Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 464 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 464 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
4th May 2017
7.4

Amazing place to see from in front the island. Really nice swiming pool. I recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
8.6

Hostal Chaltunha was a nice, inexpensive hostel in San Miguel, a short boat ride across the lake from the island of Flores. The best part of the hostel is the magnificent view of Flores from the dining and hangout area. The owner is also extremely helpful. For example, when he knows that someone will be leaving early one morning, he will call the boat operators to make sure they have a ride. I also had to find another hostel for the next day, and he drove me and my luggage to another hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
6.3

Had his best times... Neil was a very friendly host, but the hostel isn't the best to recommend, cause the huts aren't maintained anymore

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
4.0

Pros:great view worth 5Q to cross; they booked an early morning boat for us and fixed the shower (now w hot water) Cons:atmosphere dead; rooster, dogs and loud neighbours from early morning.No bar, no restaurant and don't accept CC as advertised. No staff at all, only the owner that was almost never in, every time had to knock on the door of their house if we had a question. Tried to charge us the deposit fee of HW again and more than the price listed on HW. There was no Neil from prev. reviews

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
8.9

A simple but cute hostel and definitely worth the money. It's very quiet but it's a nice place to unwind after a long day after walking around at the ruins. The owner, Neil, is really nice and helped me with transportation and guided me around Flores when I was confused. Cute hammocks and a great view of the water. Note that this hostel isn't on the island itself so you have to take a water taxi from the island but it doesn't take too long.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Mar 2017
6.9

Sweet staff but no People.The hostel is on the other side of Flores so you need to Take a water taxi for about 6 Q pr person One Way. The closest supermarket etc is on Flores. The owner is so helpful. Bathroom facilities was bad, no light on the toilets and no water ind the showers Bring insect repellent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments. We have our boat so crossing the lake if free as long as one wait for the boat. Lights have been replaced. The water situation was that there wasn't any water for that entire day.

17th Feb 2017
7.7

This is a bit tricky to get to but worth it for the view and peace. If that's not what you're looking for go elsewhere. The owner was friendly and helpful. I booked the early tour to Tikal and he took me over on the ferry to the island and made sure I got the transport. Negatives are that they advertise a menu but on 2 occasions I was informed this was not available. This wouldn't be a big deal normally but due to the location this was. I also had no key for my room and there were no mirrors!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Feb 2017
9.4

Great location, the view from the bar simply cannot be beaten, the short boat trip is totally worth it. Neil is super nice and very helpful. The facilities are basic, but clean. Overall great value for the money, would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
7.4

Stayed in a private room, the room wasn't very clean and had a musty smell. Atmosphere was lacking, but wasn't much of a social area besides the bar. The owner was very friendly, he cooks amazing, fair priced food! Overall good value for the money if you're looking for a place for a couple night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments. I will look into the cleaning of the room. I must say this is strange because our room are normally very clean. The smell is also surprising because we have an open air system in the rooms. So its difficult to generate musty smells. Thanks for choosing Chaltunha Hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
9.7

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Tikal. On arrival to Flores we were told the property was a boat ride across plus a 20 minute walk, this was not the case. Was about a quick boat ride and a 5 minute walk (although up hill, was definitely worth it). Amazing view of Flores in a nice tranquil area. Beautiful owners/staff. The hostel also can help you book tickets/tours, some with breakfast included. Would suggest doing this rather than in town. Great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.