X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Central Station Hostel Reviews

Steenhouwerssteeg 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1049 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great location, and very friendly staff! Bathroom was lovely and very clean. Would definitely recommend this hostel

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It was great staying there. I slept very good and the bathroom was really nice and clean.


60%

I understand that the mixed dorms are indeed mixed however the male dominant ratio was unsettlling. In a 10 bed mixed dorm, my sister and I were the only two girls one night and 2 out 3 girls on the next. More measures should be taken to ensure there is a more equal ratio. I understand that the hostel isn't large and essentially you pay for what you get, however the ensuite bathroom is quite small and un-spacious considering the number of people sharing it.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

It was great. Comfortable bed.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location with friendly staff. However there isn't a common room to meet other travelers and the wifi wasn't working when I was there.


89%

Good location and the hostel is really clean!

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

For what I paid, I was very impressed. The staff was very friendly - I called for directions and they were patient with me. Checking in and out was super smooth, and the location of the place, (right around from Dam Square) was fantastic. I stayed in an all female room, and although there were 10 beds, it was still spacious enough. It was also modern and clean, was a bit of a surprise after seeing the hallway and check in area. Great value for money, on a budget.

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice!


97%

location was super, would come back!

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Hostel ok !Nothing special but Good posicion And good price


69%

The hostel has an excelent location and the rooms are clean as well as the bathroom. The reception is tiny and there are not common areas. The stairs are very narrow and almost vertical.


71%

Staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. Great discount cards in the lobby. Location was ideal, right in the center. Guests tended to be a bit older. There wasn't a common area or lobby so the dormitory tended to be louder and more crowded. Lockers were available but did not inspire confidence... Maybe could use some new ones. Facilities were clean at first but the number of people (ten) using one bathroom, plus the set-up of the shower meant that they did not stay that way.


63%

Everything was Ok, but little bit confused when saw that stranger was sleeping on my bed. Then was told that it was little mistake, administration thought that I checked out. The biggest problem was noice by roommates - 2 spanish speaking girls kept talking all day even till morning. Asked several times but they ignored me. Guys in receptionist were helpful. Location is excellent.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Azerbaijan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Okay location, not as close to the central station as the name indicates but near Dam Square and in between the Anne Frank House and the central station. Amsterdam is small anyway. Something that could be improved is the bed assignment system -- staff members often came into our room trying to guess which beds were still occupied. I would either assign people beds or give them little cards like other hostels do.


43%

The location of this hostel was great however absolutely impossible to find and signage is non existent. The atmosphere was also non existent as there were no communal areas, just simply the dorms. The stairs to get into the hostel was more like climbing a ladder and difficult for those who have large luggage. The wifi was also extremely bad which is difficulty for those travelling and are using the hostel wifi as a means of navigation and communication:

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I stayed here during New Years and the prices are very very high. Amsterdam is very populated and expensive during this time. Location was great! Staff was helpful. I had a couple bad roommates but that's not the hostels fault. Bathroom is small but good enough, hard to keep clean with 10 people in one room. Stairs are steep, but that's Amsterdam for you. I recommend this hostel.


89%

This was my first hostel experience and it wasn't too bad except the showering area/bathroom because the ventilation want that good. Otherwise, this hostel was very central like the name.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

There is no 24 reception! (Fake facility!!) If you need to check out before 8:00, you have to check out (return the keys) the night before you leave. The stairs are steep and narrow. One bathroom for 10 people. Lacks of social area. It's a good place for those who prefer quite place to sleep. Great location, wifi and cleanliness good. Staff were helpful and friendly.


66%

It's a small budget hostel. Staff is good as well its location.


94%

Good option!

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(87 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback