X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Castle House Reviews

Lavina Street, Opp. calangute Panchayat, Naikka Vado, Calangute, Bardez, Goa, India

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
233 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Awesome! I so much more than what I expected! The price is , the beach close, the owner is involved, and the pool and pool table are great placesto meet people! The dorm is great, accept for the 4 person AC rule which was a drag.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

We scheduled a taxi for 3am, but the taxi never showed. The staff told us we didn't reserve a taxi and blamed us for their lack of accountability. By the time we got a taxi we were so late to the airport that we missed our plane and returned to the hostel to stay until our rescheduled flight. Castle House claimed that they were "full" and wouldn't let us stay even though we knew our friends were the only ones still in the room. Horrible experience resulting from a horrible staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
when you asked how much a taxi would cost , i told you 900 + 200 night charges, , and you said we will let you know , at about 9 pm .u didnt book a taxi. and you also said that you have already paid for the taxi , which never happens here , customer pays direct to the taxi , now we didnt give beds next day to you and your friend and also to two local boys because of compalain about stealing, so no risk,, we hav best staff,facilities,food,swimmg pool,and security comes first , money comes later

100%

Thank you so much for taking such good care of us during our stay. We cannot thank you enough. Do not change a thing 😊

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A great stay, particularly the friendly bar staff and thepool I will be back!


83%

Ended up just chilling by the pool here, the location is just by the 'strip', wasn't as serene as I thought it would be. Excellent food and service though.


91%

Really liked this place, good location, staff were very helpful and friendly. Bar area and pool area was really nice and the atmosphere on the night was also nice. Tandoori night with live music on Fridays is good. Cheap local buses nearby to get around.


91%

very good place


69%

[Review for dorm with 6 Beds] 1. NO AC*: The 6 bed dorm room's AC is *only turned on when the number of guests are more than 4. During my stay we had NO AC. 2. No Ventilation: The 6 Bed dorm room has no ventilation(windows). It only has 2 doors both of which need to be closed in the night. If the AC(point 1) is not running it gets suffocated. And would force you to leave one door open in the night(bad for security). 3. Bad attitude of the manger(though the other staff was good)

Owner Comment (Hide)
IN THE DORM THER IS FULL CROSS VENTILATION THER ARE WINDOWS ON BOTH SIDE , WHICH U CAN KEEP OPEN ALL THE TIME AS WE ALSO HAVE MOSQUITO NETS ON THEM . SO ONLY AIR CAN PASS BUT NO MOSQUITOES .

83%

Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was good, and thumbs up for the free water dispencer. Not a place to meet other backpackers as it only has one dorm room, but the guesthouse fits well for families and couples. A nice place to relax.


94%

great place with a great owner and a great staff. everyone was really friendly and helpful.




View all Goa Hostels

Please give us your feedback