X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Central Hostel Reviews

26 Princes Square, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
2070 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 55%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Very agreable and helpful receptionist, thank you for everything!

  • 17th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel is close to the underground, Marylebone and Oxford St, easy to get there with the buses. The staff is nice, we got our room in the afternoon instead of the morning and the shower was out of order (we had an ensuite bathroom). The bath, blankets and sheets were not so clean, but acceptable if considered the price of the room. The room was nice, with fridge, table and chairs The price is good, considering the position, but cleanliness should be a little better.

  • 17th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

As a person born in the Middle East I met some hostility and rudeness from guests both whites (Brittish and Tjech) and black (Brittish citizen) and a bit from staff (specially cleaner guy)


74%

Have spent there only one night. The location is excellent, just couple of minutes walk from the Bayswater and Queensway tube station. There's plenty of pubs and gastronomic spots around. Maybe not very much facilities inside and also there's a quite messy (however rooms are ok), but generally it's worth its price.


100%

No comment nice people.


83%

I didn't expect much, so it was nice. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms... well they get cleaned once everyday, but a lot of people means a lot of dirt. Not far from 2 tube stations and you are quick anywhere you want to go. Perfect. And lots of interesting people to meet. Can be recommended for everyone who just wants to have a safe bed at night and getting friends.

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

If you are looking for a cool hostel with that fun hostel atmosphere, this is not the one for you. The staff was very disinterested and unhelpful and the whole building seemed undermanaged. It is super cheap though and if you are looking for a place just to sleep then it is great. No where to lock your stuff up, so make sure to take all your valuables with you when you leave your room. Also no separate boy girl showers, and need your own towel and shower shoes.

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The night was awful. I wasn't even able to sleep a few hours, because the air in the room was really bad and stuffy and because of the snoring. But the badest thing was: After sleeping one night in this terrible Hostel, my friend and me both had bites all over the body. I sure there must be bedbugs or something else... I really do not recomend this hostel!!

  • 18th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel is a very good deal taking into account the perfect location, for this price this is what I expected :) the only concern that I have is that the website says you can buy internet access - when I goot there, it turned out they had had a technical problem for a long time and suggested to go to Starbucks to use the internet - big minus!


74%

It was solid enough for the location and cost. I was in the female dorm, and it was spacious and clean. Beds weren't super comfortable but adequate. Bathrooms were clean. I did not feel unsafe in any way. Guests were mostly young travellers - though I saw maybe one or two above 40. Staff were polite enough. They have a good bag check system where you get a number and receipt, although it does cost 1 pound after check out. Hallways and common area were a bit grungy. Would consider again.


37%

The hostel was very dirty and the stuff looked like they were stone. It was the worse hostel i'll been.


77%

I was surprised that the bed was already made up. I prefer being given clean sheets tso that I can be sure the sheets haven't been used already.o make the bed myself. The decor inside was innovative and spectacular.


31%

Great location but all the rest is terrible. Staff speak poor English and we're not very friendly. The place is really old. The 'locker' is an old room that everyone put luggage all over. The bathroom have no space for changing. When I left the shower there was a completely naked guy around there. There is a lot of stairs and no elevator. The bed linings were not well cleaned, there was hair and blood in one sheet. In the room for 6 people had only 4 plugs. Overall it was the worst host

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Divide better men and women. This way also will be better solved the snorking probelem. You see, there are some people staying and making too much the room to be theirs and guess what, Is not.


74%

Good, only snorking guys didn´t let me sleep that well. Beds are too close to each other.


89%

Had an amazing time, would recommend.


57%

No access to internet and no wifi in 2013 ? Charging 1£ to let the luggages when you are leaving? Seriously? A guy is cleaning the showers in the morning (so when everybody wants to take a shower). In short, it is cheap and has a good location. But that's it!


46%

Terrible hostel!! Don't stay here!! We came into a mouldy place in the basement of a building. The whole place smelled and there was no proper management. Took us an hour to boil water on the stove because it didn't work. Wifi 'broke down' so nothing of internet even though the reception has internet themselves... Not recommended!!

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

There was no bedbugs. Although there were only 4 showers and a few toilets, those were clean. Bunkbeds were old and made noise. The male staff who was there when i checked in was very polite but the female staff with short hair was quite rude and needed some improvement in her attitude to customers.


57%

The cleanliness was very poor, the beds were demaged

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


(1359 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback