Hostelworld.com

Central Backpackers Quepos

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 71 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 71 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.2
Central Backpackers Quepos Located at Playa Manuel Antonio road in front of the INVU, , Quepos.
Central Backpackers Quepos
Costa Rica
Quepos Puntarenas Playa Manuel Antonio road in front of the INVU
68% 71
9.4278946 -84.1581487
Central Backpackers Quepos
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Apr 2016
4.3

Pros: - Breakfast included - Helpful staff - Cheap Cons: - The doors of the hostel and the room are 24h open so anyone from outside can enter anytime - The walls of the room consist on a piece of cloth, so the noise of the street is very present at night - Found bedbugs in the bed - When leaving early morning we found a person sleeping in the couch at the reception, covered in his own vomit

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Mar 2016
7.4

We arrived late around 8pm so initially there was no one around but we found the owners and all our details we in the guestbook and ready to go. He spoke good english and was very nice in providing anything we requested such as towels and toilet paper. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy and the fan was excellent. Kept us cool through the night. The wifi speed was under 1mbps but worked for basic messaging and email. A bit pricey but a very pleasant stay none-the-less. Free breakfast!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2016
7.1

The owner is an excellent cook and a good host, but the hostel is pretty basic and lacks an atmosphere (not many people around when I was there).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Feb 2016
7.7

the hostel is quite much familyrun, the owner is a nice guy and was very friendly on our arrival. breakfast wasn't overwhelming, toast bred not even toasted. unfortunately he was not allowing us to leave our backpacks at the hostel after 12am checkout, so we had to get back from the park quite early to get our stuff although our bus was not leaving until the afternoon. a luggage room would definitely be a huge plus for his hostel! but for it's price it's absolutely ok and location is good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
8th Feb 2016
8.3

Really enjoyed our stay. Staff are both friendly & helpful. The hostel is clean & tidy, & the facilities are good. The use of pool facilities is brilliant.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jan 2016
6.6

Great manager who is really accommodating and a great cook. Bus stop just outside the hostel to go to manuel Antonio (310 colones). Not much going on in quepos so best to spend most of your time in manuel Antonio. Facilities are pretty dated and definitely could do with a refurb.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2016
9.4

Amazing host and he make great food as well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2016
3.4

Terrible hostel. I had to catch a 6am bus my last day there. I had told the owner about it the day before, but when I tried to leave in the morning the gate was locked so I couldn't get out. It took 15 minutes of knocking and calling to wake him up and almost 10 more for him to unlock the gate. Obviously, I missed my bus. Otherwise, the dorm was dark and gloomy and there was no common area. The hostel is far from Manuel Antonio and also far from the center of Quepos. Do not stay here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • chiosilvatorres6977
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2016
6.3

The person in charge was very nice, but he is the only one attending people. Could be more clean, but is fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2016
6.0

This was right next to the bus stop that would take you to the beach. Check out was at 12pm which left you plenty of time in the day to go explore. There were a few instances where we were not happy with our stay. The first was the bathroom, it smelled heavily of sewage and we had to keep the door closed. The other item was the cockroach in our room. We tried to keep an open mind about our stay given the climate and the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.