X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Central Backpackers Reviews

13 Park End Street, Oxford, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1850 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great time spent! Staff are friendly and the atmosphere is awesome!

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

There should be more sinks outside the room if there isn't any in the room.


89%

It is a nice hostel. Very clean and near the centre. You can cook in the kitchen and there is a free breakfast (Bread, butter, milk, coffee, tea, nutella).


74%

Hostel was pretty average. The deck/patio area with the bar was a cool spot to hang out in, but it was a bit difficult to get the staffs attention to order a drink. Beds were comfortable. My main complaint was that the hostel is located VERY close to bars. Which is good to hang out in, but I was unable to sleep between 3am and 5am due to screaming, breaking of bottles, etc. occurring outside the window. And it was LOUD. Not the hostels fault, per say, but still unpleasant.


86%

This place is in a fantastic location in the centre of Oxford, for this reason the cost to stay is a bit steeper, but in my opinion the great kitchen and communal areas more than make up for it. The only thing to note is that this is not a party hostel, quite a few language students from the school nearby are here so the atmosphere is quite quiet at times. In saying that the staff are young and happy to recommend somewhere to spend your time for a great night out.


89%

Everything is good except it is a bit expensive.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Not the nicest but a decent hostel. Hostel rooms and building felt rather small and old. But the price is right, location is great, and the rooftop bar area and TV/movie lounge were awesome places to hang out. Easy to miss on the street, no sign.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff are helpful, efficient and very friendly. The atmosphere is very relaxed. Security, location, cleanliness and value for money are all good. Another hand basin would be good as they are often busy with people cleaning their teeth etc, whilst people coming out of the toilet want to wash their hands.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you so much, it's very nice place to stay! Well done guys :)

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

A friendly hostel with comfortable beds, and nice staff. It was really busy when I stayed (August), and there were definitely not enough bathrooms/showers per number of guests, but I managed ok for a short stay. The bar seemed really nice, but I didn't have time enjoy it myself. The location/proximity to train station is ideal.


94%

very nice location and cleanliness :) and so cheap i had so good time in this hostel!

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The rooftop BBQ, was great and a huge thanks to Chris for helping me out during my stay!!!!


80%

The hostel was awesome even though we had a problem with the shower which was definitely too hot, otherwise everthing was really perfect !!

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is sure to be the best hostel I have ever stayed. The staff are very nice and try to help me in every way. Although the place is small, it has a outdoor activity area just like a little garden, you can easily bring along your computer and drinks here to plan your next day's schedule. For the room and bathroom, THEY ARE REALLY GOOD AND CLEAN!!! You don't need to pay deposit for getting a hairdryer. The breakfast is simple but satisfactory.


86%

Very nice hostel. Spent only one night and whish I had at least one more. The shower was good and the bathrooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff was very friendly. They had an open space on the back where you could relax and get drinks. Close to the station and city center, so very convenient.


97%

Awesome place, loved the kitchen (it had full cooking facilities and cooking nessisities like oil and flour were provided), breakfast was adequate and of decent quality, location was perfect, computer access was very much appreciated, would have liked to stay longer. Tiles in the bathroom were a bit old and cracked, and the bunks squeaked when climbing up and down, but that stuffs minor. Very home like atmosphere.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay If you want to see the Oxford. I want to recommend this place to all of you.


83%

Very friendly staff, good location, and great kitchen!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

They do a bag of laundry for 4 pounds!!! There's an hairdryer available! Staff is great!


100%

Excellent location, the staff works hard, is ALWAYS cleaning. No noise at all (I slept at an inside room), others have complained before on their reviews but thats just crazy because they offer ear plugs at check in. The only thing I would change is to not allow smoking in the closed in patio--I avoided that area like the plague after trying to sit out there while someone was smoking.....no ventilation. And also get a new water heater, can't clean the white bits out of it. But deserving of 100%!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Oxford Hostels

Please give us your feedback