Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 414 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 414 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores Located at San Miguel, Flores Peten, Flores.
Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores
Guatemala
Flores San Miguel, Flores Peten
84% 414
16.9365962 -89.8864029
Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Dec 2016
7.1

This place is really hard to find. The cafe on the Flores side where you are to get directions is closed on Sundays and closes at 3 all other days. If you take a boat to get there on your own, there are no signs, not even on the hostel itself, and the hostel is on top of a steep hill in a rural Spanish speaking area. The terrace restaurant is basicaly closed, breakfast is hit and miss, even to get water requires banging on the owner's residence and asking for it, glass by glass. Beautiful view.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
10.0

I stayed here for a quick night before heading to Hodnuras. If I would have had any idea how awesome and helpful the owner is and cool this place that over looks the lake is, I would have definitely stayed longer. Everything about this place was cool and the owner went out of his way to pick me up at night and to take me to the boat at 5AM so I could get my bus in time. I highly recommend and definitely talk to the owner before purchasing any type of excursion or bus ticket. Saved me a lot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ShannonReeve98
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
7.7

The owner is really nice and it's a fun experience, almost like camping. The bathrooms could use an update. Beautiful view and would be great for New Years.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Nov 2016
8.0

We had a great stay in Flores. To reach the hostel you need to take a boat but Neil the owner is picking you up on the other side on arrival. The hostel is kinda far from the city but totally worth it and the boat costs only $5Q each. Nice dorms, pool and cheap beer. Also very helpful with booking tours. Would stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Nov 2016
9.4

Great hostel in a perfect and tranquil location. The owner is a fantastic person and the rooms are clean and cosy. Would love to come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • natashapaine
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Nov 2016
8.0

Beautiful secluded hostel in natural setting overlooking the lake. Basic cabin with all the necessities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Oct 2016
10.0

Stayed there with a friend. The host is a very nice and helpful guy and was there whenever we needed him. Even when we needed to go on a sunrise tour to Tikal at 3 AM, he woke up with us gave us a ride and walked with us to the people in charge of the tour. The accommodation was a really nice house with a porch with three beds inside and private bathroom and shower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2016
9.1

Very nice dorms, with ceiling fan and breezy fly screened windows! We had no trouble getting water taxis to and from the hostel. Usually for about 5Q per person. The pool was nice and clean, food was great, and the view over flores is defiantly worth it! Try not to book ANY bus fairs upon arrival into Flores. Neil (The owner) warned me about the local travel companies high pressure sales techniques and he was correct. ALWAYS talk to the hostel owners before booking busses across Guatemala.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Oct 2016
6.6

The owner Neil was very helpful in organizing our Tikal trip and Shuttle to the next place. Its a Q5pp (one way) trip to visit Flores. The place is not in Flores. But the water taxi is cheap and easy to use

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
5.4

The view from the restaurant/bar is stunning but, being across the lake from town, eating options are limited to the hostel restaurant, which can be a bit expensive, if delicious. The dorm floor was pretty dirty and the fan didn't work but the beds were comfortable enough and luckily it was cool enough that fan wasn't essential. Showers and toilets were often a bit unclean and there tended to be no paper in the mornings. Neil was lovely and very helpful! A good retreat.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Folks Sorry about this review. I think everyone knows the hostel is across the lake from Flores. I must apologies for saying this. To say our food is expensive is just preposterous. Our food is definitely not expensive. If one believe the food is too expensive then it will definitely not taste delicious. The ceiling fan didn't work we provided a standing one. I will look into the cleanliness of the showers and toilet. Just to make sure this isn't happening. Thanks for input.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.