Hostelworld.com

Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,205 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,205 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema Located at Rua Paul Redfern N48, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro.
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro Rua Paul Redfern N�48, Ipanema
84% 1205
-22.9844713 -43.2142710
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st May 2016
8.0

Staff are great and can't do enough for you. Nice breakfast and the lady who cooks it is really sweet and friendly. The dormitory itself was cramped and the beds were old. When we arrived we had to take the dirty sheets off ourselves. Note that some of the dormitories are in a building accross the road from the main hostel building.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Apr 2016
8.6

Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Toilets were clean but the showers were a bit dirty and only Luke warm. Everything else is excellent. Nice English playlist one afternoons which I really enjoyed for a change.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
7.4

In a great area, easy walk to the beach, friendly staff. Only issue was when I first checked in and was given my bed, the previous person had not checked out. I had to wait for the person to return to the hostel before I could go to bed. Luckily, I was heading out as the bed still wasn't ready by 9pm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
9.7

Incredible staff, amazing location and great security. The hostel was kept very clean and reviewed a few times a day to make sure it stayed that way. The only thing that keeps it from a perfect 10 are logistics - lots of stairs, old elevator that doesn't go to every floor, older bunk beds whose lockers don't all open easily. But these issues were easily over looked with all the great people and prompt service.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much for the comments ! We hope you can come back soon !! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
7.4

Great staff! The atmosphere was ok. Not many people were social. The location Is ok, I'm from the USA and the resturants were expensive to me.Take an Uber everywhere. The tours they offer were great. Maid cleaned twice a day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comments !!! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2016
10.0

Perfect place to stay while your are traveling in Rio de Janeiro. Awesome place! 👍🏼

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Mar 2016
7.7

The best part of this hostel is the location and the free caipirinhas. It's just one block from the beach and the free caipirinhas is a great place to meet other travelers. Breakfast is ok and the beds are comfortable although the lockers could use an update.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
24th Mar 2016
7.4

The hostel is ok but it isn't very well kept. Our room shower only provided hot water if we used a very thin thread of water so I had to shower with cold water mostly. Every day they would come check if things were ok in the room; I told the staff about the shower many times but nothing changed during my ten day stay. The beds are old and noisy and the common area in the first floor is quiet gloomy. I think this hostel would be a lot more inviting if in better condition.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2016
6.9

Great place to meet people and party, but the facilities are pretty bad. You can pay the same price for many other hostels in the same area who have much better facilities. The shower broke, there is no hand soap, the beds are tiny, sheets don't fit mattress, very low water pressure, only one couch in the whole hostel, a/c and wifi are limited, sockets are worn out and don't hold a charger, door lock doesn't always work. That all being said, I still met a lot of people and had a great time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2016
8.0

The space for breakfast/bar is too small for the huge quantity of people that stay here. Every time I went, there was nowhere to sit. Great location. Party hostel. The water went out one day due to local construction, but the receptionist was able to find me a place to shower. The only thing that was truly awful is that another receptionist forgot to return my passport to me. I didn't realize it until I checked out and they had to deliver it to me at the airport. Major screw up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.