Hostelworld.com

Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,230 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,230 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema Located at Rua Paul Redfern N48, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro.
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro Rua Paul Redfern N�48, Ipanema
85% 1230
-22.9844713 -43.2142710
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
9.1

Great staff. Great location. Great facilities. Could do with providing hand soap in the dorms but other than that, highly recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th May 2016
7.7

Che Lagarto is 1 block from Ipanema Beach and staff are extremely helpful (Ricardo was great!). It is a long walk to the metro if you want to go to other parts of Rio and cabs/Uber can be expensive when traffic is high (a lot of the time). Hostel has great people and appreciated that if partying isn't your top priority you can still have a good time. Very loud at night and there is construction going on which adds to lower cleanliness score. One day our bathroom wasn't cleaned when it needed to.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
8.0

Good hostel, huge breakfast. A/C in dorm (which was in secondary building across the road. Restaurants & beach within a couple of blocks. I arrived late & left early, only stayed for one night, but I will be back to Rio and would consider staying there again. Need to update directions to include how to get to hostel from DOMESTIC airport, I arrived on a flight from Manaus & had to figure it out for myself (there is a blue bus you can take for R$14, but it doesn't say "IPANEMA" on the front).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for the comments Sean !!! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
8.6

Nice hostel, awesome location! And it's open caipirinha from 6h30 pm to 7pm, I mean, what can be better than that???

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Fala Gaby !!! Brigadão ! Volte sempre !

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2016
9.1

Great hostel if your looking for easy socialising and fun!!! Would 100% recommend. Staff friendly and helpful, location so close to the beach!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
9.1

The place is great if you want to meet new people, staff is good in advices, breakfast is ok, our bathroom was kept clean constantly (which is crucial, so special thanks for that!). They had renovation in progress during my stay so assume "facilities" point will be even better very soon. Overall, I would strongly recommend the hostel as it is good in every way. Oh, and thank you guys for super-fast help with favelas tour! Greetings from St.Petersburg, Elena

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
9.4

Che Lagarto Ipanema is a really nice place to stay IF you like enjoying life. If you're this kind of sad people, with bad energy, please don't go there, you'll feel very different! The place is nice, 1 block and a half from the beach, there are restaurants, banks and drugstores around the hostel. Rooms are OK, hot and cold water for showers, caipirinhas for free from 18:30-19:00, but you can buy during the day. The low point was the breakfast and highlight was the front deck were people meet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Eliakim !!!! Thanks a lot for the feedback !!!! Come back soon !!!!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
8.3

PRO: - so incredibly cheap - can pay in cash or credit - many amenities (though at a small charge) - fantastic, helpful, peppy staff (HODRIGO!) - lots of peopel from all over the country, all very friendly - amazing location CON: - conditioners were awful (felt like a really old, unsanitary church retreat lodge) - too many peopel to one bathroom that looks like a horror movie (yet surprisingly didn't smell like one) - building was old and formerly white walls appeared grey and green

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th May 2016
8.9

it was quite a busy day when i arrive- a lot of guest coming in and out-daniel the green eyed brazilian staff😊 was been so helpful- he arrange my shuttle for the airport the moment i had requested;he was really busy when i was checking in but anyway he tried to help me a lot in my un ending queries;he offered me to go in the city tour which was helpful;and maria help me to print my ticket and 1black staff he change my bed # when i requested-appreciate a lot-but i forget his name! i love d staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback !!! Come back soon !

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th May 2016
8.3

Good location, good common area to meet people and close to the beach

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.