Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Backpackers Hostel - Original

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 774 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 774 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Feb 2017
8.0

Did the Halong bay trip with this hostel and it was great. Stayed just one night here and it was great. Room and bathroom very clean, free beer from 7-8. Bar closed early but they did say we could go to their other hostel in the old town for free beer and a bar crawl. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Feb 2017
8.6

Good location and friendly staff. After I got sick they let me have a late check out for free. They can sell tours etc but also didn't put pressure on when I decided to use a different company. Rooms are a little squishy, but it helps that there are lockers under the beds. Fairly quiet hostel. Great wifi access. Also loved the free walking tour (every morning 10.30am) as it's a good way to get your bearings and meet some other people staying at this hostel and their sister hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
15th Feb 2017
8.3

Awesome location and great for booking tours. Locker was not secure, my lock was brocken abd another had the door partially brocken off. Easy lock to pick as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for taking the time to make the review about our hostel. It is great to know that you enjoyed our tours. To the problem of the locker, It should better better if you had informed us about it so that we could fix the problem. When we check in for you and for everyone, we always tell our guests that if they have any problem during their stay in our hostel, please let us know so that we could fix it.

13th Feb 2017
9.4

Extremely helpful and kind staff, great place to meet people, excellent location, all you can drink beer happy hour, hot showers, nice beds, reliable wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
8.0

Great location, and met lots of great people. washrooms smell due to uncleaned mould.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
8.3

Run of the mill partyish hostel downtown hanoi. Could be cleaned up a bit. Breakfast is ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
8.0

Helpful staff. Hotel is not a party hostel but we spent a night at the other part of the chain and were welcomed. Could also use our beer tokens there on the sky bar. Breakfast at our hostel was good: bread and eggs. We booked our Ha Long Bay trip through these as well (not the party one, another version) but this was fantastic a real highlight of our trip. Hostel was clean; you could see staff cleaning regularly. Definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Jan 2017
8.9

Good hostel. Had no issues, staff were very good. Wifi good. I did end up changing hostels to one down the road tho because it's had more of a social atmosphere then central.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2017
6.9

Lockers are dodgy. Beds are comfortable, breakfast is fair. Great location. We went on their Halong Bay 1 Day trip which would have been okay, except for the fact that they cut our trip by about two hours. So instead of being there from 12pm to after sunset, as they advertise, we left around 3pm. On top of that, they made 30-40 minute shopping stops both on our way there and back, even when most of the people on the tour were not buying anything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your feeback. We really appreciated that. To the halong bay tour, we have not cut the tour as you mentioned. You come back to Hanoi 2 hours earlier than usual cause you did the tour on the Tet holidays so the trafic situation was much better than usual and it took you much less time to get back in Hanoi. You did all the activities in the tour that we advertised on our website. If you did the tour with other companies in Tet holidays, the tour would be same. Once again thank you so much for everything. Wish you all the best!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
9.7

Super helpful staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.