Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chateau Backpacker & Motels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Apr 2017
9.1

We stayed in the stables and had really lovely people in our dorm room as well. The free WiFi was pretty good, and the free breakfast was unbelievable!! Would 100% just for the waffles! Also the free soup in the evening was really nice. Our toilet didn't have and hand soap in, but other than that couldn't have faulted it. Each of our beds had a light and a plug.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • JacobWattenbach
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
10.0

Great value, a private fantastic 6 bed dorm. Very spacious with multiple showers and kitchens. Free soup, is great and the free breakfast was very impressive. 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
7.4

Clean hostel in a good location. Free soup is a nice touch and waffles at breakfast are worth the wait. Security is a bit lax but staff and friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
21st Mar 2017
8.0

We were in a 9 bed dorm which was its own separate block. Spacious. Good shower. The kitchen had a few electric hobs which didn't work meaning it got very crowded very quickly round those that did. Free soup is a nice touch (although it isn't the best soup ever). Waffles for breakfast were awesome. Didn't try out the spa pool as it had been drained and cleaned.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jesspaxman
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
19th Mar 2017
8.6

I was in the stables which had 9 beds in, but that was split into 2 rooms so had plenty of space. Own plug socket in bed which was great. Free wifi throughout hostel, not amazing wifi in peak times but it did the trick. Free waffles, cereal and toast for breakfast and free soup for dinner was amazing! Lacked atmosphere but franz isn't really a party place anyway

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Mar 2017
9.4

Pros: free breakfast and pancakes, free wifi. We stayed in the stables, a 6 bed form with 2 bunk beds in a separate room next door. Jacuzzi on site, free veg soup. Good location, lockers in the kitchen area. Laundry facilities. Free international calls during reception opening time which is very unique! Cons: Only 1 toilet and shower between the 10 of us in the stables. Locks on the main door but not for our rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Mar 2017
4.3

Completely dirty, bath mouldy, staff always leaves the door open even it was locked before. The only good thing is the breakfast with the waffles and the one kitchen is also good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Mar 2017
8.6

We got a bunk bed in the stable and the room was clean with pretty fast wi-fi. Unfortunately the door of the stable itself can't be locked so we don't feel secure to leave our belonging in the room. Spacious kitchen with confectionery vending machine. 3 minutes access by foot to the mainstreet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.0

The microwave and fridges need a good clean. Other than that it was pretty sweet. The beds all have separate curtains which are awesome. Each bed has its own socket to charge, plus those tiny USB ports to charge. There is a lineup for the free waffles in the morning, but be patient. They are worth it. There are no lockers in the room, but they do have large (for backpacks) lockers in the kitchen which lock by padlock.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Mar 2017
9.7

Franz Josef isn't a big place, but we were close to everything in the town. It's got a strange western look to it from the outside but it was a cool place to stay. The staff were really friendly, the room had lots of space. The rooms were a bit dated but still comfy and clean. The showers lights were a bit annoying and would turn off half way through the shower so you'd be in the dark. The common area was pretty good, with several board games to play. They had free soup every evening, too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.