Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2017
10.0

Such a super place to stay!!! We had so much fun - made such great friends and kept on extending our stay! One block from the beautiful ipanema Beach! They arrange city and favela tours and you can have such a great party every night!!! Be careful as breakfast is not included when you book through hostel world, but you can buy it for $R 10 at the hostel per day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Michelle!!! Thanks a lot !!!

24th Jun 2017
7.7

I was disappointed as it is a party hostel. We were told to be quiet at 11 and we're sent to first floor then told to go to bed at 12 as everyone else wanted to sleep aka the staff wanted to sleep so no one else was allowed to stay up. Don't book on hostel world as you get third night free if you book two nights.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Shally, sorry my friend but your comment doesnt make much sense... The staff wanted to sleep ? If you booked a shared room and people wanted do sleep, you go out parting in clubs, right ?

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Jun 2017
9.7

Perfect hostel in Ipanema. Great atmosphere, the free caipirinhas are an excellent idea that makes people gather downstairs. Lockers are huge, pretty much any big backpack fits in it. Rooms are cleaned many times a day. I found the breakfast average but most people liked it. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cindy !!! Thanks a lot for the wornderful comments ! Hope we see you again !

  • unicolef
  • Thailand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2017
10.0

Awesome place located in nice area many restaurants, shops, laundry and Ipanema beach. Cool and super friendly staffs, they can give you great advises and also you can find city tour or any trip from them. At 19:30-20:00 FREE Caipinha plz DON'T MISS IT!! but anyway the place is cool. I think traveling alone isn't problem here, you can find new friends here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

First !!! Thank you very much my friend !! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Jun 2017
8.0

The staff were lovely specially a girl called Cynthia who was an absolute delight and so sweet! It's a party hostel where you'll meet people to go clubbing with as they literally have events every night. Overall it was a lovely stay : ) Bad point would be that it's a bit misleading as on the profile pictures it said breakfast included but then when we arrived we found out it wasn't :/ however.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comments !! We are sorry for the misleading pic. It has already been removed to prevent future problems. Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Jun 2017
9.7

Great location and facilities. Everything was perfect. They let us check in earlier and where very helpful in general.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Muchas Gracias !!!! Saludos

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
8.3

The staff are just AMAZING! I couldn't say enough good words about them! Place was very clean! WC bin was emptied like 5 times daily! Beds are comfy, lockers are HUGE, but bring your own lock also it can be hard to shut, When I was there it was mostly South Americas but I think that was my timing, So it was a bit lonely, but staff were always welcoming! UNLIMITED CAIPIRINHAS from 7:30-8! So drink up; we got to 6 within 30mins Very far from Copacabana; beach and buses close

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Alyssa !!!! Thanks a lot for the wonderful comments !!! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th May 2017
8.3

A party hostel with loud music till very late. Found the atmosphere a bit strange. I missed the laid-back, chilled vibe hostels should have. When I arrived at 4 am and asked later if I can have breakfast, they made me pay 20 real. I know it is not included the day you arrive and they are not obliged to let me have it for free; but this is the first hostel in the last 3 months of travelling that did not invite me with welcoming words to have breakfast. I just think this says a lot about their attitude

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Daniela, sorry you felt like this, but like every other place we have rules to be followed...Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2017
8.6

Great location and very welcoming and fun staff! Also very nice to have A/C in the rooms!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much !!!! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2017
10.0

We really enjoyed our stay at this hostel. The atmosphere was really friendly and we love the free caipirinhas everyday. The breakfast was also really yummy and it is perfect for meeting new people. I hightly recommend it. Obrigada!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Muchas gracias Nicole !!! Saludos

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.