X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Che Lagarto Hostel Copacabana Reviews

Rua Barata Ribeiro 111 - Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
476 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Ликвидируйте проблемы с горячей водой


66%

Showers were always cold on every floor. Staff were friendly but only advised places they were getting commission on, which weren't great.


60%

My main negative were the staff


89%

Проблемы с горячей водой


97%

Todella ystävällinen ja avulias henkilökunta!

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Security is great. There's a security guard at the door followed by two swipe cards before you get to your room. The rooms are tiny though and there's no room to leave your bag anywhere but in the lockers under the beds. Found this to be a common thing with Che Lagarto hostels. It's a very sociable hostel with a bar and rooftop terrace. Don't stay here if you want to get away from people. Bathrooms are rubbish.


71%

Good hostel just a 5 minute walk from copacabana hostel & great breakfast


80%

The stairs are too narrow and small


83%

Great atmosphere and good place to meet new peaople


80%

Enjoyed this hostel, the staff was super helpful and fun, and even come out with you sometimes! The only thing I will say is that there was a majority of Brazilians staying at the hostel, so not ideal to meet travelers from all over the world, since many of them we came across were locals who already spoke Portuguese. But even so, everyone was still really great and friendly. Highly recommend Favela tour-eye opening experience. Great location, two blocks from Copacobana beach!

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Staff were fab and friendly.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Hostel possui um maravilhoso staff, boa localização e bom pra conhece novos amigos! Apenas faltou lençol, Mas isso nao foi um problema!


91%

We went on a city tour that we booked directly with the Hostel ... It was the worst "tour" I had ever been on , he just dropped us off and said " you have 10 ,20,or 30 minutes for pictures " . The hostel was great itself but money and time wasted booking a tour through them .


63%

The top bunks are too high and the bathrooms were not kept clean and very small and hard to get into. alos noise in the am went straight down the stairs into my room, possibly another door at the stairway to reduce the noise.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I really had a great time there, the staff was very helpful and nice to us, the atmosphere in the hostel feels awesome, I'm definitely staying there or at any other Che lagarto whenever I go to rio or another location where they have a branch.

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Hostel muito bom, preço bom, staff gente boa, café da manha bacana muito digno e localização excelente. Só as tomadas nos quartos que podia ter uma pra cada cama ai ia ficar top. Voltarei mais vezes.


94%

O hostel é muito bom! Super bem localizado e com um atendimento ótimo. Todos bem-humorados e prontos para ajudar. Tive um pequeno problema com o quarto que caí. A beliche superior, onde fiquei, era MUITO próxima ao teto, o que fazia ser um canto muito apertado, super difícil de subir e descer e o ar quente que sobe naturalmente + ar condicionado muito longe da cama não ajudavam. Fora este importuno (sugestão: colocar apenas camas nestes quartos de baixo - a beliche é muito desconfortável), foi10

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Lacks personal touch, especially the parties they promote. No towel rental. But only a couple of blocks from the beach and big lockers under the bed were great!


91%

Ótimo hostel, local limpo, agradável, funcionários atenciosos, muito simpáticos, confortável, me hospedaria novamente com certeza. Só uma única coisa me incomodou, o café da manhã com pouca variedade. Em outros hostel da mesma rede o café é melhor. Mas está de nota 10!

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Ótimo custo-benefício! Atendimento excelente, ambiente animado e agradável! Recomendo! Para ficar ainda melhor, poderia aumentar a frequência da limpeza dos banheiros e também disponibilizar mais tomadas.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(60 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback