Hostelworld.com

Catba Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 192 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 192 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.7
Catba Hostel Located at 160 Nui Ngoc street, Hai Phong, Cat Ba Island.
Catba Hostel
Vietnam
Cat Ba Island 0313 160 Nui Ngoc street, Hai Phong
79% 192
20.7247690 107.0521973
Catba Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Jun 2016
7.4

Not the most impressive hostel I've ever stayed at but definitely worth the price! The best part of this place was the travel packages they offered. They seemed to be the lowest price on the island. Went on the 1 day boat tour and it was by far the best 15 dollars I've ever spent. We also rented motorbikes from them for 5 dollars for the entire day. Right in the middle of Cat Ba Town but not on the loud main street. Dorms smelled moldy but cant really complain for the price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
7.4

Hostel was in a decent location close to the main street and restaurants. They can organize tours for you at the front. Day staff is very helpful (not so much the night staff). Rooms were decent but nothing special.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd May 2016
7.1

Bathroom was large and beds didn't squeak. For the price you pay its great, nothing special but not bad at all

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
9.7

I stayed there for 4 nights in a dorm with 6. we got towels and everything was fine. The owner is supercool and chilled and helps you with everything with. I can totally recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th May 2016
6.0

First of all I will admit that its a very cheap hostel so don't expect too much. The owner was extermly rude with no sense of service. Be careful they don't change always the bed sheets between guests and the towels are smelly. Not to mention that they do not clean the bathroom daily even there are around 8 people in some rooms. The guy from reception very helpful and kind, It's sad that the staff of the hostel has such an unkind manager.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2016
4.9

The hostel is what you pay for--I really wasn't disappointed with the cleanliness, security, location, etc. they're all sufficient and it's a very standard hostel! I was, however, very upset with the staff. I don't usually dislike or disagree with people, but I found them incredibly unfriendly, rude, and unwilling to help. However, it's a cheap hostel and that isn't necessarily a deal breaker.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bermuda, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Apr 2016
6.9

A very good cheap hostel for Catba. The facilities weren't great, but for the price that you pay it is totally doable. The staff were a bit short and not always helpful, but did help organising buses/bikes etc. The location is perfect, the rooms were safe and ultimately a good place to stay considering how little you were paying for it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
7.7

You get what you pay for. Very basic and the wifi doesn't work except in the lobby. Good cheap food and fans in the room. There was a huge cockroach in my room though which was horrible. We also booked a bus with them to Hanoi and we paid a bit extra to get dropped at our hostel but they didn't which was annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Apr 2016
7.4

Shabby but decent hostel. The staff are great, very funny and helpful. A little more security would be better, it seems quite easy to just walk into anyone's room. But very cheap!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Apr 2016
6.0

The staff is only interested in selling their tours, kayaks and bikes. Everyday they wanted to know what we are doing and were suspiscious when we denied booking a tour with them. Their helpfulnes ends when they can't earn money with you. Plus we saw a rat in the kitchen! I would not come back to this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.