X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Charlie Rockets Reviews

Hoogstraat 19, B-8000, Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1507 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Staff were good, atmosphere was good.. i enjoyed being there though the shower and toilets were a shocker. All had blocked drains and shower heads that didnt do the job. Thatd be my only complaint. Still , Id stay there again though not for an extended time.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30


94%

We stayed in Brugues for one night after a holiday in Luxembourg and Charlie Rockets was perfect for what we wanted. The bar downstairs was excellent- looks great and had a great atmosphere. The staff were helpful and spoke really good English. We only had one bad thing to say and that was that the skylight was broken and being prized open with a block of wood in room 12. We stayed over when there was a thunderstorm. One of my friends woke up in the middle of the night with hailstones on his bed

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Just what we wanted a bed for the night, even put my motorbike under cover, excellent food in adjoining restaurant. A good central location, shame it was raining.

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

we had a great stay here. the hostel is quite basic, the showers arent great. but atleast the water was hot and the sheets were clean which is the main thing. the staff are all really lovely and helpful and they have a really great bar and atmosphere. would def recomend it for a budget hostel


89%

Value for money hostel

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

More toilet roll needed

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

I DONT RECOMMEND! They had to decide in which field they want to work.. its a pizza restaurant and a hostel together.. they didnt allow us to eat or drink on the ground floor and we had to go up like we are not their customers.. i can understand their policy about drinks but they didnt let my friend to smoke in front of the restaurant while other 'customers' were smoking.. its really rude and if you dont have enough money you might feel a bit like an orphan here..


77%

This hostel is pretty much a bar first and foremost but the rooms are nice, good value and all the facilities you need. En suite bathroom, strong free wifi, free towels. However, there is a hidden city tax of about €3 a night not included in the Hostelworld price so watch out. €4 breakfast isn't worth it. It's also pretty noisy at night but that was no bother for us


74%

This hostel is an perfect boys crash place. It is a really nice rock and roll bar with pool tables in a perfect central location of Bruges. Staff is nice and facilities as well. Though the rooms are poorly decorated, noises from the bar and the rooms were not clean (for example still hair from the last person on the bed). But yeah just drink enough, cheers!


80%

We took a 6 bed room, which was ensuite. The bath was terrible, because you have to pull a button to get 10 seconds water. That wouldn't be such a big deal, if it had hot water! When we put it to hot, the amount of water was so small that we had to take cold showers. The bathroom didn't have any carpet, also, so it got completely wet. Towels are charged (1 euro) but don't smell so good. Breakfast has only the basics (costs 4 euro). The location is amazing, as well as the bar downstairs.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Perfectly located in the centre, still easy to reach by car, parking right in front. Nice and big bar on the ground floor, as far as we could see the last one open on a thursday night in Bruges. Some rooms where not available because it had rained in them. Our room was dry though. Bathroom in the room, but can't be locked. Entrance door locked at night, had to knock for half an hour to get out. Really nice staff, very helpful, entertaining when couldn't sleep because of horrible roommates.


83%

They offered us private room in nearby hotel with the canal view which was a good deal.


74%

Nice little hostel. Well placed for a short walk into town. Lots of parking near by and the underground carpark was only 9euros for 24 hours. Great bar area. Bedrooms were very basic with no lockers in the rooms. All in all a decent spot to spend a couple of cheap nights exploring Bruges


91%

laid back and happy atmosphere

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

DO NOT STAY HERE. There are no lockers in the rooms (and only 8 lockers for the whole hostel), the showers are disgusting - they are mouldy and clearly haven't been cleaned properly in a long time, the wifi cuts out constantly and every time it comes back you have to check in at Charlie rockets on Facebook again... And the noise from the bar downstairs is super loud.


80%

The staff were helpful and the hostel is in a great central location. Rooms were basic with shared bathrooms, but were clean and comfortable. Towels in the room would have been nice.


83%

The bar was too loud with open windows, but if you close them you do not get enough air at night.


46%

We stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm, the bunk beds were held together with random bits of wood. My mattress sagged in the middle. The room was insanely hot and it was noisy outside until about 4 am, so we had to choose between not sleeping for the heat or not sleeping for the noise - there was no air conditioning. The drains in the showers smelled foul, and the floor was grimey and needed to be cleaned. You have to pay for use of lockers, which is ridiculous. And the toilets had no hand soap in them

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location, better then St Christopher's, I was tossing up between the 2 and glad I went with this one. Wifi works in room which is important. There's some noise from street but really can't complain about that. Good sized room. I only wish staff were more informative and helpful, I found one brunette lady quite rude and I wish when you arrive they'd give info on facilities available and where, like about walking tours, wifi, laundry and ask if you want any info.


66%

Seems to be main focus is on the pub downstairs and almost no attention is paid to the hostel upstairs. Bad smells and I woke up covered in massive itchy bites


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(69 results)


View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback