Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2587 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2587 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Aug 2017
9.1

Great, cosy hostel with a kitchen and friendly helpful staff. Only downside is the noise from the many clubs in the streets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jul 2017
7.1

Beds were very comfortable, and though there was noise from the street, it was easily bearable. Showers were good, and hot. Kitchen was great, really appreciated the free teas! The main problem was the rooms smelt a bit like a gym changing room the first night, and we couldn't open the windows due to the noise. Also, the lockers were small and need a special padlock to work. A bit expensive, as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2017
9.1

Great location between town and train/bus stations, and good cleanliness made for a very pleasant stay. Not a party hostel, but the staff are very friendly and if you take the step out onto the terrace of a night time they'll be sure to direct you to the cheapest drinks. Can't really fault and would definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
5.7

GREAT location - 5 min walk to rail & bus stations. Hop on hop off stop right at the hostel. Lockers require a thicker than normal padlock (but they sell these for cheap on site). Lower rating b/c NO staff on duty overnight (to me, this is a safety issue) & from 2:30-6:30am I was locked out of my room (key issue after going to the loo) & NO ONE answered ANY of the 'emergency' #s posted (thankful this wasn't a safety emergency). Only offered an apology & their breakfast. NOT IMPRESSED.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • chibis_alexa1134
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2017
10.0

The best hostel where i have stayed.. The staff very kind and always there to help you.. i will deff stay there again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ravikchikka5114
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jul 2017
9.4

Place is tidy and clean. Staff wonderful and helpful. Car park next door. Costs only 3.50 for overnight parking. Wifi is excellent and if you are party goer then pubs downstairs. City centre near by so plenty of food choice. Having Fans would have been an added advantage as we had to keep open the windows and kids in pubs are not quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2017
8.6

I stayed here for 2 nights this summer on a 3-week solo backpacking trip. I made some great friends here and loved the common spaces - a nice roof porch, entertainment room, and kitchen / dining area. I don't think the atmosphere was a good fit for someone on vacation on a weekday. Oxford's nightlife seemed to be lively any day of the week, but most people I met in the hostel were studying or working during the week. Regardless, I loved this hostel and the people I met! Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2017
10.0

Loved it. Had such a great time, and can't wait to come back. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2017
7.1

Not bad. It's not a party hostel. It's not an EXPERIENCE to stay here. But it's a clean bed in a safe place and everyone I talked to was nice and helpful. Very basic. Try to book in advance to get a good price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2017
8.0

I was in town visiting friends and for what I needed, this was a decent hostel in a good location (well, minus it being right next to a club). My room was nice, if a bit hot and stuffy due to the weather. My only complaint is that sometimes I felt like I was inconveniencing the staff by being there, but I didn't spend a lot of time there so it was fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.