Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2,434 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2,434 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
Central Backpackers Located at 13 Park End Street, , Oxford.
Central Backpackers
England
Oxford Oxfordshire OX1 1HH 13 Park End Street
85% 2434
51.7528541 -1.2657447
Central Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
17th Nov 2016
8.9

Nice standard hostel - friendly staff, clean bathrooms, lockers in rooms and free towels. Pretty basic but good value. Would stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
9.4

The staff are really nice, good location. A shame there were not a lot if people when I was there though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
8.6

This hostel was nice - the room was big and had a Harry Potter theme (awesome). Only stayed here for one night but it was lovely. Would stay again if I ever came back to Oxford.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Oct 2016
9.1

May have just been when I stayed but was hard for me to socialise as I only speak English and every other language seemed to be spoken at the hostel. But good bed and facilities. Very central and easy to walk to everything. Would go back again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2016
7.7

The location is not amazing if you want a good night's sleep. 2 mega clubs are within 10 metres of the door! The rooms are nice though, and there is a little bar inside. The bathroom facilities could have been more numerous, or implement some kind of policy where showers can't take 30minutes! We were nearly late for checkout because people were hogging the shower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • laura-job
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Oct 2016
9.7

This place was fantastic! Had a great vibe about the place, bathrooms regularly cleaned and in easy walking distance from the train station and centre of town! I enjoyed my stay here, prices were fair, light break was offered, kitchen available, room keys for access whenever, free use of towels if wanted and clothes washing services available if needed as well! I enjoyed my stay here and would definitely book this place again if I ever come to Oxford again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Oct 2016
6.3

Do not come here expecting a quiet night and refreshing rest. Our room faced several nightclubs, where music played all night with no soundproofing. The bass was intolerable even with the ear plugs provided. The room was quite stuffy and the only way to get fresh air was to climb over others' beds to open the windows, letting in cold air and the pulsing club music. Showers could have been cleaner and warmer. However staff were reasonably friendly and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Oct 2016
6.9

It is an OK hostel. My dorm was clean and located away from the street, which was fortunate as there are a few pubs and clubs that are very very noisy outside. Bathrooms were OK, there just a few single-showers located randomly across the floor. There is no reception desk so staff is difficult to find unless you go downstairs and ring the bell.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
10.0

Really great stay! Warm welcoming people great lounge area WIFi worked!! Yay! Really very comfortable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
7.7

This hostel is located maybe a ten minute walk from Oxford's city center, and a five minute walk from the train station. I will warn you that they have no elevator, and when you enter, you will immediately encounter stairs, so you will need to lug your bags up. But they have a great kitchen area which has free coffee and tea. There are a couple of areas to hang out, one where you can watch movies and one with a bar and access to a roof deck. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.