Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Backpackers Dunedin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 672 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 672 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
8.3

Nice, clean hostel with friendly, helpful staff. Great if you want to chill but not very sociable. Most the guests are working in Dunedin so aren't interested in socialising with backpackers and seem to go to bed very early!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
8.3

Smelled musty and smoky not good for asthmatics; bathrooms accessed through the lounge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
8.6

This was a cute hostel with a cat wandering around. Nice kitchen and a TV room with Netflix :D Right in the middel of the city too, wich was nice. But the only thing was that it was no locks in the rooms and no door key. So the room was open all the time. But they had a person in the reception 24/7. So it was allright :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
9th Mar 2017
8.0

Excellent location, quiet hostel, not much interaction with other guests, but maybe that was just during my stay. Gizmo the cat is adorable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
9.7

Everything was great. There's at least one cat that lives in the hostel, which was fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
7.7

Good location. Big lockers in room. Big kitchen and nice lounge area. WiFi worked ok

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
6.9

The location on Moray Place to the Octagon in Dunedin is great and makes it so easy to get around the town. My private room was big and was fine. I am an older man which means I had little in common with the other people staying at the place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2017
9.4

Really a very friendly place with people from all countries. The staff was super helpful. Was there first week of new university term. The party went on late in the streets. Didn't keep me awake though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Feb 2017
8.9

Great little Hostel in a perfect location. The free breakfast is a real bonus! Bathrooms can turn into a sweatbox as there's no ventilation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
9.4

I thought this hostel was fantastic. It was very very clean. The bathroom was very nice with great showers. The only negative thing was that the bathroom was a far walk from my room in the middle of the night. Overall I would highly recommend this hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.