Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Charlestons NotSo Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 233 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 233 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
Charlestons NotSo Hostel Located at 156 Spring St., , Charleston.
Charlestons NotSo Hostel
USA
Charleston South Carolina 29403 156 Spring St.
86% 233
32.7889350 -79.9498420
Charlestons NotSo Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Sep 2016
8.9

There's only staff from 5pm-10pm which is different from other hostels that I have stayed in. The place is within walking distance to downtown but I mostly used uber to get around. The place is the cleanest and have the best security of all the ones that I have stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Sep 2016
10.0

This place is an absolute gem, I'm so glad this lovely hostel is here so I was able to visit this city. The hostel is great, good beds, great location, and lots of fellow travellers to chat to. It's really close to king street for all your shopping/drinking/sightseeing needs. Basically the perfect place to stay for a traveller visiting this beautiful city!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
9.4

On an all round basis, this is the best hostel I have stayed at in the last 2.5 weeks of this trip. Sure I have had better breakfasts elsewhere, but in terms of all round comfort, security, facilities, friendliness and helpfulness of staff this place was great. In addition and quite importantly the hostel was not a huge facility so allowed for all hostelees to get to know each other easily - something that was much appreciated by me as a solo traveller.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
7.4

My main issue with this hostel was that it was difficult to meet other travelers. They don't sell beer or organize any events. However, from a value standpoint everything was worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
8.9

Awesome location, i was able to meet some new peeps while staying at the hostel that were later introduced and hung out with some other friends that i was in town to see!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2016
8.3

It was a good location other than being difficult to get to from the airport. My only issue was that I came back to the room one night and it smelled like someone had been smoking pot in the room. Since I was sharing a room with one of their staff members it made me a little annoyed. Other than that they were very friendly and I would definitely consider going back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Aug 2016
7.7

cons: THERE WAS A DEAD COCKROACH IN OUR ROOM. The lock on the door to our room didn't work so unless you slammed it hard anyone could come right in. Didn't really enforce quiet hours. Pros: Really nice shower Offered breakfast Close to awesome restaurants Free parking

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2016
10.0

The owners, Victoria and Lee, are very welcoming. Accommodation is not state of the art, but it wouldn't fit Charlestons' profile if it was. The buildings are somewhat Cuban-y: small, but sufficient. Airconditioning is present. ith its broad range of bars and restaurants on King Street nightlife is spectacular and with the several different plantations (e.g. Boone Plantation) in the area the historical part of it all is impressive and a must-see.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
6.9

About a 15 minute walk from Kings St., which is downtown Charleston. Beds are comfortable, rooms have no AC, but there are fans that you can use to keep cool at night. Wi-fi only works well in the 1st floor. Restrooms were not that clean. We were able to use fridge to store food and I saw others using the stove and pots to cook their own food

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
9.1

The buildings have so much character, great covered porches with a swing. I was in a 4 bed dorm on the second floor which was comfortable, there is a kitchen and bathroom on each floor. The staff is very helpful. Breakfast is the usual toast and coffee but it is.good. The hostel is about 20-30 minute walk to downtown Charleston, but there is the trolly during the day and uber is just a few dollars. Good resturants, coffeeshops, bar nearby. All in all a great location I will definitely return.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.