest were amazing! The living room and breakfast facilities made it easy to socialize. At night, people were very respectful with noise and it made for very pleasant sleep-ins. If I return to Santiago, I would absolutely return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2017
9.1

Facilities otherwise were very comfortable and clean. They did have the best breakfast I've ever had in a hostel! WiFi was not great during my entire stay. I had to be downstairs to use it and even then it would disconnect my phone repeatedly. Not 24hr reception, which isn't normally a problem unless you are arriving or leaving at weird hours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • arcua
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Jul 2017
10.0

The hostel was nice and comfortable. We only stayed whilst we waiting for our plane departure for the day, however the staff were friendly and the beds were comfortable. The hostel was also having a Game of Thrones Marathon in the lounge room - which is pretty cool! Thanks for having us. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×