Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,336 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,336 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema Located at Rua Paul Redfern N48, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro.
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro Rua Paul Redfern N�48, Ipanema
88% 1336
-22.9844713 -43.2142710
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Sep 2016
8.0

Friendly staff, perfect location, good breakfast, but small rooms, AC on full throttle but no blankets (too cold!!!). Also, two super dirty and stinky mattresses stored just outside our room, didn't wanna imagine the ones we slept on looked the same. No hot water in the shower whatsoever but that seems to be the case in most hostels in Brasil.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Dagmar, thansk for the comments, but some considerations. We rent blankets as we explain in the check in. The matress in this case were the ones we changed for new ones. And we do have hot water in all showers. Hope you can came back ! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Sep 2016
9.4

I had such a good time staying here, the breakfast is one of the best I had in any hostels and the staff is so helpful and lovely!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much Kim !!!! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Sep 2016
8.6

The Hostel has a very good localization, just one block from the Ipanema beach and one block from a main street with a lot of restaurants, pharmacies and supermarket. It is also near to two bus stops and two metro stations (although they were closed during the olympic games). The breakfast is really good actually, comparing to other hostels; they offered cereal, bread, fruits and cake. The cleaness could be better, mainly regarding the bathroom inside the room. The atmosphere is awesome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Obrigado pelas criticas construtivas !!! Te esperamos aqui de novo !!! Abraços

5th Sep 2016
8.3

Great place, a little dated but at attempts to modernised done. Prime location for the beach and new metro line. Lovely on the evenings with free caipirinhas!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thansks for the comments ! Hope we see you again ! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
28th Aug 2016
8.3

Nice location and we'll set up hostel. Lacking a bit of atmosphere but I think that was only because of low season staff really helpful and knowledgeable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comments Emma ! Hope to see you soon !

27th Aug 2016
7.7

Stayed for 3 days 2 nights at Ipanema. Location is perfect so if you are looking for location you can't get better really having been to other hostels in Rio. Some staff were extremely rude and need to be taught about hospitality service whilst others were very friendly and helpful. Cleaner came to clean the room at 6pm which was odd (what is check in/check out for?). It's a party hostel so expect noise and a club atmosphere. Recommended for party goers, not recommended otherwise.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Bobo, thanks for the feedback !! We are always trying to provide the best service to our guests ! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
10.0

This place is the place to stay in Rio! The staff are AWESOME!!! Never had such a warm welcome and constant friendly smiles in a hostle ever! The place is very clean and safe and has a great atmosphere, if you're in Rio, you stay with Che legarto! We will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Seamus !!!!! Thanks a lot my friend for the wonderfu comment !!! Hope we see you and girls again ! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
8.9

Lovely staff, super close to Ipanema beach, I felt very safe in both the hostel and the surrounding area. Was only there for a brief time but it seemed like there were some really nice bars and restaurants within walking distance of the hostel. Would definitely recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Isabella! Thanks a lot for the comments ! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
8.0

Good and very social people in this hostel, however I miss sometimes the hot water in the shower (and this feedback was already given by several customers), and the regular bar guy can smile more often. Btw, Roberto is a really social and nice guy working there! Normally I don't remember name, so I hope this is a good signal for the company about this guy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much !!! We hope you can come back !!!!

16th Aug 2016
9.4

Always a nice stay in Che Ipanema !!! Thaks again to all the amazing staff !!! Will be back

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Gracias Nicolas !!! Cheers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.