Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Castle Rock Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 9,166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 9,166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
Castle Rock Hostel Located at 15 Johnston Terrrace, , Edinburgh.
Castle Rock Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 2PW 15 Johnston Terrrace
94% 9166
55.9483828 -3.1957983
Castle Rock Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
8.3

Very friendly hostel with good facilities and great location. The foam mattresses which were a bit uncomfortable but overall would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
10.0

I had an excellent time there. It's right next to Edinburgh Castle so the location is fabulous but it's off to the side enough so that it's quiet at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Jul 2016
10.0

Beautiful hostel with so much character. Brilliant location a two minute walk from Edinburgh castle and close to everything else. Staff were lovely, rooms were spacious, breakfast good value and bathrooms nice and clean. Would have stayed an extra week if I could have !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
10.0

Safe for a female alone? Yes. Helpful staff? Yes. And fun. I am at another hostel and I already miss castle rock. Great location and clean- great atmosphere. The pub crawl is a great way to meet people. CRH has a lot of little features that make it so easy to stay, like luggage and valuables storage (even after you check out). Lockers are free. The hang out rooms are great atmospheres. Can't wait to go back. Big kitchen for cooking/food storage. If you're looking, Just stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
9.1

This was a nice hostel in the perfect location for exploring Edinburgh. It's a big hostel, but they run great activities every night for meeting people. The staff was very helpful and I would stay here again if I'm back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • HunterS
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
10.0

Absolutely fantastic. You can not go wrong with the Castle Rock. Everything was clean, spacious - staff are super friendly. The dorms are quiet and respectful with big secure lockers. Even though the hostel was completely booked out it didn't seem busy due to the huge amount of space available in the common areas. Definitely recommend for Solo Travellers, very easy to meet people in common rooms or at the awesome nightly events. If I'm ever in Edinburgh again I know where I'll be staying.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You're a legend- thanks man for the awesome review! Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! Come back for another visit sometime :)

18th Jul 2016
7.1

Chill, relaxed atmosphere but farther from the city center than I wanted and the beds were uncomfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry you weren't super pleased with everything- if you're bed wasn't the comfiest we would have changed the mattress for you no problem but as we weren't aware of this we didn't know the mattress needed to be changed. And as it goes for the location- any closer to the Castle and you'd be staying in the castle itself so we're a wee bit surprised you weren't happy with location! Either way- hope you enjoyed Edinburgh in all its glory :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
9.4

Castle Rock Hostel is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! The staff were super friendly and they were cleaning constantly throughout the day. I will definitely stay here again when I'm back in Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
8.9

I've been to 6 hostels in Edinburgh and this is the best. Great atmosphere, big rooms, clean. The mix of people make it a really good place to find friends. Only bad thing is that top beds don't have any "fence" and if you move a lot when sleeping it can be a bit scary.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Jul 2016
10.0

I had a great stay here, the staff are all extremely friendly and helpful, the hostel is always clean and the location is perfect. The beds are extremely comfortable and have 2 pillows each...luxury. I would go back in a heartbeat! 100% recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.