Hostelworld.com

Catba Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
Catba Hostel Located at 160 Nui Ngoc street, Hai Phong, Cat Ba Island.
Catba Hostel
Vietnam
Cat Ba Island 0313 160 Nui Ngoc street, Hai Phong
82% 179
20.7247690 107.0521973
Catba Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Bermuda, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Apr 2016
6.9

A very good cheap hostel for Catba. The facilities weren't great, but for the price that you pay it is totally doable. The staff were a bit short and not always helpful, but did help organising buses/bikes etc. The location is perfect, the rooms were safe and ultimately a good place to stay considering how little you were paying for it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
7.7

You get what you pay for. Very basic and the wifi doesn't work except in the lobby. Good cheap food and fans in the room. There was a huge cockroach in my room though which was horrible. We also booked a bus with them to Hanoi and we paid a bit extra to get dropped at our hostel but they didn't which was annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Apr 2016
7.4

Shabby but decent hostel. The staff are great, very funny and helpful. A little more security would be better, it seems quite easy to just walk into anyone's room. But very cheap!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Apr 2016
6.0

The staff is only interested in selling their tours, kayaks and bikes. Everyday they wanted to know what we are doing and were suspiscious when we denied booking a tour with them. Their helpfulnes ends when they can't earn money with you. Plus we saw a rat in the kitchen! I would not come back to this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2016
9.1

The staff were all incredibly lovely and went over an above to help us. We ended up booking a one day tour with them and it didn't disappoint! The room was clean and comfortable, and every bed had a light, a fan, a locker and some sockets. For such a good price you can't get much better!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
8.9

Good affordable single room when you need a break from dorms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2016
8.3

Good place, nice and friendly staff, located in a quiet place up to the hill, I stayed in a single room and I have no complains but it would be better if floor were cleaned better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
9.4

Cat Ba Hostel had the softest, if squeakiest beds I've slept on since coming to Vietnam. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. They offer tours that are well worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
25th Mar 2016
7.7

The place is basic but great value for money. Went on the day trip to 'halong bay'/cat ba bay which was good. Staff were pretty good with info etc. Lots of restaurants near by which are good. Can also book bus tickets from here to next destinations

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2016
8.0

Pretty standard hostel. A bit up the hill but still very close to everything in town. Provided thick blankets and fans with beds which was awesome. Ok vibe in hostel but for the price I thought this place was well worth it and we were able to spend money saved on activities around the island. Bathrooms were a little grubby but that said they cleaned everywhere daily.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.