X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Central Backpackers Reviews

13 Park End Street, Oxford, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1849 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Strategic location near the bus & train station, friendly staff, nice common area. A little bit small but love it !


94%

Comfortable and Hassle free

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

really enjoyed it here. Staff were very kind even to my annoying friend. Can recommend highly

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel itself was fine. We even decided to stay an extra night. Staff, however, were inattentive. We tried 8 times to find someone to pay for the extra night, but never could. Ended up getting charged a few days later. Also, don't try to use the kitchen. The staff are all in there that aren't on shift, and there is no space to try to even use the microwave. The rooms were great, and the bathrooms are fine. I tried a few showers, and eventually found one that was good.


86%

Yeah, it was pretty good. Couldn't complain about any of the basics at all, and the location was great and there were free lockers and such (in the rooms!). I was hoping for more of that 'crazy hostel party atmosphere' (i.e. to come home from pubs shutting at 11 and find a party continuing at the hostel) but perhaps that's because it was midweek :)


71%

Location is good, however the noise from the street and nightclubs across the road are extremely noisy. Wouldn't recommend if you are a light sleeper. The hostel offers ear plugs.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice hostel good central location, it is above a busy nightclub so can be a bit Noisey late at night but considering its low cost and a nice hostel that's no big deal.

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Staffs are very nice and helpful.


91%

Very nice location and helpful staff! comfy and clean environment and I especially appreciate the cute bed sheet!


91%

Bathroom clean. I liked.


94%

I arrived at night and it was not very easy spot as there wasn't a clear sign apart from the one on the door.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

the staff was very nice, I enjoyed the wee breakfest in the morning. unfortunately the shower rooms, toilets were dirty, maybe because the hostel was fully booked. great location!

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very easy to stay here. Nice and helpful staff, the cleanliness was surprising! We slept great in the 4 bed dorm, and even got towels. And the breakfast is a really nice touch. All in all: super value for money!

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Stayed only for a night, but felt very comfortable. Location is very central and staff welcoming and helpful.


66%

Great location where near to bus station.


100%

The best hostel in Oxford!

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The staff does not know the most important events that is going on in Oxford and does not know how to deal in a polite way with the travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. Oxford is a major tourist destination and University town with loads of exciting activities daily it would be impossible to know every event. We do have posters and flyers of current events and work closely with the Oxford Tourist Board to keep up to date of the latest happenings. Our staff have won awards for customer service and friendliness and we are very proud of them, We will discuss your comments in our next meeting.

60%

I have to say it is just ok. The bed is not that good and clean.


1 2 3 Next » last »
(58 results)


View all Oxford Hostels

Please give us your feedback