X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Central Backpackers Reviews

13 Park End Street, Oxford, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1851 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

It was a good hostel in great location - but also right above a night club which resulted in a rather short night, as you can hear a lot in the room I stayed in...


37%

Very Small rooms, Rude Staff , Smelly room , Always Crowded bathrooms and showers ,Staff sleeping in the same rude cursing all the time and coming back very late at night like 4 am and making lots of noise.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed three nights last week. Convenient location, clean facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful. Easy to meet people because guests were from all over.


97%

Very cosy hostel in central oxford with adorable staff and common areas. Close to the railway station.


100%

Everything is perfect!!!

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

One shower only provide hot water that will make you burnt. The other shower only provide cold water that will make you catch a cold

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review. We have 4 electric showers and all of the showers temperature is controlled by the guest with a simple dial system. One dial is for hot or cold the other dial for pressure. To avoid confusion we have instructions in every shower including pictures and if you still were having trouble a staff member would have been happy to help you.

60%

If you pay to get some sleep at nights it makes one really pissed of if he/she can't get that sleeping possibility that one has paid for, no matter how low the cost is - after staying awake for three nights I was so exhausted that I actually missed the whole Oxford-visit. The hostel was right next to a noisy nightclub which made the sleeping totally impossible even with earplugs - it would be at least nice to mention about it at the hostel description.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent host and atmosphere. I sure will use the hostel on my next trip to Oxford.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendly staff, nice atmosphere. Was told to expect noise, but it was surprisingly quiet, as everyone seemed to be mindful of others.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

3 mins walk to trainstation; great prices; clean facilities; very friendly and helpful staff; free wifi; free padlocks; towels and laundry service available; 24 h doorcode security; breakfast is great; supermarket nearby; luggage storage for the day even after check out!!; self catering kitchen; awesome hostel!!

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

I couldn't sleep at that night because of the noise. It continued to 1:00am. I thought that the World Cup in Brazil, it made the loud sound but that were so terrible, The staffs didn't even prohibit them.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice hostel with a friendly atmosphere and very kind staff; however, the location just opposite the disco makes it a nightmare on the nights when Oxford students are partying ;((


89%

Most of the hostel was really clean but the (free) computers were sticky on the keyboards - a small point but one that is easy to fix.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff was friendly and helpful! The hostel was in a perfect location and I will recommend to all my friends.


97%

Was a bit difficult for me to find the hostel... The sign at the door was not too obviously. But everything else was excellent. I felt much more comfortable than in the other hostel in Oxford!!!


74%

Felt very overcrowded, shower was difficult to use


94%

a place i will definitely recommend to u . staffs are super friendly and helpful, free lockers in the room, free luggage storage, the wifi signal is satisfying,the atmosphere in the common room is really good....in a word , everything here just suits my taste, a really good place to stay! ps. and excelllent location very close to the railway station,


100%

The staff were wonderful and very helpful. I enjoyed the common areas, and the dorm itself was ok. It could be quite noisy because of its central location but free earplugs were provided!


77%

very nice location, with nice people, everything I needed.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I am very satisfaied. Your kindness makes me happy.


(57 results)


View all Oxford Hostels

Please give us your feedback