Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Backpackers Dunedin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 551 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 551 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.6
Central Backpackers Dunedin Located at 243 Moray Place, , Dunedin.
Central Backpackers Dunedin
New Zealand
Dunedin Otago 9016 243 Moray Place
82% 551
-45.8725758 170.5041432
Central Backpackers Dunedin
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Sep 2016
8.9

Good location, clean and secure!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
7.4

The kitchen was quite grubby, the jug not working, the free breakfast was cereal or toast which was fine but no milk for the cereal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
8.9

The hostel staff were friendly and helpful. The showers were a bit grubby and it was irritating being dripped on by condensation collecting on the ceiling. However I liked how the staff would turn on more heaters at night to make sure the rooms were kept cosy (important in winter).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Sep 2016
6.3

Had a mixed experience at Central Backpackers. I was there for 2 nights. The staff were friendly enough, but more interested in talking to each other than anyone else. The atmosphere of the hostel was pretty dreary, not many people around and the people that were just sat in silence watching TV. The facilities were good, but for my first night there were no working lights in the gents bathrooms. Good kitchen facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
10.0

I loved this hostel! Had a great time, very comfortable, clean and quiet!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Aug 2016
8.6

I really liked this hostel, mostly for Gizmo the cat, and the location, it was close to everything, and Dunedin is a great place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kathrynjean
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
10.0

Great backpackers, right next to CBD. Wifi connection was fantastic, free breakfast in the mornings! Overall was very pleased with my stay, would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
8.6

If you're looking for a quiet chill place, this is it, especially since it's a dry hostel. Dunedin in general is quiet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
6.9

This hostel definitely wasn't my favorite: the location is great (right near a ton of stuff) but the cleanliness wasn't where it should be. I saw staff members change the sheets several times but not once did they change the comforter on the beds so people were just using the same comforter over and over (for who knows how long). The kitchen was fine and the wifi was good in the kitchen and lounge but didn't work too well in the rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Aug 2016
10.0

Staff are really friendly and helpful, and gave great advice on what to see and do in Dunedin. The location couldn't be better - although it's a 15 minute walk from the intercity stop that's because the intercity is 15 minutes out of town. It's just behind the icentre and by the main streets of town. The cat, Gizmo actually knows some tricks (if you have a treat!) The hostel was impressively clean, and the communal areas are a good size. I had a great time staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.