X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Central Station Hostel Reviews

Steenhouwerssteeg 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
662 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The location is great.. Prices were high only because it was close to New Years but if you need a place to sleep and shower that's located where everything is this is a great hostel!


91%

Good hostel for a short stay, for example a week-end juorney. Clean rooms and bath and friendly staff. But a bit norrow and only essencial kitchen facilities there. But anyway - value for money is excellent!

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Good hostel with very good location in the city center

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good location, staffs are really friendly. However the bed is too small.


66%

When I first arrived, the person in charge at that time wasn't attentive or helpful, the stairs are so small and couldn't walk properly because of my bag and was afraid of falling down.


57%

This place will provide a bed to sleep in, that's all I can say about it. The staff is not particularly warm or welcoming, there is no such thing as atmosphere here, and it would have had to be less expensive to make me feel like I got any sort of value. However the location is great and the bathroom is nice.


80%

Central Station hostel was a great value for money. The location is excellent. Apart from some crazy, very steep stairs to the reception and the rooms, everything was fine. Clean bathrooms, strong wifi signal, courteous staff. But there is no common area to sit and socialize.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Not only are the stairs too steep to climb (even without luggage), there are no common areas, bathrooms are dirty, beds are small and the whole place is not very clean. The staff was either high out of their minds or just didint care. Do not stay here.


100%

Location was perfect , price was perfect and also STAFF was like a friend THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHİNG


80%

Steep staircase very narrow too is hard even without luggage. No lift. No towel , has to rent. Super location for tourist.


86%

Very clean and spacious room, bathroom also very clean. Stairs are extremely steep as has been noticed by others. In a very good location within walking distance of popular tourist areas, nice food outlets and some good bars. Only slight problem we had (we were a group of seven) was that we got home both nights to find people in our beds, perhaps bed allocation would be beneficial.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

This hostel is at a very good location and really cheap for amsterdam. The rooms are spacious and very clean (bathroom included). The only downside is that there is no commom room which makes it harder to meet people.


54%

It didn't have the communal feel that most hostels had.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The lockers weren't all working and couldn't accept all locks; the room was not super clean; the beds were a little bit small.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The only bad thing is the extremely narrow, steep stairs. So if your not capable of climbing this isn't the plan for you!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

If you need a bed, wifi, clean shower, good location: It's for you. If you want breakfast, good service, friendly staff: It's not for you.


83%

The central station hostel is in the centre of Amsterdam, but far from the central station. I just stayed there for one night with two friends in a ten bed room. The room was clean and quiet and had an own bathroom, but only one shower and one toilet for ten people. It is rather hard to find, so you should print the map and the route. 10/10 worth the money

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Very good position, as t is right next to Dam Square. However I think that this is the only plus. The hostel is set in a dirty and dark alley, quite difficult to find. The stairs are really steep, so one has to be very careful when descending them. The worst part is the cost: I spent 80 euros for only one night in a 8 people dormitory: it is really too much!

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello edoardo, thank you for your booking. we sent all are guests directions. please chek your e-mail. In holiday times amsterdam hostels can be pricy. Also you can see the price before you book. thank you

83%

Indeed, people should bring a small towel for the floor. There is one locker per person but 2 were broken so it was not perfect and you must have a lock. Dangerous upper beds though. However, the team is cool, they are not working 24/24 but they make sure they took care of everyone before leaving. They are friendly and are keen to give you advises about the city. Security is alright, you have a key for the main entrance and for your room. It is very well situated nearby Anne Frank's museum.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Our room was AMAZING! It was really clean and we had our own ensuite in the room which was immaculate. It's right in the middle of town just minutes from the Red Light District, Dam Square and the canals but faces a small back street so there's pretty much no noise from the busy touristy stuff. It was so easy to just pop back in and drop stuff off or pick up an extra jacket etc It really was ideal one of the best hostels I've stayed in!


(50 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback