Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 481 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 481 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
7.1

Most of the facilities listed on Hostel World were not available during our stay. There was no bar, no restaurant, no free boat shuttle every 2 hours and most annoyingly not even water for sale (nearest shop is a decent walk). Knowing all this we would have stayed anyway but it would be nice to see the Hostel description changed until these facilities are up and running again. The owner Neil was very friendly and helpful but it was hard to find help when he was away. Worth it for the view!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
8.9

Really nice place and Neil was very helpful with arranging tours, buses and pickup on arrival.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
6.9

***location is not as suggested on Hostelworld*** it is a short but $5Q boat ride each way accross the lake. The view is beautiful however it was not what we booked as we wanted to stay on the island. Owner Neil is friendly and helpful. Hostel is not close to any restaurants which meant we had to get a boat accross and back for food, as Neil advised his chef had recently left. Bed was comfortable. Outside bathrooms were fine, however very dark at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
29th Jun 2017
9.7

Had a great stay here, Neil was awesome and helped sort out anything we needed! I have been recommending to all backpackers we've met!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much for your kind words.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th May 2017
8.6

We really enjoyed our stay and the owner was amazing and did everything he could to help us out. It was a little inconvenient to not have direct access to a kitchen or restaurant.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
4th May 2017
7.4

Amazing place to see from in front the island. Really nice swiming pool. I recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
8.6

Hostal Chaltunha was a nice, inexpensive hostel in San Miguel, a short boat ride across the lake from the island of Flores. The best part of the hostel is the magnificent view of Flores from the dining and hangout area. The owner is also extremely helpful. For example, when he knows that someone will be leaving early one morning, he will call the boat operators to make sure they have a ride. I also had to find another hostel for the next day, and he drove me and my luggage to another hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Apr 2017
4.0

We had a great stay there, beginning of April 2017. But what a surprise end of May when I noticed 3 new transactions from the hostel on my credit card ! Neil (the owner of the hostel) didn't answer on whatsap nor by the phone. Complain filed since that. So I would rather not recommend the place anymore... :-(

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Folks. What is happening here is we had a hotel on Flores Island called Chaltunha Hotel Flores Island. We also noticed when we had this hotel. There was only one ATM machine on the Island. Us with all good intention applied for an ATM machine. However the ATM machine was named after our hotel. Now anyone that uses this machine our clients or not. Will have a transaction in the Bank Account that says Chaltunha Hotel. Now this will look like we are charging our guests cards. Now what makes matters worst is that it appears that this ATM has been compromise and open to illegal activities. We have brought this matter to the bank and is in the hands of the bank.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
6.3

Had his best times... Neil was a very friendly host, but the hostel isn't the best to recommend, cause the huts aren't maintained anymore

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments. Renovation and repairs are on the way. We need to wait until slow season.

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
4.0

Pros:great view worth 5Q to cross; they booked an early morning boat for us and fixed the shower (now w hot water) Cons:atmosphere dead; rooster, dogs and loud neighbours from early morning.No bar, no restaurant and don't accept CC as advertised. No staff at all, only the owner that was almost never in, every time had to knock on the door of their house if we had a question. Tried to charge us the deposit fee of HW again and more than the price listed on HW. There was no Neil from prev. reviews

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry Folks. This review is not entirely accurate. The noise of the rooster, dog and neighbors is true. We are making changes to reduce the noise. The situation with the fees. Is not true. This person did not want to pay the value in US currency. They just wanted to pay the number they saw in Quetzales.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.