Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Park West Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.9
Rating 43 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 5.3
BOOK NOW
5.9
Rating 43 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 5.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Feb 2017
8.0

Very nice location. hot shower, room is warm for cold winter, coffee in the morning. Free map is very helpful Wifi available only in the lobby. Staff are nice, they put me in a 2-bed room, even when I paid for a 4-bed room. My room and sheets is fairly clean. But I do have to chase and kill a roach in the shower room cause it gross me out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Jan 2017
8.9

Very nice place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • charlieblnt2373
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jan 2017
2.0

Avoid this place! The staff were very unhelful. There was no key card avaialable for the room so I had to get the staff to give me access to the room There was a man staying in the room And it appeared he was homeless so I was concerned leaving my things unattended. The toilets on my floor were out of order or else the door didn't lock properly. I was on edge the entire stay due to the above reasons. It really put a bad end to my stay in New York.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
2.6

Overall a pretty horrific experience. My friend and i were on the 4th floor and listened to a woman screaming every night in one of the neighbouring rooms. This is hardly a hostel. It is filled with residents and not an atmosphere where one can readily meet people. The bathrooms were filthy and our whole floor smelled like urine. Pay a little extra and stay somewhere else!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Nov 2016
3.7

The only good point about this hostel was the location. The place was dirty, especially the bathroom and the staff not very helpful. .

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Oct 2016
6.3

There were bugs all over. We honestly killed 3 or 4 bugs every night before we went to sleep, even though we hardly spent any time in the room. The kitchen/common space was small and typically full of less than welcoming people. They also played Fox News all day in that room, so it was really hard to sit in there if that's not your thing. Bathrooms were cleaned occasionally but toilets overflowed more than once. It's hard to find a reasonable hostel in New York but this one's somewhat bearable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Oct 2016
6.0

Not clean. Brace yourself!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Sep 2016
2.0

This place was disgusting I had to leave, the toilets overflowed twice. My room smelt terrible. It was a really bad experience

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
7.1

Our stay in the Central West Park Hostel was ok. The room was big enough for four persons and had a few chairs and tables, small lockers and an air condition, but the ground was very dirty. Every floor had three restrooms with a toilet and a shower, but there were also very dirty. The kitchen was very small and had not so good equipment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
8.0

We only stayed for the one night so was perfect for what we needed, room was spacious and nice and cool with ac, located close to the subway. Bathrooms were left a bit of a mess by other guests but overall it was fine for what we needed, I'd stay there again for a New York visit

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.