Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Backpackers Hostel - Original

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 860 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 860 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2017
9.4

We stayed in this hostel few nights and everything went really well. Laundry service is amazing, only 20 000 per kilo ja you get your laundry back smelling good, beautifully folded and packed in plastic. They have safe lockers and night time they close outdoor but just knock and you get in after bar. Staff is also great, they help you with everything and they are always in good mood. I would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th May 2017
10.0

Great time with friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st May 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel - great location in downtown Hanoi. Booked 2 tours with them (3 day ha long bay and 2 day sapa) so they let us stay at hostel an extra night for free. Has a waiting room with shower and towel access if you have a late bus/train/flight to catch! Would stay again - original hostel more chill than old quarter so if you're looking for something chill this is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • riverjolene
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th May 2017
8.9

Awesome Hostel! Super clean with great staff! And it was close to everything. The coffee shop next store was superb! Definitely would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • laurakristensen
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th May 2017
10.0

We have been traveling for 3 months, and this is the best place that we have stayed in! The rooms are very clean, the beds are warm, a/c in every room, sweet and very helpful staff and very good location. The tours that this hostel offers, are also very good. Nothing bad about this place at all. Highly recommend👍🏽

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
10.0

The hostel is close to everything and the room and bathroom were very clean. I saw people cleaning the beds and rooms everyday. Also The staff Zhing was very helpful !!! He recommended us a lot of different place to visit and which city to go. I would definitely stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • chelynsmith
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2017
9.1

The staff here are remarkable. Anything you need and they're there. Location is amazing as well, within walking distance to anywhere you'd need to go in Hanoi. I'd definitely recommend booking the 2 day hideaway tour of Ha Long bay through the hostel, it was hands down the most amazing experience (kayaking, boating, and staying on a private island) and the staff made it so much better. Awesome!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
6.9

the guy at the night shift is really stupid. He simply refused to tell you where to go out for the night because the hostel have a guy who lead you to some place and they don't want you to go anywhere else. When I ask him where to eat and go out, he was rude.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your feedback. We do pub crawl every night for FREE and our receptionist probably just tried to let you know that. We do think that there might have been a miscommunication and misunderstanding between our receptionist and you in this story. We take it seriously and hope to get your sympathy. We never and also cannot push any customers to follow anything that they dont want. Thank you so much again for your review and wish you all the best!

  • Msearles7732
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
10th May 2017
8.0

Tight dorm room, good location, good breakfast and Halong bay boat tour was a good trip, well organised and good package deal

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th May 2017
8.0

We stayed 3 nights in Central Backpackers Hostel. We love the location and the proximity to food, the lake, and the market area. Also, the staff are very helpful with our questions about food, language, and things to do. They have a walking tour that provides an overview of what to expect in Hanoi, as well as some longer trips that you can book with reception. We didn't have a lot of opportunity to interact with other travellers because we all come and go at different times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review. It is good to hear that you are satisfied with our location, staff and our services. To the atmosphere, we provide happy beer hour and free walking tour, free pub crawl for all customers as chances to meet and talk with other travellers, coming from all over the world. We wish we could fix the coming time and leaving time of all customers. :) Once again, thank you so much for your review. We wish you all the best!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.