Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Celtic Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 617 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 617 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 5.8
Celtic Tourist Hostel Located at Queen Street,Victoria Place, Galway, Galway.
Celtic Tourist Hostel
Ireland
Galway Queen Street,Victoria Place, Galway
69% 617
53.2727408 -9.0483641
Celtic Tourist Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Sep 2016
9.4

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Celtic Tourist Hostel. It was difficult to find by once found proved to be a nice place to spend a few days visiting Galway.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
5.7

The location was prime because it's a simple walk to the city center. But as for the cleanliness, we saw the employees change the bed so we know that was clean. But the floors were discussting

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
8th Sep 2016
7.4

The rooms are very small but otherwise fine. There's free fruit in the kitchen. Not that many showers though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
8.3

Great location right next to all the bus stops and the main center, but far enough that you're not kept up all night by the partiers. The best place to meet people is definitely the kitchen! as with most hostels, the cooking utensils are kind of lacking, but there are 2 stove tops so 2 different people can be cooking dinner at once, which is nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
4.3

The owner of the hostel came into our 8 person room without notification or reason one evening when my friend and I were in bed watching a video. When we asked him why he did this, he kept saying "Well I'm the owner, I have to make sure everything is okay. Do you understand?" After repeatedly telling him that we did not understand, he repeated himself a few more times and left. Absolutely absurd.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
6.6

Great location, comfortable beds, always people around to hang with. The staff don't always speak English well. The kitchen is always busy and always need cleaning. The bathrooms/showers are literally in a closet & the plumbing in the showers suck so you end up standing in water while you shower because it takes forever to drain. The kitchen sinks are the same, they're really slow to drain & you end up having to wait so you can finish washing your dishes.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Aug 2016
8.6

Excellent position in the city. The bathrooms were really clean, the rooms not so clean. The lounge area and the rooms had a very funky smell to them. I think the beds and bedding and the lounge need a good steam clean and deoderise. Otherwise staff very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
5.1

Room was overbooked, damp, smelly and only 50% of guests could use secure storage

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • hoozle8033
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
7.1

Expensive but clean, comfortable and well-located. Ideal if you just want a place to sleep and keep your stuff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
6.3

Too expensive for what it is.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.