Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,384 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,384 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema Located at Rua Paul Redfern N48, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro.
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro Rua Paul Redfern N�48, Ipanema
88% 1384
-22.9844713 -43.2142710
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
8.0

Great location and within easy reach of the beach, lots of great restaurants and bars. Was in a private room so it was pretty pricey for what it was (but that's also Rio). The internet didn't always work in the room and the bathroom smelt damp but other then that, I'd recommend this place. Helpful staff and decent breakfasts.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Anna!!! Thanks a lot for the feedback ! Cheers

3rd Jan 2017
8.6

Nice cool place to hang out. The beds/facilities are a bit worn at times and the lockers are not very safe as they can just be opened with a screwdriver! Besides that the staff is very cool and helpful and the location amazing (literally 5 mins from the beach). Overall I'd definitely recommend you to stay here if you go to Ipanema.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Tristano !!!! Thanks a lot for the comments ! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • American Samoa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
7.7

Please just rent towels as you rent bedsheets and pillowcases. There is no need to sell the towels. Also, there needs to be soap in the bathroom. Please put soap or a bottle of liquid soap to wash our hands after using the bathroom. Many people come and go and most people don't carry soap or hand sanitizer into the bathroom with them. It is very disgusting. Other than that my stay was good. The bedsheets and pillowcase were super clean! I liked that a lot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the constructive feedback !!! We will make the adjustments in the near future ! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
10.0

Che Lagarto Hostel in Ipanema is an awesome hostel. I had a blast there. The staff is super friendly and helpful. I met cool travellers from all over the world. It is in a great location and very close to the beach. I really enjoyed staying there and I plan on staying there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey John !!! Thanks a lot !!! Hope to see you soon !

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Nov 2016
9.7

If you are a solo traveler looking to party and make friends then this hostel is for you. They have an event every night and also activities during the day (must do a favela tour!) which make it easy to meet people. Location is safe and close to the beach and metro. Security was fantastic and the lockers were very large. The only thing I didn't like was in my room there were no individual power sockets or reading lights for each bed. Not a big deal in the end just meant no phone in bed :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks Michael !!! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Nov 2016
10.0

Great place to stay ,staff were so helpful.breakfast was good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much !!! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Nov 2016
9.4

Awesome place! Originally booked for 4 nights then planned on going down to Angra Dos Reeis, after 2 days i decided that i was going to extend my stay and take the organised day trip down there. Take the organised city tour, it costs around 210 reals (at the time of writing) but is so worth it especially as everything is included and you have to pay about 110 reals to go to sugar loaf and christ the redeemer anyway. Thank you to Ricky, Marcus and Fernanda for making the stay as good as it was!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ollie !!!!!!!!! Thanks a lot for the comments !!! It was great having you here with us !!! Cheers

19th Nov 2016
7.7

If you want a quite hostel then this might not be the place as the music is very loud constantly. However, it's very clean with good wifi everywhere. The security is excellent and so is it's location. The staff were very friendly, but provided me with incorrect information about onward travel which could have cost me money and time I didn't have. The breakfest is basic with fruit, bread and butter which is disappointing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comments John. Could you please send an email to ricardo.r@chelagarto.com about the wrong information , so it doesn't happen again. Cheers

16th Nov 2016
5.1

First of all, a great location, no doubt about it! The lockers in the room are the awkward under-bed type, but they are functional. For young travellers like us, this place had a mix of young and old which was weird because in Europe, older people don't do hostel stays really. This takes away from a fun atmosphere in my opinion. I think everything was clean as the cleaner come in several times a day and there are people presently cleaning around the property. The place needs a big investment!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Nov 2016
10.0

I loved this place the staff here was excellent Marcos and Fernanda were especally helpful on the rainy days helping me find things to do and treating me as if i had payed hundreds of dollars per nigth. Those 2 know how to treat people. The caipirhinas were great and it was a very social place thanks for the great week in Rio

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot Arturo !!! Please come back !

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.