Hostelworld.com

Charlestons NotSo Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 249 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 249 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
8.3

Not so Hostel is located in a historic community. The common areas are well furnished. The two bathrooms have stone tile and new fixtures. The mixed bedroom was clean and comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • robincheetham
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
31st Jan 2017
10.0

First time in Charleston. As I got to NotSo hostel early, I was wandering around and I saw all of the news articles which had mentioned the owner and her story is great! She is an icon in the hostel world and what she's done is an incredible job. Being the only hostel in NotSo, the rate is unbelievably good. I think further down in Savannah there's only one hostel and it's about $85 a night. NotSo is great! Location and the balcony is amazing, I sat for hours reading my book. Thanks guys!!!!!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
9.4

Absolutely excellent hostel. I'll be staying here every time I'm in Charleston.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Nov 2016
4.6

Not the best Hostel. Sorry, no facilites, no staff available. Expensive for the value The location is aceptable

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2016
10.0

Great place to stay plus good food places close by

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Oct 2016
8.0

I had a great time at the Not So Hostel in Charleston. It was in a great location and the building was secure. But staff was really only available from 5-10PM and they only have two toilets/showers in the main building. It was a long wait in the morning just to pee. But I would stay again if I returned.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2016
9.7

Great place to stay. Clean, comfortable, secure. Lots of information on things to do in Charleston, plus free wi-fi and free breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Sep 2016
8.9

There's only staff from 5pm-10pm which is different from other hostels that I have stayed in. The place is within walking distance to downtown but I mostly used uber to get around. The place is the cleanest and have the best security of all the ones that I have stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
8.0

Overall very pleasing, staff was welcoming and the place was nice. The showers were really great! I stayed in the middle house and didn't really meet many people so I think the atmosphere might have been a bit better/more exciting in the main one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Sep 2016
10.0

This place is an absolute gem, I'm so glad this lovely hostel is here so I was able to visit this city. The hostel is great, good beds, great location, and lots of fellow travellers to chat to. It's really close to king street for all your shopping/drinking/sightseeing needs. Basically the perfect place to stay for a traveller visiting this beautiful city!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.