Hostelworld.com

Castle Rock Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 8,944 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 8,944 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.3
Castle Rock Hostel Located at 15 Johnston Terrrace, , Edinburgh.
Castle Rock Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 2PW 15 Johnston Terrrace
95% 8944
55.9483828 -3.1957983
Castle Rock Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

This is a great hostel (and I've stayed in 3 now). Well run, incredibly friendly and helpful staff, terrific location, large common rooms, clean and decorated with medieval themed charm as well as city views from dorm windows.. Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2016
9.4

Castle Rock was so much fun to stay at! They serve a simple breakfast every morning for £1.50, there's several different common areas rather than just one which is nice because usually they're very loud in the main one, they will print your airline ticket or whatever you need printed for free, they do free walking tours and a free pub crawl & also partner with other companies for touring & whatnot. The lockers were a good size (you can't fit everything in them but that's okay). I recommend it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
9.7

This is an excellent hostel! The laundry service is great and very affordable. The rooms are very spacious. The location is perfect since it's close to all the main sights to see in Edinburgh. The staff are very friendly as well. I can't recommend this hostel more!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jun 2016
8.0

I stayed in a four persons bedroom, which was okay but rather small. Though the bunk beds were rather "tricky" to get on and off from. Also for the hallway there were only 2 showers and 2 toilets. Which were a little bit on the short hand side. Apart from this all the beds were nice and comfy and the security was excellent. Very friendly staff :D

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alexissnnicole
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
10.0

Love, love, love castle rock! We will be staying there every time we go to Edinburgh

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We love, love, love you!! Please do come again when you're back! Safe travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jun 2016
10.0

Castle rock is definitely a hostel that is cheap and very comfortable. It was a surprise that the hostel is so big! The kitchen was well-equipped and rooms had spectacular rooms of the old town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad you enjoyed your stay here and thanks for the lovely review! It never does feel as big as it actually is here, you're not wrong! You're welcome back anytime!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
10.0

The location was petfect and close to everything. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful and outgoing . 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the awesome review!! So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jun 2016
10.0

My stay at this hostel was fantastic :) All of the staff were so friendly and helpful! The only issue I had was sometimes the WiFi was a little slow, but that really wasn't an issue. Castle Rock rocks! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
8.9

The location is ideal as it's within walking distance to lots of restaurants and pubs, as well as walking distance to main attractions and the train station. The staff was overall very kind and helpful and great with organizing fun activities. I recommend the Quiz night & Pub Crawl! The common area is a good way to meet people. Unisex bathrooms were a little confronting at first, but cleanliness was decent considering the large number of guests using one main bathroom.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.1

very good place, the staff is really nice and helpful, the location is awesome, got a room in the first floor with a view of he castle just stoning at night, the bathrooms were clean and also the bedrooms, I have no complains about the cleanliness..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.