X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Central Station Hostel Reviews

Steenhouwerssteeg 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
509 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Very central. Lovely place, clean bathroom and bedroom. Staff were very friendly. Only issue - the top bunk had no side rail or ladder, which was just a bit annoying when trying to get to bed quietly.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Had a decent stay here. The LOCATION was ideal. Expensive though, but Amsterdam is just that = $$$! There was no kitchen, which was a minus. But if your looking for just a place to sleep, it is IDEAL!


86%

Heel vriendelijke staff! Centraal gelegen, geen overlast, toffe kamers en propere kamer en badkamer.. Leuke mensen leren kennen. Een aanrader! Minpuntje: erg steile trappen, maar het personeel helpt je graag je koffer naar boven te brengen!

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

LOVE LOVE LOVE CENTRAL STATION. Location was amazing, rooms clean and nicely furnished and the people were incredible. Could not recommend it highly enough. Would be nice to have more coherent directions from the station as we walked for two hours and it's only five mins away. Special shout out to Rashid for being dreamy xxxxx


63%

Steep Stairs. Not easy to interact with other people as no lounge. Clean and location excellent though!

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

NO ELEVATOR!! only very steep stairs, would not recommend for large suit cases like mine! Other than that all good :)

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

There is no place to meet people, a commom area. The location is great, very center!


54%

The man who runs this hostel was incredibly unfriendly and not at all helpful. There is no atmosphere as the place consists only of a large, narrow set of steps which are almost suitable for climbing up and abseiling down, as well as your room. To be fair though our room was quite spacious and the bathroom was modern and the place clean. Beds were small though and so was the bathroom. Wouldn't stay again at the price it was!


51%

Kind of dingy place. room were small and not that many toilets. also there is a big as steep staircase at the entrance


83%

Instructions on finding the hostel were really helpful, location was really central (hence the name), and room wasreally clean.


80%

crazy steep stairs not enough keys for one per person

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice and clean room! Shared bathroom and toilet also very clean! Location is great, 2 minutes to the metro. 3 minutes to the street with all the restaurants. i can highly recommend this place :)

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Everyone warns other potention bookers about the stairs and while yes, they are ungodly steep (as well as plentiful) my biggest turn off of the place was the intensely claustrophobic conditions inside. The place is SO small it's unbearable. I stayed in an 8 bed room with the ensuite toilet. Because of the nonexistent hallways (just tiny landings at the top of stairs), nonexistent common space/lobby and nonexistent outdoor space you feel cramped for every minute you have to be at the hostel.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

I arrived late at night the guy at the front desk was pretty rude. The hostel has no space in it except for the room itself. There are not common areas, and the corridors are extremely tight. It is about the same price as all the other hostels, so your not saving money by staying here. Also note that it is not in central station despite it's name. No bang for your buck, try somewhere else!


86%

Great staff, very good location, Rashid helped with general area information and taxi's as well as bars to visit

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Ran out of toilet paper. No common room (hard to use the internet when there's no seating and the bunks are so low!). Hard to find and so many stairs!


66%

Great location. All hostel has is 6 rooms split over 3 floors with 10 beds in each room. It does get warm/hot. But for a central place to sleep its good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello kim thanks for your stay. Not all our rooms are 10 dorm. we also have 4 dorm and 6 dorm room. staff

54%

It was a little hole in the wall hostel. I stayed for two nights. The night staff wasn't friendly at all. I wouldn't stay here again


69%

The staff was very helpful, but the wifi did not work and the toilet areas were a bit messy even before others had arrived. It was a bit overpriced for such a place, but you have to expect this in the city of Amsterdam. Overall, it was a good night of sleep. The friendliness of the staff and visitors made up for the lack of wifi.


86%

I like the hostels' staffs (rashid, ibrahim, and another rashid). They are friendly and helpful. I think the shower needs to be fixed. The water either too hot or too cold. Other than the water/shower problem, this hostel is good enough compare to some other hostels I've been.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(62 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback