X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Central Hostel Reviews

26 Princes Square, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
2505 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Wish they had bathrooms on each floor at least if not in every room!

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The staff are lovely and the lady put my in a 6 person room when I paid for 8!! The hallway smelt a little bit funky and it made my nose wrinkle the ambulance were also called to a boy having panic attacks

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

- delay in check in about 2 hours, although we declared our arrival time - unfriendly stuff (no welcome, no showing of the room, throw out of the toilets while washing in the morning, etc.) - door was saved by even a small lock, couldn't close the window properly, no safes for personal belongings in the room - animals like ants in the room - furniture old, dirty and uncomfortable, beds very hard - no feeling of safety to to be welcome by anybody

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall, pleasant experience. Sink in room was a nice perk. No lockers and the bathrooms were always out of soap and not the cleanest, but I've also seen way worse. Always had instant hot water in the showers, yay! Kitchen was not the greatest. Very friendly staff. EXCELLENT location - less than five minutes to Bayswater Tube stop, 5-10 minute walk to Kensington & Hyde Park, 15-20 to Buckingham Palace. Not bad for the money. Not the best and not the worst hostel ever.


51%

This hostel has weird atmosphere, a lot of people live there so when you're just a visitor you feel like an intruder. The hostel is dirty, especially the showers and the kitchen. Beds are really soft and uncomfortable, there were no ladders on bunkbeds so we had to use a chair to get to our beds. The price was good and I really liked being close to Hyde Park, we stayed only for one night so it was okay but next time I would prefer to pay a bit more and stay somewhere else.


29%

Strange hostel. Weird vibes throughout the place. Staff are also very unfriendly and rude.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Be prepared for cold water. The staff is friendly and there is a train station nearby but looking back it was not worth saving a couple pounds. There are people who live in this hostel as their home and many almost homeless people staying there. It was not a fun traveling atmosphere and the showers were always freezing. We took our belongings everywhere because the rooms were not secure.


34%

We checked in the hostel and got a room with 2 guys, as we entered the room the smell was unbearable, as we asked to change to another room the staff said the hostel is fully book. Apparently these two dudes from the room were the source of the smell and it was a familiar problem at the hostel since no guest wanted to stay in a room together with them. We ended up going to another place and the hostel charged us for the first night which is unacceptable but at that point we couldn't do a thing.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

We expected to have a private bathroom and we didn't. The location is good although you have to take the tube to go everywhere. The atmosphere is great, people hang out a lot in the common room. Wifi is only available in the common livingroom. We got a 6-private room although we were five. The bahrooms are normally very clean, but they got blocked almost everyday!! Overall good experience for the money it costs, but we just spend the nights there and very briefly!

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice small hostel with comfy beds. The kitchen and social areas are quite small but the rooms are a good size. No issues with booking or checking in/out. Would stay again!

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Wifi wasn't working properly, very small and unpleasant kitchen, not the best atmosphere. Beds are quite comfy tho. No security lockers. For £10-£12.. Ok. But much better hostels in the area for a bit more.

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

This place is incredibly friendly, both the visitors and staff were really lovely and welcoming. As a woman travelling alone for the first time I was a little nervous about staying in London, but I had a great time and stayed 2 nights - people who stay there regulary describe it as a big family, and I felt safe. The decor is... unusual, but I would definitely return, excellent location with 2 tube stations nearby in a lovely area of Notting Hill, and it was a bargain!


66%

Very dirty carpet being held together by studs and bolts. Some of the floors are so old that you can feel it cave in when you walk over it. One of the bathrooms had poop smeared all over

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Hostel is in amazing location, close to tube and shops/restaurants. For that price you can't go wrong, but there was one huge down side, too much Spanish people and they were really rude, seems like they own the place.


66%

Aceptable quality-price accord with the situation


86%

When you are paying so little for accommodation in central London you can not expect perfection. We found the hostel functional and met all our needs. In a central location with cooking facilities. ...


57%

Room was described as having an ensuite. The "ensuite" was a shower cubicle in the middle of the room with glass painted white so you couldn't see in. The shower head was broken. No privacy to get changed because of set up. There was no toilet in the room (despite being described as ensuite) and the shared ones in the hallway were blocked several times. Although there were 4 beds in the room there was not enough room for 4 suitcases in the room. Wouldn't want to share this room with strangers.


40%

For the price, there's plenty of better hostels around London. It is cramped, has lots of dangerous, (slippery for outside) steep stairs, and has an extremely unclean feeling to it.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

This hostel is dirty and old. No soap in the bathroom and stains on the bedlinen. Last cleanliness check in the bathroom is from 26/06/04!?!

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel is rather dirty and not as close to the center as we thought it would be. The team was a bit unorganized but quite friendly. We had to change rooms (11 to 4) because of their bad planning, but were really happy about it in the end. Room 11 stank like hell and the beds didn't allow you to sleep longer than half an hour without getting awake again. 4 was at least not that dirty. I'm used to staying in a hostel but I next time I'll go for a different stay to not get ill from the mildew


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(73 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback