X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Central Hostel Reviews

26 Princes Square, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
2621 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 62%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

26%

This was the nasiest place i have ever stayed in. I walked in and the atmosphere was similar to that of a prison or psych ward. The facilities were unclean and extremely outdated, the beds were basically cots with lumpy matresses, the staff was unfriendly and rude not nting to help with anything, and the whole day we were there, we avoided the bathrooms and showers because they were so gross. This place should have been about 1£ per night and thats a stretch. This place ruined london for us.

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

There were too few bathrooms for the number of rooms and guests. There were no hair dryers in the bathrooms. I had booked a bed in a 6 bed mixed dorm, but finally we slept in a room with 7 beds!!! The kitchen was very small and didn't have a table and chairs and smelled really unpleasantly. The living room was not very clean and there wasn't enough space if all guests had decided to come down and relax. The atmosphere was a bit dodgy. On the positive side, the staff were helpful and polite.


80%

hotel reasonable compfortable i would book again

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Its cheap but it is run down in parts, they do keep it clean. except the fridge in the kitchen, that is about to grow legs and walk away


54%

No signs on arrival, staff were very rude, did not feel welcome..very bad ventilation and smelt in the halls.. our room wasnt too bad apart from the fact we paid extra for an 'ensuite' room which consisted of a broken shower head and no toilet, a small armchair that was badly stained and lots of smoke butts on the balcony which was disgusting. Location was ok.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

Staff is rude than I expect, they can even speak English, hostel was 50 percent of full They are waiting u to check in until 2 pm

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we're really sorry our English didn't meet your standards.

63%

good hostel if you want a central position in london and the cheapest price.


71%

Has a really relaxed atmosphere about it, almost like a student building in a way. Staff is friendly, showers are communal, snorers inevitable in the 8ppl rooms, so keep that in mind if you're going for the cheapest from the cheapest.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The rooms are excessively hot even at night time and there are no fans at all. It's like an oven in there, also the bathrooms are very tiny and no privacy to change clothes its one giant bathroom completely exposed. Only upside is its cheap.


71%

Excellent location. The hostel is very near to Hyde park and just a short walk away from a tube station.


97%

Great staff team! Nice people with customers, fun in the evenings, helpful with plenty of advice and tips for tourists. If you're arriving in bad shape, they will help you find solutions to make your stay and journey a great moment in London. If you come once, you'll definitely remember and come back to Central Hostel London!

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Anyone could stay here for more than a night will be a mystery to me. READ REVIEWS from people who've stayed! The environment is creepy and awful that one can expressed it in every possible word available to the English language. Smelly kitchen, graffiti-decorated reception, narrow stairs, oddly-arranged floorspace (which is 912 sf in each storey, divided in at least 5 rooms, toilets, etc., so you can imagine how shabby it is). Bed linens are old and pilling, too.


49%

Location is great, if you are looking simply for a bed for the night then this is the place to go. However, if you want a clean room and a usable bathroom then this isn't the place for you. We stayed in a six bed girls room and in that room there was only two plugs one of which didn't work. Bathrooms were very poor, we stayed there two nights and throughout our stay we found the toilet blocked and that there were not enough bathrooms for the number of guests. Basic at best.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

If you will do anything for a bed go for this place, but when all the showers are put together with no privacy whatsoever and the door to your room doesn't lock you start to think maybe this isn't the best option.


66%

The hostel was great value for money and relatively clean. The bathrooms are cleaned every hour or so and there is one on every floor so you are never waiting to shower. Overall I was very pleased with the hostel as I felt safe, comfortable and at ease. The only real negative was the atmosphere of the hostel. If you are young and looking for a place to meet new people and expand your travel circle then central hostel isn't for you. The hostel is full of relatively middle aged people.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice stay. Great location. Comfortable. Clean. Helpful staff. Great Colombian coffee. Thank you!


63%

Location is good, but staff weren't very friendly and wifi doesn't work in the rooms, only in reception.


77%

For the price, good hostel. The staff was very helpful. I had a problem with a bus and the girl at the reception helped me. Thank you!


51%

Although the location was excellent and there was a wash basin in the room, the general outlook of the place was something that was just tolerable. To enter you had to shuffle off the street down to the basement area squeezing bags and all past guests sitting and smoking on the already narrow steps. The small reception doubles as the lounge and the kitchen resembled Harry Potters room under the stairs. Only one shower/toilet for my floor was a bit rough. Beds ok but squeaky, loud street noise


37%

Dirty stinky creaky broken difficult to access toilets (not even on the floor!) with common showers (unacceptable that women and men must meet naked!) insufficient sockets (2 per room of 6 persons who had to recharge phones tablets shavers brushes etc) with small dirty "kitchen" (cannot show the picture of the heap of rubbish!) we did not use also consiering that 50 pp cannot eat in same 8 seats of reception-lunch&livingroom IF WE KNEW WE'D NEVER CHOSEN!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(84 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback