Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th May 2017
6.0

2 girls sharing a female dorm of 10 and only 1 shower /toilet which wasn't even clean. For a chain of hostels we were not impressed by the quality of the beds, showers and number of facilities available for the number of guests. Only a handful of sockets for a huge dorm (so bring extension cables). The hostel is on top of an ongoing club atmosphere so we would be woken up at 3am on some nights. I stayed on the top bunk and it was very uncomfortable and didn't look like it was cleaned at all

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Keshi, we are sorry you didnt enjoy your stay with us.. Just one clarification, our bar is open only till 00:00.

1st May 2017
9.4

Probably the best place where to stay in Ipanema. A few meters from the beach. Staff super nice. Every night there is a different event. Very good breakfast. I hope to see you again guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much Simone !!! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2017
10.0

This Hostel was absolutely better than the best !! The staff extraordinary, Happy, Helpful and extremely courteous. I make a very high recommendation. ( and Marcus - WOW !! Personality plus ) Awesome value and so greatly informed ) THE BEST !! Thank you to every one - I will DEFINETELY be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks Noelene for the wonderful comments !! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Apr 2017
9.1

Great spot in Ipanema, Che Lagarto never disappoints!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much Chris !!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.9

Good hostel. Well versed in all that a backpacker needs with yours and transfers all easily booked at reception and if you want to do your own thing, no problem. They'll help. As a solo traveller it was easy to meet people and hang out on a daily basis. Everyone was super friendly. Would recommend a stay here for sure!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sophie !!!! Thnaks a lot for the wonderful comments ! Cheers

12th Apr 2017
8.9

Che lagartos was amazing! met great people there! great party hostel! Staff was amazing!!!! location is perfect and very safe! Beds are ok and its always clean!!! Def a place to come back!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sue !!! Muchas gracias !

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Apr 2017
7.1

Okay hostel. Way too overpriced though. Rooms were alright, bathrooms pretty gross. Good enough kitchen and breakfast. Decent wifi. Free drinks are a nice touch. Overall though would recommend staying somewhere else

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Apr 2017
6.6

Good Location. Good wifi. Music on till 12am in the bar. Really helpful staff. Lockers aren't great (some don't lock). Overpriced though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2017
8.9

Thats the hostel to be if you are from Latin America. However, you will rarely find backpackers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks Sebastian !! But what do you mean ?? We almost only have backpackers ! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
9.7

Awesome hostel! Arrived and were greeted very well by the staff, shown our rooms which were bright and lovely Good showers Rooms cleaned 3x a day. Good kitchen Breakfast is pretty good, like all the others I suppose Great location right next to beach/lagoon and metro/major bus lanes. We didn't bring this up at the hostel but with the email we got when we booked it had a 'how to get to hoste' that seemed wrong. From major bus terminal we got bus Troncal 2 or 4 which takes you to the door.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Benjamin !!! Thanks a lot for the comments ! Hope to see you guys again ! Cheers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.