Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Backpackers Dunedin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 617 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 617 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
Central Backpackers Dunedin Located at 243 Moray Place, , Dunedin.
Central Backpackers Dunedin
New Zealand
Dunedin Otago 9016 243 Moray Place
85% 617
-45.8725758 170.5041432
Central Backpackers Dunedin
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
6.9

Kitchen could be cleaner and having more toilets would be great. The reception ladies were friendly and helpful

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
5.7

Very gross, dirty & small. A cat Gizmo roams around the place including the kitchen (yuck). We did not cook b/c it was that bad. Entire place smells bad & they only have one washer & dryer for everyone, this is even the one they use... AND they use it most of the time until 6pm daily. AKA: There was a line for it. Very small place to hangout which was the room that smelled the worst. If you want to use the restroom/showers, you have to walk in front of everyone in the living room. Very awkward.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jan 2017
7.1

Room was comfortable. Bathroom disgusting and needs an update stat! Too scared to touch anything! Cute cat though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
4th Jan 2017
4.3

Least favourite hostel I've stayed in whilst in NZ. The layout is bizarre and not accurately represented In photos. The lounge is right next to reception and the washing machine which means you can barely hear the TV from the noise at times. The kitchen was too small and not clean at all. I refused to cook for the 2 nights I was there because nothing looked clean enough. There is also no secure storage for bags to be left after check out. The only positive was the female dorm room was big

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
8.6

A great little hostel with a warm atmosphere, well-stocked kitchen, speedy internet and clean facilities. I would definitely recommend it! The only negatives I have were that my bed (Room 8, rearmost bed on the right) must have backed onto the same wall as the washing machine - whenever it was on it constantly thudded loudly. I also had one of the staff start tugging and pulling the bed around to change the bunk above, when I'd have happily stood up if they'd asked. It just seemed strange!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
10.0

The staff are all lovely, as soon as I arrived I felt really welcomed. The hostel is nice and relaxed with a great atmosphere. Everyone I spoke to was lovely - this hostel seemed to have the nicest guests! Bathrooms were nice and well maintained, the kitchen is a good size and the wifi is good! Gizmo the hostel cat was awesome, I miss him and I hope he misses me too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
9.4

Overall the place was good, but the room doors slam shut and our room was right next to one of the dorms, so it was constantly being used. The showers are great. Cat is cute too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Dec 2016
10.0

Lovely homely hostel - easy to meet loads of people and great friendly atmosphere :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
9.4

I could come back for sure, Staff great!! The canadian girl is Amazing!!! Thank you by the way for your reception. ✌🏻️😁 oh, and The cat is so cool!!! I was terrible tired and could sleep well without problems. Thanks guys!! ❤️❤️

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
11th Dec 2016
8.3

Breakfast is meant to be served from 8.30am, which is late considering people have to get buses early and generally like to get an early start on the day. The morning we were checking out, there was no one on reception and breakfast still hadn't been put out by 8.50am and we needed to leave. When we returned from our tour the member of staff said she'd been in 10 minutes late but we didn't see how this could have been the case given the time we were there. The rooms are spacious and beds comfy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.