X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Castle Rock Hostel Reviews

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
6008 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Perfect location, the lock on my locker was broken but as soon as I told reception about it the handy man appeared and it was fixed in minutes. Super hot powerful showers, comfy bunks and as clean as you could ever expect such a big old hostel to be. All very efficient, a nice friendly hostel that couldn't be any more centrally located.


94%

Best hostel I've been to in Scotland. Best location in Edinburgh.


100%

Great Hostel !


100%

Best place to stay in Edinburg!


100%

Had a fabulous time was sorry to leave..great atmosphere staff utterly superb. Well done all keep up the excellent work x

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

I've stayed in a few hostels in Edinburgh and this the best one by far. Would definitely recommend it.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great Hostel. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip across Scotland. The staff and hostel-stayers were all such cool people. Highly Recommended.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel was great for the price. The common areas were very social. Stayed quiet upstairs. Not a bad place to stay, but I'd say kick ass hostel in the next street has it beat in all areas.


86%

good value for money I would certainly recommend the castle rock


97%

Castle Rock is an amazing place. It has such a quirky personality. The comfortable atmosphere allowed for everybody to become easy friends. I stayed in the "superhero" room, and loved the themes that accompany every room. The bathrooms were very well kept, and the water pressure of the shower was great! (Which is very important!) The location distance to the castle and train station made for easy access all around. My Highlands Tour meeting place was only 5 minutes away, convenient location!

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place to stay in the middle of Edinburgh!


97%

Great atmosphere and location! A little bit cramped but rooms were clean and tidy. The kitchen facilities were awesome and there was always something going on each night.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Fantastic Location, looking right out onto the castle. Within walking distance of many great edinburgh attractions. Great kitchen facilities and common rooms to chill out, listen to music, meet people. Fabulous value for money, best hostel i stayed in in my 8 week european holiday


94%

I will give 90 out of 100 for the overall rating. Everything is good. I will stay here again if I visit Edinburgh, will recommend to friends.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place good location. Big hostel and lots of people living here so meeting people was more difficult than other hostels. Great lounge and kitchen.


89%

perfect location on edinburgh staff is willing to give direction to interesting places

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The location of the hostel is outstanding to access the entire city. The grass market is just steps away for a bite to eat or drink. The rooms are in excellent condition and appear to clean. The only problem with the hostel is the showers are not clean, I recommend bringing your own cleaning wipes to wipe down before showering.


89%

Excellent facility - all the services you would need. Staff are friendly and helpful. Excellent value in view of the location.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

We loved our stay at Castle Rock! What a cool building! It was in a great location and the staff was fantastic. I wouldn't think twice about staying there again.


100%

Had a great time - the front desk staff was awesome and helpful. The hostel is very very cool and eclectic - definitely spend some time in the groove lounge, you won't regret it.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(225 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback