Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Castle Hostel Reviews

Castle Street, Kerry, Tralee, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained


450 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


One of the good hostels this with fantastic showers!


It was a delight to stay at this hostel, which is in a prime location in the beautiful town of Tralee. Spotlessly clean with excellent facilities and a home-from home atmosphere. I found Aileen to be a wonderful hostess and was warm and comfortable during my stay- Stephen is such a gentleman, very laidback and welcoming, with excellent advice on what to see around town. Will return here for sure. Thanks for everything guys. Diane xxxx


The hostel was on the main street. I stayed there for one night and I found the staff to be extremely polite and accommodating. Even after checking out they allowed me to use the common room and kitchen. I definitely recommend this hostel.


Really nice hostel.


It was cozy and the staff were very nice.


I loved the home feeling the hostel gave as I entered. The staff were friendly, relaxing and kind. Made my short stay a great start to a long trip around Ireland. Thank you :)


Nice staff, cute little hostel, but no window in the room (only in the bathroom) which is a little bit disturbing. Light breakfast okay, and nice wee kitchen.


Hair on bed sheet, dirty bed sheets, very small rooms (5 beds/10m²). No heating in october. Thin walls! Mattresses old and saggy. Kitchen was ok but we didn't feel comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry you had a bad experience in our luxury hostel. All our beds are dressed with clean linen daily so I cannot accept you had dirty sheets on your bed. The heating in our hostel is timed to come on a regular basis since September. I'm amazed if you were experiencing problems that you did not come to reception area to inform us. Stephen


I thought I would love this place as it was quiet and relaxing but some of my things were stolen and when I told a staff member she actually said, that sucks for you. One bathroom which kind of sucked because some girls hoarded it for over an hour, and I attempted to clean my dishes because the dish washer was already over full and a staff member totally bitched me out for attempting to be clean and make less work for her.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You must have given a wrong review to our Hostel. First of all our staff members are complemented by all guests on the way they look after them and there needs. Unfortunately we have no say on how long guests stay in our en-suite bathrooms that's up to guests themselves to solve. We take pride in our kitchen and a staff member kindly enlightened you that there was a dishwasher available. I'm sorry you felt your expectations of our hostel were not met but not our fault. Stephen


Very friendly , welcoming hostel.


My friend and I really liked the hostel. It's very cute and Stephen is such a nice person. Unfortunately we only stayed there for one night.


Fantastic place stay! Extremely friendly and helpful and gave great advice on where to go for the evening, highly recommend to anyone in need of a place to stay in Tralee.


cleanest hostel ive ever stayed in. everything was perfect.

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


I had a room next to the street and it was very loud in the night. But the other people I met there were still friendly and so I had a nice stay there.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Nice staff and good service. We enjoyed our stay there :)


The full-time staff was really helpful and amazingly nice, I instantly felt welcome there. The volunteers who stay for the night weren't exactly so. I had an overall positive experience, I wish there was hot water in the shower though...

Owner Comment (Hide)
I want to make a comment about the hot water in shower, there is plenty of hot water in the shower as they are all electric showers but you never said that you didn't turn on the switch to activate it. Stephen


We ararrived late but were still welcomed and given advice on where wwe could park, etc. We're told the wrong time for breakfast so came down late but the owner was very nice and told us to help ourselves.


The mattress could be changed because it seems to be old and too deep. You can sometimes hear the noise from other bedrooms. Apart from these issues, everything is fine.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


Lovely accommodating staff in a lovely hostel! It feels like a bed and breakfast


Cosy family-operated hostel. Had fun sitting together and see the irish footbal game.

« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)

View all Tralee Hostels

Please give us your feedback