Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Perk Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.1
Good 162 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 5.5
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.1
Good 162 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 5.5
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
5.7

Location good. Rooms are spacious but dirty. No air con so very muggy. Carpet was very stained and needs replacing. Kitchen is way too small and has about 1 knife and 2 plates for communal use. Lockers are incredibly small. No atmosphere whatsoever just a room full of people not talking to each other. Staying with a friend but only allowed 1 key and 1 locker between us otherwise extra $30 deposit. No luggage hold area if wanting to leave luggage for the day. Glad it was just a one night stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
4.3

The receptionist was like a cold shower when arriving in the hostel. He was really unfriendly, such as all the other hostel staff. The cleaning is the worst I have ever seen in a hostel. There are cockroaches everywhere in the kitchen. Half of the lockers are not working, so you have to be lucky to find one to leave your things. Lastly, the internet is terrible even for the hostels standard. It simply doesn't work when the guest come in the evening. The location is the only + point.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
7.4

Overall not bad at all. Best hostel atmosphere I've experineced. The room I slept in was affordable for Sydney prices, and very warm and loud due to being opposite scruffy Murphys (don't forget wednesdays karaoke night ;)). There is a certain romance to this hostel that can only be truly felt through visiting. The staff are a bit cold, the bathrooms a bit dirty, the kitchen and fridge full of cockroaches. Don't worry about that though- this hostel is qualitu. If you do go, say hello to the gnome

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • binhthaido8933
  • Vietnam, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
5.7

All facilities for common using are too bad . Kitchen and living room are too small . Mugs, dishes ..? Must deposit the key to receiving these small things . Mugs, chairs ? Maybe the owner collecting from trash bin !!!! As New Year, we must double the price !!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
2.0

Cockroaches everywhere, all over the food in the kitchen, likely to be a nest under the fridge, very unhygienic. Lack of enough showers/ toilet facilities for the size of the hostel. Extremely noisy and NO air conditioning, absolute nightmare. Complete lack of security, we had 2 free loaders sleeping on the floor over NYE, I took pictures of them and reported it, the staff only managed to catch one of them and confiscate his bags until he returned, he wasn't paying to stay there, I asked him.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
8.6

Friendly staff, large room with a small locker and it is in the heart of the city. I went to the pub which is right outside the hotel. Had a good night there. Most importantly, the price was cheap!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Dec 2016
5.1

Reception barely spoke English and really had no personality. Room I stayed at was quite dirty. Location is right in the city. Definitely not enough toilets/ showers for the amount of people that stay there. Yes it is cheaper than a lot of the other ones in the city, but you can really tell why. The only thing it has going for it is its location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Dec 2016
7.7

Nice location but the set up wasn't great, the idea of handing your key over to receive a plate was just hassle and the bag storage area was just infront of the reception desk. Not really secure! Most the staff speak very limited English! But the longterm backpackers make the communal areas really great. Compared to any other hostel in sydney And for the price it was good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2016
8.9

I stayed here for 2 nights. The only bad thing is noise. The price is very cheap for such accommodation quality. The staff I met are friendly and nice. The security is fine, you will get your own locker to store your personal belongings.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
9.1

That was my first time staying at a hostel. Great location with essential facilities. Since it 's in the heart of Sydney city, you will not stay very quite. The security is not bad, you will got own key for your small storage container. It is a good place for young people. The only pity is alcohol not allowed in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.