Hostelworld.com

Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 342 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 342 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores Located at San Miguel, Flores Peten, Flores.
Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores
Guatemala
Flores San Miguel, Flores Peten
87% 342
16.9365962 -89.8864029
Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
7.7

Pros: a beautiful hostel with views of Flores from above, felt a bit like an Eco resort. - the owner was really lovely and very helpful with trips to Tikal and leaving for Rio dulce etc. Cons- we found the location to be a massive ballache. It's across the water in a water taxi and then up a very steep hill, not ideal as every time you need to do anything in town, shops etc you have to mission it across. All in all a lovely hostel if you have the patience for the location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Jamaica, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Apr 2016
10.0

Neil, the owner is the nicest. Very helpful and kind. Taking the water taxis across the lake is no extra work, it's literally a 2minute boat ride and the view you get from the hostel makes it totally worth it. Let Neil book your Tikal tour and shuttle buses for you. You will get a lunch box each time and he will drive you down to the water taxi. Stay here if you want to have a pleasant time. Nothing beats a clean hostel with a great view, a helpful owner and good vibes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.9

We had a fab time at this hostel. The owner, Neil, couldn't have been more helpful or lovely. He got up at 4am with us for our trip to Tikal to make sure we got to the shuttle meeting point okay and even packed us a lunch. I didn't find the boat ride inconvenient at all, it was actually really cute and the view of Flores made it more than worth it. Would definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
7.1

Even though this is an adequate hostel the location is a bit weird and the owner is EXTREMELY rude. The rest of the staff is really nice, but when you don't buy into what the owner offers you, he treats you like you're nothing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
8.0

Overall great experience. Be sure to read the other reviews, and you will not be disappointed. Cheap hostel with amazing pool and views. I enjoyed the boat rides and chose to eat elsewhere during my stay. Not hard if you speak even passable Spanish. Exactly what I was looking for and as long as you inform yourself, I'm sure you'll have a great experience as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
8.0

We loved this hostel and thought the location was great - the view is amazing and the taxi boat across the water was enjoyable. But if you're looking for something a little more convenient this might not necessarily be the place for you. Neil was a great host - very helpful and knowledgeable. The other staff members were very new to the hostel and weren't particularly well informed yet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • elladoonan6292
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Apr 2016
7.4

Clean and comfortable, it was nice to wake up surrounded by nature. The bungalows are great although there are no lockers. The meals are really expensive - almost the same price as the room - and there are no cooking facilities. The staff are super helpful though. Better directions to the place might help because I didn't know that cafe uka would call the hostel to send a boat over and the cafe was closed when I arrived so it was really just luck that I even made it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
8.9

Super neat hostel with a unique location (you take a water taxi to get there). Sunset was amazing from the deck, a small pool to cool off in and the staff was extremely personable and friendly. you stay in bunk cabanas and walk through small jungle paths to get there. Great spot for a night or two and a Cheap water taxi ride to isla Flores.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2016
8.6

This was exactly what I needed. Chaltunha Hostel is secluded -- you'll need to ask the owner for a water taxi whenever you want to go into Flores -- but it's a perfect place to get away. The bar boasts a spectacular view over Flores and Lake Peten Itza (seriously, it's like a postcard come to life). The dorms consist of simple cabins in a little forest. Neighbors play music nearby, but they seem to shut it down around bedtime. Overall, this is a great place to get away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
8.9

If you are staying in Flores there is no other option. Neil, the owner, is incredibly helpful. He will help guest arrange travel and tours for there journey while giving sound advice. He goes above and behind the call of duty for a hostel owner. The bar offers competitive prices and his tab option is helpful but makes it easy to rack up a bill. The kitchen is superb and beats almost any resteraunt in Flores. I would make a trip to Flores just for this hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.