Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Station Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,376 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,376 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.1
Central Station Hostel Located at Steenhouwerssteeg 5, , Amsterdam.
Central Station Hostel
Netherlands
Amsterdam Amsterdam 1012 HJ Steenhouwerssteeg 5
74% 1376
52.3719884 4.8946338
Central Station Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Aug 2016
8.3

Great value for money - only downfall was the fact the place had no air con! And no common room. But other than that it was in the heart of everything and the staff were really nice. Great hostel to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
8.9

Amazing placement. You can walk almost everywhere. Clean and cozy. The stairs were a little tricky but they do warn you ahead of time about them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
8.6

Our stay at the hotel was a succes, the staff was really friendly and everything was great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
6.6

Great location, right next to the red light district but that's about it. No common room. No facilities. Very basic hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Aug 2016
7.1

Great location and good wifi but not all the lockers had working locks and staff were not very friendly

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
7.7

Stayed at the 10 person room, comfy bed and also a clean bathroom, they clean the room and bathroom every day. Great location, very close to everything but it is too crowded...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Aug 2016
6.0

This place is in an amazing location, but that's pretty much it. This place is pretty bad to be honest. The stairs are stupidly steep so if you come back drunk good luck getting up then, and there is no communal area. The bedrooms are beds around the outside with a tiny table and chairs to sit on, but if you're above 4 foot tall you won't fit on them. Also there is only one toilet per room so I had to wait half hour to use it, and the walls are really thin so you can hear EVERYTHING! 'plop'!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
8.3

Very good location. Clean. Dangerous stairs.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
3.4

The hostel is in a great place located near the square however on arrival we were made to pay an extra euros for city tax and room keys and the staff were very rude and unhelpful. There is a small safe per bed which could easily just be picked up and carried out. We're left alone most of the trip though so can't complain too much

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your booking. If you read the"things to note"on hostelworld you can read that there is a 5 % citytax that comes extra like every other hotel in Amsterdam. You can also read there, that there is a keydeposit that you get back when cheking out. The 500 euro you mentioned is not correct. greeting staff

  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
8.0

We came in a group of 6! The location is within walking distance of major attractions, and there's Rene's Croissants right outside (perfect breakfast spot before you go out exploring, the food is phenomenal) the only downfall is that the stairs are incredibly steep, so carrying up/down your luggage/backpack is a little hard, and the rooms didn't have much space to move around in. Not really the place to meet people other than roommates, but this is the perfect place to stay right in the city

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.