Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Backpackers Hostel - Original

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 711 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 711 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Central Backpackers Hostel - Original Located at 16 Ly Quoc Su st., Hoan Kiem, Hanoi.
Central Backpackers Hostel - Original
Vietnam
Hanoi 16 Ly Quoc Su st., Hoan Kiem
89% 711
21.0302880 105.8488833
Central Backpackers Hostel - Original
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Nov 2016
10.0

Really good hostel! Booked a trip to Halong Bay and a trip to Sapa, and I was really happy with both. Highly recommend the Halong Bay trip, the food was amazing, great activities and we were away from the other tourists. A social hostel, especially the hour with free beer. Great location, awesome laundry service, helps out with bus tickets and everything else you could wish for. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2016
9.4

Great hostel with a nice atmosphere! We came early in the morning, and they offered us free breakfast while we waited to check in. The free beer hour every night is a good way to meet new people. We went on their ha long bay trip, and it was definitely worth it. We had some problems with our boat the first day, but both Emily and tony tackled the whole thing professionally. Would recommend to everyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Nov 2016
10.0

Great hostel, really clean, good atmosphere for backpackers, organised tours for us which were great. Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2016
7.1

The rooms are clean with good air con. Breakfast is good(eggs,bread,fruit) Not much of an atmosphere here though. Don't book the halong tour which they try to persuade you into.. I paid $16 to do it from cat ba island.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is good to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and the cleanliness. For the tour to Halong bay tour, we would like to emphasise that we never force anyone with any way to book it if you dont want. We just try to tell you our option so that you can have good choice for your trip. In addition, we do think you should make clear that you paid $16 for the day trip from catba WITHOUT accommodation, foods, transportation for 2ways ( from Hanoi to Cat ba island and back). You pay already $32 for the transportation from catba and back and extra for food and hotel in Catba. Our 2day1night tour costs $85 and offering you transportation for return, all the foods, 1night on the private island in bungalow ( not the hotel in Catba town) and lof of activities such as kayaking, cliff jumping, hiking, ... It would be obviously not expensive more than your option but provides much more experiences that you never get if you do day trip. We are always receptive and appreciate all the feedbacks of our customers but please make clear all the aspects when you compare the 2 different things ( our package tour and your option) so that the other customers have good choice and dont misunderstand that we try to charge our customers a lot money. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR AND WHAT YOU EXPECT TO DO...

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Oct 2016
8.9

My second time staying here! A relaxed atmosphere and easy to meet people, especially with the free beer from 7-8pm. Not as much a party hostel as their original but for that reason I enjoyed it more. There is a pub crawl every night which takes you to their other hostel if you fancy. Beds were comfy, bathrooms were en-suite, clean, nice and with modern facilities. Wifi works well. Staff are amazing! So helpful which is lovely. Breakfast is big, simple and tasty. Lockers aren't the best.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay in the hostel. We will check the lockers and improve them to be better. We hope to have your here again very soon. Wish you all the best!

15th Oct 2016
10.0

Free beer, cheap mixers for 5 hours and they show football, should about cover the review Thanks.... Great place, middle of the city loads to do, great staff. They can book tours for you to halong and sapa, the pub crawls are pretty decent too we used this as a hub whilst travelling some of the north and would highly recommend. Got evacuated from halong and they were fantastic about it handled very well and professionally. Cheers guys...did I mention free beer, 20k mixers and free brekkie!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is great to know that you had great time and enjoyed our tours and services. Thank you so much for staying with us and we all wish you the best!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
11th Oct 2016
8.6

Great facilities and a good sized breakfast. Pillows and bed weren't great. Good music on in the bar

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. It is good to know that you enjoyed our facilities and breakfast. To the bed and pillows, we have already added 1 soft slim extra mattress to the main mattress to have more comfy beds and since then we have got good feedbacks about that. Anyway we will check again all the mattresses and fix if they have problems. We appreciate what you talked about our hostel and wish you all the best!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Oct 2016
8.9

fantastic location and staff. free beer and free breakfast. fast(ish) wifi. pub crawl in the evenings and walking tour in the morning. thought we wouldn't get much sleep with it being known for a bit of a party place but this wasn't the case! Cleaning staff came in at around 11am each morning, a little loud and didn't empty the bins once.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to know that you in general enjoyed your stay in our hostel. The bins in the dorm rooms would be normally getting full very quick. Though we will tell our cleaning staff to check the bins more often. Once again, thank you so much for letting us know the things that we should do better for our next customers. We wish you all the best!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Sep 2016
8.0

Decent place. Connected with the bigger one more in the old town, so a few trips to the other hostel. Offer free beer and walking tour brings everyone together to make it social. Did the hideaway excursion to which was pricey but really fun. Good stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2016
8.9

I loved my stay in this hostel. Clean, comfortable, ensuite shower and toilet, lockers, great location, breakfast with warm baguette and the happy hour every night with free beer is an amazing way to meet people. Thank you for make my stay in Hanoi a great time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.