Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 679 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 679 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Central Backpackers Hostel Located at 16 Ly Quoc Su st., Hoan Kiem, Hanoi.
Central Backpackers Hostel
Vietnam
Hanoi 16 Ly Quoc Su st., Hoan Kiem
89% 679
21.0302880 105.8488833
Central Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
9.7

The hostel itself is really good, bit more chill than the sister hostel in the old quarter which is fine since you can simply go over there for the bar crawl and free beer. Very clean, good lockers and friendly staff. The real selling point is the ha long bay hideaway tours they offer. It was by far my highlight of Vietnam and was so much fun and beautiful at the same time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in for overall value. Central Backpackers has a sister hostel as well that has a bit more action going on at night, so either the original or old quarter will have the fun you are looking for. I also want to recommend the Halong Bay tour through them, DO IT...don't book anywhere else BOOK THROUGH THEM. The experience you get is out of this world compared to other tours out there. We had the guide Alex, and he was amazing fun and made the trip. Book it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
15th Sep 2016
8.6

Great value and location. Rooms were very hot and stuffy though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your feedback. It should be better if you had informed our staff the heat of the room so that we could check the air-conditioning if it works properly. Everything we could fix if we knew. Once again thank you very much for your review. We wish you all the best!

  • anthonyparsons4
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Sep 2016
7.7

They only things I can mark down are Security and Atmosphere, security nobody ever asked for my key to make sure I stayed here, and atmosphere was ok, not great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review To the security that you mentioned: Imagine, how could we ask everyday all the guests about their keys and how uncomfortable the guests feel if we do that everyday. Moreover instead of asking our guests the keys to make sure that they are staying in our hostel, we usually try to remember their names. We are trying to ensure the security in the hostel and also make everyone feel like home when they stay in the hostel. Anyway thank you for your review. We wish you the best!

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Sep 2016
10.0

So helpful :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so glad to know that you had great time in our hostel. We hope to have you here again in our "family". On behalf of the hostel, we wish you all the best!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Sep 2016
10.0

Loved our stay here,after 6 months traveling it's the best hostel I've stayed in.Breakfast is so good and the staff are brilliant.We booked the Ha Long bay tour (hideaway) here, we loved it, Claire was the best guide. I would say if you don't like boozy nights and up until 4am don't book!We booked Sapa which sadly was badly organised & more mud slides rather than hikes.We also booked our hop on and off bus. So they really are great at helping. You have stay here or their sister hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the services that we provide in the hostel. To the sapa tour: We are sorry to hear that. You did the tour under not really good weather so somewhere on the trekking route, you had to trek through mud slides. It is due to the weather and we are so sorry about it. We really appreciated all the your comments to our hostel and services. They are all very useful for our hostel to improve our services for the next customers. On behalf of the hostel, we wish you all the best!

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Sep 2016
9.4

The staff were friendly, helpful and speak good English. Great location. After midnight it was very quiet so you can get a good sleep. There's even an elevator inside hostel. The bathroom was unexpectedly large and clean. However the 5th floor bathroom door was slightly sagging, in the case you need to lift it a bit to get it closed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is great to hear that you had good time in the hostel and enjoyed our services. To the bathroom door on the 5th floor, we definitely fix that. We really appreciate your feedback and wish you all the best!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Aug 2016
7.7

Twice at this hostel I was woken up by people in my room - definitely a party hostel! We did the Halong bay trip through this hostel which was amazing and I would recommend. However we also booked our bus to sapa through this hostel which didn't bring us back to the centre of town but made us catch another bust from the outskirts of Hanoi. Staff speak great English and are very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our Halong hideaway tour and our staffs. To the problem that you was woken up by the other people, staying in the same room. We are sorry to hear that. That was dorm rooms so the people were going to bed in different times. That is somtimes unavoidable if you stay in the dorm rooms. To the bus to Sapa: We normally inform all the guests who book the bus to sapa that when they come back Hanoi from sapa, the bus will drops you off at the bus station and you can walk or take the taxi to our hostel. It is not that far, just around 15 minutes walk. In this case our staff might have forgotten to tell you that or they did but you hadnt paid attention to... Anyway, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused. On behalf of the hostel, we wish you all the best!

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Aug 2016
9.1

Great hostel! I moved here from another hostel in Hanoi for my final 2 nights. It's smaller than the Central Backpackers Old Quarter which makes it easier to meet people as a solo traveller. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the free beer every night is great. They take you on a free taxi ride to the main hostel for the bar crawl each night too. I would stay here again if I was to return to Hanoi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to know that you had good time and enjoyed your stay in our hostel. Hope to have you again here next time when you come back to Vietnam. We wish you all the best!

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.3

It's all about party, people is usually very friendly and easygoing. The facilities are good and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.