X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Central Lodge Reviews

4th Floor, No 27, Jln Tun Sambathan 4, Brickfiel, Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
217 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The carpet really made it smell. I stayed in two different rooms. One of the rooms the ac was on and didn't get lower than 28 sometimes up to 31 degrees celcius. The sheets had some stains but no bed bugs. The wifi wasn't strong in the 2nd room. The lights in the kitchen area was dim especially while washing dishes. One staff's English was really weak and the other manager or owner kept offering massages. No communal fridge. Computer model was really old and slow. Chill Pay 4 wat u get.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, the carpet smell is bcoz ppl leave the window open and get wet when it rains, the aircon tempreture was bcoz of wrong mode which we changed, have a good day

31%

Absolutely a disaster! Very very messy, the staff was totally unfriendly and sometimes rude. Everytime we needed something the answer was "go to the market and buy it". Free wifi if you stay more than two nights otherwise you have to pay it. They wanted to charge us the air-conditioner so you have to think twice which room you choose. No kitchen and the bathrooms are very dirty and disgusting. The "breakfast" is a big shame. Definitely we wouldnt go back again. Cheers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You booked a basic room with fan and you and your girlfriend argue you booked a aircon room. We still offer you a aircon room with window with no addtional charges. You promised to write good things about us but now you say we are rude, toilet is dirty and disgusting We offer free wifi for every guest. you have disgrace yourself bcoz you stayed 3 days here in a dirty place. Pls check the review, no one has said the toilets are dirty. It shows you are big lier. hostelworld should blacklist you.

89%

Very friendly staff. Amazing location if you have an early bus. Has a few restaurants around too.


74%

Good location... 5 minutes walking distance to KL Sentral... No towel provided... Should bring own towel... Stable wifi connection... Drinking water is provided at the Pantry...


86%

Great for a night stopover. Really nice owner. Free wifi would be nice though. And the sheets/pillow cases could use a wash - they stuck like sweat.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi wifi is free, will monitor on the pillow case and sheets. hope to see you again

57%

The hostel is quite old and run down. It's not that straight-forward to find from the bus station, you must come out a particular exit (follow signs for the buses not trains and exit that way). Free breakfast was fine even though the toaster only cooked one side of the bread. Showers could be re-done. Sheets were a little dirty - obvious they had been washed but there was paint and stuff on mine! Room was very hot even with fan and a/c (I don't think a/c worked very well).

Owner Comment (Hide)
I feel you expecting too much for the money you pay, take care

66%

Located in the heart of Brickfields, little India. Very close to KL Sentral MRT. Staff was helpful and the beds were fine. Good for a couple cheap nights in KL.


69%

Good location

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good if you're just looking for a quiet place to sleep. Really convenient location.


63%

Cheap, convenient but very, very basic. Decor etc so dilapidated that it probably never looks clean. Curtain hanging off curtain track, probably wouldn't meet in the middle anyway, no top sheet, not even a hook on the back of the door (if I remember correctly) to hang anything up. One separate shower, two combined shower/wc rooms and just one washbasin for about 10 rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, you say cheap, convineint and you expecting too much i guess, be more reasonable. have a good day. tq

77%

best location ! right in front of the train station ! if u need to go to the airport early morning or late night its good to stay there owner is super nice ! wifi is good ! location is excelent ! staff is very helpful to explain u how to get around !


94%

great location

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, thank you for choosing us, hope to see you again.

83%

We stopped for the night on the way to Langkawi and it was enough for accomodation. Dont expect too much. Breskfast was nice and it s very clise to the kl sentral. Stuff is super helpfull and show you what to do in KL.


46%

There should be a special place in hell reserved for hostel that charge for blankets. End of

Owner Comment (Hide)
we do not charge for blankets. when you request we give you 1 unless its a aircon room where there is blanket provided. tq

71%

Location was very good for a one night stay as it was close to the bus and train station. We booked a private room which had quite a bad smell. We also had to ask for the sheets to be changed as they had stains on them. However the staff were very helpful and sorted this for us straight away. Security was good as there was always someone at reception. A very basic room, the main thing that was off putting was the smell.

Owner Comment (Hide)
very sorry for the inconvience caused, the smell could be from the rain, most of the times guest dont close the window and it get wet, that cause the smell i guess, anyway my apology, hope to see you next time. take care

80%

Very helpful staff, breakfast was toast from 8-10am (7am would be better), double room was small and basic but fine and comfortable. Location is perfect next to KL Sentral, inexpensive blind massage centers all over the place were very good. Good value, would stay here again.


80%

Good location if you had flight schedule in the morning becauce near kl sentral, kl sentral is the central of. Everything such as bus, train or mrt, food, monorail, and many thing. Speciali if your fligth in the morning. Only 5 minute walk from hostels. Tq for mr. Robert or andrew ya *the chiness man, he's so help full. 100 pesen to recomend.


83%

The manager is helpful and very caring. We had a private room- be prepared for a very small space! For us, this was not a problem as hostels normally offer limited space, however, for a private room there was not much room for moving around. The bathrooms were always clean and the hot water was great! The kitchen offers dishes and free drinking water both hot and cold which is something we have found rare and we really appreciated having it! The wifi works great and sentral is super close!


74%

A pleasant stay with a good chat to the staff member !

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

GREAT location! This hostel is very near to KL Sentral and the monorail. Also, Brickfields (Little India) is quite close with lots of great and very cheap dining options! Andre, the guy that runs the place, was SUPER friendly and really helpful! He will make you fell right at home:)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback