Hostelworld.com

Castle Rock Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 8,541 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 8,541 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
Castle Rock Hostel Located at 15 Johnston Terrrace, , Edinburgh.
Castle Rock Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 2PW 15 Johnston Terrrace
94% 8541
55.9483828 -3.1957983
Castle Rock Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st May 2016
9.7

A very good, lovely furnished and decorated Hostel in the heart of the city. The receptionists are very friendly and helpful. Everything is clean and I have to emphasize the big kitchen with a lot utilities for cooking and the big lounge for resting. I really recommend this hostel , also for a longer stay .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels in Edinburgh. The location is incomparable, extremely close to Edinburgh Castle and a few steps from the Royal Mile. Security is excellent, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The facilities are wonderful (a home theatre, a 2 story lounge with free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate all day, two kitchens, and large restrooms with high pressure showers). The dorms are spacious, well laid out, and colorful with great views of the city. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
10.0

Great experience! The rooms are spacious et the staffs are the best!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much!! Glad you enjoyed your stay :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
10.0

This hostel was the perfect place to stay in Edinburgh. The staff was extremely helpful and they had everything a backpacker could need. I would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you :) So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Come again anytime!

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Apr 2016
10.0

The best hostel I've ever been to!! They have a great building full of character with lots of places to hang out, a music and a movie room (with a big screen and comfy couches). They have events everyday and the staff are really nice and helpful. The showers were amazing, not the annoying "turn off the water every 5 seconds". I don't even need to say the location is awesome, right next to the castle… They even let you use the premisses after check out. I would definitely stay there again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much! You're amazing, what an awesome review! Come stay again anytime :)

25th Apr 2016
10.0

This has been, by far, the best hostel I've stayed at in Europe. A massive hostel, but they run it like pros.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a million! You're a star :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
9.7

This hostel was great! The location is right next to Edinburgh castle, the staff is extremely helpful and there are many events to get to know other guests. I really enjoyed my time there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So glad you had a great stay!! Come again anytime :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing, absolutely no complaints. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You're amazing. Thanks for the rave review :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
9.1

Great hostel! Amazing location and the room was great too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
9.4

Probably one of my favorite hostels I've stayed at so far. You literally walk outside and Edinburgh Castle is right there! It's very unique looking inside, great and helpful staff, the rooms were very comfortable and each bed had its own outlet and light (essential). Great kitchen facilities and common area. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much!! Definitely come back for a visit next time you're in Edinburgh :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.