Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castle Rock Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 10,429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 10,429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.2
Castle Rock Hostel Located at 15 Johnston Terrrace, , Edinburgh.
Castle Rock Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 2PW 15 Johnston Terrrace
94% 10429
55.9483828 -3.1957983
Castle Rock Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jan 2017
10.0

What a lovely hostel. It isn't one of these new luxury hostels, but instead does what it advertises incredibly well. I was in the 16 person dorm and it was huge, it never felt like that many people. Lockers with locks provided. Mixed gender bathrooms may put some people off, but I wasn't bothered. Powerful showers. Plenty of common areas, with a large kitchen. I attended the Tuesday night ceilidh which was amazing and only cost £6 with an included drink.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!! And we're happy to hear you appreciated all our quirks and character. Hope to see you again in the future if you're ever passing through!

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jan 2017
9.7

This hostel is amazing !! Thanks a lot !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jan 2017
10.0

Had an overall wonderful stay here! Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, and the bed was comfortable. Great place to go if you are travelling alone, this hostel hosts many great activities to get to know other travellers. Great vibe, amazing location right across from the castle and the heart of the city, you will not be disappointed staying here. Highly recommended, and would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Rock! We look forward to seeing you again sometime!!!

7th Jan 2017
9.1

Great location fab staff. Good kitchen facilities. Showers a little odd and mixed do not very private. Good stay with lots too do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2017
10.0

Neat and clean rooms with lockers. Friendly staff Big place Best place in Edinburgh to live.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
10.0

This is my first review of anything in my life, and I'm writing it because Castle Rock is truly amazing. My sister and I stayed 4 nights, and the staff, other guests, and facilities left us not wanting to leave! With awesome lounges, a cinema, pool table, two giant kitchen rooms, beyond friendly staff, and a chilled atmoshphere, we both felt like this hostel is itself a must-see attraction/experience when in Edinburgh! We even spent an entire day inside without feeling like we had wasted a day!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow- thank you so much!! We really appreciate all of your kind words, they truly mean the world to us. Safe travels to you two and come say hello again in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.1

Great atmosphere and beautiful old building. Staff are very friendly. Laundry service was cheap and very handy when backpacking. Overall pretty clean, apart from the communal kitchen, which was a mess. Highly suggest staying here and doing the Beer Pong if you get a chance. Amazing location, only downside was that it's pretty much on top of a hill, lots of stairs..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, glad you had a great time here! It seems that you didn't get to put your picture up on the wall for winning Beer Pong! So we'll have to see you again soon! Hope you're having a great day :D.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.1

Great location! Super lovely staff. First hostel I've been to that there were no toilets in the room but that wasn't an issue for me. Would recommend to a friend for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
9.7

Not a 5 star hotel but a 5 star hostel. Recently enjoyed an awesome stay in the 16 mixed room. Enjoyed plenty of space, which included standup locker, outlet, comfy bed and a reading light. The staff was super friendly and engaging assisting with simple necessities (places to eat/drink/shop) and organizing nightly activities. The hostel supports local businesses arranging drinking and eating deals to half a dozen places. Castle Rock was hands down the best hostel I have stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
9.7

my two weeks in Edinburgh was incredible and this was largely because of Castle Rock Hostel. The space is beautiful, with multiple rooms to chill in that are all cozy, clean, and fun to hangout in. The staff is amazing. they're fun and so helpful in finding things to do, restaurants, etc. Also, a special shoutout to Curtis for leading pub crawls and trivia and taking us to the pub. there is a (usually free) activity to do every night of the week and they're all so fun. thanks Castle Rock!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.