Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chateau Backpacker & Motels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 594 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 594 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.1
Chateau Backpacker & Motels Located at 8-10 Cron Street, , Franz Josef.
Chateau Backpacker & Motels
New Zealand
Franz Josef 7856 8-10 Cron Street
83% 594
-43.3893470 170.1834583
Chateau Backpacker & Motels
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jan 2017
8.3

Great time here, the beds were amazing and had black curtains you could pull across so had a great nights sleep! Kitchen is nice, staff are friendly and excellent location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
8.0

Everything you could want, without paying a fortune.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Dec 2016
9.4

Stayed here for two nights. It's the perfect location to explore Franz Josef. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are well equipped, our 5bed form even had kitchenette. Free evening soup and breakfast. Free international landline calls and a good hairdryer for loan from reception. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
4th Dec 2016
8.3

The rooms in this hostel are really nice. Lots of space and comfy beds with curtains, which is great for a bit of privacy! Our room was near the kitchen and it often smelt of the food being cooked as there is little ventilation. One of the showers was broken but there wasn't a notice on the door or anything, so didn't realise until I was about to get in the shower! This meant there was only one shower for the top floor. There was also only one sink, which meant a lot of waiting to brush teeth.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Nov 2016
8.9

Awsome staff! So lovely. The water in teh whole town ran out when we were staying, which wasn't the best... but not their fault at all. The place is a little run down, but still charming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Nov 2016
9.4

Great bed, lots of outlets (which can be rare sometimes), curtain covering the beds, comfy to sleep, kitchen/fridge in the room, solid wifi, super friendly staff, overall a great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Nov 2016
10.0

The owner was welcoming and friendly. Room was massive with a comfy bed, kitchen and larger bathroom. There was also a spa pool and free breakfast and soup. Overall my stay was amazing and if we visit NZ again we will definitely be going back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hjfinnberg1680
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Nov 2016
4.3

6 bed dorm didn't have enough space for 6 ppl & everybody's things, there was no storage space in the room whatsoever, no place to put your clothes, room was cold and dirty, not even a waste bin in the room, during the night there was a heater or pipe or something that made terrible noise, common facilities were not cosy at all, most stoves in kitchen didn't work, kitchen seemed not to be maintained at all, showers worked poorly (one day shower wasn't working at all),wouldn't recommend to anyone

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
9.7

It was great. The guy at the front desk was very helpful and gave me heaps of information.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2016
7.7

The staff was incredible and helped us a LOT, very friendly and generous with their knowledge and experiences. The room was clean and the bed was a little bumpy & lumpy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.