Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castle Rock Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 12236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 12236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
10.0

I have never previously stayed in a hostel before so I was curious to see how'd it go and I was not disappointed! the hostel is amazing but what makes it is the staff! I had so many amazing chats with those on reception and felt at home. I stayed 7 nights in total and it was a really good feeling that I was remembered and not just another traveller. I also got excellent suggestions of places to go and eat or just chill out and have a coffee.. Would definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2017
9.4

very nice and centrally located

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
10.0

The interior of the hostel was awesome, you would think yourself in a castle!! The bed was comfy and there was a locker with a key for each person in the room. The premises were clean and the staff very friendly. Overall a great experience! If I come back to Edinburgh, I'll definitely stay at Castle Rock Hostel again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Aug 2017
9.7

Castle Rock is EXCELLENT. It's right behind the castle, a few steps aways from the main attractions. The place is always clean and the beds are comfortable. There is no free breakfast, but there is always tea, coffee and milk available for free. The kitchen is great, everyone at the reception is nice and friendly. We were in Edinburgh for the festival and we were close to most venues and even though the tattoo was right im front of the hostel it never got noisy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
9.4

I visit Edinburgh for the Fringe festival every year and this hostel was one of the best we've stayed in so far. Would definitely recommend to Tourists coming all year round because the staff are keen to share information about the city, and you're a stones throw from the castle. Great kitchen for cooking and saving money, and good common room areas

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
10.0

Me and a friend stayed for 4 days while visiting the Fringe. The hostel was well located for the old town, had loads of character and all the reception staff we met were brilliant. All the communal areas were kept clean, the atmosphere was chilled and friendly and it was surprisingly quiet. Will definitely be back again in the future. Thank you Castle Rock, you did Edinburgh proud.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Aug 2017
9.4

Amazing social hostel. Multiple lounges, also makes it so the rooms never get loud at night because you can go to the lounge. Beds were comfortable and set up well ,even in 12person mixed room. Great security with 24 hour reception and a luggage drop room for when you check out. The staff is very helpful to talk to. Breakfast is 1.50 pounds and well worth it. Great place to stay! Was a little pricy, but we were there during the festival, so more expensive than usual. Bathrooms were pretty clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2017
10.0

What an amazing hostel!! The building itself is gorgeous. They give you two pillows, outlets and lamp by each bed. Location could not be better, with a stellar view of the castle as soon as you step out the door. Friendly and helpful staff. Super cheap laundry service and free luggage storage. Also very secure. Must show a pass every time you enter, as well as use a key for your room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
9.4

Great location and photos are accurate of the standard. No bar though but cant fault otherwise!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
9.4

Great stay! Central and easy access to get around. All the stay were so friendly and helpful. It was cool to see all the rooms to hang out in! I liked the theme they had going on through out the place. Shared bathrooms were good, always a shower or stall open. Would stay again if I come back to Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.