Hostelworld.com

Castillo Surfista Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
Castillo Surfista Hostel Located at Calle Maria Luisa Santander 0329, , Santiago.
Castillo Surfista Hostel
Chile
Santiago Calle Maria Luisa Santander 0329
89% 340
-33.4390874 -70.6285607
Castillo Surfista Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Apr 2016
7.7

Comfortable beds, good courtyard to hang out in, staff organizes stuff to do at the hostel at night which is nice. Only real critique is the kitchen wasn't easy to cook in because of lack of space, and was often taken over by staff who were cooking their meals. Wouldn't stop me from recommending this hostel though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Apr 2016
10.0

Great Hostel! Amazing staff (thx Katharina, Bob et all) nice comfy beds clean u get a key; which is good because the staff dont do night shifts and sleep in your dorm all day - god i hate that! wifi is decent (for hostel standards) its really nice and social so u can meet people easily here but also can sleep if u want (perfect) John the owner put on 2 bbqs whilst i was there and gave us free nibbles too location is excellent last but not least: Duke - the skateboarding dog! would 100% recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
8.6

Exceptionally friendly and open common spaces, welcoming you in. The kitchen was one of the best: all the burners actually work and well stocked in general. Most areas were well cleaned although it seemed the dorms weren't done as well on the weekends. Sleeping was mixed: the most comfortable beds we have had on our travels but when people are hanging out in the patio area you can hear every word. Location is away from the centre, but close to a metro and in a nice area. Worth the stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
8.0

Nice homely hostel with a friendly atmosphere. Feels more like a home than a backpackers, which can be a good or bad thing depending on what you're after. I had a nice time there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Mar 2016
9.4

I had a wonderful stay at Castillo Surfista and extended my stay because there was such a nice atmosphere at the hostel. It is very social with an awesome courtyard for BBQs but also quiet if you need to get some rest. The staff were very helpful and accomodating and there is a friendly dog to play with too! Another plus is the amazing homemade pretzels and hummus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
28th Mar 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel! The staff is very friendly. We arrived early due to a nightbus travel from Mendoza and they did everything to check us in as early as possible. The rooms are lovely and bright, nice garden with a friendly dog. Bellavista is just 10 minutes walk away to have drinks and food. Breakfast is very good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Mar 2016
9.4

Had a blast here. Lovely staff who are great company. Comfy beds. Located in a quiet area so will get a good nights sleep. Nice little garden where you can barbeque. Friendly dog who loves attention. Movie room for when you want to chill out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Mar 2016
10.0

I mean, there's an awesomely friendly SKATEBOARDING DOG here – hostels don't get much better than that!!! Really great place, friendly and knowledgeable staff, fantastic location (as a female solo traveller I felt v. safe) with all the local amenities really close. Good breakfast and the staff put on regular "events" to include guests (BBQs, Sangria night, etc.). Definitely recommend this hostel!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

haha the skateboarding dog appreciates the shout out!! :)

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Mar 2016
8.9

Great stay, the staff is very friendly and they make their best to speak good spanish to someone like me that struggles a lot with english. Breakfast is nice with waffles, coffee, tea, jam, butter and what in chile is called "Manjar" or dulce de leche for argentinians, fruits and yogurt. The neighbourhood is really calm and safe as most of Santiago. Location is fine, 5min walk nearest metro, 200m from a supermarket, and 10 min walking to the bella vista neighbourhood where most night life is

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the compliments! Safe travels!!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Mar 2016
10.0

Best hostel ive stayed in in The whole of South America! The staff are so friendly, its super chilled but sociable- perfect for The solo traveller. I extended my stay because i didnt leave, and i didnt see much of Santiago because i was in The hostel The whole time Haha. Definitely stay here !!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.