X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema Reviews

Rua Paul Redfern N�48, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
941 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Great location on Ipanema beach, hostel is clean and has decent facilities. Staff are also extremely friendly and helpful. Unfortunately this is one of those hostels that is split between two buildings, the common areas are also a bit scattered on different floors and the whole thing feels a bit impersonal. Despite there being many people, it was difficult at times to meet people. Not the best for atmosphere, but cheaper than other hostels in the area and it is very close to the beach.


89%

Rick and his staff were excellent, the location is one street away from the beach front and perfect side of Ipanema. The dorm was excellent but had to change for a few days as we had a noisy neighbour. The staff were happy to help and accommodate us. The double room was a little pricey and we don't think it was worth what we paid but the dorms were great. The kitchen wasn't in the best shape and there wasn't a huge communal area but it was okay. Overall we had a really good stay.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Absolutely loved this hostel! Extremely lively, clean, and spacious. The only thing I would complain about this hostel is the key...it never worked.


94%

Nice place close to the beach ipanema


100%

Had a great time at this hostel !

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Breakfast was standard and good which meant there was cake, bread, and fruit. Beds were good and showers were hot. Lockers under bed were good but only one person could access at a time. Hostel was a block from the beach. They need to fix their key card system so you don't have to get it reactivated before every trip to your room. I enjoyed my stay.


91%

its a good place to stay in Rio, if you dont want to spend a lot of money but you want to have a good xperience and to meet people from all over the world, this is the one.


100%

Hilarious staff- very helpful. Amazing time

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Great atmoaphere and location :) The staff was really helpful and welcomimg! I had a great stay at this hostel and I'm sure I'm going to chose che lagarto in future again :)

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

O che largato é muito bom, as pessoas são receptivas, o ambiente com sua decoração é muito bom. realmente eu recomendaria um amigo para se hospedar aqui. entretando, nem tudo é perfeito, o quarto que fiquei tinha arcondicionado, mas o mesmo não podia ser ligado, apesar que não fez tanto calor. a limpeza não é 100%, mas é aceitavel, afinal em um quarto com varias pessoas é impossivel manter a limpeza total. A internet é péssima, muito lenta, foi p que frustou. The internet and ar do not work good


89%

I loved this Hostel, the staff was so friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was super fun.


60%

Algumas informações que vimos no site não batiam com a que vimos no local.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a great time. Ricki and the rest of the staff were great, very helpful, and there was always something fun to do in the evenings after sightseeing or chillin on the beach.


83%

Great location with really friendly, helpful staff. The set up is great with the rowdy crowd staying downstairs, but another area on the 1st floor if you want to socialize in a more relaxed way. The stovetop in the kitchen was not working when I was there, which is a bit of a pain for those of us who cook.


100%

Bom e barato, recomendo muito!!

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

O que dizer do Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema: Me senti em casa com a felicidade no ar.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This was my third visit to this hostel and I practically had to be pulled out kicking and screaming. Maybe it's the fantastically socialable atmosphere where you have to work exceptionally hard to have anything but a brilliant time...or perhaps the perfect location on top of Ipanema beach...the great breakfast ...clean bathrooms or comfy beds? All of the above, but what really gives this hostel gold stars is the sublimely brilliant team who are knowledgeable, helpful, efficient and great fun!


97%

Adorei ficar hospedada no Che lagarto de Ipanema, super bem localizado e seguro. Tem caipirinha a noite, no check in ganhei um vale caipirinha. .Super recomendo!!


80%

I ve been there for the weekend and toilet flush didnt work any day. I told to the staff but nothing was done. Otherwise, it´s a good place with nice people and Ana Laura is the best hostess I ve ever had.


86%

Bathrooms were dirty. Cards stopped working quickly.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(106 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback