Hostelworld.com

Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 708 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 708 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel Located at Great Glen Way, Lochiel Crescent, Banavie, Fort William.
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Scotland
Fort William Inverness-shire PH33 7LZ Great Glen Way, Lochiel Crescent, Banavie
86% 708
56.8468011 -5.0969018
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
4.6

Very far from Fort William, a taxi ride or long walk from anything in town and Ben Nevis if you plan on doing that. Breakfast was advertised as free and was not. Staff was a bit rude. Wouldn't allow us to wait in the hostel until our bus came even though the lobby/hangout/kitchen area was empty. We had to stand in the rain with our packs and catch a ride into town after hiking Ben Nevis (we were exhausted). Expensive yet you have to make your own bed and take the sheets down. Shower items stolen

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The hostel received €16 for you reservation which price included a light breakfast. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We would have liked you to have chosen somewhere more closely matching your needs, and although we tried hard we could not help you to smile.

18th May 2016
9.7

Great staff! New rooms on top floor are wonderful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much. We spent the winter redecorating, carpeting, and fitting new bathrooms. Glad you liked it.

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th May 2016
8.3

Nice hostel in Fort William, a little bit far from the centre but as we travelled by car it was not a problem for us. They also have free parking which is good. Rooms are ok there is a new bathroom. It says that the breakfast is included but we had to pay £2 per person anyway, but it was perfect, with juice, milk, toasts, croissants... I recommend this hostel and if we come back to the Highlands, we will come again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review. We too are delighted with our new shower-rooms :) Sorry about breakfast - as you had booked into a standard room there was an extra charge. But we're glad you found it to be excellent value. Hope to see you again.

  • chrisadamsgk01
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
9.7

Perfect for people looking to do the Ben or visit fort William and the surrounding area with access to a vehicle. It's about a 5/10 minute drive into Fort William and the start of Ben Nevis. I've stayed in a lot of hostels tho and this one is up there as one of the nicest!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2016
9.4

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The showers were amazing. We enjoyed a lot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • LauraBoogaards
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2016
8.3

Nice and quiet hostel with newly refurbished shower that looks luxury. Kitchen was very big and has everything you need. There weren't many people there (we saw 5 in total) so we had enough space for ourselves. The area is beautiful. Beds were comfortable. The only thing that was kinda lacking was the number of plugs in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Mar 2016
10.0

It was a very nice place in a very calm spot with a really calm atmosphere. A great place if you are looking for some peace. The staff was really helpful and recomended us a very nice place for dinner: a local pub called "The Lochy". We only stayed for one night but we very much enjoyed it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Zussino
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Mar 2016
9.1

A beautiful place to stay. It was just like being in someone's home, except it was a hostel. We could cook in there, watch TV and talk to the owner's who were really nice people. The only problem was it was so far away from Fort William by walking (1 hour), and the public transport (buses) is a bit strange. If you have a car or bicycle then it is no problem to stay here! From here we walked halfway up Ben Nevis which was one of the highlights of our trip :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2016
8.6

Very nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.