Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chateau Backpacker & Motels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 683 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 683 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jun 2017
9.1

Great 3 nights here. Bed are comfy and the curtains across each help with a great nights sleep. The USB points in each bed are great. Plenty of bathrooms and the free soup and waffles is a great touch. Unlimited free wifi and a fast computer are nice to see! Great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
16th Jun 2017
8.0

Nice, clean hostel in a good location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • heidisawyer
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Jun 2017
10.0

Absolutely loved it here, my bed was like its own little room! Like a cubby in the wall with privacy sheets, its own outlets and light and the room had a heater! Booked a 9 dorm but I was put in a 5 bed one so it was quiet and private. Kitchen was always clean and people were very friendly. Showers were nice and single rooms so also quite private. There was a hot tub but I didn't get the chance to check it out. Definitely would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Jun 2017
8.0

One of the comfiest hostels I've stayed at. The beds were incredible!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
2.0

tried to check in by night, there was no one so I basically wasted money..

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th May 2017
8.3

Wicked location..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th May 2017
9.7

Proven best Hostel in Franz Josef. The whole design of the hostel is fantastic, and gives a nice atmosphere. Easy going people, superior soup in the evening and waffles in the morning! Fast and free Wi-Fi and most importantly the beds all have 2 plugs and usb ports as well as individual curtains. Plenty of cooking and hang out facilities. Thanks for the great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Rcoffey
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
24th Apr 2017
8.3

Downstairs has a very musty smell, if you have allergies I feel it wouldn't be fun. This place seems massive. Lots of people. Good location in Franz Josef. Didn't get waffles in the morning, I guess they go fast. Showers and toilets could use some extra TLC.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
8.3

Stayed here for 2 nights, it's in a good location so easy to get around. Girl on reception suggested some good walks up the glazier which were really good and free which is nice when you're on a budget. Atmosphere was pretty good and breakfast and free soup was a real bonus! Would definitely stay again if in Franz Josef

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2017
9.1

We stayed in the stables and had really lovely people in our dorm room as well. The free WiFi was pretty good, and the free breakfast was unbelievable!! Would 100% just for the waffles! Also the free soup in the evening was really nice. Our toilet didn't have and hand soap in, but other than that couldn't have faulted it. Each of our beds had a light and a plug.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.