X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Charlie Rockets Reviews

Hoogstraat 19, B-8000, Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1318 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The location is perfect. The bar was great craic. I would stay here again.


63%

Probably one of the worst hostels I've stayed at. Its mainly a bar with a hostel as a second thought. Breakfast is extra and didn't look that great. Almost no one staying there when I was there and if there were I wouldn't know them from the other bar patrons. No kitchen facilities only over priced food from the attached restaurant. Showers lukewarm. Just felt very stale and uninviting. Also had to give in the key when leaving for the day, thought that was odd. Go elsewhere if you can.


89%

Great location and good bar. Has everything you need.

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Too much disorder during the night.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Febbb
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

All in all, a terrible experience. My friend got lice from sleeping on the pillowcases here. Our room was absolutely FREEZING - the heater did not work and we had to pile on covers to stay warm. We were aware that it is located on top of a bar, but the sound carried much farther than expected and went on all night.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic place and staff couldn't be more helpful. If you like music and a place stuffed with character this is the place. Good free breakfast and coffee too. They have great plans for improvements too do go check it out

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Charlie Rockets was in a great location very close to Markt. Samuel was really helpful recommending what to see and where to go. The showers required you to press a button every 10 seconds or so to keep the water running which was a bit annoying and no lockers for personal items. Overall,, the bar down below has an awesome ambiance, the place is clean and the people are friendly.


83%

Excellent place to stay in regards to location and how welcoming the locals are. Staff were all lovely and really good atmosphere. There were no lockers in the room or under bed storage.


86%

Really laid back and friendly staff, loved all the decoration inside the hostel. The shower didn't work properly but thats the only thing i can say badly about the hostel. Defently see you next time Charly!! Over and out

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

This is basically just a bar with some rooms above it (and a restaurant alongside of it). The stairway feels a bit creepy and the facilities aren't the best, but I got a good night's sleep here. The location is superb, but this isn't the best place if you are trying to live while you travel (e.g. no kitchen, no sinks in bathrooms, mediocre shower). I wouldn't recommend this place as a first choice, but it's not a terrible fall-back option.


54%

The entire hostel smelled of urine and worse due to the lack of ventilation in the toilets. The showers were very uncomfortable to use. The heating did not work. The wifi did not reach the rooms. We were always given our key without having to confirm our room number...

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The food in the hostel is overpriced for a hostel bar. But overall we thought the place was fine.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Stayed with 16 other mates, hostel is in a fantastic location, the rooms were clean and the atmosphere was fantastic, could not have asked for more!

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The bar has great atmosphere, good breakfast for the price, location was really handy. The room and toilets were really average, in need of a spruce up but the bed itself was really comfortable and nice fresh linen. We stayed in a private double room with a sink and shared facilities for 2 nights in the middle of the week in October and would recommend it. A bit noisy the second night despite signs everywhere of silence between 10pm and 7am but thats expected with a hostel.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Brilliant location, close to many of the main tourist destinations and good restaurants. The double room was huge, and comes with a free breakfast which is always nice. Would have preferred a more secure location for leaving our bags, however upon checking out, we did discover that there were lockers to leave stuff in.


83%

really fun hostel. great bar and pool hall.


83%

Amazing Staff! Very fun place to stay. The staff were very helpful and made the stay very enjoyable!

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Great hostel, nice staff, we were able to check in even arriving 2 am! But there was no hot water in the showers in the morning! But thinking about coming again ;)

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location, and an American bar downstairs. Saw some live music which was great, only big negative was the lack of a common room for hostel guests. The only place to sit and chat was in the bar, and some days a chilled out common room would have been perfect. They have no lack of space or anything.


80%

I liked the bar downstairs. The showers had mould and poor ventilation, and a very bad timed push button that would only stay on for a few seconds. But it's easy to find.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback