Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castle Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Aug 2017
7.4

The hostel is small and becomes quickly cramped with people. The kitchen and lobby are not great hang out places, no real hang out places. The breakfast is very mediocre, bread and cereal, but the room was relatively cheap. The rooms are small with not much space but were always clean. Wi Fi is limited to lobby and sometimes kitchen, not to rooms. Beware. The owner was very nice and amiable, the staff was helpful. The location was right in the town center, so can't beat that and close to Lidl.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
10.0

Very clean and well ran hostel. Staff where all so incredibly friendly and helpful! Lots of food options near by, however a very well equipped kitchen and great breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2017
9.7

Enjoyed my stay. Will be back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2017
7.1

Pros: Super friendly and helpful owner Lots of outlets in the room Better than average free breakfast Great location Spacious and modern bathroom Cons: Cramped rooms Poorly ventilated, hot and stuffy rooms One bathroom (both toilet and shower) to share between eight people (so no one can use either toilet/shower if someone else is using one of them) Extremely uncomfortable beds Lockers not located in rooms Wifi only reaches reception area, which is closed at night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
8.0

It is right on a busy street so easy access to shopping, sights, etc. If you have a car a little difficult to find parking, but there is a pay lot close by. Also close to Lidl grocery store. Rooms were good, and nicely equipped kitchen. Common room was more like someone's office with some space to sit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2017
9.1

We had a lovely stay at the Castle hostel. We were welcomed by the owner who was very freindly and polite. He gave us some good recommendations where to eat and a nice pub with good music. The food was delicious at the restaurant he recommended so thank you! The hostel is in a typical small house which had a special charming atmosphere with its narrow staircase and small rooms. However, there was enough room to feel comfortable! Besides it was clean and well-looked after.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

I really enjoyed my stay at Castle Hostel. I am a solo traveler and had a private room for 7 nights. The atmosphere at this hostel is friendly and lively, but not a "party central," which I appreciated. There were guests from all ages and there was a good amount of social exchange. We all talked about different sites to see in the area and the staff added their recommendations. The location was convenient as a central point to travel to the amazing sites surrounding Tralee. It was a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2017
8.6

Ideal location, clean and comfortable rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

I loved my staying there. even if it was just for a night, I really appreciated this place. It can be as cosy as home. all perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
7.7

Honestly didn't like the city, but the hostel was clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.