Hostelworld.com

Central Station Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,220 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,220 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.5
Central Station Hostel Located at Steenhouwerssteeg 5, , Amsterdam.
Central Station Hostel
Netherlands
Amsterdam Amsterdam 1012 HJ Steenhouwerssteeg 5
76% 1220
52.3719884 4.8946338
Central Station Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th May 2016
6.0

This is a hostels you go to sleep and nothing else. No common areas. At all. Every time I went to reception I had to wait the guy finish texting on his phone so I could ask something. The guy who cleans the rooms ignored my stuff on the bed, change the sheets and made it available for another person! There is no booking system so you can pick any bed and there are not enough lockers in the room. Bathroom is clean, new and has free soap/shampoo. Great location, hands down to that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
8.3

This hostel was cheap and central and therefore extremely cramped. But the bathroom was amazingly nice - new facilities and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
9.7

This is one of the most awesome hostels I have stayed in! They have a lounge atmosphere with a pool table, Foosball, ping pong, and a full bar. Would definitely recommend again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2016
8.3

Good hostel in great location, close to the train station and city center. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Atmosphere would be better if there was a lounge or kitchen area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th May 2016
8.9

Very good spot in the heart of the city, the hostel provides excellent directions to the location for a hassle free arrival! Friendly staff. Beds are some of the most comfortable I've slept on! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
7.4

Only one shower + toilet for 10 girls. It's a nightmare to get ready on time. AND ice cold water if you are not one of the first 3 to shower. Everything else was perfect.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th May 2016
7.1

Location was near train station and within city centre. Hostel was difficult to find and entrance was in a small alley, which I didn't feel too safe. The rooms were small and cramped, but generally clean and new. Staff could be more friendly and approachable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
3.7

If I could define this hostel in one word would be "overpriced". The beds were quite small and there was only one bathroom for 10 people, so in the morning I had to wait up to 40 minutes to be able to use it. And that was the most expensive hostel I've ever been, so I expected at least a bit of comfort. I've stayed in much better hostels for a price much lower in cities as expensive as Amsterdam, such as London and Paris. I wouldn't recommend this hostel at all.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th May 2016
9.4

Locker was broken but besides that you couldn't ask for anything more for the price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
8.9

hostel is in a great location - it's also situated in a secure gated area. When you first arrive you open the door and are greeted by the steepest stairway, it wasn't really a problem, we found it quite funny! The guy on reception offered to assist with our bags and it was fine. Stayed in the 10 bed dorm, there was only one bathroom for us to share but was impressed with the cleanliness of it so again this wasn't an issue. Hairdryer & locker provided. Discount on bike rental at shop next door

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.