X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores Reviews

San Miguel, Flores Peten, Flores, Guatemala

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
275 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Had bad luck with the staff. They were very unreliable. We were promised three free boat rides they we had to pay for, and we were charged for doing laundry after the owner making it seem like he was doing it as a favor. We also had late pickup for checking in and for our Tikal tour. Cool spot, decent hostel, but the service we received was poor.

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Our stay was great. We only stayed one night but Neil took care that everything went perfect. The location for us was great: instead of not being able to sleep in the busy streets of Flores, we gently fell asleep in our cabaña between the bushes. Having a nice pool and a great view on the Isla Flores, Chaltun Ha is definitely worth it's money so we gladly payed a couple of Quetzales for a couple of boat rides (which is a nice ride!)

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Neil was a fantastic host who was very informative and extremely helpful. I would reccomend this hostel to anyone. The location was lovely with a beautiful view over the lake and Flores town. A very peaceful friendly place. Thank you Neil for your hospitality . Ruby & Alex from Australia

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice atmosphere . Friendly staff. It's not situated in Flores. Take that into consideration . Ifor you prefer not to stay in the centre of the buzz though , it's a great choice .


80%

It is a nice place. Nothing extraordinary but it does the job and the staff is nice. However they had a hard time managing their customers. The two nights I was there I got woken up by a group of other customers, at 4:30 am! Also, be aware that the included breakfast is in a place a couple blocks away.


60%

Great hostel, even though you need to get to it by boat, the view is amazing and it's really relaxing up there. But cos it's low season he had sent the chef away and decided to sleep all afternoon and be absent at night...so there was literally no one to ask anything. We couldn't get food or any drinks and weren't allowed to bring in food. Pretty disappointed, it kind of ruined it for us especially as everyone had such glowing reviews, still had 10 ppl staying and you need to be around.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. I sincerly appologies for not being that particular day. This wont happen again.

66%

The owner of the hostel was very helpful in arranging tours and transport. However, eating options are limited outside the hostel as this is across the lake from Flores. Ordinarily that would be fine though as it was the low season the hostel did not serve food every night, nor were they completely up to date on restocking and cleaning the bathroom. The wifi was intermittent, which made planning the next move difficult too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We are normally on top of cleaning and restocking. I will look into this. Sorry for the inconvinience.

94%

You're not gonna believe how much you can enjoy with those amazing prices. Everything was perfect. Don't worry if you have a morning bus. The boat is always ready - you only need to pay about two dollars in the morning though :)


74%

Beautiful view. Nice swiming pool and natural environment. Poor services (food and transport).


74%

This hostal is not in flores it's in San Miguel which we didn't check before booking! You have to get a boat to and from it making it super difficult especially at night. The guy who runs it is really nice, it's secure. And quite a cool hostal to be at. The rooms were nice and we weren't too hot at all.


89%

amazing little place on the hill across the lake from Flores. Niel was super helpful and very friendly, great huge cabin style rooms, pool and little restaurant. so much wildlife, including howler monkeys. no WiFi in rooms. easy to get over to Flores via boat taxi and niel arranged all of our trips and further travel. highly recommended! try the new sundown cruise!!


80%

Place is located a short boat ride away from Flores. The owner is great with communication. We enjoyed our stay. The restroom had some ants, but what do you expect from a cool little bungalow... Would recommend! The pool wasn't in use and we were the only residents there during our two days. Nice view of the water. There is a small hike involved to get to the place. The owner picks you up and drops you off if he can when you get there and leave.


80%

Great views to Flores and sunset. The hostel was pretty good, but is not very convenient to move around. Besides we couldn't get to the hostel until late evening, since you have to get there by boat.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Everything was perfect, though it didn´t have a kitchen, but a pool!! so great value for money if you want a calm and relaxed stay! :D


94%

Neil is a great host. Amazing views of Flores in your own little jungle nook. Will definitely stay here again when I go back to Guatemala

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

This hostel has enormous potential, with a fantastic view, pool and bar. The location has a con as you need boat transport to get there, making every excursion a bit more challenging. I did find the lack of a kitchen to use and store food disappointing. The beds and bathrooms weren't particularly clean. However, the hostel owner was the nicest, helping out with everything! Can't say the same for the rest of the staff though.


83%

The location is great but simple. You have to go by boat to the other side, takes 2-3 minutes.. But the view on flores is great.


100%

100% review might sound like I'm not being serious, but that's honestly the case. Neil made my stay the best of all my Central America travels and that's why I've been there twice. On this trip, he hired a local woman to climb a million steps at 8:30 at night with a stove and propane tank to cook empanadas for my girlfriend for her birthday. We were served in a treehouse with chocolate cake and coffee. For my girl's first time out of country, this will be a memory she will never forget. Ever.

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

The owner of the hostel Neil was so nice and helpful! He did everything and a little bit more for all the guest.

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We loved the view of Flores and chilled out atmosphere here. Slightly inconvienent if you have to boat to Flores often, but for us it was well worth the trip. We would stay here again and recommend it to friends!


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Flores Hostels

Please give us your feedback