X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Cat and Moose Backpackers Lodge Reviews

305 Long Street, 8001, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
77 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great start to our South African trip at this hostel. Facilities are great and staff are really helpful (booked us a great deal on a shark dive). John is an absolute hero! Location is perfect just at the top of long street. Recommend to anyone. Phil


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

Very welcoming and competent staff, a great location. The flaws came from the facilities : the room had only one plug behind a bed, which was not practical at all. A fan on the celling would have been better. The beds made a lot of noise. A lack of intimacy in the toilets. Otherwise everything was good.


77%

Awesome location, decent rooms. Only complaint was one of the older staffers (Eastern European accent) was not very helpful. Asked for directions in the morning after checking in he gave me very vague and essentially useless directions/advice. Ended up asking a cabbie who contradicted much of what he told me and was a lot more helpful.


97%

Great place in the calm section of Long Street, which means you are close to everything but still get your good night sleep. Staff was really helpful when we missed our bus, dropped the credit card and came back to them with R5 in our pockets. We still got to stay the night and pay the next day instead. A great place with nice rooms and facilities. Recommended!!

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location on Long Street, but quite enough in the evening. Good clean facilities, easy to self cater. Friendly staff


94%

The staff was great, extremely helpful at all times of the day/night. The dorm on the bottom floor had a window without the glass or shutter at the very top, which made it really cold in the room. Also, the smell of cigarettes would sometimes come into the room because of that window. Someone please fix this! Otherwise, I had a great stay here.


97%

Jojo was very helpful!


100%

Great location!!!


100%

Terrific in all respects.


60%

The wi-fi had poor coverage. The showers had no heads and only spraying a small part of the body.


77%

Great location in Cape Town, easy walking distance to many locations.. Staff are friendly!


89%

The hostel is very well localized, and even though I read some bad reviews about security of the place, at time long st is crowded with people, and it's not unsafe at all to go out by feet. Its has a good enviroment to stay, its calm and organized.

  • 19th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

A very nice hostel in Long Street. The location is very good near My-City bus stop (you can take this bus from the airport) and near the McDonalds. The hostel is at the end of Long Street, so the place is very calm - some of the hostels in the street are very noisy. The staff is very kind. Thank you John for being so nice to me !!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lior ! thank -you for your nice comments , you are the perfect guest .

83%

A great hostel, at the top of Long street and away from the party goers noise of the street but close enough to stumble home. Very homely feel, with comfy lounge area, quaint little courtyard and all you need in the kitchen. Helpful and friendly staff! Try the burgers at the Royale Eatery next door(15 veggie types too)!


94%

When My friend and I had arrived we had been greeted with great enthusiasm; it was a great start to the week. Cat and moose has great staff: 24 hr reception (very helpful and informative). Rooms are clean, well looked after and tidy, kitchen is well equipped and there is a tv room with movies (nice to relax in). Unfortunately there is no parking but one can park at the garage around the corner.To make up for the walk, there's a mcdolads across the road and a view of table mountain.

  • 21st Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Relaxed place - nice hangout room, nice staff. Awesome courtyard to hang out in as well. Not a party place, but in the heart of all the bars in town, so not really an issue there...

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you very much for your kind words .

89%

This was our second hostel after moving out of another. This one is one block away on Long, from the action. The hostel is quiet. We stayed upstairs in the back and it is off the street and peaceful. Bathrooms? they could use more, but they were clean, housekeeping made the bed every day, the courtyard has a small pool for cooling off. When I go back this will be the place I would go.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank -you very much for the kind words, regards ;-)

100%

everything is perfect~ especially staff, JHON is very a good and honest man. thank you...JHON~

Owner Comment (Hide)
;-) thanks very much for your kind words !

77%

Staff is the best part about this place. Knowledeable and willing to help you out. Location is great if you want to be downtown close to the bars and cafes. A couple of warnings, if you have a car, there is no parking, even though they say they have it. They will get you parking at the Shell gas station next door at your cost. Also internet is not free. You have to use the wifi hotspot at 30cents/MB

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staff comments, we appreciate it. Regarding couple of warnings comment-parking is available along Long Street, public parking bays, hourly rate payable during office hours to parking attendants. Also there are parking bays available next door at Shell Garage lot, at daily rate, and it was always advertized as that, as parking available, not as free parking. As far as we know, there is no free parking in the city center anywhere. Internet is not free, at the moment it is provided by outside company. We would like to install free internet in the future, if the cost allow us to do that without increasing the accommodation rates. This gentleman refused to pay for his parking at Shell Garage, as he didn't want to accept that it is not free, so at the end of his stay it was paid by us.

94%

I had a really great time at the Cat and Moose!! The hostel staff was just amazing - very flexible, always friendly and helpful, even though I bothered them with a thousand questions.. The hostel itself has a great atmosphere, with a lovely, quiet courtyard where you can relax from a stressful day in town. I can highly recommend this hostel and will definitely go there again when I'm in Cape Town! Thanks for a lovely holiday, guys!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks very much Claudia ,for your kind words ;-)

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback