Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castillo Surfista Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 539 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 539 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th May 2017
6.6

Great location, but there was a feeling of general uncleanliness the entire time. It also did not help our room could clearly hear all the activity outside during the night. Not good while trying to sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
9.4

Great place! Really nice atmosphere. Cool house in a great neighborhood. Creates a great atmosphere where everyone feels more like a roommate vs another person in a hostel. Very comfortable. If you have any problems just ask the preggers is always around and they're all willing to help

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st May 2017
10.0

I was only planning to stay for a couple of days but ended up staying 2 weeks! The hostel has a great atmosphere, the staff is super friendly and the neighborhood is beautiful. The staff always comes up with a daily activity, from movie night to free wine night, so you will never be bored! It is a very clean hostel and the breakfast waffles are delicious :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Apr 2017
8.9

Lovely little hostel on a quiet street. 5-10 min walk to Bella vista and only 2 mins from a massive supermarket. We were upgraded to a private room for free and it was super cosy and clean. Would happily go back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
10.0

Such a cool hostel! Nestled in a residential area, it is a repurposed house. Rooms are huge with the MOST comfy beds we've had in South America. Outside patio is perfect for hanging out. Staff is super chill and even hosted a free pisco night when we got in! Breakfast has fruit, eggo waffles and instant coffee. Close to grocery stores and pretty close to main bar area. There is a really cute but big dog. Doesn't accept credit cards. The hostel seems to attract a laid-back, social crew! 10/10!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Apr 2017
10.0

Had a wonderful stay at Castillo!! Good spot in the city with great food all around, and a clean hostel with comfy beds and friendly staff!! Will recommend this place to friends!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
8.3

Unfortunately we couldn't stay the whole weekend because they don't have the credit card option to pay which I think I pretty sad considering this is an international hostel, I hope they can fix that problem in the future. Breakfast awesome, incredible old Chilean house, great staff, cool vibe. But, seriously get a credit card machine !!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Please understand is it very common for small hostels around the world to only accept cash. To penalize us for something we clearly state is not an option in our listing is a bit unfair. Thanks for the compliments though and safe travels.

  • lana63
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel, super comfortable beds!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
26th Apr 2017
8.9

This really was an ideal hostel for comfort. We missed the activities the hostel offers as we had other plans, so I can't comment there but the beds were very comfortable, rooms were clean, staff were friendly, showers were hot, simple breakfast was included and checkout was later than some other hostels. Area was also quite nice and the hostel wasn't too noisy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.3

If they could sort out the wifi it would be perfect. The dorm behind the yard is great as it effectively has a black out so it's very easy to catch up on some sleep there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.