Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 387 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 387 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores Located at San Miguel, Flores Peten, Flores.
Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores
Guatemala
Flores San Miguel, Flores Peten
84% 387
16.9365962 -89.8864029
Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
5.4

The view from the restaurant/bar is stunning but, being across the lake from town, eating options are limited to the hostel restaurant, which can be a bit expensive, if delicious. The dorm floor was pretty dirty and the fan didn't work but the beds were comfortable enough and luckily it was cool enough that fan wasn't essential. Showers and toilets were often a bit unclean and there tended to be no paper in the mornings. Neil was lovely and very helpful! A good retreat.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Folks Sorry about this review. I think everyone knows the hostel is across the lake from Flores. I must apologies for saying this. To say our food is expensive is just preposterous. Our food is definitely not expensive. If one believe the food is too expensive then it will definitely not taste delicious. The ceiling fan didn't work we provided a standing one. I will look into the cleanliness of the showers and toilet. Just to make sure this isn't happening. Thanks for input.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Aug 2016
8.9

I had a great stay at Chaltunha Hostel. Neil, the owner, has been very accommodating and helpful during my stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful as well. Great community area with hammocks to chill. Or you could grab one of the lanchas (water taxis) and hop over to Flores to spend some time in town. The lodges/rooms are basic but sufficient to rest your head. And the view of Flores is spectacular.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
8.0

Very relaxing place with great views over the lake.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
9.4

I had a fantastic time at the hostel with fellow guests, staff and Nial the owner making it really special. Good food, cheap beer and a 5 star view, along with hammocks, swimming pool and a decent bed. Excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Aug 2016
10.0

What a gem! Chaltunha boasts a stunning panoramic view of Flores and a friendly, laid-back atmosphere. The owner, Neil, seems to know everyone and everything about Flores, and is more than happy to help you figure out transportation and activities. I was nervous about the fact that there was no AC, but between the fans and the large windows in the dorm rooms, it was lovely and cool at night. The attached restaurant and bar has a limited menu, but the food is good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.0

Very quiet as we headed here after the hurricane but lovely location. Very chilled atmosphere. Have to get a little boat to the mainland but it costs hardly anything and boats run very late and start early.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
9.4

Super friendly staff, particularly Neil who is really welcoming and hospitable. We were unfortunate enough to be caught there in the hurricane and there was no power on the island all day but Neil was still able to provide a great service including a delicious hurricane breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
9.7

Staying at this hostel was an absolute delight. While we were there we were unlucky enough to time it with the arrival of hurricane earl. Such circumstances obviously put limits on what a hostel can offer, however, Niel (the wonderful owner of the hostel), went above and beyond his call of duty to make sure we were all comfortable, well fed, and overall having an enjoyable time :) :) cannot recommend it more highly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
9.4

Excellent place for a hostel. Views from the hostel looking over the lake at Flores are beautiful. Staff were fantastic, helping to book day tours and always giving advice and information.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th May 2016
9.7

One of the coolest hostels in Guatemala, located on an island just opposite of Flores Island, you can get there by a ferry for 5Q. The cabin are cute and clean, view amazing! The owner Neil is the most welcoming owner you could wish for. He will pick you up in the city and bring you to the island and help arrange well priced shuttles to other cities. He also warned us about the "scar-tour-seller" who jumps into shuttle. The pool is currently broken down, food a little pricy but very tasty.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.