Hostelworld.com

Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 442 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 442 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Feb 2017
9.4

Great location, the view from the bar simply cannot be beaten, the short boat trip is totally worth it. Neil is super nice and very helpful. The facilities are basic, but clean. Overall great value for the money, would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
7.4

Stayed in a private room, the room wasn't very clean and had a musty smell. Atmosphere was lacking, but wasn't much of a social area besides the bar. The owner was very friendly, he cooks amazing, fair priced food! Overall good value for the money if you're looking for a place for a couple night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
9.7

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Tikal. On arrival to Flores we were told the property was a boat ride across plus a 20 minute walk, this was not the case. Was about a quick boat ride and a 5 minute walk (although up hill, was definitely worth it). Amazing view of Flores in a nice tranquil area. Beautiful owners/staff. The hostel also can help you book tickets/tours, some with breakfast included. Would suggest doing this rather than in town. Great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jan 2017
8.3

Really cool little getaway. Great owner, provides a fun atmosphere. Just be aware that in order to leave, you need to adhere to their boat schedule back to the main land. Which is Important information when planning for your days :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
6.3

The Hostel is actually located on the other side of the lake, so you have to take a ferry everytime you need something. Staff speaks barely english, not many other travellers. The owner is friendly and the view is amazing. No lockers, some rooms not clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.1

Beautiful place, just be aware that this hostel is not in flores- it is on a neighbouring island and you will need to pay for the not everyday. It doesn't cost a lot but it's an annoying expense . Owner is really lovely though x

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
8.3

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a couple of nights and have to say the owners and staff are great. Helpful and friendly. The property is really stunning with an amazing view of the water and the Island of Flores. The only thing I would say that wasnt top rate was that there is no hot water for showers and Roosters crow every morning at 4am till about 9am making it impossible to sleep, even with earplugs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comment. We know that we need to make our rooms more sound proof.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
6.0

Unfortunately, despite the owner being a great guy, I can't recommend this one - If your in the huts at the back of the property forget about having a sleep in. Roosters is one thing but a cranky neighbour who cranks his music up at sunrise is just ridiculous. There appears to be a dispute between the neighbour and the owners unfortunately. Not an issue if you're camping at the front of the property - Location is inconvenient and just doesn't justify the savings.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry folks. Cant say much about this review. This person just didn't like our place.

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Dec 2016
8.0

This is a hostel worth staying. Neil, the host, was definitely the best host we had in our journey throughout Guatemala. He's such a kind, helpful and charismatic man. He helped us to get the transport we needed and connected us to the tours, we didn't need to move a finger. He made all the necessary arrangements for us, and that was the best part of the hostel. However, the place could have some improvements with the shower(only one working), toilets and bunk beds, not so comfy. Great view too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
6.9

Off the island of Flores. Easy to get to and very friendly staff. Would definitely stay again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.