Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Celica Art Hostel Reviews

Metelkova 8, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Reviews & Ratings Explained


2029 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Wifi didn't work in our room. Location is okay, staff are okay, help wasn't offered, we had to ask. Breakfast is basic. Though cosy atmosphere and clean. I'd probably look for somewhere else if I was in Ljubljana again.


Celica hostel is in a neat area of the city that is up and coming and full of alternative artists. It was cool being able to see this other part of Ljubljana that I would not have seen otherwise. The staff were nice, and the rooms were clean. There were no lockers for our bags though, but it was ok for the one night we were there. The hostel offered a lot to do and organized social events. It is near to the train station, which was convenient for us.


Super cool concept! Book a cell- it's worth the Instagram pic alone! Ljubljana only 15 minute walk from hostel but it's great to see the hostels surroundings- a surreal art world. Staff were dead helpful & try to book a craft beer tour with Iva- she was great! http://www.ljubljananjam.si/


The ladies at the reception are very helpful, but the front desk guy at midnight is rude to us...and I expected more prison-like atmosphere. One ridiculous thing is we had a double bed in a MIXED dorm, and a guy sleep on the double bed, which means we would have to sleep with a strange guy on the same bed...luckily the staff allowed us to change room. Still, the location is nice if you have to catch early train/ bus, just a bit walk from the city centre but acceptable distance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. Sorry to hear that one of our staffers was rude to you. That is not acceptable and we will look into the matter. When it comes to choosing beds in dorm rooms, it's a matter of first-come, first-choice policy and sometimes it's not fair to the guest who comes in the room last. We do our best to quickly and efficiently resolve this kind of situations as we did in your case. :) Wish you all the best and you're welcome to come back anytime.


Very noisy in the hostel at night ! A lot of traffic on the stairs and corridors! No blind or curtains in room


definitely the best location in Ljubljana loved being in Metelkova. really cool hostel and brilliant kitchen/common room area although the hobs were a little confusing. Staff were very helpful. Slovenians are the nicest people


A nice place in a cool area with some awesome grafitti. Close to the train station and a 15 min walk from the city center. We stayed three nights, two in a four bed dorm and one in the big 12 bed dorm and both rooms were clean with good beds. We were not there to party, but this would probably be a great hostel to do so in since they have lots of activities for the guests. Only downside was that the fridge in the kitchen was too full for us to use, but that's a minor problem!


Querky hostel in art area of Ljubljana 15 minute walk into town. Very secure. Bar and cafe on site with average food. Quite a loud bar next door but cannot hear as much from inside rooms. Cheap airport transfers!


Super nice staffs. Not easy to find the hostel at night, not good sinalize in a place with lot of strange people hanging out and skating. My room was a mixed one, toilet not clean and dor broke, no way to lock it.


My 4-bed dorm is not in cell-designed and the room is cramped. Also, even with air-conditioner, my room is super hot.


This was a deent hostel, the staff really made it the best to be honest. It may have been a bad night to arrive, which I dont doubt as I heard the previous nights had been incredible. Not a bad walking distance from the city center, and the hostel itself is very cool. However, when its hot, its HOT. the Air conditioning doesnt really work and it can be a little bit unbearable.


The rooms are clean (but mattresses are v soft), each room is different - we stayed in the "cross" room, which is not for the faint-hearted (the upper bunk is suspended in the middle of the room with no barriers to stop you rolling out of bed!). Great BBQ, good breakfast, staff are v helpful but reception needs more staff as it gets very busy and slow.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • polkadotty84
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


This hostel really has personality! Located in a former prison, it is now a colourful and artistic place, just 10 minutes walking from the city centre and next to the bus and train station. The staff is very friendly and helpful :) It is just a pity that the seven bed dorm I stayed in is so small: some beds are under the attic sloped ceiling and there is hardly any space between the mattresses. However, Celica is a good place to stay and enjoy Ljubljana. Great atmosphere and very good vibes :)

1 2 3 4 5 Next » last »
(93 results)

View all Ljubljana Hostels

Please give us your feedback