X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Celica Art Hostel Reviews

Metelkova 8, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1707 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The city was horrendous but what an experience. The hostel is very unique and if you re traveling to see and experience new things then this place is a must. I will probably never forget this hostel.


100%

A very big hostel, with lots of activities and full of interesting things. It was an old jail, and rooms in the 1st floor are amazing. The staff is very nice, always ready to help you. There is a bar on the groundfloor, very useful to meet people. It's near the bus and train station and 10 minutes away from the center. It is one of the best hostels I've ever been.


60%

When the first thing the staff say to you upon arrival is "sorry about the noise"... For such a new hostel, there is a lack of cleanliness that needs to be addressed. Finding a half eaten pizza down the side of my bed wasn't great. The floors were unnecessarily dusty, and the lockers had not been cleaned in at least months. The shower fitting was broken and the main light wouldn't work.


69%

Handy as near the bus station but overpriced for what you get. Not much atmosphere in the place


69%

The 12 beds dorm had only one toilette available for everyone, which was usually not clean. The common areas are nice and they also offer good food deals.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sincere apologies, we're working on fixing the 2nd bathroom in the 12-bedded dorm, but unfortunately, it's taking a bit longer than we hoped. We're confident that the matter will be resolved shortly and things back to normal soon. Glad you enjoyed the common areas and hope to see you again. All the best!

94%

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed. They have nice places to chill out and also meet new people with a great staff.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Not clean. Not childfriendly (lots of parties outside). Very small rooms and warm (no ventilation possible).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that, honestly. But the location of the hostel does say »in the alternative & artistic zone of Ljubljana«. There are many summer events organised in the area and it's quite difficult to control the noise at all times. We do have house rules, though, that are applied inside the hostel. However, we do not advertise the hostel to be small children friendly, but rather a party hostel because misleading guests would be unfair. We'll do better at cleaning, promise, thx for the comment.

86%

The family who run the hostel are really nice and helpful, facilitates are good. Me and my girlfriend went and we were looking to socialize not just a bed for the night, we found this Hostel to be perfect to meet other people, the rooftop seating area is great for getting to know other travelers, We would go back to this Hostel. (not just students, all ages and workers using this Hostel)


86%

Not the cheapest one in Ljubljana but the location in "Metelkova cultural area" makes it up... :) Had a good time, good breakfast, nice staff speakin good english : )


71%

A really cool concept and space, but I was disappointed with the big dorm room. It's basically an attic room with a ton of mattresses inches from each other. The locker I was assigned was broken and the 2nd bathroom in the room was out of order so the one everyone shared was filthy. The shower was also a light mist, no pressure. Knowing this, I would maybe stay somewhere else and just come check out the building for food and drinks and the tour of the cells instead.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sincere apologies for the 2nd bathroom, which is currently out of order, we're working on refurbishing it, but have not completed the works yet, unfortunately. We would also wish you had informed us about the broken locker, which could have been fixed right away by our maintenance staff, present at the hostel every day. You are more than welcome to visit us again next time and book beds in maybe smaller dorms or cells in order to enjoy your stay more. Wish you all the best!

100%

Vibrant, exciting and friendly place to stay - I loved the artwork and the history of the place!

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Exceptional hostel. Back packing around Europe and this is the best of the best. 5 min walk from train station (a little tricky to find) and a 10 min walk to main square. Highly recomend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a zillion for sharing and recommending! All the best.

80%

The price is a bit steep to charge for Wi-Fi access ... felt very nickel-and-dimed in this hostel, but good location and bar makes it easy to meet people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Charge WiFi access? We're afraid there has been a mistake as the WiFi is FREE for Celica guests. There is an internet price list at our reception, which is exclusively only for external visitors (people who don't sleep at the hostel) who want to use the internet and to rent computers in the common area. Making feel guests nickel-and-dimed would really be the last thing on our list, that's for sure. Best,

100%

The second time I stay at Celica, and is always amazing. The hostel is just perfect, in a great location few minutes from the centre, the staff is super friendly and knowledgable and the bar with outer terrace is just that one more thing that makes it one of my favorite hostels in Europe!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yeah, what's better than to start a day with a good breaky in the Celica garden. Look forward to meeting you at Celica again soon!

100%

The Hostel with its neighborhood is very interesting also if it's quite far from the centre. The staff is kind and available, really excellent! I reccomand to everybody to sleep at least one Night there


80%

Nice place in the city center.. well located and special to be in a place like this! 12 bed dorm can be a bit crowded and dirty, but also a fun experience. :)


100%

Great place to stay. Fantastic, knowledgeable staff, very friendly, great cheap breakfast.


89%

This hostel is a bit out of the city centre but if you need a quick get away to the station then it is perfect. It is very close to the station. It is extremely clean but a bit expensive and if you are in a large dorm then you will not be in a prison cell. I didn't see the prison cells while I was there because the tour was once per day and I missed it. You can still do a tour if you are not staying at this hostel. The staff are amazing but so are all Slovenian people. It is a bit expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The hostel is really just around the corner from the main train and bus station. However, a 10-minute walk to the old town city center doesn't sound too hard, especially if you take a stroll through the old town and enjoy the city vibe on the way to the main square. Next time make sure to book beds in a cell to have the prison experience you'll never forget. Wish you all the best!

80%

The hostel is conveniently located in walking distance to railway station and city centre. There are some alternative youth culture facilities in the same block.


83%

Probably the coolest hostel I've stayed in :) Tuesdays is open mic/ concert night !! Very good location and very friendly staff. Only downside was the bathrooms and no wifi in rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Not having the WiFi in the rooms can be a downside, but there's little we can do about the thick walls as the building dates back in the 19th century. Look from the bright side, this way the guests come and hang out in the common areas on the ground floor, which makes the hostel atmosphere livelier and more social, don't you think? Wish you all the best!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(68 results)


View all Ljubljana Hostels

Please give us your feedback