Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Catba Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.3
Catba Hostel Located at 160 Nui Ngoc street, Hai Phong, Cat Ba Island.
Catba Hostel
Vietnam
Cat Ba Island 0313 160 Nui Ngoc street, Hai Phong
76% 215
20.7247690 107.0521973
Catba Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Aug 2016
6.0

For the price it's tough to complain. With that said, here's what you should be prepared to expect: The shower did not have hot water Maids came in at 10am, even though checkout is 11:30 There isn't a 'scene' in the common area Bunks are cramped (even for hostel standards) Staff is friendly, but their English is limited

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
9.7

This hostel was such good value for money. Location was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room had air conditioning, lockers and wifi. We were supplied with clean towels everyday and the bathroom was also cleaned daily. Breakfast was also delicious! Highly recommend the kayak tour organised by the hostel to Ha Long Bay. Overall very pleased with the standard of the hostel considering how little we paid!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jul 2016
8.3

For £3 I don't have a single complaint. Bathroom not the greatest but once again, £3 for a room 50m away from dock/ nightlife.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
7.1

Place is fine, nothing special. Motorbike rental is available.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kebeliever101
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
20th Jul 2016
9.1

Really enjoyed my stay at this hostel! The dorm is great price - every bed has its own fan (and the dorm room has air-con too) sockets and reading light, the wifi works well, and the staff are friendly! Only downsides are that the food wasn't great (not an issue though), and the bathroom wasn't that clean (still more than ok though). Plus, I met some great people in the dorm too, and the trip of Ha Long bay and Lan Ha bay was great. Great value for money and I'd happily return to stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
7.1

Simple hostel that does the job! Individual fans for each bed in the dorm and AC too. Toilet wasn't the best but what can you ask for at the price you pay! Hostel lets you book tours and return transport to Hanoi, although once you're on the bus there's not much help getting to the big city

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jul 2016
5.1

Very unfriendly staff, one very man, others were obviously rude. Good location. For €5 you can't go wrong.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Both the chef and the receptionist were very friendly and helpful. We had a room with balcony witch was amaizing for relaxing after the busy activity days. The room had been cleand daily and towels changed without us being disturbed in any way. I realy reccomend the food (pho) for breakfast. It was so good that days after and even now i still thinking of it. I recommend the place as one of the best choices on the island if you travel on budget. Respect

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Jul 2016
8.0

Nothing special, not expensive. The toilets were not very clean. There is a lot of Vietnamese tourists staying there and I've noticed they tend to be very loud when drunk. One night a guy just randomly walked in our room and just walked around a bit, then left when we all woke up. Otherwise it is ok, good and reasonably priced food, wifi works, you can rent scooters and book day trips with them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
6.0

Average. Quiet. Up steep hill. Good value and quiet. Would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.