X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Cedar Ridge Lodging Reviews

lot #2 Cedar Ridge, Bogue Hill, St. James, Montego Bay, Jamaica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
51 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 68%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

The hostel is far from the attractions, the beaches and from everything ... Even if the hostel has a beautiful view doesn't compensate for how far it is, the person who is in charge of the hostel (Lisa) is rude and every time we asked about places to go she just didn't know anything - Cedar Ridge didn't have a curfew but the few times we got there past midnight Lisa would be very off. I wouldn't recommend this hostel has more cons that pros isn't clean, bad service, far for walking distance.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we apologize for the awful experience described above & hope it did not spoil your Jamaica experience. I had to leave the hostel for personal reasons & left Lisa in charge. She is honest, careful about security & familiar with hostel operations. But she has not yet completed her customer service or island knowledge training, resulting in service delivery gaps. We will investigate your comments about cleanliness. We confidently offer you 2 free nights when you next visit.

100%

When we were at Cedar Lodging. we had a really great time...the hostel had some really cool people and the host (Lisa) was great. She told us where to go and even helped us book other places to stay across the island. We stayed up with us most nights just laughing and joking with the host. Felt like family. Hostel was clean and had a ire vibez. Will dfinately return when I have the chance.

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The owner, Arlene, is a gem and a font of information about Jamaica, its culture and its history. She goes the, proverbial, extra mile to assist you with guidance, directions and planning. She is a walking history book about the country and its people. Cedar Ridge is a little off the main drag, but this contributes to its tranquility. We plan on staying there again when we return. And, we will be staying there again. Cedar Ridge isn't just a place to stay. Arlene and crew make it an experien


89%

It was a beautiful house and the family was really nice and kind. But it wasn't well located, we had to go down the hill and then find a taxi (and during week end it's harder) to go downtown, just for grocery. And it was harder to find a taxi who go up the hill. But except that, evertything was perfect.

  • 15th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings. Thanks much for taking time to respond to your CR experience. It was a pleasure to have you. CR IS up a hill, we are NOT a beach location. Bogue Hill is a small community which increases our security & our isolation from the hustle & bustle of the city & creates the peaceful atmosphere that our travelers seek after a day at the beach. Unfortunately while we agree this makes us a little inaccessible - the route taxis are known to us & bookable when need.

86%

Seriously super amazing views from a nice porch in a well designed home. Very relaxed place. But because they do not actually say they have hot water on the website-they believe it is okay not to tell you it is broken.or even consider lowering the price. Maybe its not a big deal,but it leaves a bad taste. Otherwise the owner is very helpful and a font of interesting cultural bits. Otherwise

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings. Thanks for taking time to respond to your CR experience. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations of hot water, but we do not advertise that we have hot water! We live in a tropical climate & while water is a definite necessity having it hot has never been a requirement of our guests & in fact many love the fact that we have such wonderful facilities for the price and the location. We are working on solar power & will install in time - but for now we apologize..

89%

Cedar Ridge hostel is a lovely and peaceful place because of Arlene the manager and the locality. Thank you Arlene for all your try to and doing! Ola




View all Montego Bay Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback