X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Charlie Rockets Reviews

Hoogstraat 19, B-8000, Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1357 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Poor wi-fi....

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

There are probably better places to stay. The bar downstairs is cool though.


63%

The main attraction for this hostel is the bar which does end up getting quite busy during the nights. The pool table is ridiculously overpriced for 8 euros per hour, the staff couldn't seem to care less and wanted to deal with you quickly so they could get other things done. The set-up for the dorm rooms themselves is probably the weirdest I've seen with the steep fluro green staircase leading to your room, and such up and down directions to your room. Wouldn't stay more than one night here.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Staying in Charlie Rockets was very nice. There's a bar in ground floor, so you can have a good time and taste the excellent Belgian beers without going too far. Everything was very clean, the bathroom is big. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only problem was that we booked a room for 6 and were put in a room for 8, thus we had to share it (we were in a group of 6 people), but since we stayed there for only one night and the mates were a nice couple, we let that go.


77%

Nice and characteristic Hostel with friendly staff right in the centre of the city!

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The place is a bar and they have loud music until 4am we can listen from our rooms The breakfast is like nothing and you need to pay for it They dint have wi-fi in the rooms and the light in the bedroom is terrible, we can not read at night, for example And the heating of my room was not working

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

There aren't lockers in the bedroom, and the shower in my bedroom didn't work. It's more a bar (a good one) then a hostel, but the hostel is ok


31%

Don't stay here if you are able to pay a bit more for something decent. It is mainly a bar with a hostel on the side. The bar is great but if you book a hostel you want a place to sleep. It was really loud, humid, and the whole place smelled like a toilet. Our shower didn't have hot water. We were crammed in a room with six beds when clearly only 4 could fit comfortably. No heater or it didn't work, really cold in the rooms. The only thing good I can say about the place is the location.


97%

The staff were all amazing.. everyone was so friendly and polite. The atmosphere was awesome, it was a very busy and popular bar, but you couldn't hear the noise in the bedrooms which was awesome. The location is amazing, so close to the centre of the city. It was difficult to drive to at the time, but that is because there was construction.


66%

We heard loud music from the cafe (part of the hostel) up till 4 am. That was really annoying! Although it is a really nice cafe it is not that strange that the average hostel guests would like to sleep at around midnight or 1 am. As the cafe is a part of the hostel I expect that the hostel takes this into account.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The sink drain of the bedroom was not working well. The toilets were dirty.. many people from the bar used them and there was a lot of noise. The beds were really old and weak. One of them broke when someone was sleeping. One of the two showers of the floor was not good.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The location is perfect. The bar was great craic. I would stay here again.


63%

Probably one of the worst hostels I've stayed at. Its mainly a bar with a hostel as a second thought. Breakfast is extra and didn't look that great. Almost no one staying there when I was there and if there were I wouldn't know them from the other bar patrons. No kitchen facilities only over priced food from the attached restaurant. Showers lukewarm. Just felt very stale and uninviting. Also had to give in the key when leaving for the day, thought that was odd. Go elsewhere if you can.


94%

If you are looking for a festive place to stay in Brugge, this would be the place to choose, as there is a bar on the bottom floor. No breakfast included with your stay, but the room was clean and the facilities good enough. I enjoyed my stay there, as it was problem free.


89%

Great location and good bar. Has everything you need.

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Too much disorder during the night.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Febbb
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

All in all, a terrible experience. My friend got lice from sleeping on the pillowcases here. Our room was absolutely FREEZING - the heater did not work and we had to pile on covers to stay warm. We were aware that it is located on top of a bar, but the sound carried much farther than expected and went on all night.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic place and staff couldn't be more helpful. If you like music and a place stuffed with character this is the place. Good free breakfast and coffee too. They have great plans for improvements too do go check it out

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Charlie Rockets was in a great location very close to Markt. Samuel was really helpful recommending what to see and where to go. The showers required you to press a button every 10 seconds or so to keep the water running which was a bit annoying and no lockers for personal items. Overall,, the bar down below has an awesome ambiance, the place is clean and the people are friendly.


83%

Excellent place to stay in regards to location and how welcoming the locals are. Staff were all lovely and really good atmosphere. There were no lockers in the room or under bed storage.


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback