X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Central Station Hostel Reviews

Steenhouwerssteeg 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
482 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

29%

It was in the city centre, but in a obsucre way, without windows. The room was tiny and hot, the personnel was unfriendly and 90 € for two nights is a theft.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location.... Good price but not the best... Really clean and good staff... I recomend it!


49%

We have problems with the reservation and also the stuff added two "taxes" that where not included in the price that I saw at hostelworld site.


63%

Good place to rest in a very great location.


57%

Not a great hostel, but OK. very small and cramped with an unbelievably steep flight of stairs to reach the reception/ rooms, just wide enough for two abreast- exluding luggage. After a night out this stair case was treacherous. Great location, close to many atractions and bars/ coffeeshops etc. although it is in a grimy back alley protected by a solid metal security gate and and so many camera's, so a bit dodgy gang hide-out like. Terrible for meeting people- no communal area whatsoever

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel: staff is friendly, rooms are clean

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

This is a really small hostel. The rooms are nicely sized but entering the hostel includes basically climbing up a ladder. Decent location in a really touristy area, I'd recommend staying in a different part of the city. Clean bathrooms but the lack of common area to hang out with other guests is a let down.


74%

Very central. Lovely place, clean bathroom and bedroom. Staff were very friendly. Only issue - the top bunk had no side rail or ladder, which was just a bit annoying when trying to get to bed quietly.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Heel vriendelijke staff! Centraal gelegen, geen overlast, toffe kamers en propere kamer en badkamer.. Leuke mensen leren kennen. Een aanrader! Minpuntje: erg steile trappen, maar het personeel helpt je graag je koffer naar boven te brengen!

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

LOVE LOVE LOVE CENTRAL STATION. Location was amazing, rooms clean and nicely furnished and the people were incredible. Could not recommend it highly enough. Would be nice to have more coherent directions from the station as we walked for two hours and it's only five mins away. Special shout out to Rashid for being dreamy xxxxx


63%

Steep Stairs. Not easy to interact with other people as no lounge. Clean and location excellent though!

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

NO ELEVATOR!! only very steep stairs, would not recommend for large suit cases like mine! Other than that all good :)

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

There is no place to meet people, a commom area. The location is great, very center!


54%

The man who runs this hostel was incredibly unfriendly and not at all helpful. There is no atmosphere as the place consists only of a large, narrow set of steps which are almost suitable for climbing up and abseiling down, as well as your room. To be fair though our room was quite spacious and the bathroom was modern and the place clean. Beds were small though and so was the bathroom. Wouldn't stay again at the price it was!


51%

Kind of dingy place. room were small and not that many toilets. also there is a big as steep staircase at the entrance


83%

Instructions on finding the hostel were really helpful, location was really central (hence the name), and room wasreally clean.


80%

crazy steep stairs not enough keys for one per person

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice and clean room! Shared bathroom and toilet also very clean! Location is great, 2 minutes to the metro. 3 minutes to the street with all the restaurants. i can highly recommend this place :)

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Everyone warns other potention bookers about the stairs and while yes, they are ungodly steep (as well as plentiful) my biggest turn off of the place was the intensely claustrophobic conditions inside. The place is SO small it's unbearable. I stayed in an 8 bed room with the ensuite toilet. Because of the nonexistent hallways (just tiny landings at the top of stairs), nonexistent common space/lobby and nonexistent outdoor space you feel cramped for every minute you have to be at the hostel.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

I arrived late at night the guy at the front desk was pretty rude. The hostel has no space in it except for the room itself. There are not common areas, and the corridors are extremely tight. It is about the same price as all the other hostels, so your not saving money by staying here. Also note that it is not in central station despite it's name. No bang for your buck, try somewhere else!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback