Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2475 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2475 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Feb 2017
10.0

Such a homely feel. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Central and were disappointed it was only for the one night! We will definitely have to return for a longer stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Feb 2017
9.1

Great location close to the train station as well as the bars and all the beautiful architecture.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
8.3

The staff was welcoming and friendly. They made me feel like one of the family. It is close to the railway station and a short walk to any of the shops or sights. I liked that you could come and go at anytime. Overall I had a really fun and enjoyable stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
9.4

Really awesome place. Fun staff. They invited the guests to go out on the town with them. Only downside is that it is freezing here in the winter and they definitely neglect to turn on the heat in the corridor, bathrooms, and lounge area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
4th Feb 2017
8.3

Everything was nice, but one afternoon we couldn't get in because they changed the password code to enter through the main door without previous notice (also they didn't answer the phone). We had to wait more than 20 min. before someone came.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
8.9

Pros: Great hostel. Much nicer in person (pictures don't do justice), very clean, friendly staff, great location, hot showers. Cons: Lockers aren't big enough for full backpack (but still fit all my valuables), not many showers/bathrooms, hostel is located next to a VERY loud club. From the room I was in (12 bed) you could hear music blasting until very late. I didn't hang out in the common areas, so I can't attest to whether those were good or not.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
9.7

Cool hostel - good little bar/hangout area that is good for cheap drinks and meeting other travellers! Great location, close to the train station and central Oxford. Staff were very friendly & helpful - would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
6.0

It is located right next to nightclubs and it was really loud outside, so if you are looking for a quiet stay, this would not be the place for you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Jan 2017
8.9

The hostel is well located, 2 minutes walking from the station and 2 minutes walking from the centre. The toilets are nice and clean. Staff is helpul. And rooms are big, warm and clean. Te common area is open 24/7, the have a couple of sofas, tv and computers. There is also pretty clean kitchen They have locker for things of value, but you wont be able to fit your whole backpack. If I go back to Oxford I will definitely stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
10.0

I spent an awesome time there ! Everyone is nice and there's a cool atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.