X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Castle Tam Hostel Reviews

Avenida 4,100 metros oeste Escuela de la Roosevelt, San Pedro, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
223 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

good job boys! keep it up. To mix up the breakfast once in a while would be nice, im not a pancake man.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

staff is friendly, but old building.room was with mold and cockroaches!


100%

The staff is great. They answer every question, want to know how your travels are going, even make you a personalized breakfast. There are curtains around the beds in the dorm and lights and electrical outlets for each one. It's also in a super cool area next to the University and close to a bus that takes your right downtown. I stayed here a few days and ended up coming back the next weekend for four more nights. Now it's my "home" in San Jose.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It's in a great area right near all the universities were there are some really good bars and restaurants, probably one of the safest areas you'll find in San Jose.it's also only a short $.50 bus ride to the avenue central where there are shops and even more bars and restaurants. The staff gives great directions if your looking to spend a day in the city before you head to where ever your going! Hot water and great wifi!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Perfect Hostal for us. Two big fully equipped kitchens and a supermarket just up the road. Quiet and homely atmosphere, feels like you are staying in a house. Very informative and helpful staff. Cheap laundry by the basket and not the pound. Close to the university district with cheap bars and restaurants and also close to the main city center. Really safe neighbourhood. One of the best hostels we have stayed in in the past 5 months travelling. Would definitely recommend.


91%

This is such a well thought out hostel! Each dorm bed has curtains, power outlets and a personal light- after being on the road for so long these little things make such a difference! A decent breakfast is included, there is a good sized kitchen and the internet is super fast. Friendly and helpful staff (with the exception of one who was rather abrupt) and an all round good vibe. We came back here when we returned to San Jose. I would definitely recommend it :)


89%

Best value for your dollar. I am a super cheap person who wanted a cheap place to stay and this was good for that. The internet was ok, water was potable, baths had hot water, and is located within walking distance to Universidad De Costa Rica. The staff was very helpful in telling you the bus schedules and where to check out. The kitchen area was the only downside, but was prbobably due to the volume of people using it. I would reccommend the hostel.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Accommodating and friendly staff coupled with comfy private room and good facilities means I would stay here again!

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff is really friendly, always caring when you need it. My private room was simple, yet comfortable and clean. Close to the center, situated in a quiet street, the location is perfect for everyone who wants to enjoy the vibrant atmosphere of the university area and the plethora of good internatinal food restaurants. The guests are a mix of short term students, and tourists, which ensure a good vibe :-) Having tried quite a lot of hostels in San Jose, this one is by far one of the best.


91%

Really friendly and helpful staff who helped us plan our onward route through Costa Rica. A BBQ was put on for the night that we were there with loads of good food and beds were really comfortable! Nice hot showers and clean bathrooms too.


91%

After staying here the first time we got back a secound time...we think that speaks for itselfe :) We got a lot of help with everything and lots of informations we needed


71%

It is close to shopping centre but it is quite away from city centre. Fridge in the second kitchen is needed.


100%

Such a good deal in all aspects, great location, friendly staff, clean, cheap... thumbs up!!!!

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This was my first experience using both Hostelworld and staying at the Castle Tam Hostel. Both were good experiences. The staff was really nice and helpful in trying to find my way around the city upon my arrival. The rooms are in good condition and the bathrooms are as well. The bathroom sink didn't have hot water but the showers did which was nice! I would definitely recommend staying at this hostel. It's a bit difficult to find initally but once you get your bearings it's really easy.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, has all those little touches you want when staying at a hostel but for a much cheaper price, definitely reccomend and will be staying here again

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

staff was very helpful and kind , located next to bars restuarents and mall . we really enjoy our stay there ! will be back again for sure .

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very clean bathroom and very good place for this price range, at San José is not possible to find similar hostels. In general overview is a good place to stay and only maybe would be great to buy new sheets for the beds. It was a good choice for us.

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

A really good hostel with nice rooms, a good atmosphere, very very friendly staff (you can ask them anything and they´ll help you) and really warm showers ;)! although it´s a little bit outside, there´s no problem, because the public buses are running frequently and it´s really easy to go to downtown. Only the kitchen could be a little better equipped, but after all a really good place to stay in San Jose. You should definately go there


74%

Stayed at Castle Tam for about 3 days, really had no complaints by the end of it. Had an interesting and friendly array of travelers (like most hostels do), and the fact that it's walking distance from La Calle is AWESOME. The staff is also quick to tend to any of the questions or requests I had regarding their facilities. Very basic hostel, nice cheap rooms, so not much else you can ask for in San Jose. Would stay there again if i needed a place to sleep, otherwise doesn't offer much else.


77%

Jonathan was extremely helpful and went through the bus schedule with me and organized a shuttle for 435 am so I wouldn't miss the bus to Nosara. It was nice and quite at night and I slept great.

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback