Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Catba Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 244 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 244 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0
Catba Hostel Located at 160 Nui Ngoc street, Hai Phong, Cat Ba Island.
Catba Hostel
Vietnam
Cat Ba Island 0313 160 Nui Ngoc street, Hai Phong
73% 244
20.7247690 107.0521973
Catba Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Nov 2016
6.9

Rooms were fine bit no locks on the main door to dorm rooms but individual lockers are provided for valuables ie not a rucksack - way too small. Location was great, just up from the main stree. Rent motorbikes for $4. Shower was cold and the guys are a bit picky trying to get you to book buses or tours through the hostel hut overall it was fine. And come on, it's £1.60 a night- can't exactly complain!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
9.1

Generally very nice hostel, definitely worth of money - very cheap.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Nov 2016
8.0

IT'S great value for money as it is centrally located and very clean. the dorms are fine but good for the prove you're paying. the owner is helpful and I'd definitely recommend for the budget traveller.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
8.0

Super adorable hostel. Not much of a community vibe and farther from the water than a lot of other hostels. Pretty good food at the hostel and good prices on tours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Nov 2016
2.0

Just don't stay here the owner is a horrible person. I never leave reviews good or bad but I would stay well away from cat ba hostel

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Oct 2016
8.9

Cat ba hostel was a brilliant hostel, the owner was so down to earth and did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable. A little bit of a walk from the main strip but the friendly staff and locals easily make up for that. Each bed had it's own washing line and the rooms are so well thought out, the attention to detail was appreciated, cheers guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Oct 2016
9.4

Very quiet, we had almost our own balcony. The staff is really nice and ready to help. The room are clean, the mattresses almost confortable and very large. For the price, it definitely worths it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
9.1

Great place to stay! Crazy cheap and not too far from town. Clean rooms, good AC and friendly staff. Couldnt have asked for more. Not a party hostel but met some really cool people while i was there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Sep 2016
4.0

Horrid. Room was disgusting, the door didn't shut let alone lock and the owner acted as if we were putting him out by ordering food. Later on when paying him for a drink he forgot to give me my change and when I asked him for it, he accused me of lying and said he was going to watch the security footage to make sure I wasn't robbing him, making our stay feel very awkward. We were going to stay 3 nights but left early morning after the first night as we couldn't bare to be there any longer.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Sep 2016
8.9

Nice place with kind, helpful staff who spoke very good English. Comfiest beds in Cat Ba as well! The only downside was the neighbor doing heavy construction at 630am during our stay (Sept 9, 2016). It's not on the main tourist strip, but it's a few blocks away.. Would return if it wasn't for construction.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.