X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Central Station Hostel Reviews

Steenhouwerssteeg 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
578 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The lockers weren't all working and couldn't accept all locks; the room was not super clean; the beds were a little bit small.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The only bad thing is the extremely narrow, steep stairs. So if your not capable of climbing this isn't the plan for you!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

If you need a bed, wifi, clean shower, good location: It's for you. If you want breakfast, good service, friendly staff: It's not for you.


83%

The central station hostel is in the centre of Amsterdam, but far from the central station. I just stayed there for one night with two friends in a ten bed room. The room was clean and quiet and had an own bathroom, but only one shower and one toilet for ten people. It is rather hard to find, so you should print the map and the route. 10/10 worth the money

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Very good position, as t is right next to Dam Square. However I think that this is the only plus. The hostel is set in a dirty and dark alley, quite difficult to find. The stairs are really steep, so one has to be very careful when descending them. The worst part is the cost: I spent 80 euros for only one night in a 8 people dormitory: it is really too much!

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Indeed, people should bring a small towel for the floor. There is one locker per person but 2 were broken so it was not perfect and you must have a lock. Dangerous upper beds though. However, the team is cool, they are not working 24/24 but they make sure they took care of everyone before leaving. They are friendly and are keen to give you advises about the city. Security is alright, you have a key for the main entrance and for your room. It is very well situated nearby Anne Frank's museum.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Our room was AMAZING! It was really clean and we had our own ensuite in the room which was immaculate. It's right in the middle of town just minutes from the Red Light District, Dam Square and the canals but faces a small back street so there's pretty much no noise from the busy touristy stuff. It was so easy to just pop back in and drop stuff off or pick up an extra jacket etc It really was ideal one of the best hostels I've stayed in!


40%

African guy at reception would benefit from classes in how to deal with people. Also there was a party in my room until 6am while I was sleeping and this was ignored by whoever was in charge. Find somewhere else to stay.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


43%

Positives: comfy mattress and bedding, great location, ensuite, and they sent a very helpful email with clear directions on how to get there. Negatives: unfriendly staff, no common room, no kitchen, wifi was spotty at best. I don't think the bathroom got cleaned. The stairs are not an exaggeration. A bit difficult to get up and down with or without luggage, they're so steep. If you just need a place to keep your stuff and sleep, then it might be worth it for the location.


74%

Staff was very helpful, even when they were full the next night they helped me find another place to stay. The bathroom was not very clean, hair all over the place, dirty sink, but I think the other people in the room were also very messy people and had been there the night before too. Wifi in the rooms was nice. No common ro though


97%

the staff were lovely so helpful. When we were unable to collect our bags for a ridiculous amount of time they stored them for free for 3 days! The rooms are clean and comfortable and the showers are amazing. The internets good and though the stairs are very steep they are happy to help you with them. the hostels hidden away in a small ally but its worth it!

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

good location, no lift and steep stairs


57%

I didn't like the way that I was treated in the first day, the receptionist didn't help me with my suitcase. I didn't like the cleanliness, maybe I was eaten by flea. The barthroom wasn't clean.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Not bad really, after reading all those reviews. Bathroom was OK (even for 10 people) and i managed to get something out of that tiny 'kitchen', at least they have some kitchenware.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

You get what you pay for... It's a pretty average hostel in a really great location. There is no common room and the stairs do suck but it's not like you're going to be spending much time at the hostel anyway!


77%

Location is awesome. Beds are tiny, stairs are cool! Thanks!


94%

Great hostel with good breakfast but you would expect that for the price you pay


46%

The manager is completly confused wether he is running a hotel or a hostel. If you are just looking for a bed and a shower it will forfill your needs perfectly. However If you are looking for an actual hostel with kitchen, common room, atmosphere.. Then don't stay here!


77%

Great location, right by dam square. Taxi to the main club/bar area was 10 euros wihich was great. We stayed in a 10 best mixed dorm, the rooms were nice and clean and the bathroom was modern as well. Down side was that there was only one bathroom in the room between 10 people, other hostels I have stayed at in Amsterdam have a separate bathroom from the room with 3 or so showers and loos. Overall the staff were helpful and friendly and I would stay here again., however I did find it pricy!

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

We stayed there 3 nights. Beds and toilets were quite clean but beds are a little bit tiny. You can rent a bike from next door to hostel, which is a plus. 15 minutes walk to central station. Staff are just ok. They do their job and thats ok. Dont expect any friendly conversation or else. The stairs are too steep. Stay at first floor if you have chance. But its managable anyway if you have to climb. There is no lounge in the hostel for socialising if you are looking for meeting new ppl.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(68 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback