Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Central Backpackers Dunedin

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 527 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 527 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
Central Backpackers Dunedin Located at 243 Moray Place, , Dunedin.
Central Backpackers Dunedin
New Zealand
Dunedin Otago 9016 243 Moray Place
82% 527
-45.8725758 170.5041432
Central Backpackers Dunedin
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
10.0

Amazinng!!! Great place, good atmosphere, love to go back a second time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
8.3

Good hostel right in the heart of downtown; booked a double bed room, and was nice and warm there!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Jul 2016
7.7

Toilet is not clean enough. Location is excellent. Staff is awesome. The cat raised by the hostel is so cute.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
30th Jun 2016
8.0

It is a nice place to stay with many offerings within the hostel. Like a TV and xBox, free breakfast and free WiFi. The rooms are quiet nice and the beds are big and comfortable. It only smelled badly in the 10 bed dorm and it is not possible to lock the door. But there are lockers within the room available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Jun 2016
9.4

The rooms were lovely and it was really cosy with a great atmosphere. The beds were comfy and the lockers in the room were useful because there's no lock on the bedroom doors. Good kitchen and free breakfast was really good too. Everyone was really friendly and relaxed and it felt very homely. I'd definitely come back here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Jun 2016
7.7

Decent hostel. Friendly enough staff. More keen towards longer stays.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
4.9

Place smells like dirty ( kitchen was also not very clean) people long term staying in the room were messy. It seems like a group of friends run the business, however is not the environment like other hostels. Good points: Staff were friendly and location is good but I don't feel like coming back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
9.4

I've really enjoyed my time at this hostel and strongly recommend Dunedin Central Backpackers to anyone looking to stay in the centre of Dunedin. Its central location right next to the Octagon, along with the friendly staff and homely atmosphere, makes this hostel one of the best I have ever stayed at. The lounge room stood out for me, consisting of a large tv display, a PS4, and heaps of sofa space. I'd like to thank and commend Leo, Richard and the other staff for doing such a great job.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
9.4

I'll happily stay there again if future travels take me to Dunedin again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th May 2016
7.1

My stay in this hostel was fine. The 'no key' system meant I didn't feel entirely safe leaving my stuff in the form, but luckily lockers were available. The communal areas were good enough and fairly clean, but I felt the place lacked atmosphere and not many people spoke to one another. The location was central, which was handy but it became quite noisy at night, which is to be expected. Overall, the hostel was fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.