X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Central Backpackers Reviews

13 Park End Street, Oxford, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2097 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Wahsrooms not so clean, staff not very friendly


97%

Relaxed atmosphere, very friendly helpful staff. Open minded guests and clean facilities. also an excellent rooftop bar. Cheers to oxford backpackers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are really glad to read you had a wonderful stay!

94%

Staff very welcoming and friendly, nice terrace

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers! Come back soon!

66%

Staff wasn't very friendly or helpful and the internet didn't work in the rooms. Only a couple outlets in each room and not enough bathrooms/showers for the amount of guests. Average hostel at best. Very loud at night thanks to the club/bar nearby. You could hear its music. They do have free earplugs though. Close to bus station and city center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a wonderful experience here! I can assure you that it must have been a one-off as we have a fantastic team here from all over the world. We have made the most of the space we have to offer spacious shower areas. Being in the city center, of course we are impacted by noise. We offer free earplugs and have upgraded our windows in recent years in order to tackle this.

100%

Great place! Great people! Great opportunity to meet and converse with others from all over the world.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your great comments! Come back soon!

63%

Kind of dirty and felt really crammed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback! The hostel is cleaned daily. Being in an old building offers a rustic feeling. We have made the most of the space we have to provide guests with nice areas to relax, eat, cook, clean and sleep!

97%

Really cool hostel, with amazing staff. Actually way better than the city itsefl.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! We have a wonderful team of staff here from all over the World, and I'm glad to hear you experienced this :-)

100%

Super staff, super nice place!

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! We loved having you to stay!

69%

drawbacks: lack of internet in the room, lack of lockers in the room, even though it is not party hostel, we found it very loud place due teenagers running and banging doors for a few hours in the night positives: nice common area/terrace, helpful staff, good value for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback! Being a hostel, you never know who you might be sharing with, however that is one of the wonders of travelling! With the lockers, we have enough in the rooms to lock up your small personal belongings, any bigger and they would eat away at the space in the room. We've made the best out of the space we have :-)

83%

Pros: Good location. Cool covered outdoor common room. Free breakfast. Cheap laundry. Cons: Too few/Badly placed electrical outlets. Staff didn't fully seem to know what was going on.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your comments. We run a good ship here and all the staff know this hostel well! Saying that, we've had 3 new members join us in recent weeks so you may have been here in the midst of the training :-)

83%

Very good stay: friendly guests and staff, of the four hostels I stayed in in southern England yours was the only place that provided computers for the guests to use for free--a very big THANK YOU!

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are more than welcome! We like to ensure every guest has a great experience here, and do what we can to make sure that happens!

80%

The staff was friend and they had a lovely garden. Tea and coffee are free and breakfast was good. There were a few funny characters around though... didn't enjoy the presence of a particular person that didn't seem to have had the chance to have a shower in some time - maybe someone kindly suggest it to him? There're also washing machines that you/he can use as well

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! One of the quirks about staying in a hostel is that you never know who you might come across!

91%

Fantastic staff, facilities, and location. The communal showers are a little difficult to deal with if there's a couple of people who decide to take 30-45 minute showers at the same time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Glad you had a good stay. Being a hostel we don't have any private bathroom facilities, but the bathrooms we have offer consistently warm water after a long day of exploring :-)

89%

Very cool hostel. We really enjoyed the good atmosphere, the friendly and helpful staff and the roof top hang out area. Better than the hostel that's next door!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments! Glad you had a good time, and recognise we are the best hostel in Oxford ;-D

71%

The beds and linen are a bit worn out. It's time to re-new.

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I have taken your comments on board. The linen is all quite new however with such high use it can suffer - we try to keep on top of this and update when necessary :-)

100%

I was impressed by the efficient and relaxed atmosphere of this small hostel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! Being a small hostel, we can maintain that lovely, traveller-esque atmosphere!

97%

This hostel was awesome, in the middle of the city and very easy to find! We really enjoy our stay there! Lockers are available in the room to put you're valuable thing and they can keep your luggage during the day for free! The breakfast was ok, it had everything you need. Over all it was a very nice stay and I would definitely recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your sweet review! We are really glad to hear you had a great stay and made the most of our location, and breakfast! Come back soon :-)

86%

A great hostel! Surrounded by night clubs but they give you complimentary ear plugs and I had no trouble with the noise. Beds are comfy and a sense of privacy is felt with the barriers around the beds. I would definitely recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm glad to hear you had a good night sleep and made the most of the complimentary ear plugs! We hope to welcome you back again soon :-)

86%

the manager of the hostel was super friendly and accommodating. I had forgot to book an extra night and she put me up in the staff room because the rest of the place was booked. I also appreciated the free breakfast!

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the great comments! We were really happy to have you stay. We wish you safe travels!

100%

I really loved staying at Central Backpackers! It was like joining a family. The bed was super comfy and clean. Everyone was very friendly but not bothersome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback! You were a lovely addition to the large family we have here at CBs!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(82 results)


View all Oxford Hostels

Please give us your feedback