X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Central Backpackers Reviews

13 Park End Street, Oxford, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1838 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Everything is good except it is a bit expensive.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Not the nicest but a decent hostel. Hostel rooms and building felt rather small and old. But the price is right, location is great, and the rooftop bar area and TV/movie lounge were awesome places to hang out. Easy to miss on the street, no sign.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff are helpful, efficient and very friendly. The atmosphere is very relaxed. Security, location, cleanliness and value for money are all good. Another hand basin would be good as they are often busy with people cleaning their teeth etc, whilst people coming out of the toilet want to wash their hands.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

A friendly hostel with comfortable beds, and nice staff. It was really busy when I stayed (August), and there were definitely not enough bathrooms/showers per number of guests, but I managed ok for a short stay. The bar seemed really nice, but I didn't have time enjoy it myself. The location/proximity to train station is ideal.


94%

very nice location and cleanliness :) and so cheap i had so good time in this hostel!

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The rooftop BBQ, was great and a huge thanks to Chris for helping me out during my stay!!!!


80%

The hostel was awesome even though we had a problem with the shower which was definitely too hot, otherwise everthing was really perfect !!

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice hostel. Spent only one night and whish I had at least one more. The shower was good and the bathrooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff was very friendly. They had an open space on the back where you could relax and get drinks. Close to the station and city center, so very convenient.


97%

Awesome place, loved the kitchen (it had full cooking facilities and cooking nessisities like oil and flour were provided), breakfast was adequate and of decent quality, location was perfect, computer access was very much appreciated, would have liked to stay longer. Tiles in the bathroom were a bit old and cracked, and the bunks squeaked when climbing up and down, but that stuffs minor. Very home like atmosphere.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay If you want to see the Oxford. I want to recommend this place to all of you.


83%

Very friendly staff, good location, and great kitchen!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

They do a bag of laundry for 4 pounds!!! There's an hairdryer available! Staff is great!


100%

Excellent location, the staff works hard, is ALWAYS cleaning. No noise at all (I slept at an inside room), others have complained before on their reviews but thats just crazy because they offer ear plugs at check in. The only thing I would change is to not allow smoking in the closed in patio--I avoided that area like the plague after trying to sit out there while someone was smoking.....no ventilation. And also get a new water heater, can't clean the white bits out of it. But deserving of 100%!


80%

It was a good hostel in great location - but also right above a night club which resulted in a rather short night, as you can hear a lot in the room I stayed in...


37%

Very Small rooms, Rude Staff , Smelly room , Always Crowded bathrooms and showers ,Staff sleeping in the same rude cursing all the time and coming back very late at night like 4 am and making lots of noise.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed three nights last week. Convenient location, clean facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful. Easy to meet people because guests were from all over.


97%

Very cosy hostel in central oxford with adorable staff and common areas. Close to the railway station.


100%

Everything is perfect!!!

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

One shower only provide hot water that will make you burnt. The other shower only provide cold water that will make you catch a cold

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review. We have 4 electric showers and all of the showers temperature is controlled by the guest with a simple dial system. One dial is for hot or cold the other dial for pressure. To avoid confusion we have instructions in every shower including pictures and if you still were having trouble a staff member would have been happy to help you.

60%

If you pay to get some sleep at nights it makes one really pissed of if he/she can't get that sleeping possibility that one has paid for, no matter how low the cost is - after staying awake for three nights I was so exhausted that I actually missed the whole Oxford-visit. The hostel was right next to a noisy nightclub which made the sleeping totally impossible even with earplugs - it would be at least nice to mention about it at the hostel description.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all Oxford Hostels

Please give us your feedback