Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castle Rock Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 10,206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 10,206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.2
Castle Rock Hostel Located at 15 Johnston Terrrace, , Edinburgh.
Castle Rock Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 2PW 15 Johnston Terrrace
94% 10206
55.9483828 -3.1957983
Castle Rock Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Dec 2016
9.7

Excellent place to stay in! Facilities are excellent and the location couldn't be better. The staff is very helpful and the atmosphere is very friendly, specially for solo travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Dec 2016
10.0

We loved castle rock hostel. We couldn't get a room for all 4 nights so had to check in at a different hostel for 1 night. Having stayed somewhere else I can say that castle rock was by far better. Huge, well equipped kitchen, big rooms with comfortable beds, lots of social lounges, friendly and helpful staff, kept very clean. I would recommend not buy the breakfast though, could get better value making your own, also showers on the second floor were nicer, use them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
8.6

Bathrooms not cleaned often, but otherwise perfect stay! Very cool feel and absolutely incredible location. Outlets in every bed, big lockers with key included and they have a small security box inside as well!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
10.0

Super fun! Great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We think you're super Fun to. Safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
10.0

Overall delighted with our stay. 3 Sisters & mum, we came for the Christmas markets! This was the first time our mum had stayed in a hostel, and we were really happy! The room had lovely views, and was clean. The staff were all very helpful too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Dec 2016
8.9

The hostel's socialising rooms are fantastic, however I found the rooms were too noisy. I could hear into next door's room and everytime someone in the same corridor opened their door/walked past, it was very loud. Unfortunately didn't sleep well. I also found there aren't that many bars/pubs nearby, however the location right next to the castle is generally excellent. Staff brilliant. Overall enjoyed my stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear you didn't have the best sleep, being in a hostel with around 300 guests it can get a wee bit loud on occasions. We're glad you still enjoyed the city and the hostel. Safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
9.1

Amazing location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
10.0

We were so impressed! We have never stayed at a hostel where they clean up the kitchens after people all the time! The place was lovely and clean everywhere including the bathrooms, the staff were always helpful and friendly, there was good advertising regarding events going on in Edinburgh and the best places for food, drink, music etc and things organised by the hostel every night. We would highly recommend it to our fellow hostelling friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

WOW! Thanks for the great review, you're welcome back anytime. Safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Nov 2016
10.0

Very nice hostel! Only stayed one night but the rooms were massive and the bed was comfy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
9.1

A great economical way to afford travel to Edinburgh. Thanks to the helpful staff. Bring some wax earplugs for the snoring.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.