Hostelworld.com

Central Station Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.6
Central Station Hostel Located at Steenhouwerssteeg 5, , Amsterdam.
Central Station Hostel
Netherlands
Amsterdam Amsterdam 1012 HJ Steenhouwerssteeg 5
76% 1181
52.3719884 4.8946338
Central Station Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st May 2016
8.6

Great hostel for the value, the location is right near many of the sights and not too far from the train station either. Even though the stairs were kinda scary steep, it makes it feel like an authentic Amsterdam experience! It would have been even better if there were more kitchen facilities, but otherwise great stay!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • abdullahaydin94
  • Turkey, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
1st May 2016
7.7

Staff was very helpful and nice. Rooms are good , showers and restrooms are inside of the room. But there was no common area inside , this is the minus side. But the hostel is on exactly center. You can choose to stay there if you want to be at red light street in 3 minutes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
9.1

I had a really pleasant stay at Central Station. The location is absolutely perfect; all of my friends and I stayed in separate hostels and they were all jealous of where I was. It's close to the train station and Dam Square is right down the road, but it's also close to the red light district..(but not too close! ;)). Another little perk is that Sunday morning when all the food places seemed to be closed, the one next to the hostel was still open and has an excellent selection

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
5.7

Hay un solo baño, entran a tu habitación cuando quieran, no son amables los del turno noche madrugada, preferiría otro hostel mil veces .

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
25th Apr 2016
9.4

Great location, if you don't want to hear the noise of busy streets but still be in a very central location. Friendly staff, super clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
6.3

My friend, though she booked to stay in the same room as me, was told she had to stay in a separate room for the first night, which we were not happy about. The front desk staff we not the most helpful during checking in and out and the rooms were FREEZING. It was an adequate place to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
5.1

The first night I had booked to stay in a room with my group and they placed me in a different group away from everyone else who I was traveling with. The heat was not working and everyone froze at night. The staff was not friendly

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2016
6.0

The only advantage of the hostel is the location. Staff are not very nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
8.9

This is a great hostel. You are literally right next door to the Dam Square - in the middle of everything! It's easy to get to, there are lockers for your things, and the beds are nice. Yes, the stairs are a bit scary, but that's just the architecture of the building - it's not like there aren't handrails. The staff I found was very friendly and willing to help with any public transport questions. If you don't have high standards this is a pleasant place to sleep for the night. Recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
6.9

Place to sleep and shower, not much else. No common room so it's difficult to mingle with others besides the people in your room. Steep steps (like most of Amsterdam) so be prepared. Close to the train station but about a 20-30 minute walk to the museums.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.