Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castle Rock Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 9,710 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 9,710 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.2
Castle Rock Hostel Located at 15 Johnston Terrrace, , Edinburgh.
Castle Rock Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 2PW 15 Johnston Terrrace
94% 9710
55.9483828 -3.1957983
Castle Rock Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Sep 2016
10.0

It is one of the best hostels in which I have ever stayed. The staff is great! They are so kind and fun. The rooms are also vey confortable and they have huge common areas with all the facilities. You can drink coffe, tea or hot chocolate any time for free and that's great! There is also a breakfast for only 1,5 pounds that it is quite good! The only problem that I found was the Wifi, because it doesn´t work well much times, but there is no a big problem

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
9.7

The location couldn't be better. Loved the themed rooms and beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
8.6

Castle Rock Hostel is a very good place to stay for small money literally in the middle of the city. The only downside was that the rooms were really small and the showers did not work very well. Most washrooms are mixed which might be a problem for some people

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Sep 2016
10.0

Enjoyed my stay at this hostel. Was a great place to catch up on sleep and get clean after a day of exploring Edinburgh and it's surroundings. Room was comfortable, Staff were amazing with any request or question. Bathrooms were clean, lounges were nice, breakfast was decent to get you started in the morning. Would recommend to any others looking and will definitely stay again if I find myself back in the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
8.9

Good, cheap, central and easy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
10.0

Such a great hostel! Great location and very helpful staff. 100% recommend this place!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much!! We'd love to see you again soon, until then safest of travels to you!!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Sep 2016
9.1

The hotel or located perfectly right next to all the tourist attractions. The rooms were clean and comfy, though a both right if you're on the top floor in one of the sloping rooms. The mixed age group made this feel more like a hotel and not really have that friendly atmosphere like you would find in another hostel. But still a great value for everything else.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are an 18+ hostel but other than that we don't have a maximum age- we think you're never too old to have some fun. We make sure to organize events every night for all of those especially keen to socialize though. Next time make sure to ask about these as I'm sure you would loved the atmosphere! Hope Edinburgh was good to you either way :)

20th Sep 2016
9.7

First time at a hostel, and I got the virgin room :D And I will come back if I'm visiting Edinburgh again :) Very friendly staff, and I settled in very easy. Very good atmosphere, a bit worn, but cozy :) Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Sep 2016
9.7

I had a great time in my overnight stay . The staff is very helpful and accomodating and rooms are very spacious, neat and cool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your lovely review- your kind words mean so much to us :) Safe travels and we hope to see you again in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
10.0

best hostel I've ever stayed in, fully equipped kitchen and lounge areas,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.