Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Charlestons NotSo Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 254 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 254 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Feb 2017
8.0

this is my 2nd visit - things lined up better the first time around. I do not like that check-in is only from 5-10PM. There are only 2 full bathrooms for the 40+ guests. there arent any hostel/community events. it is just a cheap place to stay while in charleston. visits will vary greatly depending on who else is staying here. there arent any other options in all of NC/SC... if you want to stay in a hostel, this is it. great location, though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
9.7

Nice hostel in a beautiful house, good facilities and free breakfast. The free parking on the property was much appreciated. Also, it is quite easy to reach from I-26 and highway 17, which greatly helps on busy days.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
8.6

Nice hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
8.3

Not so Hostel is located in a historic community. The common areas are well furnished. The two bathrooms have stone tile and new fixtures. The mixed bedroom was clean and comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • robincheetham
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
31st Jan 2017
10.0

First time in Charleston. As I got to NotSo hostel early, I was wandering around and I saw all of the news articles which had mentioned the owner and her story is great! She is an icon in the hostel world and what she's done is an incredible job. Being the only hostel in NotSo, the rate is unbelievably good. I think further down in Savannah there's only one hostel and it's about $85 a night. NotSo is great! Location and the balcony is amazing, I sat for hours reading my book. Thanks guys!!!!!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.0

The US needs a better handle on how to do hostels, but this hostel definitely hits the minimum requirements. The rooms are basic and the location is really accessible, but the breakfast they talk about is minimal and the space is mainly for those passing through. Perhaps I'm spoilt by traveling around the world, but for the price, I'd have expected more.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
9.4

Absolutely excellent hostel. I'll be staying here every time I'm in Charleston.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Nov 2016
4.6

Not the best Hostel. Sorry, no facilites, no staff available. Expensive for the value The location is aceptable

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2016
10.0

Great place to stay plus good food places close by

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Oct 2016
8.0

I had a great time at the Not So Hostel in Charleston. It was in a great location and the building was secure. But staff was really only available from 5-10PM and they only have two toilets/showers in the main building. It was a long wait in the morning just to pee. But I would stay again if I returned.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.