X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Che Lagarto Hostel Copacabana Reviews

Rua Barata Ribeiro 111 - Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
604 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Hostel bom, porém estrutura da cozinha e sala de confraternização muito pequenos para o tamanho do albergue.


86%

Friendly staff who seemed to have answers to any question, the vibe of the hostel was great but definitely only a place to stay if you are not looking to get much sleep. Easy to meet new people and have a great time! Good value for $. Should probably sort out the issues with their neighbours however, as we got eggs, water, and glass bottles thrown at us (at 11pm on a Saturday) from one of the apartment buildings, this is extremely dangerous and aggressive behaviour that should be dealt with.


100%

the best hostel! There is good vibe and the staff is very helpful!


83%

Che lagarto de Copacabana tiene un equipo excelente en su recepcion, nos trataron muy bien, lo único que merece crítica es el wifi que solo llega a la recepcion, y torna un poco molesta la necesidad d bajar al lugar cada vez que uno Necesita internet. Recomendable al 100%


86%

El ambiente es bastante agradable, buena ubicación. No me agrado utilizar baños compartidos, en algunas horas del dia el aseo era deficiente pero en realidad uno llega en la noche y despues vuelve a salir asique no los utiliza tanto. Buena experiencia, lo recomiendo.

  • 6th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

El desayuno no era bueno, debería mejorar.- tuvimos problemas con el aire acondicionado de la hab, la primer noche no funcionó y las tres noches siguientes, para que funcione nos dejaron un cable que colgaba en el medio de las camas, eso es un peligro. agua caliente de las duchas, dos dias si, dos dias No!!!!! nos bañamos con agua fria!! no hay wifi en las habitaciones, solo en recepción.

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Reservamos habitación con baño y nos dieron sin y en cierta manera nos hicieron un favor. Mi recomendación, nunca elijan habitación con cuarto de baño porque es DIMINUTA tanto la habitación como el baño. Casi inhumano. Están en refacción.

  • 30th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

This hostel was okay. The location was great but that was really the best thing about it. The bathrooms always had a horrible smell to them, there wasn't much in the way of a common room and wifi only worked in the lobby. There are much better places to stay in the city.

  • 22nd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

I never leave bad reviews but decided to in this case. For starters the room was dirty with stains on the bedding. The air condition broke leaving our room like a sauna. I complained but after midnight only a guard is on duty and he had no idea how to fixit or change rooms. The next night it was still broken. The bathrooms are filthy and there is never hot water in the showers. The city tour I signed up for ran 3 hours later than I was told it would. I can keep going but theres a character limit


94%

The staff were very friendly and very helpful! :) I'm glad that most of them can also speak in English to help us out. They extended a lot of help to us when we were having problems i.e. looking for a safer transport to pick us up at five in the morning, a bank that operates for 24hours catering to our ATM cards (thank God for Citibank in Copacabana!), and checking a lot of times if I left my cellphone in the hostel even days after I checked out. Woo! I'm glad I met these people! Thank you!!

  • 8th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • ShigemiMur
  • Philippines
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very simple and basic, having only the bare minimum, but great price for what you get. If you just want a really basic and cheap place, this is where you should go.

  • 8th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Água gelada!!


74%

Fiquei muito desapontada por não ter água quente para o banho. Isso não foi informado com antecedência. Eu jamais teria reservado um hostel sem água quente. Além disso achei o quarto para 8 pessoas extremamente apertado. E o segurança da madrugada foi indelicado comigo.


89%

O quarto que fiquei não tinha janelas, com isso a ventilação era péssima, tínhamos renovação do ar ambiente apenas com porta aberta e as 21:30 quando era ligado o ar.

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

The bathrooms were horrible. The shower and the toilet is in the same place. Cha la lagarto Ipanema is way better!

  • 29th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

It was a pleasant stay but you have to have an back up for water shortage. Other than this it was great Obrigado

  • 28th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sudan
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Faltam tomadas nos quartos.

  • 28th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Todo bien con el hostel. Lo único malo son los baños

  • 27th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

el hostel esta muy bueno y la gente q trabaja ahi muy predispuesta y buena onda. estuve en tres tipos de habitaciones y dos de ellas muy buenas, lo unico malo fue una noche q pase en una del subsuelo q hace muchisimo calor y no tiene ni una ventana. Muy recomendable!!!


97%

Adoramos a nossa estadia no Che Lagarto! Parabéns ao time!


(82 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback