X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Central Backpackers Reviews

13 Park End Street, Oxford, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1729 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I arrived at night and it was not very easy spot as there wasn't a clear sign apart from the one on the door.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

the staff was very nice, I enjoyed the wee breakfest in the morning. unfortunately the shower rooms, toilets were dirty, maybe because the hostel was fully booked. great location!

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Stayed only for a night, but felt very comfortable. Location is very central and staff welcoming and helpful.


100%

The best hostel in Oxford!

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The staff does not know the most important events that is going on in Oxford and does not know how to deal in a polite way with the travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. Oxford is a major tourist destination and University town with loads of exciting activities daily it would be impossible to know every event. We do have posters and flyers of current events and work closely with the Oxford Tourist Board to keep up to date of the latest happenings. Our staff have won awards for customer service and friendliness and we are very proud of them, We will discuss your comments in our next meeting.

80%

Nice staff, excellent location, bathroom facilities ok, good kitchen facilities and a lovely living room!

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Not one complaint. It was my first time staying in hostel and I was pleasantly surprised. It was clean, comfy bed, the staff were friendly and the free breakfast was very much appreciated. It is in an ideal location since it is a short walking distance from both the train station and shopping centre. I stayed for work reasons and would stay again. I definitely recommend it. :)

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Being above a night club is not ideal. Charging £1 as service charge twice, ie first for making the booking and then to pay in the hostel, is excessive. Good cleanliness but description on website not correct (eg. no hairdryers apart from the private ones that the staff is friendly enough to give out)

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The booking fee is from HW the booking agent not us and the other service charge is from the bank who provide the credit card machine as was explained to you at check in. There are many bank machines close by that you could have gone to and got cash out. As for the hairdryers we have them available for all to use at not cost however we do not leave them lying around, this is why you had to ask a staff member to get one for you. I hope this answers your points and hope to see you in Oxford soon.

94%

I loved it.


71%

i enjoyed my stay. its easily accessible to both couch station and train station. the staff was willing to help. i was staying in a 12 bed room and it was no problem at all.


77%

Very good. Good location and rooms:-)

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This places feels more like home than a hostel. The staff gives you a tour of the entire place when you check in and tells you everything you need to know about Oxford. The rooms are cozy and the people there are wonderful. Everyone wants to talk to you in this hostel instead of stare at their phones. WIFI and location were great. There are several bathrooms in this hostel and some are not so clean. Go look at all of them and pick the cleanest before you shower. Some were much much cleaner.


80%

I liked staying here and thought the combo front door lock and key card access to rooms was good. However, I came home a couple of times and the doors were propped open to my room for anyone to enter. Since the lockers are not big enough for a large backpack, I felt that was a breach of security. Also, the staff was not real friendly. They helped when you asked, but didn't say hello when entering your room.

  • 22nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Beds were comfortable and the location is good (near bus/trains and short walk to Oxford centre). I was frustrated that staff would leave room door wedged open after cleaning, and some staff were fairly disinterested in being helpful, whilst some were lovely and friendly. Toilets and showers had water pressure issues, and there were only 4 powerpoints in 6 bed dorm. Overall it was comfortable place to stay, but not a brilliant hostel. Free earplugs were appreciated and necessary.


94%

Very nice hostel, though there's a bar/club at the ground level you hear. You need earplugs, but then a fine hostel. The location marked at "Map & Directions" is misleading, because it indicates the hostel to be at the southern side of the street, while it is in fact on the opposite side.

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Friendly staff who took time and trouble to show us round on arrival. Luggage store was appreciated. Close to Oxford city centre.


91%

Had a great stay here and was very impressed by the friendly staff and their willingness to help and answer any questions. Appreciated the included breakfast and the clean towels. I did find that those staying there long-term gave a bit of a 'cliquey' atmosphere which made it harder as a solo traveller to meet people. Overall, had an excellent stay.

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

As usual it was a great stay at Central Backpackers!


80%

Mainly in the bathroom, the cleanliness is rather poor. Anywhere else it is quite good :-)

  • 16th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It was an alright hostel. I visited in winter though so maybe that why there were mainly only long-termers staying there


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Oxford Hostels

Please give us your feedback