X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Celica Art Hostel Reviews

Metelkova 8, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1813 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Celica was great experience. One of those "different" places... hostel, museum... and with all facilities needed. Great value for money. Would definitely stay there again.


94%

I have stayed at celica twice now and I hope to go back again someday. This is a great hostel, no problems and the staff are so helpful and friendly. Love the place and its atmasphere


80%

The cells are great, but depends which one you will get, our was really strangely organised. While the hostel staff is GREAT, there are few disadvantages: WiFi works only on the groundfloor near reception not in the rooms; restaurant and kitchen are not open on Sunday (you may have a drink/snack tho) and the kitchen is a bit of a joke - smallest fridge I've ever seen for all of the guests. And the equipment is not that good either.


80%

Pros and cons> location is good as it is near bus/train station and short walk to town center.Great Facilities clean and well kept. Breakfast good value for money. Showers are alright. Staff ok. The drawback is the size of the dorm. Tiny and claustrophobic. The dorm's door is partially made of glass and it doesn't prevent the lights and noise from corridor, making it impossible to sleep as most of the guest are groups of students which are up talking loud till late at night. Wifi not good.


89%

Great location and vibe. The building and surroundings are beautiful. Cons are: Wi-Fi signal doesnt reach the rooms (2nd floor) and the shower sucks.


91%

The three front desk staff and two cafe/bar staff I met were extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly - over the Christmas holidays no less! As for the room, it was very clean, but it was cold (on the 2nd), the shower holder was broken and most disappointingly, there was nothing "artistic" about it, as was advertised. Oh well, there is still plenty of art outside and how amazing to be part of the squat scene. Highly recommended hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for you review. From your description it's unclear in what type of room you were staying in. In Celica we have artistic cells on the first floor that are designed by different artists and the multibedded rooms and dorms on the second floor that don't have artistic value. (apart form colorful mosaics). It seems you were staying in one of the rooms. When you return to Celica, we recommend that you spend the night in the cell for the most unique experience. So, see you soon. Right? :)

91%

Cool hostel, close to the city center and equipped with everything you'll need for a pleasant stay in Ljubljana. Might need a few beds less in the dorm though, there's hardly any room between each of them and you'll end up sleeping literally inches away from the nose of your room mates. Other than that, nothing to complain about really.


83%

While a bit expensive due to "hype", it is a neat place. The 12 bed dorm was a bit cramped and my locker broken. The staff was phenomenally nice and location is great!

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very good location. Close to the train station. The staff is also helpful. No bunk beds in my room but it could be a bit crowded with all the bags and luggage.


80%

Good Hostel, there is an amazing alternative area behind the Hostel. It is quite clean and quite close to the Center town.


89%

By far the BEST hostel I have ever visited. Amazing bar, staff, rooms, location and activities. The only problem was an emergency they had with the masculine toilet during my stay (all gusts had to use the feminine one - only one) and the wifi that wasn't good. It is worth staying there anyway.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for the inconvenience with the bathroom. From time to time some maintenance work has to be made. We try to do it as fast and smooth as possible. But since you said we are the best hostel you ever visited, we take it you are still like us. ;)

89%

GREAT hostel, good staff, good wifi, good beds, good restaurant, cheap beer and great location. The only problem was the male bathroom that wasn't available during our visit.


91%

Really cool hostel, the rooms are nice and the staff always available to help. Only 10 mins walking distance from the main square downtown. Definitely recommendable!

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic hostel. Great place to meet fellow travellers and locals. The hostel is used by an active music and art scene. The only suggestion I would make is that the dorm in the attic would be better if they removed one or two beds. It's a bit crowded.


83%

Weird way how they arrange their beds. All in the floor close to each other. You may have a lucky to sleep side by side with a pretty girl, by the other hand you can sleep hearing the snoring of a huge 100kg guy on your ear..... Besides that, a good hostel. Very good location, next to some great bars and to the train station. Walking distance from the center. Would recommend it


94%

Great social hostel in Ljubljana! It's a little walk into the town center - but everything is only 5-10 minutes away. The staff is super helpful and friendly and the hostel is clean - although you can hear some of the Metalkova party behind the hostel on a Friday night. There are also plenty of comfortable common spaces and a bar. My only problem was the wifi didn't reach my dorm room but overall this is one of the best hostels I've stayed at for cleanliness and ambience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We'll pass it on to our staff. True, the wi-fi access on the second floor is poor, but that just gives our guests more opportunity to socialise in common areas :) We'll fix the wi-fi access and you are welcome back for another great experience. Best wishes!

80%

I love the decor.


77%

Nice bar. Events organised in the evenings were good.


89%

The bathroom was poorly planned, because the mirror by the faucet was too low. The only mirror was useless. The lighting by the mirror was also useless. And the worst was that the room was FREEZING and the heating device worked slowly. The dorm we stayed in had too many beds for such a small room. Close to a youth club area, noisy Excellent and cheap breakfast, the hostel also offered cheap lunch. Cozy common areas and the staff were very helpful and a very clean hostel. Theme nights were fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Auch! The beginning was not promising but we're happy that it changed for the better at the end. Sorry to hear that the heater was not working well. It's terrible to be cold in the room, we agree. It's a pitty you didn't inform the staff, we would be happy to change the heater for you. We're glad you liked the staff and the social vibe in Celica. Wish you all the best!

69%

At first sight this hostel looked very quirky and cool until you stay there a few nights and realise how inconvenient it is. No lockers, very small rooms and minimal space to put your things, bathroom was filthy for all 4 nights we stayed, social areas was interesting and fun but very awkward to use, kitchen fridge was small for all the rooms it accommodated. They did however have some great activities, nice breakfast and allowed you to bring in your own drinks even though they had a bar.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Ljubljana Hostels

Please give us your feedback