X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Central Backpackers Dunedin Reviews

243 Moray Place, Dunedin, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
341 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Pool of water in woman's bathroom

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place , has a bit like a family atmosphere . Would have been nicer if they would have more windows, but it isn't possible . They don't have open wifi , it's limited to one hour and 250mb :-( Overall It's a good place, to stay for a short time .

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Really easy to meet people and to feel like home. Couch in the lounge room and all the movies available are great. Cool thing that they have free breakfast. Rooms are big. A bit noisy when you are in a room close to a street. The room I was in didnt have a lock on the door, so anybody could enter in. This is a little lack of security. Should prevent on their descriptions that there is a cat living there! Any allergic person would be very unhappy there, smells like cat in the common room.

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

On the hostel page it says car park as one of it's facilities. We found that not to be the case. The staff were very helpful and gave us a map and indicated some streets about a 5-10min walk away from the hostel that we could park the car on for free but as they were just public streets we found it hard getting a space for quite a while and had to try again a few hours later after taking refuge in the mall. Would of been nice to know that's what they meant by parking facilities before we arrived

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

You need to walk through the living room area to get to the bathrooms (you are literally on TV), you sleep in very uncomfortable beds and the atmosphere is very impersonal.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Was a great place to stay. however the complete alcohol ban made me feel like a child. the kitchen had few good pans and knives and the shared areas and bathrooms were often hot and stuffy and air con would only be turned on if you personally requested it. other than that tho it was great.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Definitely, i had memorable stay at this hostel because everything was almost perfect. The staff was very nice and helpful. The location near to city center and many tourism attraction. The bed, toilets and room cleanliness was great. The hostel also provided entertainment facilities in the living room such as play station, TV, etc. In addition, free breakfast also included in the hostel price.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Locations is awesome, rooms are tidy and kitchen is good. Having said that the place looks like a dungeon, no window in the common areas. Washing machine is always in use by staff. Two toilets and showers are just not enough. The only chill out area is taken by a TV that kills any conversation. Watching TV is ironically also impossible with all the noise from slamming doors, washing machines and people cruising in front of the screen all the time (only way). On top of that u cannot drink inside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Please note: We have 5 showers and 4 toilets between around 40 guests max'. These are cleaned at least twice daily. We have a TV lounge and quiet dining room/living room 'chill-out areas' with the lovely town square a minute's walk away outside.

86%

A quirky hostel with many random things going on in the communal area like a baby writhing about on the sofas, over-fed cat wandering about taking naps and workmen traipsing in and out from building work on the hostel walls...possibly the most active spot in Dunedin!


97%

Enjoyed my time here. Staff very helpful with recommendations for things to do and see. Beds comfortable.


97%

My stay was great, I booked quite late but was still able to get a cheap bed for the night, with breakky included! The staff were very helpful and friendly - they know where the free car parks are as well as great places to eat and drink. Room was clean and bed was comfortable, would most definitely recommend!


86%

I felt the Xbox took away from the atmosphere as individuals would play for hours on end while others had to wait to watch a movie or tv which is more social. There was a cat running all over the house which I hate to see in bedrooms and kitchens but fine for other communal areas. Staff were helpful and all in all I had a nice stay.


94%

Very good place to stay in Dunedin. Directly in the Center. You have to cross the common room to get to the only bathroom avaible.


86%

Very friendly and helpful staff!


100%

Super cosy hostel with a fireplace in the living room! Super clean and in the middle of Dunedin.


89%

This hostel has a very homely feel to it which was nice. It's very clean and the showers are amazing. The downsides are that the showers and toilets are at the other side of the hostel


69%

I may have missed it when booking this hostel but it has a no alcohol policy !

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Given a choice I wouldn't want to come back here again..


94%

Really good located. Nice rooms and nice staff. Just two men's showers but i had no problem. Breakfast included


94%

Great place to stay at Dunedin.


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Dunedin Hostels

Please give us your feedback