X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Celica Art Hostel Reviews

Metelkova 8, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1790 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Very good location. Close to the train station. The staff is also helpful. No bunk beds in my room but it could be a bit crowded with all the bags and luggage.


80%

Good Hostel, there is an amazing alternative area behind the Hostel. It is quite clean and quite close to the Center town.


89%

By far the BEST hostel I have ever visited. Amazing bar, staff, rooms, location and activities. The only problem was an emergency they had with the masculine toilet during my stay (all gusts had to use the feminine one - only one) and the wifi that wasn't good. It is worth staying there anyway.


89%

GREAT hostel, good staff, good wifi, good beds, good restaurant, cheap beer and great location. The only problem was the male bathroom that wasn't available during our visit.


91%

Really cool hostel, the rooms are nice and the staff always available to help. Only 10 mins walking distance from the main square downtown. Definitely recommendable!

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic hostel. Great place to meet fellow travellers and locals. The hostel is used by an active music and art scene. The only suggestion I would make is that the dorm in the attic would be better if they removed one or two beds. It's a bit crowded.


83%

Weird way how they arrange their beds. All in the floor close to each other. You may have a lucky to sleep side by side with a pretty girl, by the other hand you can sleep hearing the snoring of a huge 100kg guy on your ear..... Besides that, a good hostel. Very good location, next to some great bars and to the train station. Walking distance from the center. Would recommend it


94%

Great social hostel in Ljubljana! It's a little walk into the town center - but everything is only 5-10 minutes away. The staff is super helpful and friendly and the hostel is clean - although you can hear some of the Metalkova party behind the hostel on a Friday night. There are also plenty of comfortable common spaces and a bar. My only problem was the wifi didn't reach my dorm room but overall this is one of the best hostels I've stayed at for cleanliness and ambience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We'll pass it on to our staff. True, the wi-fi access on the second floor is poor, but that just gives our guests more opportunity to socialise in common areas :) We'll fix the wi-fi access and you are welcome back for another great experience. Best wishes!

80%

I love the decor.


77%

Nice bar. Events organised in the evenings were good.


89%

The bathroom was poorly planned, because the mirror by the faucet was too low. The only mirror was useless. The lighting by the mirror was also useless. And the worst was that the room was FREEZING and the heating device worked slowly. The dorm we stayed in had too many beds for such a small room. Close to a youth club area, noisy Excellent and cheap breakfast, the hostel also offered cheap lunch. Cozy common areas and the staff were very helpful and a very clean hostel. Theme nights were fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Auch! The beginning was not promising but we're happy that it changed for the better at the end. Sorry to hear that the heater was not working well. It's terrible to be cold in the room, we agree. It's a pitty you didn't inform the staff, we would be happy to change the heater for you. We're glad you liked the staff and the social vibe in Celica. Wish you all the best!

69%

At first sight this hostel looked very quirky and cool until you stay there a few nights and realise how inconvenient it is. No lockers, very small rooms and minimal space to put your things, bathroom was filthy for all 4 nights we stayed, social areas was interesting and fun but very awkward to use, kitchen fridge was small for all the rooms it accommodated. They did however have some great activities, nice breakfast and allowed you to bring in your own drinks even though they had a bar.


83%

Really nice, modern hostel. The rooms are very cool with unique bed arrangements etc. Feels like a very clean hostel and has a bar/ restaurant at your disposal. The only downside, was the kitchen. It was absolutely tiny, the fridge was tiny, the storage space was tiny and there was no oven or toaster. Only one mug. Cooking your own meals is a really great way to save money, but unfortunately there may as well not have been a kitchen at all. It was very disappointing. Bike hire was awesome!


91%

Location is fabulous. Locker in the room was broken but stuff offered to store valuable things at the reception in the secure box. Great value for money. Highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear that you told our staff about the broken locker, so they could solve the situation right away. Thanks for the feedback and for the recommendation. Cheers!

100%

The staff were absolutely brilliant,very friendly & extremely helpfull..... The food was excellent too,,,,highly recommended

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your review, just like our staff, is also absolutely brilliant! :) Thank you for your recommendation.

83%

Great hostel with great staff and with nice design, cool place to stay, really close to Metelkova with bars disco where spend the night, and 10 min to the city center. Very nice stay and nice Halloween party! The only thing, the kitchen is too small for italian people ;) I recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Did you mean too small because of so many Italians there or that there were just the tallest Italians you could find gathered at the same time in the same kitchen?:) Thanks for recommending Celica, wish you all the best!

91%

The place is in a very hip cool location about 10 minutes walk to the centre but super close to the bus and train station. All the staff are 10/10 and super friendly, I had a Skype interview and they were able to put me into an area that wasn't loud but if you want to chill you can do it here and if you want to party you can and the rooms are super cool and interesting :)


60%

Did not want to sleep in the hostel. We booked a 7 bed dorm thinking it would be better than a 12. We were wrong. Were placed in the loft and the ceiling was very low, couldn't even stand up in all bed but the bathroom. Felt very claustrophobic. Not much space for luggage and no lockers. On the plus it had a good common area and nightly events but I wouldn't come back purely because of the bedrooms and how much they charge, not great value compared to every other hostel I have stayed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry you felt claustrophobic, but the dorm room you are talking about is located in the attic of the building and low celings are part of its basic architecture, as well as some other rooms' on the same floor. You should definitely try staying in one of the cells next time, to get a proper behind-the-bars experience so many other people are enthusiastic about. Wish you all the best!

86%

Excellent hostel. Very nice and helpful staff. The lack of lockers inside the rooms is the only negative point about this amazing place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. The lockers are taken care of, as we are working on a whole new series to be installed in the rooms as we speak, so next time you're here, you'll enjoy your stay at 110%. Cheers!

66%

It's decorated in a really cool way and everything is new. However, the bathroom in our dorm wasn't cleaned once in the 3 days we were there so it was constantly flooded with hair all over the floor. There also isn't really a common area or any atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Appreciate your honest opinion and sincerely regret the situation in the bathrooms. However, the cleaning staff is present at the hostel on daily basis and should have handled the matter way better, obviously. Please, accept our apologies. We'll definitely look into the matter and make sure it does not happen again in any of the bathrooms. All the best!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(82 results)


View all Ljubljana Hostels

Please give us your feedback