X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Celtic Tourist Hostel Reviews

Queen Street,Victoria Place, Galway, Galway, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
445 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great hostel, staff were friendly, dorm room was spacious and warm, Bathrooms were clean. I would definitely stay here again, Galway is an awesome place.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Cold, very very cold.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Good hostel. Although cheaper options exists, the help of the staff (especially Emma) is priceless for those just arriving to Galway, she saved me so much time with her great advice. thanks!


91%

Really great place to stay. The staff was really friendly and the facilities were very nice and accommodating. Can't beat the location


63%

Hostel felt dirty and old as soon as you walked in. Wifi does not work for the most part. Staff was not professional and should have their own office area rather than using the lounge. Bathrooms were clean. Beds and the rooms were really tiny. Breakfast was bread and jam... I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here if given the choice. Oh ya, and it was really loud at night, even with quiet hours..


29%

Creepy and disgusting. The people in charge had no idea about the city. They was no able to give any indication. The place looks like an old nuns residence with tiny rooms. I would never recommend it. Please even if your budget it is low choose another hostel. Galway is a very conformable town with walk distances so don't hesitate to pick another hostel even if it is not in the city center. Please avoid this one!

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. It specifically states when booking that the twin rooms are very small. In fact, it is possible that they are the smallest in Ireland. However, our Dorms have plenty of space. Our staff are fully trained to answer questions regarding Galway and its surrounds. If there is something they do not know there are brochures available with further information, free Wi-Fi available to use and the Galway Tourist Information Office is very close. Thanks for your review.

69%

It's was ok nothing really special about the place only thing they don't take card when paying for your room only cash at the desk I thought a business would have that at least on-site usually asked for ID passport driver license which I thought weird other than that it was an ok place


54%

Showering was a disaster. The water was either scolding hot or freezing cold.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. The issue with the shower was noticed on the day you left and repaired. We're sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Ireland.

86%

We thank you for the stay that we had at your hostel.! The atmosphere was friendly and you were extremely nice. The quality / price was excellent! We were not expecting a breakfast included in the price. A decision we did not regret. Thank you!


63%

Broken shower, and even being electric shower....no way u could balance it coz not enough water pumping up; no mats on the floor, so

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

It's a great place, the staff was very friendly and helpful, everything was extraordinarily clean, breakfast was good (there even is free hot chocolate :-) ), the prize was reasonable (17€). The dorms are big and bright. The location also is very good, so all in all, I can definitely recommend this hostel and would stay there again.


100%

Stayed there another time and can only recommend it. Great staff, clean rooms, and the location is just fantastic! Will definitely book again.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

My stay was great! The hostel was clean and cozy and in an awesome location. The people were very friendly and the staff were helpful. I would definitely stay here again if I come back to Galway.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

The rooms are super small for the price that you pay. Only two bathrooms in each floor for lots of people. Bad atmosphere and the Staff are really unfriendly The mattresses were good and the bedsheets were cleaned the location is 5 stars although if are tired and you want to rest, the room is not a place to enjoy yourself, you feel claustrophobic! It would be useful to clean 3 times a day or more if needed

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Staff were very nice, and gave us there own umbrella. Location is perfect. Private rooms are extremely small, and they have bunks also.


69%

It wasn't terrible, but not great either. My first impression of ringing the bell repeatedly to get in while standing in the rain and then not even being shown around or anything was really poor. Facilities are average. One of the staff members was quite helpful. I wouldn't really recommend it here.




View all Galway Hostels

Please give us your feedback