Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Backpackers Dunedin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 717 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 717 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Jun 2017
8.6

Great location. Right by "The Octogon" and George Street. The centre of town. Key pad locks for entry to the building but the dorm doors don't lock! Have to walk past reception and through the lounge to get to the bathroom/showers of which there are only 2 of each for males. The only down side. Kitchen is big. I got given an upgrade to a 2 bunk room with only me in it and a locker that took a suitcase and 2 carry one so a good side and overcame the fear of no locked dorm door. Heater in room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jun 2017
10.0

Stayed here for two nights and it was great. Such a cosy little hostel with lovely staff. The beds are real comfy and you can't beat the super fast wifi and free breakfast! It Was lovely to sit down in the common room next to a warm fire. The location is great and they even have a cat!! Would recommend this hostel to everyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jun 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I have stayed in during my travels in New Zealand! Super friendly hostel and helpful staff! Rooms were big and bathroom/kitchen always clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
25th May 2017
10.0

Everything was good. And we got an upgrade from a 10 bed dorm to a private two bed room. The atmosphere is super and you're directly in the city. To the intercity station it's just 15 minutes. Very nice and helpful staff. We had a great stay in Dunedin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
30th Apr 2017
7.1

Atmosphere/socialisings is not great if your solo travelling and trying to mingle, Long term stayers kinda have there own thing going on and if you happen to not be German you might be left on the outskirts like I was. I reiterate about needing more bathrooms and having to walk past the tv to get to them. Also one washing machine and dryer is not enough especially if you can only use it in the afternoon after the hostel is done with them...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
24th Apr 2017
8.0

The hostel is located quite central to the centre. We stayed in a double room, it's a abit dated. The kitchen is small, the lounge is next to the reception, and you have to walk through both after having a shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
9.4

Really friendly and fun staff, the atmosphere is really relaxed, and it's in a pretty good location if you want to see central Dunedin. It's a little tricky to find parking - I had to walk about 15-20 minutes to get a spot, even on the weekends, so if you're looking for easy parking it might be a little challenge. The kitchen was really nice and the overall hostel was safe, clean, and fun -- I had an awesome time. For anyone traveling alone like I was, I would definitely recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
7.4

There was no lock on my bedroom door and they had no lockers so I wasn't happy about leaving my valuables there. The 10 bed dorm was quite smelly because of so many people staying there and the kitchen is too small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
9.7

For the price, this is the best hostel in new zealand i went to, perfect location, very clean and a super cozy lounge area where people hang out, highly recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Rcoffey
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Apr 2017
8.9

A few more showers would always be helpful, although it was never a problem during our stay. Location is great. Very central. It's strange that you have to walk in front of the lounge tv to get to the bathroom, I felt very disruptive everytime I did.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.