Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castle Rock Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 9,454 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 9,454 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
Castle Rock Hostel Located at 15 Johnston Terrrace, , Edinburgh.
Castle Rock Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 2PW 15 Johnston Terrrace
94% 9454
55.9483828 -3.1957983
Castle Rock Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
10.0

Our stay was short but location was fantastic.this is the first time I stayed in a hostel so all I needed was a bed and convenience to get to everything I wanted to do and this place worked for me. Thank you to everyone at castle rock for helping me on my way. Had a great time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
8.0

I only stayed here the one night but the location was fine, there was enough bathroom facilities and lockers in the rooms. Staff were friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
10.0

An excellent fun hostel. Well run, nice and clean, friendly helpful staff. Room mates very considerate and crept in quietly.Would definately recommend this very convieniently located hostel to any friends visiting Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow, thank you so much for such a great review!! Come for a visit anytime :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
8.9

Close to everything. Clean, rooms spacious enough. Decent sized locker. Great kitchen. Showers a bit lacking. Nowhere to put your belongings or clothes while you shower. Overall, a good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
9.7

Absolutely brilliant !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
9.4

Location was amazing and the staff were super helpful and really lovely! We had spent a night at Macdonald Holyrood the evening before and while the rooms were a slight downgrade i much preferred it for the great people and atmosphere. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
10.0

We stayed at Castle Rock for two nights during the Fringe festival and it was fantastic. The staff were super friendly and the place was clean. There were several areas to relax in so the rooms were kept respectfully quiet at all times, even in an 8 bed dorm. The location is excellent, right in the centre near everything you need. I would recommend this place to anyone - even hostel sceptics. I will definitely be back when I next come to Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the awesome review! We'd love to have you back again in the future, until next time!

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.4

The place is so easy to find, people are friendly, hostel is really big and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
9.7

my friends and I had a really pleasant stay in 4persons room at castle rock. -the location is righ by the castle which is convenience for us for the tattoo. -safe environment -very clean -the room is a bit too small -heater doesn't work but since it is summer so it was fine -staffs are nice and friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
9.1

Great location, friendly staff, cheap brekky and good communal spaces

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.