Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1554 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1554 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Sep 2017
9.1

Friendly/helpful staff, great location for beach and shopping, good showers, fun bar, solid beds, and fun guests. Could be less enjoyable if you don't want to party very much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks Mark !!! Welcome back soon !

  • kmlarsen4106
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Sep 2017
8.9

Friendly and very helpful staff. Easy to get to this hostel by local bus from the AirPort. Good and cleab locations. Nice dorm, and good breakfast. Great for the younger travellers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comments my friend !

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Sep 2017
9.4

Overall a brilliant hostal! Me and my girlfriend stayed there for 5 days in total. We was able to book trips from the hostel and all the staff are full of knowledge about Rio. The hostel has a great social life and in the short space of time we met so many people. The staff were funny but at the same time very helpful, and nothing was to much of an effort for them! Thankyou for an amazing Rio experience! Till next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Jack!!! Thanks a lot for the wonderful comments!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Sep 2017
8.6

Loved this hostel for the social atmosphere and the fantastic staff who were so helpful during my stay (Luciene, Vuri, Roberto and Ariel in particular). They were happy to arrange a taxi last minute for my arrival and always had a smile on their face (even though I was late to check out!) I'd recommend the female only dorm or 6bed if you prefer more space, as the larger rooms are quite cramped. Perfect location 2mins from Ipanema beach, definitely preferable to Cobacabana. 7 nights well spent!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Gabriela !!! Thank you very much !!!!!!!!!!!

  • miss_ruthellen3860
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Sep 2017
8.6

Absolutely loved our stay at Che Legarto - super handy for the beach. Staff really friendly and helpful, speak good English. Great atmosphere in the evening for going out - loved the free caipirinhas! Felt like a very safe area. Would definitely visit again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ruth !!!! Thanks a lot for the wonderful comments !!!

  • georgesimms1
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2017
8.6

As I was previously travelling in a group everywhere, this was the first hostel where I'd be arriving on my own so I was a bit apprehensive. However when I left I had made so many new great friends, partly due to the very friendly welcoming staff and the fact I was in a dorm with 7 Brazilian girls at one point. The location is perfect and I felt very safe the entire time. Would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

George !! Nice meeting you my friend! Hope to see you soon !

31st Aug 2017
8.6

Great Staff lucienne and Ricardo thanks for getting me a taxi yesterday ! You the best . The only thing i did not like peopple talkinh ontge sidewalk at 5 am non stop which happend to be guesta fromt tve hostel .I think it would be nice if there is some control about this . Other than that great hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks Joseph ! See you in 2 days !

  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Aug 2017
9.7

Very kind staff! Especially Lu! :) Good localisation, we had opportunities for taking bus, also Ipanema is one of the safest places in Rio.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Merve ! Thanks a lot for the comments ! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Aug 2017
6.0

Great location, staff were helpful. Can be quite noisy at night if you are trying to get a decent sleep, but then that could be what your looking for. Rooms can be small and the shower room was quite mouldy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comments ! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Aug 2017
8.3

No the worst but not the best I've stayed in either! Staff did help us a lot when we had an issue with our dorm and got us a new room which was much better! However the toilets are not the cleanest and the breakfast is meh at best! Atmosphere is great though! Good music and great vibes!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Stephen, thanks for the comments ! You werent the best, but not the worst of guest too heheh. Cheers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×