Hostelworld.com

Celica Art Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2,115 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2,115 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
Celica Art Hostel Located at Metelkova 8, , Ljubljana.
Celica Art Hostel
Slovenia
Ljubljana 1000 Metelkova 8
84% 2115
46.0568014 14.5162117
Celica Art Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th May 2016
10.0

Nicest place, nicest staff, unbeatable location! Thanks to Katja and the rest from the reception for helping me out with every single little thing. They made all the difference! It's my 3rd time at this hostel and as someone who's travelled extensively around the world, I can safely say that it ticks every box. They do an excellent job of making you feel welcome, addressing your every needs for your visit and leaving you get on with your day with a smile :-) See you all next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
16th May 2016
6.3

the only good thing about this hostel is location,and ive met some fellow solo travellers,so i did enjoy my stay,and pia shes sweet and help me a lot

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, really sorry to hear that you felt left down on so many points. Will definitely forward Pia you appreciating her assistance. All the best!

  • zadesameer3760
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th May 2016
9.7

One of the hippest places. Metelkova city with parties every night is just outside the hostel. Staff people are really helpful in planning day trips. This is a 5 star hostel with an in house restaurant which serves great food at affordable prices. The rooms are a piece of art too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What a comment, thanks! Happy to hear that. And the staff really cares about contributing to a great experience. Will keep up the good work. Cheers!

8th May 2016
8.6

This is a fabulous place. The design elements and spaces are really interesting. I think they should lose the 'used to be a prison' vibe because nothing about the place says prison. It's really near the bus and train station so great for late arrival/early departure. Only a short walk to centre of town. Breakfast is good value for 3€ as it's a buffet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th May 2016
3.4

We were looking forward to our stay in this so called 'former prison' however it didn't really seem as though it had been renovated at all. Although the rooms were spacious the beds barely covered the length of my body and the bed sheets were to big meaning that the covers were constantly falling off. The bathrooms had such a stench that my travel mates and I chose not to even step foot in the shower room. In addition to this, our male travel mate could not even stand up in the bathroom to wee.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, there. We're sorry to read such a disappointing comment, but appreciate your opinion, though. Hostel Celica building is old indeed, it dates back into 1883. It has been renovated in 2003 when the hostel was opened. The building is protected as cultural heritage, therefore no major changes could have been introduced, except for the artistic features in the former cells and dorm rooms. We regret to hear about the bathroom. Cleanliness is taken seriously here and will take immediate action in case anything turns out to function improperly. All the best!

7th May 2016
9.7

Nice, clean and stylish hostel. Close walk to the city center, with plenty of night life around the corner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
9.4

I enjoyed my stay at Celica very much. The decor, facilities, and staff were all excellent. I liked all the hangout areas and the breakfast here. My only complaint was the shower in my room which sprayed everywhere on the floor because the shower curtain didn't fit well. It was a little far from the Old Town area, but it was an easy, pleasant walk so I didn't mind that. Tip: it can get a little loud at night with the bars nearby, so bring ear plugs and you'll be set.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
10.0

Very friendly and a really cool place! The building itself is something to see!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2016
8.6

Nearest place to train station so good for late arrival. Bit of a walk to museums. It is marketed as a party hostel which is fine but I didn't expect that to mean drink Australians yelling at full voice outside the rooms half the night. Staff were cool and food/cafe was excellent for a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • colinwill60372500
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
30th Apr 2016
7.7

Interesting hostel and layout. Nothing to complain about, nothing to write home about.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.