Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Celica Art Hostel Reviews

Metelkova 8, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Reviews & Ratings Explained


2028 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


We were only there for one night, and sort of stuck to ourselves, but it seems they have a lot of opportunities to be social at this hostel. The beds were not the most comfortable, but the rest of the facilities were great.


I'd prefer a more evident common room because there isn't a place that people go sit if they want to meet other people because there are many places to sit by yourself in the hostel so everyone is scattered instead of in one room.


We had a great time at Celica, the location is great and the rooms are lovely and great value. The bar and café area had a great menu and a buzzy atmosphere and seemed to be somewhere people from outside the hostel came to hang out; the hostel is also on Metelkova which has loads of art galleries and museums around. Thanks!


This hostel has a great concept and is so cool inside! The problem is I forgot there was no AC and we were staying during the heat wave this summer. They gave us a room with two bunk beds which means there was no relief or rest when we returned to our rooms after the day because it was so uncomfortably hot. The bathrooms were dirty as well. It's worth a look inside and we enjoyed the common areas. If it were winter, it might've been different but don't stay during the summer!


Really great atmosphere! Favourite hostel of our trip so far!

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


our train arrived later than planned and it was clear when we arrived that they had given our room away, they had us in the worst room ever, room 201, we basically had 2 mattresses pushed together on a ledge with a wooden beam right above our heads, luckily there were 2 of us - if we had been a strangers things could've been really awkward. The host was limited in his advice on what was around locally and there wasn't much of an atmosphere about the hostel. We also had to make our own beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. The room that you stayed in was the same room you have reserved, it's the only 7 bedded dorm we have, so we could not give you different room. The room you had is on the attic floor, so the ceiling is a bit lower. You must have been here on a quiet day, since Celica is quite a social hostel with many events. We hope you visit us again, so we get a second chance to present our true value.


Very glad I only had one night here. Firstly very expensive for what you get and shared rooms are so small you have nowhere to put your belongings. Secondly the beds were so uncomfortable and I had to climb a very unsafe ladder to get to my bed which was a tiny mattress above the bunk beds on a wooden surface. It was unbearably hot and there was no air con, just a pathetic fan blowing warm air around the room. Also, only one shower worked and the bathroom was dirty with no soap ect. Stay away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We were sorry to hear that you did not like the experience in Celica. It's true, at the time of your stay the weather was extreme. The heat wave has taken its toll. It's too bad you didn't stay another night, so you could experience more of Celica and discover that it is in fact a fun and social hostel with positive vibe. Welcome back anytime.


Had a pleasant two nights at Celica hostel. However, if you are staying in the 12 dorm room it is not decorated/renovated in a prison style as I believe the other smaller rooms are. In addition, the washroom in the dorm always had a wet floor from the use of the guests. This is not really the hostels' fault but they could add some sort of mat or plank so you don't get your feet wet every time you go to use it. Otherwise it was a great experience with a incredibly helpful and friendly staff.


A very good hostel, really nice place and the area surrounding is really cool, and the centre isn't too far either.


Sleeping in an old military prison is fun the bar is cool and they've got concerts going on sometimes !


Its a cool looking place with a cool bar but that's about it. My dorm was all single beds, super close together. Two were literally joined to make a double bed, which was awkward for the two random people who are put there. it was also tucked in the corner so the person at the end had to climb over the first person. Bathroom was dirty and it was a long walk to the city center. Was really loud on live band night and every night people partied til 5 or 6am right outside, so no sleep either


Cool arty hostel in studenty area of Ljubljana, but does mean a little further from the town (about 15 mins walk, or 5 mins on bikes which you can rent from the hostel!) Metelkova is great to have at your doorstep in the evening though. Enjoyed the hostel's live music night. Dorms/communal areas are fine/pretty standard, although not much fridge space and kitchen was sometimes left a bit messy (and found a few non-hostel guests there on Friday night!) but overall had a good experience.


The room got very hot. This was fixed by opening the bathroom door so the wind could blow through. Unfortunately not all ppl in the dorm understood this so maybe a note should be on the door.8


cool hostel in an even cooler neighbourhood. very alternative and great to hang out and meet locals. friendly staff aswell, hahah.


Fantastic Hostel, great staff who will help you with anything you need. great social place. Only thing was the big dorms are in a loft and have super low ceiling so expect to hit your head a few times.


In the biggest dorm - there are lockers but no way to lock it! Also, one of the (two) sinks was broke through the three nights I was there. Otherwise, this hostel is a novel use of the space, the staff are super friendly, there are interesting things going on most nights - but it's overpriced due to its reputation.


All in all, a very nice hostel in a great location. Showers were a bit run-down but that wasn't a major problem.


Hostel in a strange part of town, which didn't actually bother me but made a few guests uneasy. Shower didn't so much clean you as spray lukewarm water across the tiny bathroom. 12 bed dorm may as well be a giant king size bed as the single beds are so close to each other. Laundry room made my clothes smell worse than before I washed them. Lockers had no locks... Not sure how they can be called lockers. Drainage system needs some industrial solvent poured through it. Staff friendly. :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for ending your review by complimenting our staff. For the rest we have to take deep breath before answering. Hostel is in the process of renovation and we agree with you there are areas that need some improving. We're working on that. We are just installing new card locker system to maximize the safety of guest's belongings. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. Welcome back anytime.


Celica was a very unique hostel. The facilities were good, dorms can be a bit crowded, but there's a very cozy feel to the place. The staff are SUPER helpful and there's events at the hostel every night to help people meet each other. It's in a really cool grungey area with bars steps from the place. It's a bit of a walk from the city center, but it's a nice walk. I had a great time there!


Overpriced. No real kitchen. A couple of the staff were really friendly and helpful but others weren't. I stayed in a dorm and in a cell. The cells are just as hit and miss as the dorms so don't waste your money on one if you're on a budget. I would recommend saving your money by staying closer to downtown and then just visiting this area at some point on your trip (unless you really want to be close to the bus station).

(93 results)

View all Ljubljana Hostels

Please give us your feedback