Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2,334 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2,334 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
Central Backpackers Located at 13 Park End Street, , Oxford.
Central Backpackers
England
Oxford Oxfordshire OX1 1HH 13 Park End Street
84% 2334
51.7528541 -1.2657447
Central Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
8.6

The room was too warm and, with the windows open, it was noisy too. But besides that it was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.0

Not a party hostel as such but it is above a club so it was super loud. Need a padlock for the lockers and they are quite small. Deck is lovely, decent bed and nice linens.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
8.3

Hostel was fine, pretty clean. Be aware that there is a club/bar on the block that plays loud music very late, and you can hear it in the dorms. Earplugs were not enough to block out the noise, but I put on headphones and a rain/white noise app and it was fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
9.4

Great location and big kitchen! Loved the laundry service and bar area. Rooms were very nice and the hostel had a lot of character. Only 3 tables available to eat meals at so that made breakfast a bit crazy, especially if you are eating between 8:30 and 10. Only other concern is that I had e-mailed hostel with questions before arriving about my booking and never heard any response. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are in Oxford though! I would again, no doubt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
8.9

I can't understand the negative comments. This is a hostel. If one has a problem with a bit of cigarette smoke or noise from the street, then probably a hostel in the City Center is the wrong place to stay. The only negative thing is that there were no lockers in the room and no power plugs near the bed. Since I only stayed there one night and I have a power bank with me, this wasn't a problem for me. The staff and the other people were really nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
9.7

This hostel was great! Very helpful staff and the facilities were awesome! Huge community kitchen, nice commons room, and an awesome rooftop lounge. The staff did our laundry for us, so that was super helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2016
4.6

Really didn't like this spot. The check-in times were limited, the staff was smoking inside and had essentially taken over the place, there was one working sink, and the showers didn't work. Overall one of the worst hostels of my whole journey.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
10.0

Best backpackers I've stayed at so far. Really friendly staff, facilities aren't modern but have be so well taken care of it doesn't matter- and super clean. Just wish I could have stayed longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
8.6

This was a great hostel. The staff were very friendly, I loved the overall layout of the place, including the lounge areas and the bedrooms. The beds were comfy and had bright fresh sheets and pillows. I have two minor areas for improvement: I didn't like that the cigarette smoke from the covered patio would come in to the hostel because there were windows between them. Second, there were only two sink facilities. Add more sinks, mirrors, and garbages in the shower rooms!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Jun 2016
9.7

Very friendly and nice staff. Great bathroom, very clean, spacious and comfortable (there are hooks and bunk inside). I stayed at a 6 bed female dorm, the room is narrow so a bit stuffy but it is fine (clean, tidy and cosy) . It is very convenient since you have plug to charge your phone and space to put your small things at upper bunks. There are lockers for everyone. Light breakfast is free, it is good for a traveller in the morning. I will definitely stay there again and strongly recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.