X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Central Lodge Reviews

4th Floor, No 27, Jln Tun Sambathan 4, Brickfiel, Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
229 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Booked for a room for one night because of an early flight in the morning. Staff was helpful and accepting of our early morning check out. Furnitures were not new of course, a bit of paint here and there to work on, but we did have plenty of space in our room, got a hot shower and managed to get a dinner in town because of easy access to public transport. Perfect for a easy night in town and close access to direct transport to the airport.


43%

The owner of Central Lodge was very nice, but it was so dirty there! Also there were no blankets provided and the rooms were not very pretty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, we have been keeping our place clean all the time, i dont know where you found it dirty, tq have a good day.

80%

Quite comfortable. Cheap. Clean. Close with KL Sentral. Just for rest I'll give 9 out of 10. But if you want a little bit luxury 5 out of 10. Like always, U know what you paid. There's money, there's quality. But overall is good.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

It was lovely to stay in Central Lodge with a good location, very close to KL Sentral Station with kind owner. But part-time staff need train, especially, night staff. They were not friendly and not responsive to guest.


69%

I came too late. After midnight. but the man still accept us nicely. I hardly found the place since the ppl around dont know.


89%

Convinent location and friendly staff.would stay there again

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The carpet really made it smell. I stayed in two different rooms. One of the rooms the ac was on and didn't get lower than 28 sometimes up to 31 degrees celcius. The sheets had some stains but no bed bugs. The wifi wasn't strong in the 2nd room. The lights in the kitchen area was dim especially while washing dishes. One staff's English was really weak and the other manager or owner kept offering massages. No communal fridge. Computer model was really old and slow. Chill Pay 4 wat u get.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, the carpet smell is bcoz ppl leave the window open and get wet when it rains, the aircon tempreture was bcoz of wrong mode which we changed, have a good day

31%

Absolutely a disaster! Very very messy, the staff was totally unfriendly and sometimes rude. Everytime we needed something the answer was "go to the market and buy it". Free wifi if you stay more than two nights otherwise you have to pay it. They wanted to charge us the air-conditioner so you have to think twice which room you choose. No kitchen and the bathrooms are very dirty and disgusting. The "breakfast" is a big shame. Definitely we wouldnt go back again. Cheers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You booked a basic room with fan and you and your girlfriend argue you booked a aircon room. We still offer you a aircon room with window with no addtional charges. You promised to write good things about us but now you say we are rude, toilet is dirty and disgusting We offer free wifi for every guest. you have disgrace yourself bcoz you stayed 3 days here in a dirty place. Pls check the review, no one has said the toilets are dirty. It shows you are big lier. hostelworld should blacklist you.

31%

This is easily the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. We'd planned to stay for six nights but ended up leaving after just one night to find a new place. I've never left a hostel before but this place was just grim. The sheets were unwashed and stained, the beds looked like they'd been pulled off a skip, the fan didn't work properly and the hallway was dark and cluttered with junk. It was a very unpleasant and unclean place to be. It may be very cheap but it's definitely not worth it.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, i honestly dont understand your complain at all. none of what you say reflects our place. if you have any problems you should have approach the reception to rectify and not leaving by saying you plan to go to north or south....tq have a good day

89%

Very friendly staff. Amazing location if you have an early bus. Has a few restaurants around too.


74%

Good location... 5 minutes walking distance to KL Sentral... No towel provided... Should bring own towel... Stable wifi connection... Drinking water is provided at the Pantry...


86%

Great for a night stopover. Really nice owner. Free wifi would be nice though. And the sheets/pillow cases could use a wash - they stuck like sweat.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi wifi is free, will monitor on the pillow case and sheets. hope to see you again

57%

The hostel is quite old and run down. It's not that straight-forward to find from the bus station, you must come out a particular exit (follow signs for the buses not trains and exit that way). Free breakfast was fine even though the toaster only cooked one side of the bread. Showers could be re-done. Sheets were a little dirty - obvious they had been washed but there was paint and stuff on mine! Room was very hot even with fan and a/c (I don't think a/c worked very well).

Owner Comment (Hide)
I feel you expecting too much for the money you pay, take care

66%

Located in the heart of Brickfields, little India. Very close to KL Sentral MRT. Staff was helpful and the beds were fine. Good for a couple cheap nights in KL.


69%

Good location

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good if you're just looking for a quiet place to sleep. Really convenient location.


63%

Cheap, convenient but very, very basic. Decor etc so dilapidated that it probably never looks clean. Curtain hanging off curtain track, probably wouldn't meet in the middle anyway, no top sheet, not even a hook on the back of the door (if I remember correctly) to hang anything up. One separate shower, two combined shower/wc rooms and just one washbasin for about 10 rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, you say cheap, convineint and you expecting too much i guess, be more reasonable. have a good day. tq

77%

best location ! right in front of the train station ! if u need to go to the airport early morning or late night its good to stay there owner is super nice ! wifi is good ! location is excelent ! staff is very helpful to explain u how to get around !




View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback