Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Celtic Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 627 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 627 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.2
Celtic Tourist Hostel Located at Queen Street,Victoria Place, Galway, Galway.
Celtic Tourist Hostel
Ireland
Galway Queen Street,Victoria Place, Galway
72% 627
53.2727408 -9.0483641
Celtic Tourist Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
9.1

Very close to centre (simply because Galway main parts is small), very nice kitchen but just no heating in it so a bit cold but no worries rooms are warm enough for you to have a good sleep, I super like the pillow and blanket because they are strong and tall and big (pillow) and thick (blanket) for you to have a good sleep. Just the mattress is a slightly week. The sinks in bathrooms are quite small so I needed to do hand washing clothes and face washing and teeth brushing in the shower place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
10.0

Awesome staff! Had a fun time at this hostel, everyone was very friendly, chill atmosphere. Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2016
9.7

While immediate neighborhood a bit sketchy, only on appearance, the facility very clean and accommodating while location with respect to ocean bay, services and city center including bus and train very convenient, literally 3-5 minutes from these key locations. First appearances of this facility are completely misleading. A surprising find and value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
9.4

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Celtic Tourist Hostel. It was difficult to find by once found proved to be a nice place to spend a few days visiting Galway.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
5.7

The location was prime because it's a simple walk to the city center. But as for the cleanliness, we saw the employees change the bed so we know that was clean. But the floors were discussting

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
8th Sep 2016
7.4

The rooms are very small but otherwise fine. There's free fruit in the kitchen. Not that many showers though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
8.3

Great location right next to all the bus stops and the main center, but far enough that you're not kept up all night by the partiers. The best place to meet people is definitely the kitchen! as with most hostels, the cooking utensils are kind of lacking, but there are 2 stove tops so 2 different people can be cooking dinner at once, which is nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
4.3

The owner of the hostel came into our 8 person room without notification or reason one evening when my friend and I were in bed watching a video. When we asked him why he did this, he kept saying "Well I'm the owner, I have to make sure everything is okay. Do you understand?" After repeatedly telling him that we did not understand, he repeated himself a few more times and left. Absolutely absurd.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
6.6

Great location, comfortable beds, always people around to hang with. The staff don't always speak English well. The kitchen is always busy and always need cleaning. The bathrooms/showers are literally in a closet & the plumbing in the showers suck so you end up standing in water while you shower because it takes forever to drain. The kitchen sinks are the same, they're really slow to drain & you end up having to wait so you can finish washing your dishes.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Aug 2016
8.6

Excellent position in the city. The bathrooms were really clean, the rooms not so clean. The lounge area and the rooms had a very funky smell to them. I think the beds and bedding and the lounge need a good steam clean and deoderise. Otherwise staff very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.