Hostelworld.com

Charlestons NotSo Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
Charlestons NotSo Hostel Located at 156 Spring St., , Charleston.
Charlestons NotSo Hostel
USA
Charleston South Carolina 29403 156 Spring St.
83% 215
32.7889350 -79.9498420
Charlestons NotSo Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th May 2016
6.3

The hostel was very quiet but that may have been down to the tropical storm. The staffing is kinda weird in that they're there for a few hours in morning and again in the evening. On my first morning I had a rude awakening by a staff member coming into the room without knocking and checking the beds. It was 9am so it wasn't that late; she did not say hi or sorry. And her cleaning was picking up a bit of rubbish and leaving. It made me question just how clean the hostel was as it was dusty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
8.9

Good time , nice people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
7.4

Decent hostel as far as American hostels go. Staff was friendly but rarely initiate conversation, they also kept the place clean and helped when asked. Doors to rooms are not self-locking so you have to hope that whoever of your roommates is last out remembers to lock the door. Breakfast should be served earlier than 8:30 since tourist places open at 9:00. Location was okay as it was a 20 minute walk to downtown. The neighborhood was rundown but very safe. I would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nathybolso
  • Uruguay, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd May 2016
7.4

It is an ok hostel. The big problem it has is that even though it is near the tourist parts is not that near and it is really bad connected (but to be fair the public transportation in the city was bad). Local people told me that the zone wasn't the best although it wasn't awfull. The girl that was there was very helpfull and nice, but the fact that there was nobody 24/7 makes you feel kind of unprotected. There were medicines and feminine products in the bath, that was a nice touch.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
8.3

Well equipped hostel, the only one in Charleston. Little far from main Center but only 20 mins walk. Nice old style house. Clean and friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
7.4

A beautiful hostel, but not necessarily the most functional. Our room lacked enough electrical outlets (only one and it was by the door). The table lamp was too far from the outlet to be plugged in. The "free breakfast" was a bit misleading-- breakfast was some bread and old peanut butter. Perhaps make that a bit clearer. Also check out time was not specified in an e-mail & an employee very rudely told us "to get out now" when she walked into our room. I would stay again, but not first choic

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Apr 2016
8.6

A good little hostel, just outside the main area of town. Staff are friendly and helpful and the free breakfast is super useful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2016
8.3

Clean. Good location. Walk downtown 40 mins or take the free trolley from the next street over. Friendly staff. Cooking facilities. Only 2 bathrooms in the main house, so you might have to wait for one in the morning; I recommend taking a shower at night so you can get in and don't feel rushed. Plenty of hot water and good shower pressure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
7.1

Lovely homely hostel, unique touches. Nice that breakfast was free and that it wasn't to expensive to wash clothes. Just a forewarning to those who prefer to be able to lock their suitcase in a locker when they go out for the day. It is possible but you won't be to fit it in the lockers in the room as are quite small, the only option is one of four possible back downstairs. The location isn't too bad it's just a short walk to Kings St and felt safe coming back at night (possibly buddy up)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 43 reviews
20th Mar 2016
6.6

Ok - Cramped little hostel that could do with some more bathrooms. I didn't see staff the whole time I was there. Otherwise OK, and location was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.