Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Station Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.2
Central Station Hostel Located at Steenhouwerssteeg 5, , Amsterdam.
Central Station Hostel
Netherlands
Amsterdam Amsterdam 1012 HJ Steenhouwerssteeg 5
74% 1429
52.3719884 4.8946338
Central Station Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Sep 2016
8.6

Only stayed there 4-5hours to catch a little bit of sleep before a flight- all i can say was that it was practical!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Macedonia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
8.6

The best location in Amsterdam. Not the best hostel I've seen, but it's good for few nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2016
8.3

Great location and terrific helpful staff in a well maintained property

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
7.4

Apart from the steep stairs the accomodation is perfect for location. Very close to the coffee shops/restaurants etc

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2016
3.4

It was not what we expected at all. Yes, it is in the center of Amsterdam but the entrance is in an alley where you don't feel safe at all. The room looks nothing like the pictures, the place was dirty. The stairs are so inclined that going upstairs with a suitcase is so hard. We stayed there in the hottest day of Amsterdam and the room was super hot at night, they have no ventilation whatsoever. Definitely my worst experience at a hostel ever.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Sep 2016
7.4

The hostel is in a fantastic location and has very friendly staff, a nice shower and is cleaned everyday. However, the lack of air conditioning in the room made it very difficult to stay in there for longer than 5 minutes,Also the beds are very small and the stairs dangerously steep. I wouldn't stay there again however it was quite good value for money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
4.0

There were cockroaches everywhere in our bathroom, and when I told the staff he didn't seem that bothered. We stayed in a female dorm, and a male cleaner would just walk in every day to change beds or whatever he did and wouldn't knock. When I asked could he knock, I was told it's not a 5* hotel.When we arrived, the piece of paper I had printed off with the hostel details etc, said the above price that was due on arrival, included all taxes. But the staff added on a 5% city tax. Staff very rude!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
8.3

The stairs are really like a ladder. The reception is on the second floor, and nothing's on the first floor, so every time you arrive at the hostel, you should be prepared to literally climb. That said, the shower was very nice, the location is right in the middle of the Tourist section of Amsterdam, but is fairly quiet nonetheless. The beds are small, but will be good enough for most people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
7.7

The steps are small and steep , no air conditioning

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
7.1

This hostel was hard to find but once found was a great little location. No common area so you are either in your room or not in the hostel -which was fine for me. It says staff is 24h but I had 2 incidents which made me think otherwise.. We had a guy come home on drugs at 2 am and not have a key and bang and yell on the door (where was the front desk person?) we did not let him in. Also when we checked out at 7am the front desk person was asleep on the floor behind the desk, very confusing?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.