Hostelworld.com

Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.3
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge Located at Arenal Volcano Area, , La Fortuna.
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge
Costa Rica
La Fortuna 75-4417 La Fort Arenal Volcano Area
88% 193
10.4587147 -84.6606016
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Apr 2016
8.6

Miguel and Maria were super nice, and there are loads of activities to do in the area. It was pretty quiet while we were there, but that's all we were really looking for. Would definitely go back if we were to stay in Fortuna again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
8.9

Our stay at Cerro Chato felt like we were sleeping in the rainforest. You can hear the sounds of insects going to sleep and the birds wake you up! The room was very clean and the site was very nice. I wish there were some hammocks to lie around in to enjoy the nature. Also, if you don't have a car, it is a bit far from everything. We had to walk about 30 minutes into town. Taxi can cost up to $10 for a short ride, so we chose to walk everywhere unless it was night time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2016
8.6

Its a little ways out of town but walking distance to La Fortuna waterfall. Very peaceful, great breakfast, however I did feel like the front desk guy just wanted to sell me on tours rather than providing useful information for doing exploring on my own around town which was a bit frustrating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2016
9.7

Miguel and his wife were beyond nice. Miguel arranged for all of our excursions and travel, and he was a wealth of knowledge when it came to anything Costa Rica. The hotel is set right in the jungle with a view of the volcano. We saw toucans, frogs, and other wildlife right on the hotel grounds. You can even hear the monkeys in the morning. I highly recommend this hotel to any of any age. You won't regret it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your comments . . . siempre Pura Vida !!!

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jan 2016
10.0

We spend 3 nights at cero chato eco Loge and if we had more time we even stay much longer! Its sooooo beautiful! The room was very big and the housekeeper cleaned every day. Miguel the owner is such a great host! If u are in la fortuna, it has to be a plc to stay .u feel komfortabel and a very quit plc .i will truly recomand to stay at cero chato ,it is very lovely plc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You were very kind and friendly. We greatly appreciate your comments. We hope to have them back someday to further consolidate our friendship.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2016
9.7

Miguel and his wife were so hospitable. The place was serene and a great base for exploring The surrounding town. Nice clean beds, small little pool, lots of lush rainforest intermingled within the property. It would take me too long to list all the advice and assistance the proprietors gave to my girlfriend and I, so I will just say this: you will not regret spending your money for a stay at the Cerro Chato Ecolodge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very proud of your comments, we hope you visit us again in the future because you will not be customers. . . you shall be our friends !!!

4th Dec 2015
9.1

This place is super cozy and Miguel is a great host. I enjoyed that this place was off the beaten path. If you're looking to be near the downtown scene you will be walking a bit to get there. This place however puts you within walking distance to the waterfall and Cerro Chato volcano lake. I did both and Miguel even went out of his way to give me a ride to one of the climbs. I'm glad he did because the Cerro Chato was a beast to climb in the rain. Gracias, Miguel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks, we are very grateful for your comments. You are very good people and we wish the best for you.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Nov 2015
8.0

We really had a nice time at Cherro Chato Eco Lodge! It's located near the Waterfall trail and the Cerro Chato Trail, which was very helpful for us. Miguel, the owner, is a charming man, who told us stories about his life near the Arenal Volcano and was always a helping hand. We really liked staying in our cosy little bungalow!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.