Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1442 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1442 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2017
9.1

Great spot in Ipanema, Che Lagarto never disappoints!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much Chris !!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.9

Good hostel. Well versed in all that a backpacker needs with yours and transfers all easily booked at reception and if you want to do your own thing, no problem. They'll help. As a solo traveller it was easy to meet people and hang out on a daily basis. Everyone was super friendly. Would recommend a stay here for sure!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sophie !!!! Thnaks a lot for the wonderful comments ! Cheers

12th Apr 2017
8.9

Che lagartos was amazing! met great people there! great party hostel! Staff was amazing!!!! location is perfect and very safe! Beds are ok and its always clean!!! Def a place to come back!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sue !!! Muchas gracias !

3rd Apr 2017
8.9

Thats the hostel to be if you are from Latin America. However, you will rarely find backpackers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks Sebastian !! But what do you mean ?? We almost only have backpackers ! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
9.7

Awesome hostel! Arrived and were greeted very well by the staff, shown our rooms which were bright and lovely Good showers Rooms cleaned 3x a day. Good kitchen Breakfast is pretty good, like all the others I suppose Great location right next to beach/lagoon and metro/major bus lanes. We didn't bring this up at the hostel but with the email we got when we booked it had a 'how to get to hoste' that seemed wrong. From major bus terminal we got bus Troncal 2 or 4 which takes you to the door.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Benjamin !!! Thanks a lot for the comments ! Hope to see you guys again ! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Mar 2017
9.7

I loved my stay there. Salma Hayek recommand this hostel 😄

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hahahah Thanks Salma Hayek !!! Hope to see you again !

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Mar 2017
9.7

Great location by the beach. Rooms are cleaned 3 times a day. Staff are so friendly and helpful, they advised us when to book tours because of bad weather. There is a heavy social vibe but rooms are set away for those that want to sleep! Breakfast is also above average. To be honest, it was perfect for us! The only critisicsm I could give is utensils in the kitchen but you can still work quite happily in there. Thanks to all the staff who made our trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Robert !!!!!! Thanks a lot my friend ! Hope we see you guys soon !

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.1

Very expensive due to carnival. Could have gone somewhere else for cheaper. But great hostel overall

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
9.1

Great hostel, staff, met some great people there over carnival. The price was expensive but it was to be expected over carnival, it is well worth the usual fee.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Alex !! Thanks a lot for the comments !!! See you soon !!! Cheers

21st Feb 2017
8.0

Came for Carnaval. Had a blast, great location and a good atmosphere for meeting people. Special thanks to one of the managers Ricardo for always making me feel welcome. He was always checking in on me to make sure I was having a good time. They only have one bartender during the night so service can be a little slow but other than that great experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kevin !!!!! Thanks a lot my friend !!! You´re always welcome here ! Cheers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.