Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2546 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2546 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jun 2017
6.9

They have a really cool common area and and hangout places like a library and games. The dorms have no windows so it's extremely hot an stuffy, the showers are pretty bad. It's was okay. Really expensive for a moderate stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
7.4

2 sinks and 4 toilets for the whole hostel. Most rooms' only window opens onto the patio, where people drink and talk very late. Beds were not comfy. The location was good for doing stuff in Oxford, but I left very sleep deprived and would not choose to stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Jun 2017
9.7

Great stay, just a bit noisy during weekend night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2017
9.7

This is a great place to stay. Clean. Helpful staff. A short walk to 'down-town' Oxford. Free tea and brewed coffee in the morning. They offer a laundry service for four pounds. Wi-fi is good through-out. The kitchen is open from 7am to 10.30pm. This is the best choice of hostel in Oxford. Some rooms get a lot of street noise from some bars - particularly on Saturday night. The hostel provides complimentary ear-plugs and I suggest using them. Prices are higher on Saturday.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • MrInvisible
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 47 reviews
31st May 2017
6.9

Staff here were ok, would start up conversations with you or just be generally happy. Atmosphere was pretty average and just quiet overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th May 2017
6.6

+ Mostly clean + Good location + Free coffee and tea + Ok for 1-2 nights, wouldn't recommend for longer stays - Toilet/shower and sink are spatially separated which is very annoying - Smelly rooms, noisy due to traffic (that's why they offer free ear plugs) - Tiny common area if you don't want to sit at the bar - Tiny lockers that fit a small backpack but certainly not your carry-on luggage - Totally overpriced for what is offered

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jessemilton
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
26th May 2017
6.6

Staff were okay, but great location next to all of the night clubs in Oxford

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
9.1

Although this hostel was unassuming on the outside, the inside is quaint and charming and the staff is absolutely wonderful. I really can't thank this staff more. I fell down with Traveler's Sickness during the last night of my stay, and after my checkout time was up they let me stay the whole rest of the day to recover, constantly checking in on me, starting conversations and bringing me into community board games to keep me entertained and feeling better. I would highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
4.9

I really don't understand why this is rated so high. 1. Loud. The hostel is literally next to a nightclub. The free ear plugs do nothing to block the sick bass. 2. Smells bad. Humidity + carpet + super old house + backpackers = stink 3. Staff unprofessional. It's always a bit awkward when you have interrupt the staff making out with thier girlfriend in the kitchen in order to ask a question.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
7.7

Cute hostel with good facilities but LOUD. The only way I was able to get sleep was with noise canceling headphones. Not only is there a night club across the street but the hostel itself plays loud music on the terrace which could be heard in our room. The street it's on is a bit dead but it's a quick walk to the sites in Oxford.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.