X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Castle Rock Hostel Reviews

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
6242 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

very good location, great atmosphere, very nice staff. room was good, showers were clean but very tight - would be no issue if there was enough space to get dressed outside the shower cabin - but there wasn't really and very little space to place personal items. apart from that I had a great time.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely place. Maybe think about little lamps per bed, as many dorms are huge and it's sometimes nice to stay up reading.


74%

The hotel facilities were good for the price. There were nice decorations with knight armour. A big kitchen and a common room area. Good and cheap breakfast. My bed was situated just next to the door so every time someone was cooming in/out I was woken up. In other hostels that I have been to they did't put the bed just next to the door. The hotel needs to relocate the beds and maybe put the lockers next to the door instead of the bed so that the guests can get a good sleep.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent hostel. Only complaint, and its not really against the hostel, was that some guest were really rude and turning on lights late at night and making lots of noise.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Loved this hostel because of the 24 hour reception and friendly staff members. What I liked the most about this hostel was that they provided essentials for merely a deposit rather than a fee (e.g. borrowing a charger or converter). I stayed in an all female dorm of 12 people and the room was pretty spacious--lots of room to walk around. It's right next to Edinburgh Castle, too. The toilets were a bit sketch at times, but then again, I was on the bottom most floor. Over all, a great hostel!!


91%

Great location close to Edinburgh Castle & Waverley Station. Easy access to the Royal Mile. Staff are very helpful and next day laundry service for a few pounds was amazing. I stayed in the 4 bed mixed dorm which was right on the top floor and had an amazing view of the castle. Paid breakfast was very plain and basic (cereal & bread), would have preferred a few more options including fruits, cheeses and yogurt. I will definitely stay here again when I visit Edinburgh in the future.


97%

The staff were amazing, the hotel and loads to do and made an effort to make it inviting and a community. The best hostel I have ever stayed at! The staff were helpful and knowledgable. And if they didn't know they googled or tried to find someone who did know.


97%

If you're traveling to Edinburgh on a budget (or maybe you want to have a good hostel experience) then I highly recommend Castle Rock. They have a helpful and friendly staff and a great environment for the traveller to unwind after a day of adventuring. I absolutely would stay here again.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Really love that the hostel is so close to the castle and places to eat. The staff were really great and the place had a nice lounging area and the rooms were all very clean and adorably decorated. The only thing was that the power sockets were only restricted to one side of the room which made it alittle inconvenient

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Castle Rock hostel is the perfect place to stay if you are limited on time.. It is very convenient to everything.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The location behind the castle is great because all sights in the old town are in walking distance. I liked the common room with its aquarium and free tee and coffee for all but our 4 bed dorm had little space for 4 suitcases.


100%

This was by far my favorite hostel. The rooms were very nice and themed, which was fun. They had a great kitchen, the staff was super friendly, wifi was good, and facilities were nice. They also had a lot of hostel activities/events posted, which unfortunately, I did not have time to attend. I would definitely recommend this hostel if you're staying in Edinburgh!


83%

El sitio es inmejorable. Las instalaciones cumplen con todo lo que puedas pedir. Los espacios comunes amplios y varios para que puedas realizar aquello que desees. Como mejora propngo una biblioteca, donde estudiar sin ruido.

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice Hostel! I liked so much. the bathroom cleanliness is good, but could be better in the bathroom.


80%

Overall a good hostel, a bit big and noisy at night and the beds are pretty damn hard, but overall the price, location and cleanliness make it worth it.


100%

The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The tours that you are able to book through the hostel are fantastic and highly recommended. The facilities were always clean and available and the atmosphere of the hostel was great. I would definitely go back!


100%

Had such a great time here!!!! Best hostel I've stayed at in the UK.


89%

nice hostel, i like the main lounge and cinema!

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great atmosphere. Plethora of bathroom facilities was great. Rooms were secure and large. Loved the laundry service. Perfect location to everything thanks for a great experience.


89%

First timer in a hostel staying for 2 nights and was a little apprehensive being an older traveler but was pleasantly surprised staff were first class. Would recommend.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


(246 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback