X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Castillo Surfista Hostel Reviews

Calle Maria Luisa Santander 0329, Santiago, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
175 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 97%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Super nicely decorated, rooms are spacious and clean, staff are very accommodating, living is comfy, and hostel is easy to access from public transit. Highly totally soooooooo recommended! Just watch out for the dog! He's a lover!

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Really enjoyed our stay at Castillo Surfista. Hostel is in a great location; quiet, safe neighbourhood but easy walk to downtown and all the bars and restaurants in Bellavista. Our dorm was outside the main building, off the courtyard and very quiet, with en suite baño. Breakfast is good although only instant coffee. Kitchen is a bit old and basic but rest of hostel in good condition and nice common areas. Helpful staff, friendly atmosphere and Duke, the hostel dog is utterly gorgeous!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments! I agree with you on the kitchen. I´m going out to buy a bunch of new kitchenware this week!

100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed at - the staff are lovely, the room was big, and the bathrooms clean. We ended up staying an extra week because we liked the place so much! Would definitely recommend to stay here!

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice hostel. There is a dog so if you are scared of dogs maybe avoid this place. Lots of people work here and staff are very helpful and sweet. Great location for getting everywhere. Internet was a bit weak in rooms. Great breakfast and hot showers always! The cleaners are sweet and try to clean lots too which is lovely. Big kitchen to cook in too.


86%

The hostel is exactly what is written. The staff are very helpful.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Good hostel, safe residential area within walking distance to main attractions. Handwritten signs telling you what not to do a bit tiresome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings. thanks for the compliments! We only have 2 handwritten signs - one asking you not to feed the dog and a second asking you not to put jam in the toaster :)

91%

Great place and amazing, understanding staff! It was no problem when we had to delay our booking/cancel a night because of he pass from Mendoza being closed!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great Hostel with a really good atmosphere, staff and .. decoration :) We loved our stay there! Thank you very much!!!


97%

Fantastic place to stay. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Beds were great!


74%

Nice, small and quiet hostell but not a lot of atmosphere - probably because of the time of year!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments! as the season slows before the full ski season we are upgrading our sheets, furniture, decoration, and kitchen facilities in order to make the house more comfortable for our guests. If you come by again you´ll be pleasantly surprised!!:)

91%

We really enjoyed our stay here in Castillo Surfista. The two Dutch girls were so helpful and friendly and made it feel like home. They had a great selection of dvds and we could watch as many as we liked. The hostel is an old converted house and though floorboards are creaky, it adds character! Breakfast was good...toast, yoghurt and fruit. Beds are very comfy with a lovely duvet which is needed in this chilly place. Def recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments!!! Safe travels!

91%

Creaking floorboards...there's a first world problem!! It is a very peaceful place, so great for recharging the batteries. There were no bad points.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!!!

89%

Super nice hostel, comfy beds and good atmosphere. Its a good place to chill, with great movie selection and nice lounge and garden. The staff are awesome and will help you with anything you need. Would definitely recommend this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments!

100%

Very enjoyable stay at Castillo and would thoroughly recommend this hostel to others!!!


80%

Only there for one night. Girls in the reception were nice. But those floorboards are loud.




View all Santiago Hostels

Please give us your feedback