Hostelworld.com

Central Station Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1,270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1,270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.3
Central Station Hostel Located at Steenhouwerssteeg 5, , Amsterdam.
Central Station Hostel
Netherlands
Amsterdam Amsterdam 1012 HJ Steenhouwerssteeg 5
75% 1270
52.3719884 4.8946338
Central Station Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
7.1

Good overall. Fantastic location. Rooms where very hot at night however and staff where not so helpful or friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alicedeinno8152
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Jun 2016
6.6

Good hostel if you are purely looking for a place to sleep. No kitchen, no communal area, no laundry facilities, so if you are travelling solo and hoping to meet people don t stay here. On the other side the location is great, and the room and bathroom very clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2016
6.6

You're paying for location here. It was so close to everything! Kinda difficult to find and luckily the staff helped me with my bag because as soon as you walk in, there's an extremely narrow and steep staircase. There is no space at all to mingle with others. Strictly just to sleep and shower in. Location was perfect but probably won't go back due to the stairs considering I have some health issues that made it difficult.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
6.0

You have to purchase lockers and they don't have a luggage storage they just keep your bags in the reception hallway. U have to rent towels and lockers which I didn't like. They require a €20 deposit which u get back after checking out. The location is good bc it's in between the dam Plaza sq and red light district bt it's in an alley with no sign! I liked that the br is in the room. Heads up, it's very small, u have to go up a bunch of very steep stairs. There's no lobby to chill.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jun 2016
8.0

Really good location close to the main train station, hence the name. It's smack bang in the center of Amsterdam for all the sights too. As far as price goes Amsterdam tends to be pretty pricey so your doing well with this place. Staff where friendly and willing to give lots of help and room cleaned every morning Only mark down is that they have no room to hang out in other than the bedroom... But I've stayed in about 4 other hostels over the years in Amsterdam and this is usually normal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
8.0

It is old style house with steep stairs and squeaking sound of the floor, however clean and close to the central station. The staff help bring any big luggage up to the room. It is worth staying several days for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2016
7.4

Awesome location, insanely close to red light district. Very secure. Staff not overly nice, but nice enough. Lower top tier at worst

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
4.6

Very basic. Staff are not friendly. Beware of the stairs....

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
7.7

I enjoyed my stay despite a mix up. My bed was really comfy and I slept really well compared to other hostels. The shower in our 10 bed female dorm was also really really nice. I would suggest actually reading the directions email they send because it is kind of hard to find. I would also suggest leaving stuff on your bed because they thought I had left and were planning on giving my bed to someone else. There is a 5% charge for credit cards so use cash. Overall it's a very nice hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
8.6

It was a great stay. I stayed in a female dorm with 8 beds. The staff was really helpful. I was carrying a heavy luggage, the staff at the reception helped me with carrying it up and down the stairs when I checked in and out. The location is nice as it's convenient for going to anywhere. Besides, there's a bicycle rent shop right next to it so it's really good for tourists. I'm quite satisfied with this stay and I will definitely choose it again if I go to Amsterdam again! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.