Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Charlestons NotSo Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 226 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 226 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9
Charlestons NotSo Hostel Located at 156 Spring St., , Charleston.
Charlestons NotSo Hostel
USA
Charleston South Carolina 29403 156 Spring St.
84% 226
32.7889350 -79.9498420
Charlestons NotSo Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Aug 2016
7.7

cons: THERE WAS A DEAD COCKROACH IN OUR ROOM. The lock on the door to our room didn't work so unless you slammed it hard anyone could come right in. Didn't really enforce quiet hours. Pros: Really nice shower Offered breakfast Close to awesome restaurants Free parking

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2016
10.0

The owners, Victoria and Lee, are very welcoming. Accommodation is not state of the art, but it wouldn't fit Charlestons' profile if it was. The buildings are somewhat Cuban-y: small, but sufficient. Airconditioning is present. ith its broad range of bars and restaurants on King Street nightlife is spectacular and with the several different plantations (e.g. Boone Plantation) in the area the historical part of it all is impressive and a must-see.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
6.9

About a 15 minute walk from Kings St., which is downtown Charleston. Beds are comfortable, rooms have no AC, but there are fans that you can use to keep cool at night. Wi-fi only works well in the 1st floor. Restrooms were not that clean. We were able to use fridge to store food and I saw others using the stove and pots to cook their own food

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
9.1

The buildings have so much character, great covered porches with a swing. I was in a 4 bed dorm on the second floor which was comfortable, there is a kitchen and bathroom on each floor. The staff is very helpful. Breakfast is the usual toast and coffee but it is.good. The hostel is about 20-30 minute walk to downtown Charleston, but there is the trolly during the day and uber is just a few dollars. Good resturants, coffeeshops, bar nearby. All in all a great location I will definitely return.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2016
9.7

nice hostel in the historic district and very cheap! we only stayed for one night but it was clean and was a very short walk to a strip of bars as well as the liberty bell and independence hall. There was no lock on the door to the room but they had a lock on the front door with a number code. You have to take your shoes off at the door, they have a nice kitchen and common area, they do happy hours with free beers plus bar crawls on the weekends, and the room was spacious for twelve people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
29th May 2016
6.3

The hostel was very quiet but that may have been down to the tropical storm. The staffing is kinda weird in that they're there for a few hours in morning and again in the evening. On my first morning I had a rude awakening by a staff member coming into the room without knocking and checking the beds. It was 9am so it wasn't that late; she did not say hi or sorry. And her cleaning was picking up a bit of rubbish and leaving. It made me question just how clean the hostel was as it was dusty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
8.9

Good time , nice people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th May 2016
8.3

Excellente location. Walking distance from Charleston historical centre and touris areas. They give you a security code for entrance, so you can get in and out whenever you want. Also the rooms got security codes. Really safe. The common areas are good. Got 2 kitchens where you can cook yourself. The staff was very friendly. Overall, I strongly recommend the Not So Hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
7.4

Decent hostel as far as American hostels go. Staff was friendly but rarely initiate conversation, they also kept the place clean and helped when asked. Doors to rooms are not self-locking so you have to hope that whoever of your roommates is last out remembers to lock the door. Breakfast should be served earlier than 8:30 since tourist places open at 9:00. Location was okay as it was a 20 minute walk to downtown. The neighborhood was rundown but very safe. I would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nathybolso
  • Uruguay, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd May 2016
7.4

It is an ok hostel. The big problem it has is that even though it is near the tourist parts is not that near and it is really bad connected (but to be fair the public transportation in the city was bad). Local people told me that the zone wasn't the best although it wasn't awfull. The girl that was there was very helpfull and nice, but the fact that there was nobody 24/7 makes you feel kind of unprotected. There were medicines and feminine products in the bath, that was a nice touch.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.