X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Central Hostel Reviews

26 Princes Square, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
2619 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 63%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

Eine wahre Zumutung! Erst ein unfreundliches Personal, das sicherlicherweise zu schlecht bezahlt wird, als dass es guter Laune sein könnte. Das Hochbett was uns angeboten wurde, war in Schieflage und ohne Barriere, so dass man quasi rausfallen musste, wenn man sich im Schlaf einmal dreht. Wir mussten dann auf dem Boden eine Matratze hinlegen, damit unser Reisekamerad dort zum Schlafen kommen konnte (eine natürlich völlig durchgelegene Matratze). Duschen mäßig sauber. Atmosphäre mies. Nie wieder.

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

This was the nasiest place i have ever stayed in. I walked in and the atmosphere was similar to that of a prison or psych ward. The facilities were unclean and extremely outdated, the beds were basically cots with lumpy matresses, the staff was unfriendly and rude not nting to help with anything, and the whole day we were there, we avoided the bathrooms and showers because they were so gross. This place should have been about 1£ per night and thats a stretch. This place ruined london for us.

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

There were too few bathrooms for the number of rooms and guests. There were no hair dryers in the bathrooms. I had booked a bed in a 6 bed mixed dorm, but finally we slept in a room with 7 beds!!! The kitchen was very small and didn't have a table and chairs and smelled really unpleasantly. The living room was not very clean and there wasn't enough space if all guests had decided to come down and relax. The atmosphere was a bit dodgy. On the positive side, the staff were helpful and polite.


66%

La salle de bain n'était pas très propre mais les chambres étaient biens, pas très bon accueil. L'auberge est bien située et la décoration est super sympa tout comme le quartier. Bon rapport qualité/prix

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

hotel reasonable compfortable i would book again

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Its cheap but it is run down in parts, they do keep it clean. except the fridge in the kitchen, that is about to grow legs and walk away


66%

Mi estadía fue buena , el personal es excelente , hablan muchos idiomas, y me ayudaron en lo que pudieron, lamentablemente su problema es claramente las instalaciones los dormitorios son incómodos, las camas muy malas, y no tienen lockets. Lo bueno es que al llegar o irte te dejan quedarte en la recepción y guardar tus maleta por si quieres salir. Los baños están bien pero no excelentes. El ambiente es bueno pero hay muchas personas que viven el Londres por lo que es difícil hallar viajeros.


54%

No signs on arrival, staff were very rude, did not feel welcome..very bad ventilation and smelt in the halls.. our room wasnt too bad apart from the fact we paid extra for an 'ensuite' room which consisted of a broken shower head and no toilet, a small armchair that was badly stained and lots of smoke butts on the balcony which was disgusting. Location was ok.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

Staff is rude than I expect, they can even speak English, hostel was 50 percent of full They are waiting u to check in until 2 pm

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we're really sorry our English didn't meet your standards.

80%

Good hostel, cheap but little kitchen e common room


63%

good hostel if you want a central position in london and the cheapest price.


71%

빅밴이랑 너무가까워서 좋았어요! 근처에 가게도있어서 편했고요, 시내쪽에서 올때 149번버타면 완전 근처로와서 굳굳. 공항에서 올때도 지하철입구가 바로 근처라서 편했어요! 숙소시설은 화장실하고 샤워실이 좁고ㅠ 물안빠지고ㅜ 냄새나서 쫌 힘들었어요 시설은 그냥..그래요..ㅎㅎ 그래도 치안은 남녀도미토리썼는데 물곤 사라진고 하나도없었고요! 안전한느낌이였습니당! 나름좋았어요 ㅋㅋ


71%

Has a really relaxed atmosphere about it, almost like a student building in a way. Staff is friendly, showers are communal, snorers inevitable in the 8ppl rooms, so keep that in mind if you're going for the cheapest from the cheapest.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The rooms are excessively hot even at night time and there are no fans at all. It's like an oven in there, also the bathrooms are very tiny and no privacy to change clothes its one giant bathroom completely exposed. Only upside is its cheap.


57%

-faites en sorte que les employés soient au service des clients en non pas l'inverse !! C'est quand même grâce à nous que vous avez un travail et êtes payer ne l'oubliez pas ! -votre seul point positif est l'emplacement de votre auberge donc pensez à offrir des services de bonnes qualité qui ferait revenir les clients (chambre propre, peinture faite, lit ne datant pas d'un autre âge, matelas en bon état, locker dans les chambres, cuisine mieux adaptée, ...)


71%

Excellent location. The hostel is very near to Hyde park and just a short walk away from a tube station.


97%

Great staff team! Nice people with customers, fun in the evenings, helpful with plenty of advice and tips for tourists. If you're arriving in bad shape, they will help you find solutions to make your stay and journey a great moment in London. If you come once, you'll definitely remember and come back to Central Hostel London!

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Anyone could stay here for more than a night will be a mystery to me. READ REVIEWS from people who've stayed! The environment is creepy and awful that one can expressed it in every possible word available to the English language. Smelly kitchen, graffiti-decorated reception, narrow stairs, oddly-arranged floorspace (which is 912 sf in each storey, divided in at least 5 rooms, toilets, etc., so you can imagine how shabby it is). Bed linens are old and pilling, too.


49%

Location is great, if you are looking simply for a bed for the night then this is the place to go. However, if you want a clean room and a usable bathroom then this isn't the place for you. We stayed in a six bed girls room and in that room there was only two plugs one of which didn't work. Bathrooms were very poor, we stayed there two nights and throughout our stay we found the toilet blocked and that there were not enough bathrooms for the number of guests. Basic at best.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

If you will do anything for a bed go for this place, but when all the showers are put together with no privacy whatsoever and the door to your room doesn't lock you start to think maybe this isn't the best option.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(118 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback