Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Backpackers Dunedin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 708 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 708 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
30th Apr 2017
7.1

Atmosphere/socialisings is not great if your solo travelling and trying to mingle, Long term stayers kinda have there own thing going on and if you happen to not be German you might be left on the outskirts like I was. I reiterate about needing more bathrooms and having to walk past the tv to get to them. Also one washing machine and dryer is not enough especially if you can only use it in the afternoon after the hostel is done with them...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
24th Apr 2017
8.0

The hostel is located quite central to the centre. We stayed in a double room, it's a abit dated. The kitchen is small, the lounge is next to the reception, and you have to walk through both after having a shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
7.4

There was no lock on my bedroom door and they had no lockers so I wasn't happy about leaving my valuables there. The 10 bed dorm was quite smelly because of so many people staying there and the kitchen is too small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
9.7

For the price, this is the best hostel in new zealand i went to, perfect location, very clean and a super cozy lounge area where people hang out, highly recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Rcoffey
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Apr 2017
8.9

A few more showers would always be helpful, although it was never a problem during our stay. Location is great. Very central. It's strange that you have to walk in front of the lounge tv to get to the bathroom, I felt very disruptive everytime I did.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Apr 2017
7.4

Good place to stay. Only let down by only one men's shower working!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Apr 2017
9.1

Great backpackers, awesome location and really nice facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
6.6

Messy and small kitchen n dinning area

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
8.9

Great stay and great location! Staff will help you plan your trips! There is also free breakfast which is really nice. Great tv lounge, free Netflix and adorable cat!! The only thing is they need more bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2017
7.1

Facilities were fine however the location meant it was very noisy both nights - all the windows face 2 busy streets (corner dorm) so even when shut, meant noisy buses and lots of people noise until 4am ...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.