Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Catba Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 202 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 202 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5
Catba Hostel Located at 160 Nui Ngoc street, Hai Phong, Cat Ba Island.
Catba Hostel
Vietnam
Cat Ba Island 0313 160 Nui Ngoc street, Hai Phong
78% 202
20.7247690 107.0521973
Catba Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mleith95
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Jul 2016
7.1

Simple hostel that does the job! Individual fans for each bed in the dorm and AC too. Toilet wasn't the best but what can you ask for at the price you pay! Hostel lets you book tours and return transport to Hanoi, although once you're on the bus there's not much help getting to the big city

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2016
5.1

Very unfriendly staff, one very man, others were obviously rude. Good location. For €5 you can't go wrong.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Both the chef and the receptionist were very friendly and helpful. We had a room with balcony witch was amaizing for relaxing after the busy activity days. The room had been cleand daily and towels changed without us being disturbed in any way. I realy reccomend the food (pho) for breakfast. It was so good that days after and even now i still thinking of it. I recommend the place as one of the best choices on the island if you travel on budget. Respect

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Jul 2016
8.0

Nothing special, not expensive. The toilets were not very clean. There is a lot of Vietnamese tourists staying there and I've noticed they tend to be very loud when drunk. One night a guy just randomly walked in our room and just walked around a bit, then left when we all woke up. Otherwise it is ok, good and reasonably priced food, wifi works, you can rent scooters and book day trips with them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jun 2016
4.9

Our room was infested with ants and we did not feel clean or comfortable in our accommodation. We booked online before arriving in Cat Ba and did not realize that there were many other places to stay that are not listed on Hostel World. I would not recommend staying here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
7.4

Not the most impressive hostel I've ever stayed at but definitely worth the price! The best part of this place was the travel packages they offered. They seemed to be the lowest price on the island. Went on the 1 day boat tour and it was by far the best 15 dollars I've ever spent. We also rented motorbikes from them for 5 dollars for the entire day. Right in the middle of Cat Ba Town but not on the loud main street. Dorms smelled moldy but cant really complain for the price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
7.4

Hostel was in a decent location close to the main street and restaurants. They can organize tours for you at the front. Day staff is very helpful (not so much the night staff). Rooms were decent but nothing special.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd May 2016
7.1

Bathroom was large and beds didn't squeak. For the price you pay its great, nothing special but not bad at all

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
9.7

I stayed there for 4 nights in a dorm with 6. we got towels and everything was fine. The owner is supercool and chilled and helps you with everything with. I can totally recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th May 2016
6.0

First of all I will admit that its a very cheap hostel so don't expect too much. The owner was extermly rude with no sense of service. Be careful they don't change always the bed sheets between guests and the towels are smelly. Not to mention that they do not clean the bathroom daily even there are around 8 people in some rooms. The guy from reception very helpful and kind, It's sad that the staff of the hostel has such an unkind manager.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.