X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Celica Art Hostel Reviews

Metelkova 8, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1779 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great social hostel in Ljubljana! It's a little walk into the town center - but everything is only 5-10 minutes away. The staff is super helpful and friendly and the hostel is clean - although you can hear some of the Metalkova party behind the hostel on a Friday night. There are also plenty of comfortable common spaces and a bar. My only problem was the wifi didn't reach my dorm room but overall this is one of the best hostels I've stayed at for cleanliness and ambience.


77%

Nice bar. Events organised in the evenings were good.


89%

The bathroom was poorly planned, because the mirror by the faucet was too low. The only mirror was useless. The lighting by the mirror was also useless. And the worst was that the room was FREEZING and the heating device worked slowly. The dorm we stayed in had too many beds for such a small room. Close to a youth club area, noisy Excellent and cheap breakfast, the hostel also offered cheap lunch. Cozy common areas and the staff were very helpful and a very clean hostel. Theme nights were fun!


83%

Really nice, modern hostel. The rooms are very cool with unique bed arrangements etc. Feels like a very clean hostel and has a bar/ restaurant at your disposal. The only downside, was the kitchen. It was absolutely tiny, the fridge was tiny, the storage space was tiny and there was no oven or toaster. Only one mug. Cooking your own meals is a really great way to save money, but unfortunately there may as well not have been a kitchen at all. It was very disappointing. Bike hire was awesome!


91%

Location is fabulous. Locker in the room was broken but stuff offered to store valuable things at the reception in the secure box. Great value for money. Highly recommended.


100%

The staff were absolutely brilliant,very friendly & extremely helpfull..... The food was excellent too,,,,highly recommended

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Great hostel with great staff and with nice design, cool place to stay, really close to Metelkova with bars disco where spend the night, and 10 min to the city center. Very nice stay and nice Halloween party! The only thing, the kitchen is too small for italian people ;) I recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Did you mean too small because of so many Italians there or that there were just the tallest Italians you could find gathered at the same time in the same kitchen?:) Thanks for recommending Celica, wish you all the best!

91%

The place is in a very hip cool location about 10 minutes walk to the centre but super close to the bus and train station. All the staff are 10/10 and super friendly, I had a Skype interview and they were able to put me into an area that wasn't loud but if you want to chill you can do it here and if you want to party you can and the rooms are super cool and interesting :)


60%

Did not want to sleep in the hostel. We booked a 7 bed dorm thinking it would be better than a 12. We were wrong. Were placed in the loft and the ceiling was very low, couldn't even stand up in all bed but the bathroom. Felt very claustrophobic. Not much space for luggage and no lockers. On the plus it had a good common area and nightly events but I wouldn't come back purely because of the bedrooms and how much they charge, not great value compared to every other hostel I have stayed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry you felt claustrophobic, but the dorm room you are talking about is located in the attic of the building and low celings are part of its basic architecture, as well as some other rooms' on the same floor. You should definitely try staying in one of the cells next time, to get a proper behind-the-bars experience so many other people are enthusiastic about. Wish you all the best!

86%

Excellent hostel. Very nice and helpful staff. The lack of lockers inside the rooms is the only negative point about this amazing place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. The lockers are taken care of, as we are working on a whole new series to be installed in the rooms as we speak, so next time you're here, you'll enjoy your stay at 110%. Cheers!

66%

It's decorated in a really cool way and everything is new. However, the bathroom in our dorm wasn't cleaned once in the 3 days we were there so it was constantly flooded with hair all over the floor. There also isn't really a common area or any atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Appreciate your honest opinion and sincerely regret the situation in the bathrooms. However, the cleaning staff is present at the hostel on daily basis and should have handled the matter way better, obviously. Please, accept our apologies. We'll definitely look into the matter and make sure it does not happen again in any of the bathrooms. All the best!

91%

The blonde lady at reception was outstanding, was there on a Sunday found her unbelievably helpful snd welcoming. as well as the Dark haired lady in the bar who provided amazing coffee and a good laugh. definetly recommend this hostel and if you can try book room 107 ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I could not agree more on that: awesome blondes at reception, superb coffee, super fun dark-haired staff at the bar and the cell 107 - you said it all!:) Thanks for sharing, wish you safe travels!

94%

Interesting expirience as it was former prison. Electrical sockets could be closer to bed as climbing up and down the bed is a bit hard and not the safest thing to do. Staff is great. Outside hostel is place for gathering for alternative looking people. Also, food provided in Celica is decent and is value for money.


91%

Friendly staff who were always happy to help, good and clean facilities all around.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks, we'll pass it on to the friendly staff to make them smile even more! Cheers,

91%

Really close to the railway station, and only about 10 minutes walk from historic central attractions.


97%

I would say this is definitely the best hostel in Ljubljana, and it is probably the most interesting hostel I have ever stayed at. The building itself has such incredible history, and it's location is unique and very close to the train station. The staff were a great help, and it has great facilities such as computers that can be used at no charge. Only issue was upstairs wifi wasn't working when I stayed here. The best bit however is that I can now say I've been to prison for three nights ;)


100%

Awesome hostel for party animals and people who want to get a good nights sleep. Nice dorms albeit not a huge amount of space for luggage, but workable. Staff are fantastic and full of recommendations for what to do / where to go and how, etc etc. It's in a really cool area, 5 minute walk from the bus & train station and easy to get into the centre. Loved my stay and would 100% recommend - met some awesome people here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your enthusiastic feedback. It's comments like these that keep us going on stronger and stronger. And isn't it always about the wonderful people we meet on the road?:) Wish you all the best!

94%

Really enjoyed our stay. It's a quirky hostel with a lot of character. Loved the feel of it. The staff were super helpful and friendly. They were very accommodating when we checked out as our bus didn't leave for another 12hours, so we really appreciated that. Would recommend a stay here to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We take pride in our character – the building and the staff are here to make you feel welcome and appreciated. It’s awesome to know that our mission succeeded. Hope you had a great trip and you’re welcome back anytime.

100%

Kaja and Ursa along with the night server at the restaurant were super friendly! We stayed in 115 with party of 3 and it was definitely an awesome experience in the cell! Highly recommended and will be back there again when opportunity comes!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to hear you had such a good time at Celica. We are happy that you liked your cell and felt the warmth of our staff. Thank you for your kind words and I guess we’ll see you soon again. Cheers!

86%

Great hostel and a cool setting. Value for money not great, a little expensive. Ursa at reception was extremely helpful along with all other staff, one particular girl was very sweet. Location close to station,15 min walk to centre. I highly recommend renting bikes €6 a day. Saturday night was very loud. Free travel books to borrow. Toilets/showers a little unclean. Light above bed broken. Plug on bottom bunk only. 2 computers were not working. Room 107 was amazing. Overall recommend.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(96 results)


View all Ljubljana Hostels

Please give us your feedback