Hostelworld.com

Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 358 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 358 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores Located at San Miguel, Flores Peten, Flores.
Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores
Guatemala
Flores San Miguel, Flores Peten
86% 358
16.9365962 -89.8864029
Chaltunha Hostel San Miguel Flores
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
7.1

We loved our stay at Chaltunha. Views are unbeatable but it is a boat ride from flores. Nice food, really cheep beers and comfortable cabin rooms. Unfortunately the pool wasn't working otherwise it would have been 5 star! Worth noting that it is in a family home so sometimes felt a little in the way but generally great atmosphere and great staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th May 2016
8.0

The view is unbeatable, and the rooms were comfy and clean. Getting accross the lake isn't hard, organise with Neil when you will arrive so he can have some pick you up and a tuktuk to drive you up the hill as it is massive. The only things to make this place even better is being able to use the pool & someone there at all times who speaks English (ordering food etc. was very hard at times). We found the roosters & dogs surrounding very noisy at night which was a shame. Overall really good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2016
9.4

Great spot! The owner bends over his back to help you with everything and gives great information about future destinations. The only thing is they don't have lockers but the owner will store your valuables if needed. Would defiantly come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sarahcarroll91
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.6

This hostel has an incredible view of Flores. The location is mostly bearable as long as you don't need to get anything done (eat, get cash out etc) in a hurry as it is a boat ride too and from town and a 10 minute walk up a steep hill. The owner was very helpful and compensated for the location by offering us lifts when possible. He also took us to the rope swing because the pool was out of action. It is obvious a lot of effort goes in to running the place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
7.7

Pros: a beautiful hostel with views of Flores from above, felt a bit like an Eco resort. - the owner was really lovely and very helpful with trips to Tikal and leaving for Rio dulce etc. Cons- we found the location to be a massive ballache. It's across the water in a water taxi and then up a very steep hill, not ideal as every time you need to do anything in town, shops etc you have to mission it across. All in all a lovely hostel if you have the patience for the location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Jamaica, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Apr 2016
10.0

Neil, the owner is the nicest. Very helpful and kind. Taking the water taxis across the lake is no extra work, it's literally a 2minute boat ride and the view you get from the hostel makes it totally worth it. Let Neil book your Tikal tour and shuttle buses for you. You will get a lunch box each time and he will drive you down to the water taxi. Stay here if you want to have a pleasant time. Nothing beats a clean hostel with a great view, a helpful owner and good vibes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.9

We had a fab time at this hostel. The owner, Neil, couldn't have been more helpful or lovely. He got up at 4am with us for our trip to Tikal to make sure we got to the shuttle meeting point okay and even packed us a lunch. I didn't find the boat ride inconvenient at all, it was actually really cute and the view of Flores made it more than worth it. Would definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
7.1

Even though this is an adequate hostel the location is a bit weird and the owner is EXTREMELY rude. The rest of the staff is really nice, but when you don't buy into what the owner offers you, he treats you like you're nothing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
8.0

Overall great experience. Be sure to read the other reviews, and you will not be disappointed. Cheap hostel with amazing pool and views. I enjoyed the boat rides and chose to eat elsewhere during my stay. Not hard if you speak even passable Spanish. Exactly what I was looking for and as long as you inform yourself, I'm sure you'll have a great experience as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
8.0

We loved this hostel and thought the location was great - the view is amazing and the taxi boat across the water was enjoyable. But if you're looking for something a little more convenient this might not necessarily be the place for you. Neil was a great host - very helpful and knowledgeable. The other staff members were very new to the hostel and weren't particularly well informed yet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.