Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 738 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 738 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel Located at Great Glen Way, Lochiel Crescent, Banavie, Fort William.
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Scotland
Fort William Inverness-shire PH33 7LZ Great Glen Way, Lochiel Crescent, Banavie
81% 738
56.8468011 -5.0969018
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • chrisadamsgk01
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
9.7

2nd time staying at Chase the wild Goose and the stay was just as good as the 1st time. I still feel you need a vehicle to easily access fort William town centre however, the hostel is a fantastic little find.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for coming to stay again and for leaving this very nice review. A vehicle is useful, but the walk to town along the Great Glen Way is a delight. Hope to see you again.

  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
10.0

I couldn't make due to being sick, however I'm sure it's a nice place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
7.4

Overall not a bad place to stay. Not enough bathrooms in the building

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're sorry to have a few plumbing problems (to our lovely new showers) during your stay. These things happen occasionally and are beyond our control. We are reliant on outside contractors doing repairs, which we always have done as quickly as possible. We are sorry for any temporary inconvenience.

  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
9.7

Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Great value for money!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Jun 2016
9.1

The staff during my stay were incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is a bit out of the way as you have to take a bus into Fort William (10-15min with all the stops) but it makes for a very quiet nights sleep. Lockers and hairdryers are available. My only issue was the wifi was extremely finicky no matter the time of day. I ended up heading to a coffee shop in town to be able to make some bookings/check emails. Pleasant stay overall though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your 5-star review. Sorry about wi-fi. It's not the best in rural Scotland, and worse when there is a full hostel trying to access it. But it's really very good most of the time. Chase The Wild Goose...

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jun 2016
8.0

It's clean and out of the way so no noisy neighbors. There is a well equipped kitchen and cozy common room for eating and TV room with couches, plenty of toilets. It's a good place for a few nights and a place to sleep if your going to climb the nearby mountain or are coming up from the West Highway

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your review. It was very nice to meet you.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2016
8.9

Nice people, many hikers, parking available, supermarkets not too far. Quite a clean hostel with good bathrooms. The kitchen is great, but the room lacked ventilation and can be a bit muggy

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
6.9

Atmosphere nil. Staff good. Accommodation good and clean bloody noisy outside traffic. Kitchen poor. Old food in fridge Ok

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
8.3

My friend and I enjoyed our stay at 'Chase The Wild Goose'. Pros: Our roommates were very friendly (although loud snorers!) Hostel was very clean. Staff very friendly. Good location- 5 min walk to The Lochy, a nice pub with good food (I recommend the burgers but not the cream tea) and 10min drive to the base of Ben Nevis Parking Cons: No use of a safe/locker. Only 5 bathrooms between >40 guests, but there was never a long waiting time. I think £22pp for 8 bed mixed dorm is a bit pri

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
5.4

very very tired looking building inside and outside. Needs serious money spent to make more modern.......not the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed.......really needs a good deep clean and some daily TLC.......not stayed in much worse.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very disappointed not to have met your expectations. Indeed our staff are somewhat dis-heartened, given the refurbishment they carried out in the hostel during the winter, namely redecoration of all the upstairs bedrooms, hallways and staircases, the re-carpeting of the same, including the downstairs Quiet Lounge and all-new bedding. Our other reviews over recent weeks have been more kindly.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.