Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema Located at Rua Paul Redfern N48, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro.
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro Rua Paul Redfern N�48, Ipanema
86% 1271
-22.9844713 -43.2142710
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
10.0

I enjoyed my short stay as it met my expectations. Ricardo & all of his staff I interacted with were pleasant & helpful to myself & all other guests that were there. They assisted with any questions I had & the facility was sufficient (clean, secure, wi-fi, breakfast etc.) for all I needed & the location was convenient to all I needed. The price was reasonable as well. I would definitely recommend to others. Ciao'

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Jeffrey, thanks a lot for the wonderful comments !!! See ya !

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
10.0

Che Lagarto was amazing. The staff was incredibly helpful, especially Ricardo, the manager. Thank you for a wonderful stay and pleasant environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey man, thanks a lot for the comments ! Cheers

2nd Jul 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel. The staff is awesome, I have been in many hostels and I can say the staff here is one of the best, very helpful, very friendly and empathetic persons from the manager to all the staff! The hostel is well located. In general is nice and clean. The only minor thing: it is a party hostel, so it is not for people thinking they are going to sleep without noise. Thanks for everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for the wonderful comments ! Gracias !

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
10.0

Flawless.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Vlw mlk !!! Abração

28th Jun 2016
4.9

Cold showers. Dirty bathrooms. Decent Wi-Fi.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Lindsay, it is a shame you didnt like is that much... Hope you can come back and change you opinion. Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

Best hostel in Rio de Janeiro. Location, atmosphere and social aspects are all excellent. Set up of the hostel is very well done, with the bar/reception area being a fantastic place to get to know guests and staff alike. Staff are very helpful and genuine people, always happy to help out and have fun. Thanks for a great few days in Ipanema! I would recommended Che Lagarto to anyone who wants to make the most of their time in Rio, for however long you are staying.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Andrew ! Thanks a lot for the wonderful comments !!! Cheers

21st Jun 2016
8.0

Overall, great hostel in the heart of South Rio close to the beach. However, few things need to change: - Hostel is way too expensive. The prices double on weekends, making it unsustainable - the most expensive hostel I have stayed in South America. - The girl who sells party passes needs to be less pushy; its quite annoying when you are barely awake at 8.30am sipping coffee when someone tells you 3 times to go for the nights party. - Some of the dorms are too crowded - remove a few beds.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comments ! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jun 2016
10.0

Great staff, clean rooms, high security and nice atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the wonderful comments !! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jun 2016
8.3

Pretty great hostel. Good atmosphere if you want to be social and party, but it's not forced. Bedrooms had massive lockers under your bed so all your belongings can be safely stored. Great breakfast compared to other hostels. Great location for the beach and to access the bus/metro around the city. A little expensive but probably worth it. Shout out to the nighttime cleaning lady, we've forgotten your name but you are fabulous.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2016
9.4

Che Lagarto Ipanema was a great hostel with a super friendly and helpful staff and a great location. Only minor downsides - breakfast is pretty basic, and it can be a little noisy at night. Granted everyone seems to have a good time at the hostel and the bar next door, so if you are looking for a great all night party in an awesome city - this is it. If not, it is a great place to relax and get away, just bring some ear plugs to get to sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great feedback ! We hope to see you soon !

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.