Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Park West Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.0
Good 33 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 5.2
BOOK NOW
6.0
Good 33 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 5.2
Central Park West Hostel Located at 201 West 87th Street, New York, NY, New York.
Central Park West Hostel
USA
New York New York 10024 201 West 87th Street, New York, NY
60% 33
40.7883785 -73.9745259
Central Park West Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Nov 2016
3.7

The only good point about this hostel was the location. The place was dirty, especially the bathroom and the staff not very helpful. .

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Oct 2016
6.3

There were bugs all over. We honestly killed 3 or 4 bugs every night before we went to sleep, even though we hardly spent any time in the room. The kitchen/common space was small and typically full of less than welcoming people. They also played Fox News all day in that room, so it was really hard to sit in there if that's not your thing. Bathrooms were cleaned occasionally but toilets overflowed more than once. It's hard to find a reasonable hostel in New York but this one's somewhat bearable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Oct 2016
6.0

Not clean. Brace yourself!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Sep 2016
2.0

This place was disgusting I had to leave, the toilets overflowed twice. My room smelt terrible. It was a really bad experience

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
7.1

Our stay in the Central West Park Hostel was ok. The room was big enough for four persons and had a few chairs and tables, small lockers and an air condition, but the ground was very dirty. Every floor had three restrooms with a toilet and a shower, but there were also very dirty. The kitchen was very small and had not so good equipment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
8.0

We only stayed for the one night so was perfect for what we needed, room was spacious and nice and cool with ac, located close to the subway. Bathrooms were left a bit of a mess by other guests but overall it was fine for what we needed, I'd stay there again for a New York visit

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2016
4.3

-Get rid of cockroaches in the bathroom -as well as the whole bathroom needs renovation -provide soap?

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Sep 2016
7.7

The location is amazing ! cafes and bars are very close and if u want to go for a walk the central park is just 5min far away. The hostel it self is okey, not very clean and the rooms are pretty small. They have one community room with a kitchen area. it has all you need. The staff are not the fastest but they are courteous if u need a room change or last minute a bed to stay. The wifi doesn't work very well except in the lobby area

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Sep 2016
2.9

This is the worst Hostel i've ever been. Its very dirty, bathrooms are aweful. I booked a female dorm, but they put me in a 4bed mix dorm with 2 older mexican guys. I had to go twice to the receptionist until they booked me in another room. The only good thing was the location, its very close to the subway.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Aug 2016
3.4

As we arrived the guy didn't explain anything other than here's your key and go. We managed to find where we were staying which was on the 5th floor. The door wouldn't shut sometimes and would take a few minutes of jiggling door handles. The widows wouldn't lock and we're always open. I know that we were on the 5th floor but however. The bathroom was so small and the ground in the room looked disgusting. The covers had stains all over them too. to pay 60-70 odd a night it was really bad!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.