X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Castle Rock Hostel Reviews

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
6406 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Had a good time! The upper bunks are a little hard to climb without disturbing the person on the lower bunk, but it was ok otherwise. Oh, and some shelf space would be nice!

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a fabulous time was sorry to leave..great atmosphere staff utterly superb. Well done all keep up the excellent work x

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

I've stayed in a few hostels in Edinburgh and this the best one by far. Would definitely recommend it.


94%

Great Hostel. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip across Scotland. The staff and hostel-stayers were all such cool people. Highly Recommended.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

good value for money I would certainly recommend the castle rock


97%

Castle Rock is an amazing place. It has such a quirky personality. The comfortable atmosphere allowed for everybody to become easy friends. I stayed in the "superhero" room, and loved the themes that accompany every room. The bathrooms were very well kept, and the water pressure of the shower was great! (Which is very important!) The location distance to the castle and train station made for easy access all around. My Highlands Tour meeting place was only 5 minutes away, convenient location!

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place to stay in the middle of Edinburgh!


97%

Great atmosphere and location! A little bit cramped but rooms were clean and tidy. The kitchen facilities were awesome and there was always something going on each night.


91%

Fantastic Location, looking right out onto the castle. Within walking distance of many great edinburgh attractions. Great kitchen facilities and common rooms to chill out, listen to music, meet people. Fabulous value for money, best hostel i stayed in in my 8 week european holiday


100%

castle rock hostel is a great place to stay in Edinburgh. Facilities are awesome, the atmosphere is great, location is prime and the staff are absolutely wonderful. Would recommend to anyone

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I will give 90 out of 100 for the overall rating. Everything is good. I will stay here again if I visit Edinburgh, will recommend to friends.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place good location. Big hostel and lots of people living here so meeting people was more difficult than other hostels. Great lounge and kitchen.


89%

perfect location on edinburgh staff is willing to give direction to interesting places

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The location of the hostel is outstanding to access the entire city. The grass market is just steps away for a bite to eat or drink. The rooms are in excellent condition and appear to clean. The only problem with the hostel is the showers are not clean, I recommend bringing your own cleaning wipes to wipe down before showering.


89%

Excellent facility - all the services you would need. Staff are friendly and helpful. Excellent value in view of the location.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel! The atmosphere was incredible, and the location could not be any better - right below the castle. The hostel itself is beautiful and even being inside is an experience. It was a great place to meet other travelers, and I really loved my stay!


100%

I really love this hostel and the staff members have been so friendly and helpful as it can possobly be! Simple awesome! =)


91%

We loved our stay at Castle Rock! What a cool building! It was in a great location and the staff was fantastic. I wouldn't think twice about staying there again.


100%

Had a great time - the front desk staff was awesome and helpful. The hostel is very very cool and eclectic - definitely spend some time in the groove lounge, you won't regret it.


97%

샤워룸이 좀 작은것 빼고 완별한 호스텔! 오래된 건물이지만 관리 매우 잘되어있고 방이넓음!


(234 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback