X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Central Lodge Reviews

4th Floor, No 27, Jln Tun Sambathan 4, Brickfiel, Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
266 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 66%Staff
  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Unfortunately we didn't have the greatest stay due to feeling a bit unwelcome. Granted we did arrive in the early hours with confusion at the direction to leave KL Sentral (leave the station from the underpass where the KLIA buses leave from). If you want a quiet stay where you are left totally unbothered by staff and fellow guests then this is it. Basic rooms are very basic, don't expect anything more than a bed and ceiling fan. Toast and jam breakfast. Showers are decent. Good location, cheap.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

The floor is an old carpet and you are told to take shoes off. The bathroom facilities are infested w tiny incects and the staff isn't pleasant at all. Not even worth a night stay. And that's all I was there for. The area is central but it's in little India not a very fun area to be in. Do yourself a favour and get a better place to stay.


89%

We just spent 2 nights in the hostel, the owner was great and all the staff was nice! The rooms are simple, but comfy! Spent a little more for the AC, it's worth it!! The area is perfect, you can take the train from the airport and than walk there!! Monorail station is just around the corner!! A lot of restaurants are all around!! There is free water and coffee and tee in the morning! All around perfect place for a few nights!!!

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The location is very good. Very near to KL sentral. I arrived at 02.00am from the airport and the staff still awake. Lots of food around hostel.


60%

A case of getting what we paid for. We had fan only- fans were inadequate and we sweltered. Double room was actually family, so top bunk prevented air flow, bedding not acceptable by western standards. Pleasant staff. Very steep steps to climb with luggage

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

First of all the location cant be better than that... KL sentral is next door and they have metro and buses that goes everywhere in the city included airport! You can walk easily to chinatown and little india lots of restaurants around ans shopping centre! The owner of the place is a really nice guy we had a little bit of time to speak together and samething for the staff... The only small thing i didnt like was that my room was way too hot even with the fan but they gave rooms with AC


80%

Good Location, friendly staffs, clean bathrooms and value for money. Breakfast, Drinking Water and Wi-Fi included.


86%

Great location, near the central station and in the middle of the Little India district. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The hostel itself isn't high class or modern, but given the costs it is definitely worth it. I would stay there again. Also there is a great rooftop area that could be developed so easily into something amazing with a few tables and chairs, plants and a pagoda


69%

We stayed at the standard double private room with air conditioner. The room facility is so basic. The blanket is so thin and the room's so small, soon it got too chilly for us. They don't provide the air-conditioner's remote in the room, so we have to call the staff to adjust the temperature. But the location is really near from kl sentral.


37%

The room was not clean, leaking toilet en no toilet paper. Had to leave shoes in the hall but ghe carpet was to durty to walk on. Very noizy as well, bed sheets had stains. Overall not clean at all!


71%

The breakfast was really poor

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, its a free breakfast and you dont pay anything for it . tq

74%

There is not anything special about the place. The location is good, the price per night is cheap, the air-conditioning was fine, however don't expect it to be very clean. At least that was our experience.


69%

Nice staff, good location. Not so clean rooms or toilet facilities.


43%

I will never go back to his lodge. The room is smelly. The bed is not comfy as you can hear and feel the springs. The pillow has stains (omg!) and smelly. The carpet inside the lodge and inside the room is untidy. And you are required to barefoot. There are only 3 toilets (I guess) and it does need some renovation. The flush is broken. Inside the room, you can hear the conversations in the adjacent room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, i know you are a problem creator. when this guy arrived he start arguing that he need a aircon room. he booked a single bed fan. its all started there and he was unhappy. very childish. tq

40%

Easily the worst hostel I've ever stayed at. Filthy sheets, rooms that smell musty and resemble cells, and a manager who made me feel very uncomfortable (sleazy!!!). I hated every second in this place.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi amelia, you smile a lot when u wanted a private rrom when you booked a dorm, now you say nothing good. very cheap of you....

49%

waited 10mins before they decided which room to let me stay. Promised me earlier breakfast but never did it'

Owner Comment (Hide)
sorry about the waiting. its bcoz of confusion of your country. you booked as malaysian but when you register you wrote as australian. so that was the confusion. breakfast is from 730am to 1030am. you check out at 6am. we cant serve you breakfast at 6am. sorry about that.



View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback