Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 805 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 805 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th May 2017
9.4

I happened to be in a room next to an emergency exit where the window could be easily accessed and did not lock. I wasn't totally comfortable with that, but it didn't present a problem while I was there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th May 2017
5.7

This hostel is great if you just need a bed. Security lockers in each room is a must, non-existant here. I expect to have to bring my own lock but not to have secure storage in the room is a little odd these days. Also Fort William is about an hour walk from here, so unless you have a car it's hard to pop out for food/drink. I have been to hostels all over the world and love the hostelling community but the social space here just felt a little dead. It was clean & tidy, but basic.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately you must have missed our bank of 20 lockers for laptops, rucksacks and other belongings. We agree security is very important. We find the hostel can be full of very interesting people, but evidently none wished to share company during your stay. A city centre hostel may have been more to your liking.

  • clivemetcalfe791
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th May 2017
9.7

Modern clean facilities. Good feel about the place. Wifi slow.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your excellent review. We are sorry about the wi fi. It's high speed, but when the hostel is full there can be much use of the internet which can somewhat slow it down.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th May 2017
10.0

Friendly staff... great location... would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
7.4

It as a decent stay. ,othing to spectacular.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 45 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.0

Enjoyed our stay here, but found it bizarre and inconvenient that we could not check in until 5pm (reception is not even open) and check out is before 10 am- seems like you don't get your money's worth. Kitchen well equipped but lacks basics like salt and pepper which is frustrating. Breakfast good. Wifi very slow and patchy. Shortage of bathrooms in the morning. No lockers in bedrooms, but dormitory door was locked. There was no atmosphere at all - eerily quiet despite hostel being full.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. It's somewhat bewildering, but we will try to take it on board :) Salt and pepper in the kitchen is an absolute must, so we will get on to that straight away. You must have missed our bank of 30 lockers in the hall... when the hostel is full and everyone wants to use wifi all at once then it can be a problem, but all in all we are a fantastic Scottish highland hostel, we think.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2017
9.1

Great little hostel. Very clean with ample facilities, most of which recently renovated and modern. Kitchen was large and incredibly clean/tidy. Enough parking (includng on street) for all guests. Quiet residential area, not too far from Fort William centre. Due to the hostel being relatively small, we found that there was a friendly, welcoming atmosphere amongst guests and staff, and great oppourtunity to meet and chat to other travellers from around the globe. Would definitely reccomend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Just what we love to hear. Thank you.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Apr 2017
9.7

Nice little hostel with lots of friendly folks! The staff was very friendly and eager to help. Beautiful location and comfy beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
8.3

Picked this hostel as it was ideally located near the start of the Great Glen Way. Only stayed one night but the hostel, staff, and level of accommodation was fine for our walking party of 3. Only down side was the room was freezing and the heating system didn't seem to overcome this. Notwithstanding this, we would use the hostel again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It was great having you to stay and thank you for your comments. We agree the heating in your room is not adequate for really cold nights, so we are arranging for this to be immediately upgraded to match that in our other rooms. Hope you manage to return to our amazing hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Mar 2017
10.0

Staff was super nice, location was great, one of the best kitchens in an Hostel I'e ever had - If you want to stay somewhere around Fort William - Chase the wild goose is my recommendation :) For further information just ask the staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Amazing review. Thank you.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.