Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Celica Art Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2417 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2417 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Apr 2017
7.7

Good and convenient place to stay. It's about a 5 minute walk from the train station and a 10 minute walk to the main square and the castle. I stayed in a 7 bed dorm on the top floor which was ok but not well laid out would have been awkward if it was full, with people climbing over other peoples beds! Bathroom was big with a nice shower. Lovely places to sit and chill throughout the hostel. Fantastic staff - one girl let me use the out of service dryer when I had a crisis with my laundry.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2017
6.9

Location is good next to the free town arts space and bus/train stations. Staff are friendly. About 15mins walk to the city for other sights. Dorm was messy and didn't have lockers that are capable of locking. The bathrooms smelt terrible despite looking kind of clean. Breakfast is very basic but only 4 euros. Keys to get into rooms were awful and so many people struggled to use them on both the dorm door and glass doors - they should be changed for a key card or something else. Needs lockers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Apr 2017
9.1

Great location within walking distance of the bus and train stations and local museums, 10 walk from the city centre. The staff are helpful and organised, and told me about the local events taking place and also organised my shuttle to the airport on the way back. The facilities and user friendliness of the place makes it a good hangout for locals and tourists alike. They had luggage storage, good food and cafe/bar. The only change I would make is to have a lockable cupboard in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcosdemorais5081
  • Brazil, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 99 reviews
16th Apr 2017
9.4

Great option, service and atmosphere, the hostel has a bar and small restaurant that comes handy at some hours. Breakfast is also incredibly good (extra $ 4 per person per day) and highly recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
6.9

CONS: - Price for the rooms is higher than a normal price for the city - In the description of the hostel it is stated things like get2gether nights and so on. I saw none of this. For me it was not very important but could not fulfill your expectations if you are looking for a party hostel. - Wardrobes in the rooms couldn't be locked. PROS: - Nice hostel in general. - Most friendly staff I've ever met. - Party zone of the city is just 50 meters from the hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
9.4

The staff was wonderful!! He let me switch rooms for the night and the style of the rooms were different than the normal bunk bed stuffed hostel rooms. Facilities were nice, close to the bus station! Only complaint was it's close to a popular hang out so it's super noisy at night but I was able to tune it into background noise after a little while so it was a great stay! Must go see lake bled!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
7.7

I liked the place. Definitely in a cool part of town (Metalkova), the city center is a 10-15 walk away. Be aware when booking that the dorms are not in the jail cells, but in the attic. I stayed in a large attic dorm, and it was alright. It got hot during the day, but cooled reasonably at night. There is also a small kitchen for use upstairs: no microwave, mini fridge. The only complaint I have is the black mold in the showers. It was disgusting.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your honest feedback. Apologies for the bathroom situation, definitely something we're fixing right away. Regarding the lack of prison vibes in the dorms, only the 1st floor double and triple rooms are actually unique artistic prison cells with bars on windows and doors. But we make this differentiation very clear in all the offline and online descriptions in order not to mislead the guests' expectations. You can also check the hostel's profile on Hostelworld pointing that out. Wish you safe travels and all the best!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Apr 2017
7.4

We stayed in a private dorm and bar the cell door it didn't have an "ex military vibe" at all. Slept in two top bunks with no rail so could have easily fallen out - made for a stressful nights sleep. Only two female/male showers for entire floor with +30 people. Having said that, the staff were so friendly and breakfast for 4 euro was yum and filled us up! Very secure. 15 minute walk from the main centre and in a slightly rough area. Overpriced for what it is so wouldn't stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Sorry to hear that and for obviously not fulfilling your expectations. None of the cells are private, correct. The main reason being in the lack of space in the cells, which retained the original dimensions of the old military prison cells. There is no way artists could have squeezed in the bathrooms, too. Also the concept of some cells can be pretty unusual and not close to some guests. However, traditional hostel dorms on the 2nd floor can be a safe choice in such cases. All the best!

31st Mar 2017
9.4

Great hostel in Ljubljana. I recommend! Great location from the train station, and city center. Staff was nice, facilites are suitable, and the restaurant is a "bang for your buck" place. Only downside was the atmosphere. A lot of older couples, and the common area is a weird set up. Also, ensure to secure a seat for the airport shuttle. I didn't, and they don't do last minute accommodations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
26th Mar 2017
7.4

This was a pretty nice hostel. Beds were comfy, although quite small. The staff were lovely and chatty and made sure everyone was happy. Location is great as it's close to the bus station, but it's a bit of a walk to the city centre. Good vibe here, with other fun travellers ready to mingle, and an event on with live music while I was there. Good mix of cheap travel vibe and nice place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.